DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is in response to the amendments and/or arguments filed on October 28, 2025. Claims 1-18 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 7-8, filed October 28, 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-11 under prior art rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Brooks et al. (US 2019016110; hereinafter Brooks).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 20220252416; hereinafter Wu; already of record) in view of Brooks et al. (US 20190161101; hereinafter Brooks).
In regards to claim 1, Wu discloses of a method for controlling energy use in a vehicle (“A driving planning method including: selecting, from at least one driving path of a vehicle from a departure place to a destination with reference to a remaining energy condition of the vehicle, a target driving path on which shortest time is consumed and remaining energy of the vehicle ensures that the vehicle can arrive at the destination and corresponding target driving configuration information; or selecting, from at least one driving path of a vehicle from a departure place to a destination with reference to a remaining energy condition of the vehicle, a driving path on which minimum energy is consumed, remaining energy of the vehicle ensures that the vehicle can arrive at the destination, and the vehicle can arrive at the destination before a user-set arrival time point, and corresponding target driving configuration information.” (Abstract), comprising:
determining a travel path for a trip (“The navigation module is configured to: receive the driving destination entered by the user in the user interface; query actual map road topology data; determine, with reference to the destination entered by the user, at least one driving path through which the user can arrive at the destination; and after determining the at least one driving path, submit the at least one driving path to the driving planning module in the automated driving system, so that the driving planning module can select, from the at least one driving path based on a user requirement, a driving path that best meets the user requirement.” (Para 0066));
determining a duration of travel for the trip (“It can be learned that, according to the foregoing driving planning solution based on the time-saving mode, when the user selects the time-saving mode icon in the user interface, the driving planning module may calculate a fastest driving path to the destination within a driving distance allowed by remaining energy based on the current remaining energy condition of the vehicle, and present information about estimated time point of arrival at the destination to the user via the user interface. Therefore, a more feasible driving planning solution is provided based on the actual condition of the vehicle, to improve user experience.” (Para 0145) and “The user interface is configured to implement information exchange between the automated driving system and a user. For example, when the user needs to travel, the automated driving system pops up an indication in the user interface, to indicate the user to enter a driving destination in the user interface. For another example, after the user sets the driving destination and the driving planning module in the automated driving system determines an optimal driving path, the user interface may display the driving path finally determined by the automated driving system, and display, to the user, estimated consumed time required for an entire travel and estimated energy consumption required for the entire travel. For another example, in a driving process of a vehicle, the automated driving system may update, in the user interface in real time, a current location of the vehicle and a road condition on a driving path, such as a congestion condition, a no-pass condition, and a road repair condition.” (Para 0065));
determining an energy requirement to complete the trip within the duration “The user interface is configured to implement information exchange between the automated driving system and a user. For example, when the user needs to travel, the automated driving system pops up an indication in the user interface, to indicate the user to enter a driving destination in the user interface. For another example, after the user sets the driving destination and the driving planning module in the automated driving system determines an optimal driving path, the user interface may display the driving path finally determined by the automated driving system, and display, to the user, estimated consumed time required for an entire travel and estimated energy consumption required for the entire travel. For another example, in a driving process of a vehicle, the automated driving system may update, in the user interface in real time, a current location of the vehicle and a road condition on a driving path, such as a congestion condition, a no-pass condition, and a road repair condition.” (Para 0065) and “Step 301: The driving planning module presents a time-saving driving mode icon and an energy-saving driving mode icon in a user interface of a vehicle. The time-saving driving mode icon may indicate a time-saving mode in driving modes. The energy-saving driving mode icon may indicate an energy-saving mode in the driving modes. When the vehicle is driven in the time-saving mode, remaining energy of the vehicle can ensure that the vehicle consumes shortest time to arrive at a destination from a departure place. When the vehicle is driven in the energy-saving mode, remaining energy of the vehicle can ensure that the vehicle consumes minimum energy to arrive at the destination from the departure place before a specified time point. The specified time point may be information about a specified time point that is entered by a user in the user interface to arrive at the destination.” (Para 0077));
