Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/30/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-21, 23-25, and 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al (US 20180042000).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, the one or more processors, individually or collectively and based at least in part on information stored in the one or more memories (FIG. 26; user equipment 2600), being configured to:
transmit, using a first uplink carrier of a plurality of uplink carriers, uplink channel state information (CSI) indicating at least one of an uplink carrier quality indication associated with a second uplink carrier of the plurality of uplink carriers or uplink carrier selection information associated with the second uplink carrier (when the UE determines the primary beam and n secondary beams, the first beam report message may carry CSI-RS port information, a CSI measurement result, or a CSI-RS-based RRM measurement result corresponding to the primary beam, and CSI-RS port information, CSI measurement results, or CSI-RS-based RRM measurement results corresponding to the n secondary beams. When reporting the first beam report message, the UE may use an uplink dedicated time-frequency resource preconfigured by the base station for the UE. The time-frequency resource may be located in a millimeter-wave cell or a low-frequency cell aggregated by the UE; [0249, 0257]); and
receive an uplink carrier selection communication indicative of at least one selected uplink carrier of the plurality of uplink carriers (After receiving the first beam report message from the UE, the base station determines the primary beam, and transmits the downlink information on the primary beam. Certainly, if the first beam report message further carries secondary beam ID information, the base station may further determine the secondary beam. The UE generates a receiving beam and/or an uplink beam according to the primary beam; [0258-0261]).
Regarding claim 17, Zhang discloses wherein the plurality of uplink carriers comprises more than two uplink carriers (sending, by the UE, an uplink SRS on the one or more uplink beams corresponding to the primary beam, so that the base station determines an uplink primary beam of the UE according to a measurement result of the uplink SRS on the one or more uplink beams corresponding to the primary beam; [0016]).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang discloses wherein the uplink carrier selection information indicates at least one recommended uplink carrier of the plurality of uplink carriers (base station may determine the secondary beam by measuring signal quality of uplink SRSs sent by the UE. Specifically, the base station first obtains signal quality of uplink SRSs on uplink beams corresponding to beams of the UE, selects uplink beams with best signal quality from the uplink beams, and sets downlink beams (except the primary beam) corresponding to the uplink beams with best signal quality as secondary beams; [0308-0309]).
Regarding claim 19, Zhang discloses wherein the at least one of the uplink carrier quality indication or the uplink carrier selection information comprises a respective uplink carrier quality indication associated with each respective uplink carrier of the plurality of uplink carriers (obtaining, by the base station, signal quality of an uplink SRS sent by the UE on an uplink beam corresponding to a beam in the at least one beam other than the primary beam; and selecting, by the base station from the at least one beam, at least one beam with relatively good uplink SRS signal quality as the secondary beam for the primary beam; [0544]).
Regarding claim 20, Zhang discloses wherein the respective uplink carrier quality indication is based on at least one measurement associated with a respective downlink carrier, of a plurality of downlink carriers, corresponding to the respective uplink carrier of the plurality of uplink carriers (first beam report message further carries at least one piece of the following information: CSI-RS port information corresponding to the at least one secondary beam, a CSI measurement result of the at least one secondary beam, or an RRM measurement result of the at least one secondary beam. When reporting the first beam message, the UE may further add a PCI corresponding to the at least one secondary beam and a measurement result of the at least one secondary beam to the first beam message. When the first beam report message reported by the UE carries the PCIs and the measurement results of the primary beam and the secondary beam, the base station side may determine subsequent processing operations such as updating and switching of the primary beam and/or the secondary beam according to the first beam report message; [0212]).
