DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by PG Pub. US 2020/0138226 A1 – Mullet et al., hereinafter Mullet.
Regarding claim 1.
Mullet discloses a drapery rod window covering system (10, fig 1), comprising:
a drapery rod (26, fig 1);
the drapery rod extending a length between a first end and a second end (See fig 1);
a pair of brackets (28, fig 1);
the pair of brackets configured to attach to a structure (Paragraph [0070]; Mounting plate 70 is configured to attach the brackets 28 to the wall or other structure);
a drive assembly (32, fig 4);
the drive assembly configured to be inserted within (Paragraph [0067]; Drapery rod 26 includes a hollow interior 62. Hollow interior 62 is formed of any suitable size, shape and design and is configured to … receive … a motor control assembly 32,) and operably connect with the first end of the drapery rod (Paragraph [0075]; Motor control assembly 32 is … configured to facilitate motorized operation of drapery rod system 10.);
the drive assembly having an inward portion (at 56, fig 4) and an outward portion (at 44, fig 4);
the drive assembly (32, fig 4) configured to rotate the inward portion (at 56, fig 4) relative to the outward portion (at 44, fig 4) during operation to cause drapery rod to be rotated (Paragraph [0075]; Motor control assembly 32 is … configured to facilitate motorized operation of drapery rod system 10.);
the outward portion of the drive assembly includes a first lug (44, fig 4) positioned proximate to the first end of the drapery rod (See fig 4);
the first lug configured to connect with a first bracket (28, fig 4) of the pair of brackets (See fig 4) to facilitate mounting of the first end of the drapery rod (as in fig 3) and prevent the outward portion of the drive assembly from rotating during operation (Paragraph [0130]; When lug 44 is positioned within collar 74, the interaction between the square, rectangular or non-round lug 44 within the similarly shaped recess in collar 74 provides alignment as well as prevents lug 44 from moving or rotating within bracket 28.);
the outward portion of the drive assembly having a first finial connector (120, fig 4) configured to facilitate attachment of a first finial (76, fig 1) with the outward portion of the drive assembly with the first finial aligned with an axis of rotation of the drapery rod (See figs 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 2.
Mullet discloses all imitations of claim 1.
Mullet further discloses the first lug (44, fig 4) and first bracket (28, fig 4) are configured (See fig 5) to permit the drapery rod, the drive assembly, and the first finial to remain assembled together when the first lug is disconnected from the first bracket (Paragraph [0169]; With the drapery rods 26, coupler assembly 42, motor control assemblies 32, and rings 35 installed, the user ensures that the upper section 120 of the center-positioned bracket 28 and the outward positioned brackets 28 are open. Next, the user places the lug 44 of coupler assembly 42 into the lower section 122 of the center positioned bracket 28 at the same time that the lug 44 of the motor control assembly 32 goes into the lower section 122 of the other outward positioned brackets 28. Once the lugs 44 are installed in the lower sections 122 of brackets 28 the upper sections 120 are closed on the upper sections 122 thereby trapping the lugs 44 within the collar 74 of brackets 28. Finials 30 and/or decorative elements 76 are installed.).
Regarding claim 3.
Mullet discloses all imitations of claim 1.
Mullet further discloses the first finial connector (120, fig 4) is configured to self-align the first finial (76, fig 1) with the axis of rotation of the drapery rod when the first finial is connected to the first finial connector (See fig 1).
Regarding claim 4.
Mullet discloses all imitations of claim 1.
Mullet further discloses the first finial connector (120, fig 4) has an alignment feature (See figs 3 and 5) to align (as in fig 3) the first finial connector with the first lug (44, fig 4).
Regarding claim 5.
Mullet discloses all imitations of claim 1.
Mullet further discloses the first bracket (28, fig 4) includes a u-shaped holder (122, fig 5) with an open end (open end closed by 120, fig 5);
the u-shaped holder having an interior surface (See fig 5);
the u-shaped holder having a channel formed by two partitions extending from the interior surface (See annotated fig 5); wherein
the channel is configured to receive the first lug through the open end of the u-shaped holder (Paragraph [0169]; With the drapery rods 26, coupler assembly 42, motor control assemblies 32, and rings 35 installed, the user ensures that the upper section 120 of the center-positioned bracket 28 and the outward positioned brackets 28 are open. Next, the user places the lug 44 of coupler assembly 42 into the lower section 122 of the center positioned bracket 28 at the same time that the lug 44 of the motor control assembly 32 goes into the lower section 122 of the other outward positioned brackets 28. Once the lugs 44 are installed in the lower sections 122 of brackets 28 the upper sections 120 are closed on the upper sections 122 thereby trapping the lugs 44 within the collar 74 of brackets 28.).