comparing the energy requirement to a low energy threshold which is selected as a function of energy the vehicle consumes during operation with a predetermined lower level of power output than a maximum power output of the vehicle (“Step 301: The driving planning module presents a time-saving driving mode icon and an energy-saving driving mode icon in a user interface of a vehicle. The time-saving driving mode icon may indicate a time-saving mode in driving modes. The energy-saving driving mode icon may indicate an energy-saving mode in the driving modes. When the vehicle is driven in the time-saving mode, remaining energy of the vehicle can ensure that the vehicle consumes shortest time to arrive at a destination from a departure place. When the vehicle is driven in the energy-saving mode, remaining energy of the vehicle can ensure that the vehicle consumes minimum energy to arrive at the destination from the departure place before a specified time point. The specified time point may be information about a specified time point that is entered by a user in the user interface to arrive at the destination.” (Para 0077), “By analogy, explanation for the driving configuration information i-2 and the driving configuration information i-.sub.3 is similar to that for the driving configuration information Differences are that in the driving configuration information i-2, α.sub.iAcc/α.sub.iDec respectively represent a maximum acceleration value and a maximum deceleration value in the normal mode; and in the driving configuration information i-.sub.3, α.sub.iAcc/α.sub.iDec respectively represent a maximum acceleration value and a maximum deceleration value in the economic mode. The maximum acceleration values and the maximum deceleration values α.sub.iAcc/α.sub.iDec in the normal mode and the economic mode may be preset and stored in the driving planning module.” (Para 0120), see also Para 0116; where when the energy requirement to arrive to the destination prior to the specified time point allows for an energy saving mode, then the minimum amount of energy to arrive within the time is used, which uses an amount of power less than the time-saving mode or normal mode, therefore the energy requirement is less than a low energy threshold); and
reducing the maximum power output that is provided from the vehicle … when the energy requirement is lower than the low energy threshold (“Step 301: The driving planning module presents a time-saving driving mode icon and an energy-saving driving mode icon in a user interface of a vehicle. The time-saving driving mode icon may indicate a time-saving mode in driving modes. The energy-saving driving mode icon may indicate an energy-saving mode in the driving modes. When the vehicle is driven in the time-saving mode, remaining energy of the vehicle can ensure that the vehicle consumes shortest time to arrive at a destination from a departure place. When the vehicle is driven in the energy-saving mode, remaining energy of the vehicle can ensure that the vehicle consumes minimum energy to arrive at the destination from the departure place before a specified time point. The specified time point may be information about a specified time point that is entered by a user in the user interface to arrive at the destination.” (Para 0077), “By analogy, explanation for the driving configuration information i-2 and the driving configuration information i-.sub.3 is similar to that for the driving configuration information Differences are that in the driving configuration information i-2, α.sub.iAcc/α.sub.iDec respectively represent a maximum acceleration value and a maximum deceleration value in the normal mode; and in the driving configuration information i-.sub.3, α.sub.iAcc/α.sub.iDec respectively represent a maximum acceleration value and a maximum deceleration value in the economic mode. The maximum acceleration values and the maximum deceleration values α.sub.iAcc/α.sub.iDec in the normal mode and the economic mode may be preset and stored in the driving planning module.” (Para 0120) and “First, three existing operation modes of most vehicles are described, which are sport, normal, and eco. Certainly, with development of vehicle technologies, more other possible operation modes may be developed, which are not limited in this application. The vehicle in the three operation modes has different acceleration and deceleration/braking levels. For example, in the sport mode, the vehicle has fastest acceleration and deceleration. That is, time used for acceleration and deceleration is short. The vehicle can accelerate or decelerate quickly. However, the vehicle consumes most energy in this mode. In the normal mode, the vehicle has acceleration and deceleration less than those in the sport mode. In the eco mode, the vehicle has low acceleration and deceleration, and the eco mode is a mode with lowest acceleration and deceleration in the three modes. In this mode, time used by the vehicle for acceleration and deceleration is short, but the vehicle may save energy in the eco mode.” (Para 0116), see also Para 0116 and 0161; where when the energy requirement to arrive to the destination prior to the specified time point allows for an energy saving mode/economic mode, then the minimum amount of energy to arrive within the time is used, which uses an amount of power less than the time-saving mode or normal mode, therefore the energy requirement is less than a low energy threshold).
However, Wu does not specifically disclose of reducing the maximum power output that is provided from the vehicle upon driver actuation of a throttle input of the vehicle to the lower level of power output when the energy requirement is lower than the low energy threshold.