Regarding claim 21, Zhang discloses wherein the at least one measurement is associated with at least one of a buffer size, a transmission power, a transmission timing, multiple receivers imbalance, a switch between a reception antenna chain and a transmission antenna chain, a path loss, a difference in path loss between a downlink carrier and an associated uplink carrier, a power headroom (PHR), a difference in PHRs between at least two uplink carriers, a UE battery capacity, and/or a traffic quality of service requirement (Signal quality of a beam may be a detected signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), or the like of the beam. the signal quality of the beam may be a detected signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), reference signal received power (RSRP), or reference signal received quality (RSRQ) of the beam. The UE measures the foregoing signal quality parameter of the beam to obtain a measurement result of the beam. Specifically, the measurement result of the beam may be channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) port (port) information, a channel state information (CSI) measurement result, a CSI-RS-based radio resource management (RRM) measurement result, or the like; [0198, 0234-0235]).
Regarding claim 23, Zhang discloses wherein the uplink CSI comprises a set of dedicated bits associated with the at least one of the uplink carrier quality indication or the uplink carrier selection information (the UE determines the primary beam and n secondary beams in step 404, the first beam report message may carry information about one primary beam ID and n secondary beam IDs. the UE may send the first beam report message to the base station, and the first beam report message carries a beam ID of the beam. Specifically, the signal quality of the beam may be an SINR or an RSSI of the beam. base station (a primary base station or a millimeter-wave small cell) may preconfigure one or more pieces of receiving beam vector information corresponding to each beam ID for the UE, and the UE generates one or more receiving beams corresponding to the primary beam according to one or more pieces of receiving beam vector information corresponding to the primary beam ID of the current primary beam, and receives the downlink information on the one or more receiving beams corresponding to the primary beam; [0247, 0253, 0263]).
Regarding claim 24, Zhang discloses wherein the set of dedicated bits indicates, for each uplink carrier of the plurality of uplink carriers, a respective uplink carrier identifier (ID) and a respective channel quality information (the UE determines the primary beam and n secondary beams in step 404, the first beam report message may carry information about one primary beam ID and n secondary beam IDs. the UE may send the first beam report message to the base station, and the first beam report message carries a beam ID of the beam. Specifically, the signal quality of the beam may be an SINR or an RSSI of the beam. base station (a primary base station or a millimeter-wave small cell) may preconfigure one or more pieces of receiving beam vector information corresponding to each beam ID for the UE, and the UE generates one or more receiving beams corresponding to the primary beam according to one or more pieces of receiving beam vector information corresponding to the primary beam ID of the current primary beam, and receives the downlink information on the one or more receiving beams corresponding to the primary beam; [0247, 0253, 0263]).
Regarding claim 25, Zhang discloses wherein the uplink CSI indicates: the uplink carrier quality indication associated with the second uplink carrier, an uplink carrier identifier (ID) associated with the second uplink carrier, an uplink carrier quality indication associated with the first uplink carrier, and an uplink carrier ID associated with the first uplink carrier (the UE determines the primary beam and n secondary beams in step 404, the first beam report message may carry information about one primary beam ID and n secondary beam IDs. the UE may send the first beam report message to the base station, and the first beam report message carries a beam ID of the beam. Specifically, the signal quality of the beam may be an SINR or an RSSI of the beam. base station (a primary base station or a millimeter-wave small cell) may preconfigure one or more pieces of receiving beam vector information corresponding to each beam ID for the UE, and the UE generates one or more receiving beams corresponding to the primary beam according to one or more pieces of receiving beam vector information corresponding to the primary beam ID of the current primary beam, and receives the downlink information on the one or more receiving beams corresponding to the primary beam; [0247, 0253, 0263]).
Regarding claim 29, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 16.
