DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
This non-final office action is in response to the RCE filled on 03/11/2026. Claims 1 and 12 are amended. Claims 1-15 are pending and examined below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0178576 (“Murphy”), and in view of US 2020/0147792 (“Hirahara”), and in view of US 2022/0152837 (“Das”), and further in view of US 2022/0152824 (“Hansen”).
Regarding claim 1, Murphy further discloses a robotic system (see at least fig 2) comprising:
a platform (see at least fig 2, where 202 is a platform/base);
at least two wheels connected to the platform and driven by respective motors (see at least fig 2, where wheels are attached with the base; see also [0058] and [0064]);
a housing connected to the platform (see at least fig 2, where 212 is housing), the housing including:
a telescoping section to enable the housing to increase in height (see at least [0065], where “The length of the mounting column of midsection 204 may be chosen to provide the arm 206 with sufficient height to perform manipulation tasks at commonly encountered height levels”; the length of the midsection is chosen to increase the height);
a first robotic arm connected to a first side of the housing (see at least fig 2, where 206 is arm);
a first end-effector rotatably connected to the first robotic arm (see at least fig 2, where 208 is end effector);
a processor communicatively coupled to motors within the first robotic arm, the first end- effector(see at least [0066]); and
a memory device storing instructions which, when executed by the processor (see at least [0041]), cause the processor to:
(i) specify a command or determine that an item has fallen on a floor (see at least [0005]),
(ii) determine a distance, a height, and a heading to the item (see at least [0050-51] and [0083], see also [0065], where “The length of the mounting column of midsection 204 may be chosen to provide the arm 206 with sufficient height to perform manipulation tasks at commonly encountered height levels (e.g., coffee table top and counter top levels). The length of the mounting column of midsection 204 may also allow the shoulder pitch J1 joint to rotate the arm 206 over the mobile base 202 without contacting the mobile base 202.”),
(iii) cause the respective motors to move the platform to the item within range of one of the robotic arms (see at least fig 9, block 920 and [0101]),
(v) cause the robotic arm to grasp the item with the first or the second end- effector (see at least [0078]),
(vi) cause the first or the second robotic arm to provide the item to a user (see at least [0078]).
Murphy does not disclose the following limitations:
the housing including:
a display screen, and
a second robotic arm connected to an opposite, second side of the housing;
a second end-effector rotatably connected to the second robotic arm;
a processor communicatively coupled to motors within…the second robotic arm, and the second end-effector;
a motor configured to raise the housing via the telescoping section from the platform; and
(iv) extend the telescoping system to raise the housing up to a commanded height to enable one of the first the end effector or the second end-effector to reach the item.
However, Hirahara discloses a system wherein the housing including:
a display screen (see at least fig 1, where 19 is display), and
a second robotic arm connected to an opposite, second side of the housing (see at least fig 1, where two hands attached opposite side of the robot);
a second end-effector rotatably connected to the second robotic arm (see at least fig 1, where 15 is end effector);
a processor communicatively coupled to motors within…the second robotic arm, and the second end-effector (see at least [0024], where “the main body 10 may include a moving mechanism.”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Murphy to incorporate the teachings of Hirahara by including the above feature for providing alternate grasp of an item having two end-effector.
Murphy in view of Hirahara does not disclose the following limitations:
a motor configured to raise the housing via the telescoping section from the platform; and
(iv) extend the telescoping system to raise the housing up to a commanded height to enable one of the first the end effector or the second end-effector to reach the item.
However, Das discloses a system wherein a motor configured to raise the housing via the telescoping section from the platform (see at least [0057], where “FIG. 1D also illustrates an example a riser mechanism 132 to increase/decrease the operating height of the platform on which the robot manipulator is installed.”; see also [0167], where “The servo motors are coupled with the Mecanum wheels through right-angled high-ratio gearboxes, and are mounted to the four corners of the robot chassis (FIG. 10).”; see also [0105], [0120]. Murphy discloses a telescoping section. Das discloses a system wherein motor to raise the housing. Housing is interpreted as platform where the robot is installed.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Murphy in view of Hirahara to incorporate the teachings of Das by including the above feature for providing a system that can adjust height without external equipment or resources.
Murphy in view of Hirahara and does not disclose the following limitation:
(iv) extend the telescoping system to raise the housing up to a commanded height to enable one of the first the end effector or the second end-effector to reach the item (see at least [0065]).
However, Hansen discloses a system wherein extend the telescoping system to raise the housing up to a commanded height to enable one of the first the end effector or the second end-effector to reach the item (see at least [0059], where “The device 1400 includes an adjustable-height stand 1420a, which can raise and lower the device 1400 to increase its reach, and can lower in order to bring the device 1400 underneath the plane of the countertop 1430.”; see also fig 14 and claim 20).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Murphy in view of Hirahara and Das to incorporate the teachings of Hansen by including the above feature for providing a system that can perform various task and not limited to particular task.
Regarding claim 2, Murphy further discloses a system wherein the housing is rotatably connected to the platform (see at least fig 3 and [0073], where “The shoulder yaw J0 joint allows the robot arm to rotate toward the front and toward the back of the robot.”).
Regarding claim 3, Murphy further discloses a system wherein at least one of the first robotic arm and the second robotic arm includes at least three rotational joints (see at least [0065] and fig 4). Rejection relied on Hirahara for second robotic arm.