Brooks, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of reducing the maximum power output that is provided from the vehicle upon driver actuation of a throttle input of the vehicle to the lower level of power output when the energy requirement is lower than the low energy threshold (“The manual input device 210 is configured to obtain manually input information from the operator of the vehicle system 200, and to convey the input information to the vehicle controller 202 and/or the trip planning controller 206. The manually input information may be an operator-provided selection, such as a selection to limit the throttle settings of the vehicle system 200 along a segment of the route due to a received slow order, for example. The operator-provided selection may also include a selection to activate the audible warning emitter 214, to control the communication circuit 212 to communicate a message remotely to another vehicle, to a dispatch location, or the like, or to actuate the brakes to slow and/or stop the vehicle system 200. The manual input device 210 may be a keyboard, a touchscreen, an electronic mouse, a microphone, a wearable device, or the like. Optionally, the manual input device 210 may be housed with the display device 208 in the same case or housing. For example, the input device 210 may interact with a graphical user interface (GUI) generated by the vehicle controller 202 and/or the trip planning controller 206 and shown on the display device 206.” (Para 0034), “It is recognized that each of the vehicle systems 200, 300 may travel along different segments of the route at different power outputs depending on route characteristics and other factors, such that the vehicle systems 200, 300 may often provide a current power output that is less than the respective upper power output limit. For example, the trailing vehicle system 200 may have an upper power output limit of 12,000 horsepower, but generates less than 12,000 horsepower along various segments of the route according to the trip plan. The trip plan designates throttle and brake settings of the vehicle system 200 during the trip based on time or location along the route. The throttle settings may be notch settings. In one embodiment, the throttle settings include eight notch settings, where Notch 1 is the low throttle setting and Notch 8 is the top throttle setting. Notch 8 corresponds to the upper power output limit, which is 12,000 horsepower in one embodiment.” (Para 0052), see also Para 0030).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the maximum power output of the vehicle, as taught by Wu, to include reducing a driver actuation of a throttle input of the vehicle, as taught by Brooks, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide improved control of a vehicle system during a special area of interest, such as a slow order (Brooks Para 0024 and 0034).
In regards to claim 2, Wu in view of Brooks teaches of the method of claim 1 wherein the reducing step occurs when the energy requirement is less than the low energy threshold by at least a predetermined amount (“Step 301: The driving planning module presents a time-saving driving mode icon and an energy-saving driving mode icon in a user interface of a vehicle. The time-saving driving mode icon may indicate a time-saving mode in driving modes. The energy-saving driving mode icon may indicate an energy-saving mode in the driving modes. When the vehicle is driven in the time-saving mode, remaining energy of the vehicle can ensure that the vehicle consumes shortest time to arrive at a destination from a departure place. When the vehicle is driven in the energy-saving mode, remaining energy of the vehicle can ensure that the vehicle consumes minimum energy to arrive at the destination from the departure place before a specified time point. The specified time point may be information about a specified time point that is entered by a user in the user interface to arrive at the destination.” (Wu Para 0077), “By analogy, explanation for the driving configuration information i-2 and the driving configuration information i-.sub.3 is similar to that for the driving configuration information Differences are that in the driving configuration information i-2, α.sub.iAcc/α.sub.iDec respectively represent a maximum acceleration value and a maximum deceleration value in the normal mode; and in the driving configuration information i-.sub.3, α.sub.iAcc/α.sub.iDec respectively represent a maximum acceleration value and a maximum deceleration value in the economic mode. The maximum acceleration values and the maximum deceleration values α.sub.iAcc/α.sub.iDec in the normal mode and the economic mode may be preset and stored in the driving planning module.” (Wu Para 0120) and “First, three existing operation modes of most vehicles are described, which are sport, normal, and eco. Certainly, with development of vehicle technologies, more other possible operation modes may be developed, which are not limited in this application. The vehicle in the three operation modes has different acceleration and deceleration/braking levels. For example, in the sport mode, the vehicle has fastest acceleration and deceleration. That is, time used for acceleration and deceleration is short. The vehicle can accelerate or decelerate quickly. However, the vehicle consumes most energy in this mode. In the normal mode, the vehicle has acceleration and deceleration less than those in the sport mode. In the eco mode, the vehicle has low acceleration and deceleration, and the eco mode is a mode with lowest acceleration and deceleration in the three modes. In this mode, time used by the vehicle for acceleration and deceleration is short, but the vehicle may save energy in the eco mode.” (Wu Para 0116), see also Wu Para 0116 and 0161; where when the energy requirement to arrive to the destination prior to the specified time point allows for an energy saving mode/economic mode, then the minimum amount of energy to arrive within the time is used, which uses an amount of power less than the time-saving mode or normal mode, therefore the energy requirement is less than a low energy threshold).