Regarding claim 6.
Mullet discloses all imitations of claim 1.
Mullet further discloses the first bracket (28, fig 1) includes a u-shaped holder (122, fig 5) with an open end (open end closed by 120, fig 5);
the u-shaped holder having an interior surface (See fig 5);
the u-shaped holder having a channel formed by two partitions extending from the interior surface (See annotated fig 5); wherein
the channel is configured to receive the first lug through the open end of the u-shaped holder (Paragraph [0169]; With the drapery rods 26, coupler assembly 42, motor control assemblies 32, and rings 35 installed, the user ensures that the upper section 120 of the center-positioned bracket 28 and the outward positioned brackets 28 are open. Next, the user places the lug 44 of coupler assembly 42 into the lower section 122 of the center positioned bracket 28 at the same time that the lug 44 of the motor control assembly 32 goes into the lower section 122 of the other outward positioned brackets 28. Once the lugs 44 are installed in the lower sections 122 of brackets 28 the upper sections 120 are closed on the upper sections 122 thereby trapping the lugs 44 within the collar 74 of brackets 28.); wherein
the first finial connector (120, fig 4) includes a locking mechanism (See fig 5);
the locking mechanism configured to secure the first lug in place within the channel of the first bracket (Paragraph [0169]; the upper sections 120 are closed on the upper sections 122 thereby trapping the lugs 44 within the collar 74 of brackets 28.);
with the axis of rotation of the drapery rod when the first finial is connected to the first finial connector (See fig 3).
Regarding claim 7.
Mullet discloses all imitations of claim 1.
Mullet further discloses the drive assembly (32, fig 4) includes:
a drive coupler (56, fig 4);
the drive coupler configured to operably connect (as in fig 14) with an internal surface (at 136, fig 14) of the drapery rod (26, fig 14);
a gearbox (94, fig 4);
the gearbox having an output shaft operably connected to the drive coupler (See fig 4);
a motor (92, fig 4);
the motor operably connected to an input shaft of the gearbox (See fig 4); and
a control circuit housing (80, fig 4);
the control circuit housing operably connected to the motor (See fig 4); wherein
the first lug (44, fig 4) is configured to operably connect with an outward end of the control circuit housing (See fig 4).
Regarding claim 8.
Mullet discloses all imitations of claim 1.
Mullet further discloses the drive assembly (32, fig 4) includes:
a drive coupler (56, fig 4 – See also fig 14) positioned within the drapery rod (26, fig 4);
the drive coupler configured to operably connect with an internal surface of the drapery rod (See fig 14);
a gearbox (94, fig 4) positioned within the drapery rod;
the gearbox having an output shaft operably connected to the drive coupler (See fig 4);
a motor (92, fig 4) positioned within the drapery rod;
the motor operably connected to an input shaft of the gearbox (See fig 4); and
a control circuit housing (80, fig 4) positioned within the drapery rod;
the control circuit housing operably connected to the motor (See fig 4); wherein
the first lug (44, fig 4) is configured to operably connect with an outward end of the control circuit housing (See fig 4);
a bearing assembly (52, fig 4) positioned on the control circuit housing (See fig 4); wherein
operation of the motor causes the drive coupler (See fig 14), the drapery rod, and the bearing assembly (Paragraph [0142]; the exterior surface 130 of bearing assembly 52 rotates with the drapery rod 26.) to rotate relative to the gearbox, the motor, and the control circuit housing.
Regarding claim 9.
Mullet discloses all imitations of claim 1.