Regarding claim 4, Murphy further discloses a system wherein at least one of the first robotic arm and the second robotic arm includes at least one sensor comprising at least one of a camera, a microphone, a laser range finder, a force sensor, and an inertial sensor (see at least [0049]). Rejection relied on Hirahara for second robotic arm.
Regarding claim 5, Das further discloses a system wherein the housing includes a motor configured to raise the housing via the telescoping section from the platform (see citation on claim 1), and wherein the first robotic arm and the second robotic arm are connected to the housing (see at least fig 1, where one robotic arm is connected to housing. Hirahara discloses a system wherein two robotic arm is connected with the housing. So, it would be obvious to use the system of Hirahara and connect another robotic arm.).
Regarding claim 6, Murphy further discloses a system wherein the processor is communicatively coupled to a user device via a wireless connection (see at least [0034] and [0043-44]).
Regarding claim 7, Hirahara further discloses system wherein the display screen is configured to show at least two eye-shaped graphical elements (see at least [0034], where “The display device 19 displays an image. For example, the display device 19 displays guidance and the like to the user in the form of an image, a text, or the like.”).
Regarding claim 8, Das further discloses a system wherein the display screen is a touchscreen (see at least [0006], where “the display can be a tablet and the input device can be a touch screen, configured for displaying information and receiving user input.”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Murphy in view of Hirahara to incorporate the teachings of Das by including the above feature for providing user friendly interaction.
Regarding claim 9, Murphy further discloses a system comprising an application programming interface ("API") configured to: receive the command from a third-party application; and convert the command into at least one message to enable the processor to perform at least one of (ii) to (v) (see at least fig 5, where 550 is remote and robot is receiving instruction via 550. See also [0081]).
Regarding claim 10, Murphy further discloses a system wherein the API is configured to enable the third-party application to deploy new commands and/or expand on the capabilities of the robotic system (see at least fig 9 and fig 10, where new commands are received).
Regarding claim 11, Murphy further discloses a system wherein the API provides access to at least one of a stored procedure, a math layer with flexible joint operations, or one or more sensors or actuators for performing (ii) to (v) (see at least fig 9 and fig 10, where robot control instructions are provided via 550).
Claim(s) 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2021/0178576 (“Murphy”), and in view of US 2022/0152837 (“Das”), and further in view of US 2022/0152824 (“Hansen”).
Regarding claim 12, Murphy further discloses a robotic system (see at least fig 2) comprising:
a platform (see at least fig 2, where 202 is a platform/base);
at least two wheels connected to the platform and driven by respective motors (see at least fig 2, where wheels are attached with the base; see also [0058] and [0064]);
a housing including a telescoping section coupled to a robotic arm, the housing having a base that is connected to the platform (see at least fig 2, where robotic arm is connected with the platform and 212 is housing);
an end-effector connected to the robotic arm at an end opposite the base (see at least fig 2);
a processor communicatively coupled to the respective motors, the robotic arm, the end- effector (see at least [0066], where “The arm 206 may be made up of plastic monolithic link structures. Inside the arm 206 may be housed standalone actuator modules, local motor drivers”); and
a memory device storing instructions which, when executed by the processor (see at least [0041]), cause the processor to:
specify a task program to locate an item on a floor (see at least [0005], where “receiving, by a control system of a robotic device, data about an object in an environment from a remote computing device, wherein the data comprises at least location data and identifier data.”),
determine a distance, a height, and a heading to the item (see at least [0050-51], [0065] and [0083]),
cause the respective motors to move the platform to the item within range of the robotic arm (see at least fig 9, block 920 and [0101]),
cause the robotic arm to grasp the item with the end- effector (see at least [0078]),
cause the robotic arm to provide the item to a user (see at least [0078], where “the user may guide the robotic arm towards grasping onto an object and then moving the object from a first location to a second location.”; second location is interpreted as provide the item to a user).
Murphy does not disclose the following limitations:
a motor configured to raise the housing via the telescoping section from the platform; and
extend the telescoping system to raise the housing up to a commanded height to enable the end effector to reach the item.
However, Das further discloses a system wherein a motor configured to raise the housing via the telescoping section from the platform (based on submitted specification, telescopic system is interpreted as a member/ platform/ structure that is configured to go up or down, see at least [0071] of PGPub of submitted specification. see at least [0057], [0105] and [0120]). same motivation of claim 1 applies.
Murphy in view of Das does not disclose the following limitation:
extend the telescoping system to raise the housing up to a commanded height to enable the end effector to reach the item.
However, Hansen further discloses a system wherein extend the telescoping system to raise the housing up to a commanded height to enable the end effector to reach the item (see at least [0059], fig 14 and claim 20). same motivation of claim 1 applies.
Regarding claim 13, Murphy further discloses a system wherein at least one sensor that is adjacent to the end -effector, the at least on sensor including at least one of a camera, a microphone, a laser range finder, a force sensor, and an inertial sensor (see at least [0049]).
Regarding claim 14, Murphy further discloses a system wherein the processor is communicatively coupled to a user device via a wireless connection (see at least [0034] and [0043-44]).
Regarding claim 15, Murphy further discloses system wherein the processor uses at least the connection with the user device to receive the task program (see at least fig 5, user device, 550 is in connection with the robot).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new combination used in the current rejection that is due to the newly added claim amendments.
Conclusion
/SOHANA TANJU KHAYER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657