In regards to claim 3, Wu in view of Brooks teaches of the method of claim 1 wherein the reducing step is accomplished by reducing a maximum rate of acceleration of the vehicle “By analogy, explanation for the driving configuration information i-2 and the driving configuration information i-.sub.3 is similar to that for the driving configuration information Differences are that in the driving configuration information i-2, α.sub.iAcc/α.sub.iDec respectively represent a maximum acceleration value and a maximum deceleration value in the normal mode; and in the driving configuration information i-.sub.3, α.sub.iAcc/α.sub.iDec respectively represent a maximum acceleration value and a maximum deceleration value in the economic mode. The maximum acceleration values and the maximum deceleration values α.sub.iAcc/α.sub.iDec in the normal mode and the economic mode may be preset and stored in the driving planning module.” (Wu Para 0120) and “First, three existing operation modes of most vehicles are described, which are sport, normal, and eco. Certainly, with development of vehicle technologies, more other possible operation modes may be developed, which are not limited in this application. The vehicle in the three operation modes has different acceleration and deceleration/braking levels. For example, in the sport mode, the vehicle has fastest acceleration and deceleration. That is, time used for acceleration and deceleration is short. The vehicle can accelerate or decelerate quickly. However, the vehicle consumes most energy in this mode. In the normal mode, the vehicle has acceleration and deceleration less than those in the sport mode. In the eco mode, the vehicle has low acceleration and deceleration, and the eco mode is a mode with lowest acceleration and deceleration in the three modes. In this mode, time used by the vehicle for acceleration and deceleration is short, but the vehicle may save energy in the eco mode.” (Wu Para 0116).
In regards to claim 4, Wu in view of Brooks teaches of the method of claim 1 wherein the reducing step is accomplished by reducing a maximum speed of the vehicle (“Step 811: The driving planning module determines different driving configuration information of the vehicle based on the maximum vehicle speed and the minimum vehicle speed on each sub-path and different operation modes of the vehicle on the driving path L, and determines respective duration and energy consumed when the vehicle arrives at the destination through the driving path L based on the different driving configuration information” (Wu Para 0153), “Step 810: The driving planning module divides the driving path L into at least one sub-path, and determines a maximum vehicle speed and a minimum vehicle speed on each sub-path. The maximum vehicle speed may be determined based on a road type-based speed limit, a weather type-based speed limit, and a congestion condition-based speed limit on the corresponding sub-path. The minimum vehicle speed may be an allowable minimum vehicle speed at which the vehicle is most energy-saving.” (Wu Para 0152) and “In the driving configuration information i-M, the vehicle speeds on the road sections AB, BC, and CD are decreased to V.sub.min. That is, the driving speeds on the three sub-paths are all adjusted to a minimum allowable speed that is the most energy-saving, namely, the prestored uniform driving vehicle speed V.sub.min at which the vehicle is most energy-saving.” (Wu Para 0123)).
In regards to claim 5, Wu in view of Brooks teaches of the method of claim 1 wherein the reducing step includes reducing a permitted speed of the vehicle as a function of a speed limit of a road on which the vehicle travels along the route (“According to the foregoing description, a maximum vehicle speed on each sub-path may be determined based on a maximum speed V.sub.max=min{V.sub.road-based speed limit, V.sub.weather-based speed limit, V.sub.congestion-based speed limit}. That is, the maximum vehicle speed on each sub-path may be a minimum value in the road-based speed limit, the weather-based speed limit, and the congestion-based speed limit that are predetermined on the sub-path.” (Wu Para 0112), “Furthermore, in addition to the maximum vehicle speed limit, there is a minimum vehicle speed limit for each sub-path. That is, a minimum driving speed value of the vehicle on each sub-path is also limited. A most energy-saving driving speed of the vehicle on each type of road may be obtained by a vehicle road test, and is predetermined and stored in the driving planning module of the vehicle. Based on this, the driving speed may be used as the minimum driving speed value of the vehicle on each sub-path for limitation. That is, the driving speed is predetermined and stored in the driving planning module of the vehicle. Herein, the minimum driving speed value of the vehicle on each sub-path is defined as V.sub.min. A maximum vehicle speed and a minimum vehicle speed on the sub-path AB/BC/CD on the path 1 in the foregoing example may be shown in FIG. 7. Allowable V.sub.max, is a minimum value determined from V.sub.road-based speed limit, V.sub.weather-based speed limit, and V.sub.congestion-based speed limit on a corresponding sub-path, and most energy-saving V.sub.min is a prestored uniform driving vehicle speed at which the vehicle is most energy-saving. When the vehicle is driven on each sub-path, a driving speed usually changes between V.sub.max and V.sub.min.” (Wu Para 0113), “Step 811: The driving planning module determines different