Mullet further discloses the drive assembly (32, fig 4) includes:
a drive coupler (56, fig 4);
the drive coupler configured to operably connect with an internal surface of the drapery rod (See fig 14);
a gearbox (94, fig 4);
the gearbox having an output shaft operably connected to the drive coupler (See fig 4);
a motor (92, fig 4);
the motor operably connected to an input shaft of the gearbox (80, fig 4); and
a control circuit housing (80, fig 4);
the control circuit housing operably connected to the motor (See fig 4); wherein
the first lug (44, fig 4) is configured to operably connect with an outward end of the control circuit housing (See fig 4);
a shaft (as at 46, fig 22) aligned with the axis of rotation of the drapery rod (See fig 22);
wherein the shaft is threaded into an opening in the outward end of the control circuit housing (Paragraph [0146]; In one arrangement, as one example, one bearing 54 is positioned at the inward end of hollow interior 138 and one bearing 54 is positioned at the outward end of hollow interior 138. The use of two, or more, bearings 54 to connect bearing assembly 52 to hub 46 provides increased stability over using only a single bearing 54. In one arrangement, bearings 54 are press-fit or friction fit over the exterior surface of hub 46, however they may be connected by any other manner, method or means such as screwing, bolting, adhering, welding, riveting, threading, or any other manner, method or means of connecting two components together.) (See also 52, fig 4).
Regarding claim 10.
Mullet discloses all imitations of claim 1.
Mullet further discloses the drive assembly (32, fig 4) includes:
a drive coupler (56, fig 4);
the drive coupler configured to operably connect with an internal surface of the drapery rod (See fig 14);
a gearbox (94, fig 4);
the gearbox having an output shaft operably connected to the drive coupler (See fig 4);
a motor (92, fig 4);
the motor operably connected to an input shaft of the gearbox (See fig 4); and
a control circuit housing (80, fig 4);
the control circuit housing operably connected to the motor (see fig 4);
wherein the first lug (44, fig 4) is configured to operably connect with an outward end of the control circuit housing (See fig 4);
a shaft (as at 46, fig 22) aligned with the axis of rotation of the drapery rod (See fig 22);
wherein the shaft is threaded into an opening in an outward end of the control circuit housing (Paragraph [0146]; In one arrangement, as one example, one bearing 54 is positioned at the inward end of hollow interior 138 and one bearing 54 is positioned at the outward end of hollow interior 138. The use of two, or more, bearings 54 to connect bearing assembly 52 to hub 46 provides increased stability over using only a single bearing 54. In one arrangement, bearings 54 are press-fit or friction fit over the exterior surface of hub 46, however they may be connected by any other manner, method or means such as screwing, bolting, adhering, welding, riveting, threading, or any other manner, method or means of connecting two components together.) (See also 52, fig 4);
the shaft having a hollow interior and a channel extending along the shaft (Paragraph [0133]; hub 46 has a generally cylindrical shape that extends from end 124 to end 124 and includes a hollow interior 126);
a control circuit (82, fig 17) positioned within the control circuit housing (80, fig 17);
the control circuit having a wired connection (100, fig 1) extending out through the opening in the outward end of the control circuit housing and out through the channel extending along the shaft (See fig 6).
Regarding claim 11.
Mullet discloses all imitations of claim 1.
Mullet further discloses the first finial connector (120, fig 4) includes a spacer (Hinge part; See annotated fig 4) configured to separate an inward end of the first finial connector from an outward end of the first lug (By ensuring a lateral location of the first finial connector).
Regarding claim 12.
Mullet discloses all imitations of claim 1.
Mullet further discloses the outward portion of the drive assembly (32, fig 4) includes a control circuit housing (80, fig 4);
wherein the drive assembly further includes a shaft (See annotated fig 6);
wherein the shaft extends out from an opening in the outward end of the control circuit housing (See annotated fig 6);
wherein the first finial connector (120, fig 6) has a main body (See fig 6);
the main body having a cylindrical tube shape (See figs 5 and 6);
wherein the main body of the first finial connector is configured to fit over the shaft (See fig 1).
Regarding claim 14.
Mullet discloses all imitations of claim 1.
Mullet further discloses the first finial (76, fig 1) includes a drapery tube extension (30, fig 3);
wherein when the drapery rod, drive assembly, and first finial are assembled together (See fig 3) and the first lug is connected with the first bracket, the drapery rod (26, fig 3) and the drapery tube extension (30, fig 3) have the appearance of a continuous drapery rod (See fig 3).
Regarding claim 15.
Mullet discloses all imitations of claim 1.