Regarding claim 30, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US 20180042000) in view of Lee et al. (US 20230371123).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, the one or more processors, individually or collectively and based at least in part on information stored in the one or more memories (FIG. 26; user equipment 2600), being configured to:
transmit, using a first uplink carrier of a plurality of uplink carriers, on a dedicated uplink time-frequency resource associated with a second uplink carrier of the plurality of uplink carriers, an enhanced sounding reference signal (eSRS), the eSRS indicating at least one of an uplink carrier quality indication associated with the second uplink carrier or uplink carrier selection information associated with the second uplink carrier (sending, by the UE, an SRS to the base station on a second sounding reference signal (SRS) resource, where the base station configures a first SRS resource and the second SRS resource for the UE, and instructs the UE to send an SRS on the first SRS resource when the primary beam works normally and send an SRS on the second SRS resource when the primary beam works abnormally. The UE may send an SRS to the base station on a second SRS resource in a high-frequency cell, so as to report, to the base station, that the primary beam of the UE becomes abnormal. Certainly, the base station and the UE may also agree to use another dedicated signal and a resource required for the dedicated signal to report whether the beam becomes abnormal; [0202]); and
receive an uplink carrier selection communication indicative of at least one selected uplink carrier of the plurality of uplink carriers (when the primary beam becomes abnormal: using, by the UE, a beam with best signal quality as a new primary beam, and feeding back the new primary beam to the base station. sending uplink information to the base station on the one or more uplink beams corresponding to the primary beam. sending, by the UE, an uplink SRS on the one or more uplink beams corresponding to the primary beam, so that the base station determines an uplink primary beam of the UE according to a measurement result of the uplink SRS on the one or more uplink beams corresponding to the primary beam; [0204-0208]).
Zhang does not expressly disclose transmit, on a dedicated uplink slot, an enhanced sounding reference signal (eSRS).
In an analogous art, Lee discloses transmit, on a dedicated uplink slot, an enhanced sounding reference signal (eSRS) (dedicated slot may transmit uplink signals such as SRS; [0224]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Lee into the system of Zhang in order to provide coverage enhancement of a terminal, improved battery time, and cost reduction of a terminal (Lee; [0056]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Zhang and Lee, particularly Zhang discloses wherein the plurality of uplink carriers comprises more than two uplink carriers (sending, by the UE, an uplink SRS on the one or more uplink beams corresponding to the primary beam, so that the base station determines an uplink primary beam of the UE according to a measurement result of the uplink SRS on the one or more uplink beams corresponding to the primary beam; [0016]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Zhang and Lee, particularly Zhang discloses wherein the uplink carrier selection information indicates at least one recommended uplink carrier of the plurality of uplink carriers (base station may determine the secondary beam by measuring signal quality of uplink SRSs sent by the UE. Specifically, the base station first obtains signal quality of uplink SRSs on uplink beams corresponding to beams of the UE, selects uplink beams with best signal quality from the uplink beams, and sets downlink beams (except the primary beam) corresponding to the uplink beams with best signal quality as secondary beams; [0308-0309]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Zhang and Lee, particularly Zhang discloses wherein the at least one of the uplink carrier quality indication or the uplink carrier selection information comprises a respective uplink carrier quality indication associated with each respective uplink carrier of the plurality of uplink carriers (obtaining, by the base station, signal quality of an uplink SRS sent by the UE on an uplink beam corresponding to a beam in the at least one beam other than the primary beam; and selecting, by the base station from the at least one beam, at least one beam with relatively good uplink SRS signal quality as the secondary beam for the primary beam; [0544]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Zhang and Lee, particularly Zhang discloses wherein the respective uplink carrier quality indication is based on at least one measurement associated with a respective downlink carrier, of a plurality of downlink carriers, corresponding to the respective uplink carrier of the plurality of uplink carriers (first beam report message further carries at least one piece of the following information: CSI-RS port information corresponding to the at least one secondary beam, a CSI measurement result of the at least one secondary beam, or an RRM measurement result of the at least one secondary beam. When reporting the first beam message, the UE may further add a PCI corresponding to the at least one secondary beam and a measurement