driving configuration information of the vehicle based on the maximum vehicle speed and the minimum vehicle speed on each sub-path and different operation modes of the vehicle on the driving path L, and determines respective duration and energy consumed when the vehicle arrives at the destination through the driving path L based on the different driving configuration information” (Wu Para 0153), “Step 810: The driving planning module divides the driving path L into at least one sub-path, and determines a maximum vehicle speed and a minimum vehicle speed on each sub-path. The maximum vehicle speed may be determined based on a road type-based speed limit, a weather type-based speed limit, and a congestion condition-based speed limit on the corresponding sub-path. The minimum vehicle speed may be an allowable minimum vehicle speed at which the vehicle is most energy-saving.” (Wu Para 0152) and “In the driving configuration information i-M, the vehicle speeds on the road sections AB, BC, and CD are decreased to V.sub.min. That is, the driving speeds on the three sub-paths are all adjusted to a minimum allowable speed that is the most energy-saving, namely, the prestored uniform driving vehicle speed V.sub.min at which the vehicle is most energy-saving.” (Wu Para 0123)).
In regards to claim 9, Wu in view of Brooks teaches of the method of claim 1 wherein each step of the method is performed periodically as the vehicle moves along the travel path (“For another example, a daily road traffic condition on each road changes continuously. More vehicles on a road indicate more congested traffic, and also a smaller maximum driving speed that can be reached during driving on the road. That is, when a road traffic condition on a sub-path changes, a maximum driving speed that can be reached when the vehicle is driven on the sub-path also changes accordingly.” (Wu Para 0107), “The energy storage module is configured to: monitor current remaining energy of the vehicle in real time, and provide the remaining energy of the vehicle for the driving planning module, so that the driving planning module determines a final driving planning path with reference to the current remaining energy of the vehicle, to avoid a failure of the vehicle to arrive at the destination due to exhaustion of the remaining energy loaded by the vehicle during a driving process.” (Wu Para 0068), and “For another example, after the user sets the driving destination and the driving planning module in the automated driving system determines an optimal driving path, the user interface may display the driving path finally determined by the automated driving system, and display, to the user, estimated consumed time required for an entire travel and estimated energy consumption required for the entire travel. For another example, in a driving process of a vehicle, the automated driving system may update, in the user interface in real time, a current location of the vehicle and a road condition on a driving path, such as a congestion condition, a no-pass condition, and a road repair condition.” (Wu Para 0065).
In regards to claim 10, Wu in view of Brooks teaches of the method of claim 1 which also includes comparing an energy level available in the vehicle to the energy requirement, and doing one or both of reducing the vehicle power output or increasing a regenerative braking level of the vehicle when the energy requirement is greater than the energy level available in the vehicle (“The energy storage module is configured to: monitor current remaining energy of the vehicle in real time, and provide the remaining energy of the vehicle for the driving planning module, so that the driving planning module determines a final driving planning path with reference to the current remaining energy of the vehicle, to avoid a failure of the vehicle to arrive at the destination due to exhaustion of the remaining energy loaded by the vehicle during a driving process.” (Wu Para 0068), “Based on the driving configuration information in Table 2, the driving planning module may determine the target driving configuration information in which consumed duration is not greater than duration between the user-set latest time point of arrival at the destination and the time point of departure from the departure place and energy consumption meets a requirement that the current remaining energy of the vehicle ensures the vehicle arrives at the destination.” (Wu Para 0163), “According to the same processing manner, the driving planning module may determine target driving configuration information 2 of the path 2 and determine target driving configuration information 3 of the path 3. It is assumed that energy consumption corresponding to the target driving configuration information 1 determined for the path 1 is 1000 kWh, energy consumption corresponding to the target driving configuration information 2 determined for the path 2 is 1020 kWh, energy consumption corresponding to the target driving configuration information 3 determined for the path 3 is 1033 kWh, and the current remaining energy of the vehicle is 1020 kWh. The vehicle may be controlled to automatically arrive at the destination from the departure place through the path 1 based on the target driving configuration information selected for the path 1. “ (Wu Para 0172), see also Wu Para 0185).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Brooks, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Gotou et al. (US 20210276550; hereinafter Gotou; already of record).