Mullet further discloses:
a passive connection assembly (150, fig 4);
the passive connection assembly configured to be inserted within and operably connected with the second end of the drapery rod (See fig 3);
the passive connection assembly having a hub and a bearing assembly (52, fig 4);
the bearing assembly configured to operably connect with the hub of the passive connection assembly and the second end of the drapery rod and permit the drapery rod to rotate relative to the hub (Paragraph [0160]; half coupler assembly 150 couples the end of a drapery rod 26, opposite coupler assembly 42, to an outward positioned bracket 28 while allowing free rotation of the drapery rod 26);
the passive connection assembly including a second lug (44, fig 4) operably connected to an outward end of the hub (See fig 4);
the second lug configured to connect with a second bracket (28, fig 4) of the pair of brackets to facilitate mounting of the second end of the drapery rod (See fig 3);
passive connection assembly including a second finial connector (120, fig 4) configured to facilitate attachment of a second finial (76, fig 4) with the passive connection assembly (See figs 1 and 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mullet in view of PG Pub. US 2006/0130983 A1 – Nien.
Regarding claim 13.
Mullet discloses all imitations of claim 1.
Mullet further discloses the outward portion of the drive assembly (32, fig 4) includes a control circuit housing (80, fig 4);
wherein the drive assembly further includes a shaft (See annotated fig 6);
the shaft extending out from an opening in the outward end of the control circuit housing (See annotated fig 6);
wherein the first finial connector (120, fig 6) has a main body (See fig 6);
the main body having a cylindrical tube shape (See figs 5 and 6);
wherein the main body of the first finial connector is configured to fit over the shaft (See fig 1);
wherein the first finial (76, fig 1) includes an extension tube (30, fig 1) and an end cap (at 76, fig 1);
wherein an outward end of the main body has a cylindrical recess (see fig 6) configured to receive an end of the extension tube (30, fig 6);
Mullet does not disclose wherein the end cap is configured to thread onto the shaft and thereby clamp the extension tube between the end cap and the main body of the first finial connector.
However, Nien teaches wherein the end cap (41, fig 2) is configured to thread onto the shaft (43, fig 2) and thereby clamp the extension tube (30, fig 2) between the end cap (41, fig 2) and the main body (42, fig 2) of the first finial connector (See figs 2 and 4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Mullet with the threaded endcap arrangement of Nien. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of providing a positive connection of the end cap to the system.
Claim(s) 16-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mullet.
Regarding claim 16.
Mullet discloses a drapery rod window covering system (10, fig 1), comprising:
a drapery rod (26, fig 1);
the drapery rod extending a length between a first end and a second end (See fig 1);
a pair of brackets (28, fig 1);
the pair of brackets configured to attach to a structure (Paragraph [0070]; Mounting plate 70 is configured to attach the brackets 28 to the wall or other structure);
a drive assembly (32, fig 4) positioned within the first end of the drapery rod (See figs 4 and 1);
the drive assembly configured to operably connect the first end of the drapery rod with a first bracket (28, fig 4) of the pair of brackets;
the drive assembly including a motor (92, fig 4);
the motor configured to rotate the drapery rod when operated;
a first finial (76, fig 4);
wherein the drive assembly is configured to operably connect the first finial with the drapery rod (See fig 3); wherein
the drive assembly is configured to align the first finial with an axis of rotation of the drapery rod (See fig 3); wherein
Mullet does not explicitly disclose the drive assembly is configured to connect with and disconnect from the first bracket while the first finial remains operably connected with the first end of the drapery rod.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Mullet by integrating the finial with the drive assembly such that the drive assembly is configured to connect with and disconnect from the first bracket while the first finial remains operably connected with the first end of the drapery rod. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of simplifying the installation of the system.
Regarding claim 17.
Mullet teaches all limitations of claim 16.