result of the at least one secondary beam to the first beam message. When the first beam report message reported by the UE carries the PCIs and the measurement results of the primary beam and the secondary beam, the base station side may determine subsequent processing operations such as updating and switching of the primary beam and/or the secondary beam according to the first beam report message; [0212]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Zhang and Lee, particularly Zhang discloses wherein the at least one measurement is associated with at least one of a buffer size, a transmission power, a transmission timing, multiple receivers imbalance, a switch between a reception antenna chain and a transmission antenna chain, a path loss, a difference in path loss between a downlink carrier and an associated uplink carrier, a power headroom (PHR), a difference in PHRs between at least two uplink carriers, a UE battery capacity, and/or a traffic quality of service requirement (Signal quality of a beam may be a detected signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), reference signal received power (RSRP), reference signal received quality (RSRQ), or the like of the beam. the signal quality of the beam may be a detected signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR), received signal strength indicator (RSSI), reference signal received power (RSRP), or reference signal received quality (RSRQ) of the beam. The UE measures the foregoing signal quality parameter of the beam to obtain a measurement result of the beam. Specifically, the measurement result of the beam may be channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) port (port) information, a channel state information (CSI) measurement result, a CSI-RS-based radio resource management (RRM) measurement result, or the like; [0198, 0234-0235]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Zhang and Lee, particularly Zhang discloses wherein the at least one of the uplink carrier quality indication or the uplink carrier selection information comprises an eSRS characteristic of the eSRS (detection unit 2304 is further configured to obtain signal quality of an uplink SRS sent by the UE on an uplink beam corresponding to a beam in the at least one beam other than the primary beam; and the determining unit 2303 is further configured to select, from the at least one beam, at least one beam with relatively good uplink SRS signal quality as the secondary beam for the primary beam; [0632]).
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the reasons cited in claim 8.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US 20180042000) in view of Lee et al. (US 20230371123) and in view of Yi et al. (US 20250386306).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Zhang and Lee does not expressly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit UE capability information indicative of a capability for providing the eSRS.
In an analogous art, Yi discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit UE capability information indicative of a capability for providing the eSRS (The UE may use one or multiple SRS resources for SRS transmission, and the maximum number of SRS resources that allow simultaneous transmission in the same symbol within one SRS resource set is determined by the UE capability reported by the UE to the base station; [0177]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Yi into the system of Zhang and Lee in order to improve PUSCH transmit power control when beam configuration information is changed through unified TCI configuration during PUSCH repetition transmission (Yi; [0386]).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US 20180042000) in view of Lee et al. (US 20230371123) and in view of Shreevastav et al. (US 20220368496).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Zhang and Lee does not expressly disclose wherein the eSRS characteristic comprises at least one of an eSRS precoding on an antenna port, transmission timing, an amplitude adjustment on the antenna port, an eSRS sequence on the antenna port, or an eSRS transmission power on the antenna port.
In an analogous art, Shreevastav discloses wherein the eSRS characteristic comprises at least one of an eSRS precoding on an antenna port, transmission timing, an amplitude adjustment on the antenna port, an eSRS sequence on the antenna port, or an eSRS transmission power on the antenna port (LMF determines which SRS configuration is suitable for a UE based upon a metric SRS-Quality. This metric is associated with the UE UL SRS transmission power, Bandwidth and number of SRS symbols or SRS occasions (or groups of symbols); [0077]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Shreevastav into the system of Zhang and Lee in order to provide dynamic SRS configurations based on positioning needs and requirements, and thus reduce SRS configuration signaling resource consumption (Shreevastav; [0021]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US 20180042000) in view of Lee et al. (US 20230371123) and in view of Almufti et al. (US 20240219558).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Zhang and Lee does not expressly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit a plurality of eSRSs, including the eSRS, on respective time slots of a plurality of time slots that includes the dedicated uplink slot.
