DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 4-5 recites “the main structural element”, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1, lines 8-9 recites “can be electrically connected”; claim 8, line 2 recites “can be integrated” which renders the claim indefinite because the phrase “can be” is not a positive recitation. It is suggested the delete the phrase “can be” and change to “is electrically connected; are integrated”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-7, 9 and 10 are also rejected because they are dependent on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Schmitt (US 2001/0026681) in view of Stanzel (US 4,733,057).
With respect to the limitations of claim 1, Schmitt teaches a modular heated board system (title, abstract), comprising: a plurality of modular heated boards configurable in any desired arrangement (Figs 1-4, boards /planks 11, 0019), each of the modular heated boards comprising: an outer surface layer that is exposed to external elements and that forms the main structural element (Figs 3, 4, boards/planks 11 with surfaces 12-15, 0020) of the modular heated board; a heating layer located within (heating units 20, 0021) the modular heated board, the heating layer including a heating element (heating cables 26, 0021) and electrical leads (Fig 2, extension cables 38, 0022), the electrical leads provide for power input and output (0023); an insulating layer positioned within the modular heated board to direct heat from the heating layer towards the outer surface layer (Figs 3, 4, elongated insulating strip 21 formed of heat resistant insulating material, 0020); and an enclosing and fastening layer configured to enclose the insulating layer and to attach the modular heated board to a supporting structure (cover panel 22, 0020, where adhesive can be applied to bottom of cover panel 22 to fasten board/planks 11 to a supporting structure). Schmitt discloses the claimed invention except for explicitly showing each modular heated board can be electrically connected to an adjacent modular heated board via the electrical leads.
However, Stanzel discloses each modular heated board (Figs 1, 4, strips 40, heater elements 44, Col 6) can be electrically connected to an adjacent modular heated board via the electrical leads (Figs 1a, 1b, connection elements 2, electrodes 6, Col 5, Line 56 thru Col 6, Line 6) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the modular heated board system of Schmitt having a plurality of heated boards with leads silent to adjacent electrically connected heated boards with each modular heated board can be electrically connected to an adjacent modular heated board via the electrical leads of Stanzel for the purpose of providing a known interconnected, modular heated board arrangement with a variable size configuration that is adjusted based on size requirements of the support structure (Col 1, Lines 40-45).
With respect to the limitations of claims 2, 4, 5 and 8, Schmitt teaches the outer surface layer comprises a composite material (0019, composite material of wood particles in a plastic binder);
the outer surface layer (board/planks 11) comprises aluminum (aluminum channel extrusions 25, 0021);
the aluminum (aluminum channel extrusions 25) is capped or veneered with a decorative material (board/planks 11);
the plurality of modular heated boards (board/planks 11 can be screwed with or glued to conventional decking or furniture) can be integrated with conventional decking or arranged to resemble furniture. .
With respect to the limitations of claim 9, Schmitt in view of Stanzel discloses each of the electrical leads of the heating layer comprises a first pair of leads for power input to the modular heated board and a second pair of leads for power output from the modular heated board to enable electrical connection to an adjacent modular heated board (Stanzel, Fig 1b, 1d).
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Schmitt (US 2001/0026681) in view of Stanzel (US 4,733,057) as applied to claims 1 and 2, further in view of Szekely (US 11,891,803).
With respect to the limitations of claim 3, Schmitt in view of Stanzel discloses the claimed invention except for the composite material is a glass fiber reinforced composite material. However, Szekely discloses the composite material is a glass fiber reinforced composite material (Figs 4-7, the surface panel 112 on top of the base member 101 may be made a suitable material such as a composite, polymer plastic material, vinyl, rubber, urethane, ceramic, glass reinforced plastic, Col 7, Line 65 thru Col 8, Line 5) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the modular heated board system of Schmitt in view of Stanzel having an outer surface layer made of a composite material silent to a glass fiber reinforced composite material with the composite material is a glass fiber reinforced composite material of Szekely for the purpose of using a known tough, composite material that is suitable for use as an outer wear layer.
With respect to the limitations of claim 10, Schmitt in view Stanzel discloses the claimed invention except for further comprising a transformer/control box electrically connected to the modular heated boards, wherein the transformer/control box regulates voltage to each heating element and facilitates the distribution of power across the plurality of modular heated boards. However, Szekely discloses further comprising a transformer/control box electrically connected to the modular heated boards, wherein the transformer/control box regulates voltage to each heating element and facilitates the distribution of power across the plurality of modular heated boards (Col 8, Line 64 thru Col 9, Line 7) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the modular heated board system of Schmitt in view of Stanzel silent to a transformer/control box with the further comprising a transformer/control box electrically connected to the modular heated boards, wherein the transformer/control box regulates voltage to each heating element and facilitates the distribution of power across the plurality of modular heated boards of Szekely for the purpose of providing a known control means for that can be configured to activate, deactivate, and/or change heat settings for individual heaters in the structure assembly, thereby improving the overall versatility of the device.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Schmitt (US 2001/0026681) in view of Stanzel (US 4,733,057) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Mulvey (US 2,816,201).
With respect to the limitations of claim 4, Schmitt in view of Stanzel discloses claimed invention except for the outer surface layer comprises aluminum. However, Mulvey discloses the outer surface layer comprises aluminum (Figs 1-3, Col 2, Lines 5-10, electrically heated plank is indicated generally at 10 and includes a hollow body member 12 constructed of any suitable material-aluminum) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the modular heated board system of Schmitt in view of Stanzel having an outer surface layer made of a composite material silent to aluminum with the outer surface layer comprises aluminum of Mulvey for the purpose of using a known tough, weather resistant material that is suitable for use as an outer wear layer.
With respect to the limitations of claim 5, Mulvey teaches the aluminum (aluminum channel extrusions 25) is capped or veneered with a decorative material (board/planks 11).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Schmitt (US 2001/0026681) in view of Stanzel (US 4,733,057) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Corbett (US 2006/0090326).
With respect to the limitations of claim 6, Schmitt in view of Stanzel discloses the claimed invention except for the insulating layer comprises fiberglass insulation. However, Corbett discloses the insulating layer comprises fiberglass insulation (Fig 2a, backing layer 6, 0029, insulation materials such as an insulating board made of fiberglass and resin) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the modular heated board system of Schmitt in view of Stanzel having an insulation layer silent to fiberglass insulation with the insulating layer comprises fiberglass insulation of Corbett for the purpose of using a known fiberglass material that is suitable for an insulating board with good heater insulation properties (0029).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Schmitt (US 2001/0026681) in view of Stanzel (US 4,733,057) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Nystrom (US 2020/0103124).
With respect to the limitations of claim 7, Schmitt in view of Stanzel discloses the claimed invention except for the insulating layer comprises rigid foam insulation. However, Nystrom discloses the insulating layer comprises rigid foam insulation (Figs 1, 4a, 4b, isolating core 160, 0118, polyurethane foam) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the modular heated board system of Schmitt in view of Stanzel having an insulation layer silent to foam with the insulating layer comprises rigid foam insulation of Nystrom for the purpose of using a known foam material that is suitable for an insulating board with good heater insulation properties.
Conclusion
/THIEN S TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 6/3/2026