Mullet further discloses the drive assembly (32, fig 4) has an inward portion (at 56, fig 4) and an outward portion (at 44, fig 4);
the drive assembly (32, fig 4) configured to rotate the inward portion (at 56, fig 4) relative to the outward portion (at 44, fig 4) during operation to cause drapery rod to be rotated (Paragraph [0075]; Motor control assembly 32 is … configured to facilitate motorized operation of drapery rod system 10.);
the outward portion of the drive assembly includes a first lug (44, fig 4) positioned proximate to the first end of the drapery rod (See fig 4);
the first lug configured to connect with a first bracket (28, fig 4) of the pair of brackets (See fig 4) to facilitate mounting of the first end of the drapery rod (as in fig 3) and prevent the outward portion of the drive assembly from rotating during operation (Paragraph [0130]; When lug 44 is positioned within collar 74, the interaction between the square, rectangular or non-round lug 44 within the similarly shaped recess in collar 74 provides alignment as well as prevents lug 44 from moving or rotating within bracket 28.);
the outward portion of the drive assembly having a first finial connector (120, fig 4) configured to facilitate attachment of a first finial (76, fig 1) with the outward portion of the drive assembly with the first finial aligned with an axis of rotation of the drapery rod (See figs 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 18.
Mullet teaches all limitations of claim 16.
Mullet further discloses the drive assembly includes a first lug (44, fig 4);
wherein the first lug (44, fig 4) and first bracket (28, fig 4) are configured (See fig 5) to permit the drapery rod, the drive assembly, and the first finial to remain assembled together when the first lug is disconnected from the first bracket (Paragraph [0169]; With the drapery rods 26, coupler assembly 42, motor control assemblies 32, and rings 35 installed, the user ensures that the upper section 120 of the center-positioned bracket 28 and the outward positioned brackets 28 are open. Next, the user places the lug 44 of coupler assembly 42 into the lower section 122 of the center positioned bracket 28 at the same time that the lug 44 of the motor control assembly 32 goes into the lower section 122 of the other outward positioned brackets 28. Once the lugs 44 are installed in the lower sections 122 of brackets 28 the upper sections 120 are closed on the upper sections 122 thereby trapping the lugs 44 within the collar 74 of brackets 28. Finials 30 and/or decorative elements 76 are installed.).
Regarding claim 19.
Mullet teaches all limitations of claim 16.
Mullet further discloses the drive assembly includes a first finial connector (120, fig 4);
wherein the first finial connector (120, fig 4) is configured to self-align the first finial (76, fig 1) with the axis of rotation of the drapery rod when the first finial is connected to the first finial connector (See fig 1).
Regarding claim 20.
Mullet teaches all limitations of claim 16.
Mullet further discloses the drive assembly includes a first lug (44, fig 4);
wherein the first bracket (28, fig 4) includes a u-shaped holder (122, fig 5) with an open end (open end closed by 120, fig 5);
the u-shaped holder having an interior surface (See fig 5);
the u-shaped holder having a channel formed by two partitions extending from the interior surface (See annotated fig 5); wherein
the channel is configured to receive the first lug through the open end of the u-shaped holder (Paragraph [0169]; With the drapery rods 26, coupler assembly 42, motor control assemblies 32, and rings 35 installed, the user ensures that the upper section 120 of the center-positioned bracket 28 and the outward positioned brackets 28 are open. Next, the user places the lug 44 of coupler assembly 42 into the lower section 122 of the center positioned bracket 28 at the same time that the lug 44 of the motor control assembly 32 goes into the lower section 122 of the other outward positioned brackets 28. Once the lugs 44 are installed in the lower sections 122 of brackets 28 the upper sections 120 are closed on the upper sections 122 thereby trapping the lugs 44 within the collar 74 of brackets 28.).
Regarding claim 21.
Mullet teaches all limitations of claim 16.
Mullet further discloses the drive assembly includes a first lug (44, fig 4);
wherein the first bracket (28, fig 1) includes a u-shaped holder (122, fig 5) with an open end (open end closed by 120, fig 5);
the u-shaped holder having an interior surface (See fig 5);
the u-shaped holder having a channel formed by two partitions extending from the interior surface (See annotated fig 5); wherein
the channel is configured to receive the first lug through the open end of the u-shaped holder (Paragraph [0169]; With the drapery rods 26, coupler assembly 42, motor control assemblies 32, and rings 35 installed, the user ensures that the upper section 120 of the center-positioned bracket 28 and the outward positioned brackets 28 are open. Next, the user places the lug 44 of coupler assembly 42 into the lower section 122 of the center positioned bracket 28 at the same time that the lug 44 of the motor control assembly 32 goes into the lower section 122 of the other outward positioned brackets 28. Once the lugs 44 are installed in the lower sections 122 of brackets 28 the upper sections 120 are closed on the upper sections 122 thereby trapping the lugs 44 within the collar 74 of brackets 28.); wherein
the drive assembly includes a first finial connector (120, fig 4) operably connected to the first lug; wherein the first finial connector includes a locking mechanism (See fig 5);
the locking mechanism configured to secure the first lug in place within the channel of the first bracket (Paragraph [0169]; the upper sections 120 are closed on the upper sections 122 thereby trapping the lugs 44 within the collar 74 of brackets 28.);
with the axis of rotation of the drapery rod when the first finial is connected to the first finial connector (See fig 3).