In regards to claim 6, Wu in view of Brooks teaches of the method of claim 3.
However, Wu in view of Brooks does not specifically teach of wherein the maximum rate of acceleration of the vehicle varies as a function of a speed limit of a road on which the vehicle travels along the route.
Gotou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of wherein the maximum rate of acceleration of the vehicle varies as a function of a speed limit of a road on which the vehicle travels along the route (“The first acceleration limiter computation unit 231b (acceleration-limit-value-setting unit) sets a first acceleration limiter (first acceleration limit value) to increase in a direction of relaxing a limitation on acceleration correspondingly with an increase in the speed limit when the target acceleration is generated on the basis of the speed limit. Specifically, when the first acceleration limiter is high, a target acceleration having a steep gradient of vehicle speed increase is generated, and when the first acceleration limiter is low, a target acceleration having a gradual gradient of vehicle speed increase is generated.” (Para 0056) and “During generation of the target acceleration, an acceleration jerk limit value is set so as to increase in a direction of relaxing a limitation on acceleration jerk correspondingly with an increase in the speed limit (acceleration-jerk-limit-value-setting unit 231e; FIG. 2). Therefore, in addition to the effects in (1) and (2) above, it is possible to make a change over time in acceleration smooth and to achieve both a sense of acceleration and ride comfort by limiting acceleration jerk.” (Para 0117), see also Para 0118).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the maximum rate of acceleration, as taught by Wu in view of Brooks, to include being based on a speed limit of a road, as taught by Gotou, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a sense of acceleration and ride comfort by limiting acceleration jerk (Gotou Para 0117).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Brooks, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Koebler et al. (US 20210086658; hereinafter Koebler; already of record).
In regards to claim 7, Wu in view of Brooks teaches of the method of claim 1, wherein the trip includes multiple legs each having a destination and wherein each leg is completed when the destination for that leg is reached by the vehicle (“Step 1: The navigation module divides the path 1 into M sub-paths, for example, three sub-paths: an AB segment, a BC segment, and a CD segment. Specifically, refer to FIG. 7. The navigation module in the automated driving system queries the road topology information based on the destination entered by the user, and may segment the path 1 by using traffic lights as nodes, to obtain a plurality of sub-paths. Refer to FIG. 7. The path 1 includes two traffic lights. Therefore, the path 1 may be divided into three segments by using the two traffic lights as segmentation points. The three segments are the AB segment (which may be referred to as a sub-path A1), the BC segment (which may be referred to as a sub-path A2), and the CD segment (which may be referred to as a sub-path A3).” (Wu Para 0100) and “Step 311: The driving planning module determines different driving configuration information of the vehicle on the driving path L based on the maximum vehicle speed and the minimum vehicle speed on each sub-path and different operation modes of the vehicle, and determines respective duration consumed when the vehicle arrives at the destination from the departure place through the driving path L based on the different driving configuration information.” (Wu Para 0092), see also Fig 7),
However, Wu in view of Brooks does not specifically teach of each step of the method is performed again after the vehicle reaches at least one destination.
Koebler, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of each step of the method is performed again after the vehicle reaches at least one destination (“The step of calculating an applied power may include determining a route, segmenting the route into one or more segment (or intermediate) destinations, calculating an energy efficient speed for the vehicle to travel to the segment destination, determining an optimized speed for the vehicle to travel to the segment destination, and calculating the applied power from the optimized speed for all of the segments. The applied power may be calculated continuously. For example, the applied power may be calculated at each point (e.g., every segment, or points within a segment) as the vehicle is driven. Thus, over an entire route, the most energy efficient speed at which to drive may be continuously calculated. This may be done by determining a destination, and then coming up with a route for that destination. If the destination is not known (e.g., has not been provided to the power management device or system), a predicted destination may be estimated, based on statistical destination logic (e.g., using map coordinates, and the historical operation of the vehicle). Energy efficient speeds for current and upcoming route segments can then be calculated based on the route. In some variations, the route is divided up into segments. In some variations, the optimized speed for the vehicle is determined based on historical speeds for similar destinations. The route can be revised (e.g., continuously revised) during operation.” (Para 0022)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method having multiple legs with a destination, as taught by Wu in view of Brooks, to include performing the method again when at least one destination is reached, as taught by Koebler, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to allow the vehicle to be driven at the most energy efficient speed at each segment (Koebler Para 0022).
