Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 13-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Coppola et al. (US 2016/0214028 A1) in view of Pope (US 3,822,999).
Coppola teaches a method for hydrothermal cleanup and purification of hydrocarbon feedstocks including renewable oils, waste vegetable oils, brown grease, pyrolysis oils from plastics, petroleum crude oils, and petroleum fractions. Coppola teaches contacting hydrocarbon feedstocks with water in a hydrothermal reactor to remove contaminants including phosphorus, sodium, potassium, magnesium, calcium, silicon, iron, chlorine, salts, minerals, and metals. See Coppola ¶¶ [0002]-[0004], [0010]-[0013], [0020]-[0028], [0067]-[0074], [0088]-[0095], [0118]-[0125]. Coppola further teaches water-to-oil weight ratios between 1:100 and 3:1, hydrothermal contacting of aqueous and organic phases, heating the reactor, extracting purified organic phases from aqueous waste streams, and reactor Reynolds numbers of at least 2,000, such as 2,000-4,000. See Coppola ¶¶ [0047]-[0054], [0067]-[0078], [0080]-[0086], [0096]-[0108], [0118]-[0125]. In particular, Coppola teaches that “The water-to-oil weight ratio in the hydrothermal reactor 158 may be between 1:100 and 3:1” and that “PFR systems will exhibit a Reynold Number (Re) of at least 2,000, such as 2,000-4,000.” See Coppola ¶ [0074].
Coppola, however, does not expressly disclose mixing the aqueous and organic phases via countercurrent flow.
Pope teaches a liquid-liquid extraction apparatus comprising a vertical extraction column wherein a comparatively heavy liquid phase passes from the top to the bottom of the column while a comparatively light liquid phase passes from the bottom to the top of the column in countercurrent flow. Pope further teaches stationary and rotating perforated plates for improving liquid-liquid contacting and reducing back-mixing during extraction operations. See Pope, col. 1, lines 52-68; col. 2, lines 1-25; col. 3, lines 1-24.
Regarding claim 1, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Coppola’s hydrothermal hydrocarbon purification process to utilize the known countercurrent liquid-liquid contacting arrangement taught by Pope in order to improve contaminant extraction efficiency, improve interfacial contacting between the aqueous and organic phases, and reduce back mixing during liquid-liquid extraction operations.
Regarding claims 2-8 and 13-30, Coppola further teaches or suggests the additionally recited temperatures, contaminants, steam heating, oils/fats/greases, organic and inorganic contaminants, water-to-oil ratios, dispersed and continuous phases, acids including phosphoric acid, citric acid, EDTA, and NTA, recycle/recuperator arrangements, and external heating/cooling systems. See Coppola ¶¶ [0010]-[0013], [0020]-[0028], [0047]-[0054], [0067]-[0108], [0118]-[0125].
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Coppola et al. (US 2016/0214028 A1) in view of Frank et al. (US 8,119,004 B2).
The process of Coppola is as discussed above.
Coppola does not expressly disclose a mixing region comprising packing material or oscillating a perforated component in the mixing region using an oscillator.
Frank teaches a reciprocating plate liquid-liquid extraction column including perforated plates and internal contacting structures for improving counterflow liquid-liquid extraction efficiency. See Frank, col. 1, lines 38-67; col. 2, lines 1-20; col. 5, lines 5-30.
Regarding claims 9 and 11, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Frank’s known extraction-column contacting structures and reciprocating perforated extraction plates into Coppola’s liquid-liquid hydrocarbon extraction system in order to improve interfacial contact, extraction efficiency, and phase contacting between the aqueous and organic phases.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Coppola et al. in view of Reman (US 2,601,674).
The process of Coppola is as discussed above.
Coppola does not expressly disclose rotating a displacement component in the mixing region using an actuator.
Reman teaches a liquid-liquid extraction apparatus for extraction of mineral and fatty oils using rotating discs mounted on a shaft within a liquid-liquid extraction column. See Reman, col. 1, lines 10-30; col. 2, lines 20-68; col. 3, lines 1-35.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize Reman’s rotating extraction-column mixing components in Coppola’s liquid-liquid extraction process in order to improve liquid-liquid contacting and contaminant extraction efficiency.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Coppola et al. (US 2016/0214028 A1) in view of Klein et al. (US 7,938,963 B2).
The process of Coppola is as discussed above.
Coppola does not expressly disclose removing residual aqueous phase from the purified organic phase using a coalescer.
Klein teaches a coalescer element for improving separation of water from hydrocarbon fuel streams, wherein water coalesces into larger droplets and is separated from the hydrocarbon stream and collected in a collection region. See Klein, col. 1, lines 49-65; col. 3, lines 25-35.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Klein’s known coalescer system into Coppola’s hydrocarbon purification process in order to improve removal of residual aqueous contaminants from the purified hydrocarbon stream and improve downstream hydrocarbon product quality.
Conclusion
/TAM M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771