Regarding claim 22.
Mullet teaches all limitations of claim 16.
Mullet further discloses the drive assembly (32, fig 4) includes:
a drive coupler (56, fig 4);
the drive coupler configured to operably connect (as in fig 14) with an internal surface (at 136, fig 14) of the drapery rod (26, fig 14);
a gearbox (94, fig 4);
the gearbox having an output shaft operably connected to the drive coupler (See fig 4);
a motor (92, fig 4);
the motor operably connected to an input shaft of the gearbox (See fig 4); and
a control circuit housing (80, fig 4);
the control circuit housing operably connected to the motor (See fig 4);
a first lug (44, fig 4);
the first lug is configured to operably connect with an outward end of the control circuit housing (See fig 4).
Regarding claim 23.
Mullet teaches all limitations of claim 16.
Mullet further discloses the drive assembly (32, fig 4) includes:
a drive coupler (56, fig 4 – See also fig 14) positioned within the drapery rod (26, fig 4);
the drive coupler configured to operably connect with an internal surface of the drapery rod (See fig 14);
a gearbox (94, fig 4) positioned within the drapery rod;
the gearbox having an output shaft operably connected to the drive coupler (See fig 4);
a motor (92, fig 4) positioned within the drapery rod;
the motor operably connected to an input shaft of the gearbox (See fig 4); and
a control circuit housing (80, fig 4) positioned within the drapery rod;
the control circuit housing operably connected to the motor (See fig 4);
a first lug (44, fig 4);
the first lug is configured to operably connect with an outward end of the control circuit housing (See fig 4);
a bearing assembly (52, fig 4) positioned on the control circuit housing (See fig 4); wherein
operation of the motor causes the drive coupler (See fig 14), the drapery rod, and the bearing assembly (Paragraph [0142]; the exterior surface 130 of bearing assembly 52 rotates with the drapery rod 26.) to rotate relative to the gearbox, the motor, and the control circuit housing.
Regarding claim 24.
Mullet teaches all limitations of claim 16.
Mullet further discloses the drive assembly (32, fig 4) includes:
a drive coupler (56, fig 4);
the drive coupler configured to operably connect with an internal surface of the drapery rod (See fig 14);
a gearbox (94, fig 4);
the gearbox having an output shaft operably connected to the drive coupler (See fig 4);
a motor (92, fig 4);
the motor operably connected to an input shaft of the gearbox (80, fig 4); and
a control circuit housing (80, fig 4);
the control circuit housing operably connected to the motor (See fig 4);
a first lug (44, fig 4);
the first lug (44, fig 4) is configured to operably connect with an outward end of the control circuit housing (See fig 4);
a shaft (as at 46, fig 22) aligned with the axis of rotation of the drapery rod (See fig 22);
wherein the shaft is threaded into an opening in the outward end of the control circuit housing (Paragraph [0146]; In one arrangement, as one example, one bearing 54 is positioned at the inward end of hollow interior 138 and one bearing 54 is positioned at the outward end of hollow interior 138. The use of two, or more, bearings 54 to connect bearing assembly 52 to hub 46 provides increased stability over using only a single bearing 54. In one arrangement, bearings 54 are press-fit or friction fit over the exterior surface of hub 46, however they may be connected by any other manner, method or means such as screwing, bolting, adhering, welding, riveting, threading, or any other manner, method or means of connecting two components together.) (See also 52, fig 4).
Regarding claim 25.
Mullet teaches all limitations of claim 16.