In regards to claim 8, Wu in view of Brooks in view of Koebler teaches of the method of claim 7 wherein the trip is completed when the vehicle reaches a final destination and wherein each step of the method is performed again after the vehicle reaches each destination that is not the final destination (“Step 1: The navigation module divides the path 1 into M sub-paths, for example, three sub-paths: an AB segment, a BC segment, and a CD segment. Specifically, refer to FIG. 7. The navigation module in the automated driving system queries the road topology information based on the destination entered by the user, and may segment the path 1 by using traffic lights as nodes, to obtain a plurality of sub-paths. Refer to FIG. 7. The path 1 includes two traffic lights. Therefore, the path 1 may be divided into three segments by using the two traffic lights as segmentation points. The three segments are the AB segment (which may be referred to as a sub-path A1), the BC segment (which may be referred to as a sub-path A2), and the CD segment (which may be referred to as a sub-path A3).” (Wu Para 0100) and “Step 311: The driving planning module determines different driving configuration information of the vehicle on the driving path L based on the maximum vehicle speed and the minimum vehicle speed on each sub-path and different operation modes of the vehicle, and determines respective duration consumed when the vehicle arrives at the destination from the departure place through the driving path L based on the different driving configuration information.” (Wu Para 0092) and (“The step of calculating an applied power may include determining a route, segmenting the route into one or more segment (or intermediate) destinations, calculating an energy efficient speed for the vehicle to travel to the segment destination, determining an optimized speed for the vehicle to travel to the segment destination, and calculating the applied power from the optimized speed for all of the segments. The applied power may be calculated continuously. For example, the applied power may be calculated at each point (e.g., every segment, or points within a segment) as the vehicle is driven. Thus, over an entire route, the most energy efficient speed at which to drive may be continuously calculated. This may be done by determining a destination, and then coming up with a route for that destination. If the destination is not known (e.g., has not been provided to the power management device or system), a predicted destination may be estimated, based on statistical destination logic (e.g., using map coordinates, and the historical operation of the vehicle). Energy efficient speeds for current and upcoming route segments can then be calculated based on the route. In some variations, the route is divided up into segments. In some variations, the optimized speed for the vehicle is determined based on historical speeds for similar destinations. The route can be revised (e.g., continuously revised) during operation.” (Koebler Para 0022) see also Wu Fig 7).
The motivation for combining Wu, Brooks, and Koebler is the same as that recited for claim 7 above.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Brooks, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Polus (US 20200354057; already of record).
In regards to claim 11, Wu in view of Brooks of the method of claim 1.
However, Wu in view of Brooks does not specifically teach of the energy requirement is determined in part based upon a weight of the vehicle, and wherein the vehicle is a delivery vehicle and the route includes multiple destinations with a delivery made at each destination resulting in a corresponding weight reduction of the vehicle.
Polus, in the same field of endeavor, teaches of the energy requirement is determined in part based upon a weight of the vehicle, and wherein the vehicle is a delivery vehicle and the route includes multiple destinations with a delivery made at each destination resulting in a corresponding weight reduction of the vehicle (“Arranging the delivery sequence in this manner facilitates reducing a total weight of delivery items 20 remaining in cargo container 100 relatively early in delivery itinerary 30, such as to optimize an energy efficiency of UAV 200. UAV 200 may operate with a higher energy efficiency when carrying a smaller total weight, such that removing weight from cargo container 100 earlier in delivery itinerary 30 facilitates operating UAV 200 with a higher energy efficiency for a greater remainder of delivery itinerary 30. Accordingly, delivery itinerary 30 additionally or alternatively may be configured to at least partially prioritize delivering heavier delivery items 20 before delivering lighter delivery items 20. For example, manifest information 130 may include the weight information regarding each delivery item 20, and delivery itinerary 30 may be at least partially based upon the weight information of delivery items 20 for each delivery destination 22. In such examples, the delivery sequence may be arranged at least in part to prioritize delivering in order of decreasing weight of delivery items 20 for each delivery destination 22.” (Para 0021), see also Para 0014).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the energy requirement and route of the vehicle, as taught by Wu in view of Brooks, to include being based on a weight of a vehicle, where a delivery is made at destinations resulting in a weight reduction of the vehicle, as taught by Polus, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to higher energy efficiency of the vehicle (Polus Para 0021).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.J.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663