In an analogous art, Almufti discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit a plurality of eSRSs, including the eSRS, on respective time slots of a plurality of time slots that includes the dedicated uplink slot (PRS and/or SRS schedule may indicate a Physical Resource Block (PRB) that specifies a time slot and frequency at which the respective PRS signal and SRS signal are transmitted; [0011]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Almufti into the system of Zhang and Lee in order to improve accuracy of position estimation and reduce cost and complexity (Almufti; [0041]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US 20180042000) in view of Lee et al. (US 20230371123) and Almufti et al. (US 20240219558) and in view of Rastegardoost et al. (US 20240389129).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Zhang, Almufti, and Lee does not expressly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit a radio resource control (RRC) communication that indicates an association between each time slot of the respective time slots and a respective uplink carrier of the plurality of uplink carriers.
In an analogous art, Rastegardoost discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit a radio resource control (RRC) communication that indicates an association between each time slot of the respective time slots and a respective uplink carrier of the plurality of uplink carriers (one or more RRC messages may further indicate the first carrier pair comprising the first uplink carrier in a first frequency band and the second uplink carrier in a second frequency band. The one or more RRC messages may further indicate the second carrier pair comprising the first uplink carrier and the third uplink carrier in a third frequency band. The first parameter may indicate whether the first antenna switching period, when switching between the first uplink carrier and the second uplink carrier, is located in a slot associated with the first uplink carrier or the second uplink carrier. The second parameter may indicate whether the second antenna switching period, when switching between the first uplink carrier and the third uplink carrier, is located in a slot associated with the first uplink carrier or the third uplink carrier; [0415]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Rastegardoost into the system of Zhang, Almufti, and Lee in order to improve uplink coverage and reduce latency (Rastegardoost; [0250]).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US 20180042000) in view of Lee et al. (US 20230371123) and in view of Rastegardoost et al. (US 20240389129).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Zhang and Lee does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one selected uplink carrier comprises a single selected uplink carrier associated with a two-layer transmission.
In an analogous art, Rastegardoost discloses wherein the at least one selected uplink carrier comprises a single selected uplink carrier associated with a two-layer transmission (UE may support the switch between single layer transmission with one antenna port and two-layer transmission with two antenna ports on the two uplink carriers following the scheduling commands and/or rank adaptation. In an example, both single layer and two-layer transmission with 2 antenna ports, and single layer transmission with 1 antenna port may be supported on NR UL carrier 2; [0291]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Rastegardoost into the system of Zhang and Lee in order to improve uplink coverage and reduce latency (Rastegardoost; [0250]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Zhang and Lee does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one selected uplink canier comprises a first selected uplink carrier associated with a first one-layer transmission and a second selected uplink carrier associated with a second one-layer transmission.
In an analogous art, Rastegardoost discloses wherein the at least one selected uplink canier comprises a first selected uplink carrier associated with a first one-layer transmission and a second selected uplink carrier associated with a second one-layer transmission (UE may support the switch between single layer transmission with one antenna port and two-layer transmission with two antenna ports on the two uplink carriers following the scheduling commands and/or rank adaptation. In an example, both single layer and two-layer transmission with 2 antenna ports, and single layer transmission with 1 antenna port may be supported on NR UL carrier 2; [0291]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Rastegardoost into the system of Zhang and Lee in order to improve uplink coverage and reduce latency (Rastegardoost; [0250]).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US 20180042000) in view of Yang et al. (US 20250330988).
Regarding claim 22, Zhang does not expressly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit UE capability information indicative of a capability for providing the uplink CSI.
In an analogous art, Yang discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit UE capability information indicative of a capability for providing the uplink CSI (The sent first or second UE capability report may indicate or can be associated with at least one of: an uplink TCI state associated with a CSI-RS set; [0012]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Yang into the system of Zhang in order to enable simultaneous uplink transmissions by multi-panel UE in multi TRPs (MTRP) operation, which can be beneficial to improve a throughput of uplink transmission (Yang; [0037]).
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US 20180042000) in view of Ganesan et al. (US 20250080191).
