DETAIL ACTION
Notice to Applicant(s)
This application has been examined. Claims 1-10 are pending.
The prior art submitted on November 02, 2023 has been considered.
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. § 119, which have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, nowwitstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (2006/0208407) in view of Lewis (11,512,749).
With respect to claim 1, Wang discloses a tool which includes two arm members being connected to each other, and being relatively movable to be close to each other or to be far away from each other (see at least figure 2, items 10 and 20); and two push members connected to the two arm members respectively, wherein the two push members being movable with the two arm members (see at least figure 2, item 16 and 26)
Wang does not explicitly disclose that the two push members configured to be inserted between two objects which at least one of them being a piston. However Lewis suggest a brake piston pushing tool in which there are 2 members 111, 112 as shown in at least figures 1 and 4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Lewis into the system of Wang with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide the system with the enhanced capacity of flipping the two members 16 and 26 facing out in order make the tool as the piston pushing tool.
With respect to claim 2, Wang further discloses a first pivot, wherein the first pivot is disposed through the two arm members and connects the two arm members to each other (see at least figure 1, item 12).
With respect to claim 3, Wang discloses that each of the two arm members includes a head portion, a body portion and an operation portion connected to one another in sequence, the first pivot is disposed through the body portions of the two arm members, the two push members are connected to the head portions of the two arm members respectively, and when the operation portions of the two arm members move to be close to each other, the head portions of the two arm members move to be far away from each other (see at least figure 2, items 10, 15).
With respect to claim 4, Wang discloses a driving mechanism (see at least figure 2, item 30). Wang does not explicitly disclose first base, a second base and a threaded rod, the first base is rotatably connected to one of the two arm members, the second base is rotatably connected to the other of the two arm members, the threaded rod is disposed through the first base and the second base and is screwed to at least one of the first base and the second base so that the two arm members can be driven to move by turning the threaded rod. However, such limitations are taught in at least figure 4 of the Lewis reference. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Lewis into the system of Wang with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide the system with the enhanced capacity of replacing the driving mechanism of the Wang by the driving mechanism of Lewis in order to using the threaded rod to piston push the 2 object using in the brake piston-push tool.
With respect to claims 5 and 6, Lewis disclose the limitations of this claim in at least figures 1 and 4.
With respect to claim 7, Wang discloses that each of the two arm members
is a plate member, and each of the two push members is a plate member (see at least figure 1, items 10, 20, 16 and 26).
With respect to claim 8, Wang discloses that the two push members are
rotatably connected to the two arm members, respectively (see at least figure 2, items 10, 20, 16, 26).
With respect to claim 9, Wang discloses two second pivots, wherein each of the two push members includes a push portion and a first connection portion connected to each other, each of the two arm members includes a second connection portion, the two second pivots are disposed through the first connection portions of the two push members and the second connection portions of the two arm members, respectively, the two push members are rotatable about the two second pivots, respectively (see at least figure 2).
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Claims 1-9 are rejected. Claim 10 is objected.
The following references are cited as being of general interest: Liou (6,212,977), Kang (6,574,846) and Tseng (2021/0071725).
January 28, 2026
/TAN Q NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661