DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/2/23 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Dasgupta (US 10,658,471).
As to claim 1, Dasgupta teaches a high electron mobility transistor (fig. 4B), including: a substrate (205, col. 4:59-61), a buffer layer (col. 4:33-47 and col. 5:13-20 and 43-50, obvious, if not inherent, that there would be a buffer layer for lattice matching), located on the substrate; a gallium nitride layer (230B), located on the buffer layer and forming a channel layer (col. 6:52-60); a two-dimensional material structure (235), located on the channel layer (col. 5:59-65); a covering layer (280), partially covering the two-dimensional material structure (fig. 4B, not described in the specification but obviously an insulating layer of some sort to separate the gate electrode from the source/drain contacts); a drain and a source (450), arranged on the two-dimensional material structure (col. 15:7-10); and a gate (465), arranged on the covering layer (col. 14:65-67).
As to claim 11, Dasgupta further teaches the two-dimensional material structure is made of a material selected from a group consisting of MoS2, WS2, α-P, Sb, TiCO2, Hf2CO2, Zr2CO2, BCN, B2Se2, BCP, BP, and Bas (col. 6:1-8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art taken either singularly or in combination fails to anticipate or fairly suggest the limitations of the claims listed above in such a manner that a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 would be proper.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all of the features in the claims. As to claim 2, Dasgupta fails to teach the two-dimensional material structure includes two connection parts and an extension part, each connection part is connected to the extension part, and each connection parts has a thickness greater than that of the extension part. The 2D material structure is a single-thickness, epitaxially-grown material with no teaching or motivation to vary its thickness.
As to claim 12, Dasgupta fails to teach the covering layer is made of aluminum gallium nitride. The purpose of the covering layer is for electrical isolation between the source/drain contacts and the gate electrode. AlGaN would not be used for that purpose.
The remaining claims are allowable at least because they depend from allowable claim 2.
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-Delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22313
/KAREN KUSUMAKAR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897
3/16/26