Regarding claim 26, Zhang does not expressly disclose wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the CSI, are configured to transmit the CSI in a first uplink slot and wherein the uplink CSI indicates the uplink carrier quality indication associated with the second uplink carrier and an uplink carrier identifier (ID) associated with the second uplink carrier, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit, by the UE and using the first uplink carrier, additional uplink CSI in a second uplink slot, wherein the additional CSI comprises an uplink carrier quality indication associated with the first uplink carrier and an uplink carrier ID associated with the first uplink carrier.
In an analogous art, Ganesan discloses wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the CSI, are configured to transmit the CSI in a first uplink slot and wherein the uplink CSI indicates the uplink carrier quality indication associated with the second uplink carrier and an uplink carrier identifier (ID) associated with the second uplink carrier (the identifier comprises a link ID that uniquely denotes a source-destination pair between the Tx UE and the Rx UE. In some embodiments, the identifier comprises a destination ID corresponding to the Rx UE. In some embodiments, generating the SL-CSI report comprises multiplexing a plurality of SL-CSI values from multiple carriers and/or bandwidth parts and from multiple panels and/or beams for the same source-destination pair. In some embodiments, the MAC-CE further includes an additional field to report one or more of: a SL-CSI measurement configuration, a SL BWP ID, a SL carrier ID, a SL logical panel ID, and a SL Slot number; [0167]), and
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit, by the UE and using the first uplink carrier, additional uplink CSI in a second uplink slot, wherein the additional CSI comprises an uplink carrier quality indication associated with the first uplink carrier and an uplink carrier ID associated with the first uplink carrier (generating the SL-CSI report comprises multiplexing a plurality of SL-CSI values from the plurality of unicast links, each SL-CSI value being tagged with a different identifier. In some embodiments, the L1 UL control channel transmission comprises an additional field to report one or more of: a SL-CSI measurement configuration, a SL BWP ID, a SL carrier ID, a SL logical panel ID, and a SL Slot number; [0173]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Ganesan into the system of Zhang in order to enable appropriate resource scheduling by reporting channel quality to the gNB so that the gNB scheduler is aware of the channel (Ganesan; [0043]).
Claim(s) 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (US 20180042000) in view of Rastegardoost et al. (US 20240389129).
Regarding claim 27, Zhang does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one selected uplink carrier comprises a single uplink carrier associated with a two-layer transmission.
In an analogous art, Rastegardoost discloses wherein the at least one selected uplink carrier comprises a single uplink carrier associated with a two-layer transmission (UE may support the switch between single layer transmission with one antenna port and two-layer transmission with two antenna ports on the two uplink carriers following the scheduling commands and/or rank adaptation. In an example, both single layer and two-layer transmission with 2 antenna ports, and single layer transmission with 1 antenna port may be supported on NR UL carrier 2; [0291]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Rastegardoost into the system of Zhang in order to improve uplink coverage and reduce latency (Rastegardoost; [0250]).
Regarding claim 28, Zhang does not expressly disclose wherein the at least one selected uplink carrier comprises a first uplink carrier associated with a first one-layer transmission and a second uplink carrier associated with a second one-layer transmission.
In an analogous art, Rastegardoost discloses wherein the at least one selected uplink carrier comprises a first uplink carrier associated with a first one-layer transmission and a second uplink carrier associated with a second one-layer transmission (UE may support the switch between single layer transmission with one antenna port and two-layer transmission with two antenna ports on the two uplink carriers following the scheduling commands and/or rank adaptation. In an example, both single layer and two-layer transmission with 2 antenna ports, and single layer transmission with 1 antenna port may be supported on NR UL carrier 2; [0291]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Rastegardoost into the system of Zhang in order to improve uplink coverage and reduce latency (Rastegardoost; [0250]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Venugopal et al. (US 20200044720), “FACILITATING UPLINK BEAM SELECTION FOR A USER EQUIPMENT.”
/OUSSAMA ROUDANI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413