DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cao et al (US 2021/0051525, “Cao”).
Re claim 15, Cao discloses determining, by a first wireless device and based on a plurality of reservation intervals of a plurality of transport blocks (paragraph [0054]), the plurality of transport blocks for a multi-consecutive slot transmission in a resource block set (paragraph [0116]), wherein each of the plurality of transport blocks is associated with a corresponding reservation interval of the plurality of reservation intervals (figure 7); determining, based on a first reservation interval of the plurality of reservation intervals, one or more resources in one or more consecutive time slots for the multi-consecutive slot transmission; and transmitting, to a second wireless device, via the one or more resources in the one or more consecutive time slots, the plurality of transport blocks (paragraph [0100]; figure 2).
Re claim 17, Cao discloses a reservation interval of the plurality of reservation intervals indicates resource reservation of one or more second resources, wherein the one or more second resources are offset from the one or more resources based on the reservation interval (paragraphs [0098] and [0099]; figure 2).
Re claim 18, Cao discloses determining, based on the plurality of reservation intervals of the plurality of transport blocks being identical, the plurality of transport blocks (paragraph [0101]; figure 3), or determining, based on each of the plurality of reservation intervals of the plurality of transport blocks being an integer times of a shortest reservation interval of the plurality of reservation intervals, the plurality of transport blocks.
Re claim 19, Cao discloses determining the one or more resources in the one or more consecutive time slots for the multi-consecutive slot transmission based on a resource selection procedure (paragraph [0050]; figure 2).
Re claim 20, Cao discloses the first reservation interval of the plurality of transport blocks in the multi-consecutive slot transmission is a shortest reservation interval of the plurality of reservation intervals (paragraph [0055]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao in view of Lee et al (US 2021/0320759, “Lee”).
Re claims 1, 8 and 9, Cao discloses determining, by a first wireless device, one or more resources in one or more consecutive time slots for multi-consecutive slot transmission (sidelink transmission in claim 8) for transmission of a plurality of transport blocks; and transmitting, to a second wireless device (paragraph [0061]), via the one or more resources in the one or more consecutive time slots (paragraph [0100]), the plurality of transport blocks (paragraph [0123]), but fails to disclose the one or more resources are based on a first priority value of a plurality of priority values associated with the plurality of transport blocks. However, Lee discloses transmitting transport block (TB) based on priority value (paragraph [0168]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cao with Lee so that TB would be transmitted preferentially based on its priority value. One skill in the art would have been motivated to generate the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143.02).
Re claims 2 and 10, Cao discloses determining the plurality of transport blocks based on a plurality of reservation intervals associated with the plurality of transport blocks, wherein the determining the one or more resources is further based on a first reservation interval of the plurality of reservation intervals (paragraph [0116]; figure 7).
Re claims 4 and 11, Cao discloses the multi-consecutive slot transmission comprises at least one of: a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) transmission; a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) transmission (paragraph [0046]); or a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) transmission.
Re claims 5 and 12, the modified system of Cao discloses each priority value of the plurality of priority values comprises one of: a physical layer priority value of one of the plurality of transport blocks (paragraph [0168] of Lee, a channel access priority class (CAPC) value of the one of the plurality of transport blocks, or a logical channel priority (LCP) value of the one of the plurality of transport blocks.
Re claims 6 and 13, the modified system of Cao discloses determining the plurality of transport blocks based on the plurality of priority values associated with the plurality of transport blocks, wherein the determining the plurality of transport blocks comprises at least one of: determining, based on the plurality of priority values of the plurality of transport blocks being identical, the plurality of transport blocks (paragraph [0168]), determining, based on a difference between two priority values of the plurality of priority values being less than a threshold value, the plurality of transport blocks, or determining, based on comparing the plurality of priority values of the plurality of transport blocks and a priority threshold value, the plurality of transport blocks.
Re claims 7 and 14, the modified system of Cao discloses the first priority value is one of: a smallest priority value of the plurality of priority values, a largest priority value of the plurality of priority values (paragraph [0168]), or an average priority value of the plurality of priority values.
Re claim 16, Cao discloses all of the limitations of the base claim, but fails to disclose the one or more resources are based on a first priority value of a plurality of priority values associated with the plurality of transport blocks. However, Lee discloses transmitting transport block (TB) based on priority value (paragraph [0168]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cao with Lee so that TB would be transmitted preferentially based on its priority value. One skill in the art would have been motivated to generate the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143.02).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao in view of Lee and further in view of He et al (WO 2020/213986 A1, “He”).
Re claim 3, Cao discloses all of the limitations of the base claim, but fails to disclose receiving, from a base station, a message indicating a length of the multi-consecutive slot transmission, wherein the length of the multi- consecutive slot transmission indicates a maximum quantity of consecutive time slots for the multi-consecutive slot transmission. However, He discloses receiving DCI/RRC signaling indicating a number of consecutive time slots for PSSCH transmission (paragraph [197]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Cao with He for the benefit of providing efficient utilization of network resources by allocating a given number of time slots for sidelink communication.
Conclusion
/HONG S CHO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467