Mullet further discloses the drive assembly (32, fig 4) includes:
a drive coupler (56, fig 4);
the drive coupler configured to operably connect with an internal surface of the drapery rod (See fig 14);
a gearbox (94, fig 4);
the gearbox having an output shaft operably connected to the drive coupler (See fig 4);
a motor (92, fig 4);
the motor operably connected to an input shaft of the gearbox (See fig 4); and
a control circuit housing (80, fig 4);
the control circuit housing operably connected to the motor (see fig 4);
a first lug (44, fig 4);
the first lug (44, fig 4) is configured to operably connect with an outward end of the control circuit housing (See fig 4);
a shaft (as at 46, fig 22) aligned with the axis of rotation of the drapery rod (See fig 22);
wherein the shaft is threaded into an opening in an outward end of the control circuit housing (Paragraph [0146]; In one arrangement, as one example, one bearing 54 is positioned at the inward end of hollow interior 138 and one bearing 54 is positioned at the outward end of hollow interior 138. The use of two, or more, bearings 54 to connect bearing assembly 52 to hub 46 provides increased stability over using only a single bearing 54. In one arrangement, bearings 54 are press-fit or friction fit over the exterior surface of hub 46, however they may be connected by any other manner, method or means such as screwing, bolting, adhering, welding, riveting, threading, or any other manner, method or means of connecting two components together.) (See also 52, fig 4);
the shaft having a hollow interior and a channel extending along the shaft (Paragraph [0133]; hub 46 has a generally cylindrical shape that extends from end 124 to end 124 and includes a hollow interior 126);
a control circuit (82, fig 17) positioned within the control circuit housing (80, fig 17);
the control circuit having a wired connection (100, fig 1) extending out through the opening in the outward end of the control circuit housing and out through the channel extending along the shaft (See fig 6).
Regarding claim 26.
Mullet teaches all limitations of claim 16.
Mullet further discloses the first finial (76, fig 1) includes a drapery tube extension (30, fig 3);
wherein when the drapery rod, drive assembly, and first finial are assembled together (See fig 3) and the first lug is connected with the first bracket, the drapery rod (26, fig 3) and the drapery tube extension (30, fig 3) have the appearance of a continuous drapery rod (See fig 3).
Regarding claim 27.
Mullet teaches all limitations of claim 16.
Mullet further discloses:
a passive connection assembly (150, fig 4);
the passive connection assembly configured to be inserted within and operably connected with the second end of the drapery rod (See fig 3);
the passive connection assembly having a hub and a bearing assembly (52, fig 4);
the bearing assembly configured to operably connect with the hub of the passive connection assembly and the second end of the drapery rod and permit the drapery rod to rotate relative to the hub (Paragraph [0160]; half coupler assembly 150 couples the end of a drapery rod 26, opposite coupler assembly 42, to an outward positioned bracket 28 while allowing free rotation of the drapery rod 26);
the drive assembly (32, fig 4) including a first lug (44, fig 4) operably connected to an outward end of the drive assembly (See fig 4);
the first lug configured to connect with the first bracket (28, fig 4) of the pair of brackets to facilitate mounting of the second end of the drapery rod (See fig 3);
the passive connection assembly including a second lug (44, fig 4) operably connected to an outward end of the hub (See fig 4);
the second lug configured to connect with a second bracket (28, fig 4) of the pair of brackets to facilitate mounting of the second end of the drapery rod (See fig 3);
passive connection assembly including a second finial connector (120, fig 4) configured to facilitate attachment of a second finial (76, fig 4) with the passive connection assembly (See figs 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 28.
Mullet discloses a method of installing a rotating drapery rod system (10, fig 1), comprising:
providing a pair of brackets (28, fig 1);
providing a drapery rod (26, fig 1)
the drapery rod extending a length between a first end and a second end (See fig 1);
providing a first drive assembly (32, fig 4);
connecting the first drive assembly with the first end of the drapery rod (See figs 3 and 6);
connecting a first finial (76, fig 4) with the first drive assembly (See fig 1); wherein
the first drive assembly aligns the first finial with an axis of rotation of the drapery rod (See fig 3);
connecting first finial with the first drive assembly (See fig 3),
connecting the first drive assembly with a first bracket of the pair of brackets (See fig 3).
Mullet does not explicitly disclose after connecting first finial with the first drive assembly, connecting the first drive assembly with a first bracket of the pair of brackets.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Mullet by integrating the finial with the drive assembly such that the first drive assembly may be connected with a first bracket of the pair of brackets after connecting first finial with the first drive assembly. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of simplifying the installation of the system.
Conclusion
/J.W.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634