DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Applicant’s arguments, and amendments filed on July 01, 2026, in which claims 1, 3-4, 6, 8-9, 11, 13-14, 16, and 18-19 have been amended. Claims 1, 3-6, 8-11, 13-16, and 18-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-11, 13-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (US 2025/0287280) in view of Yan et al. (US 2025/0193760).
Regarding claim 1, Jiang (US 2025/0287280) teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: transmitting, to a base station, a first message including information that a successful primary secondary cell (PSCell) report is available (i.e., In step 501, sending indication information to a network-side device after a reporting trigger condition is met, in which the indication information is used to indicate that the terminal device has the successful PScell addition or change report [0063]); receiving, from the base station, a second message requesting for the successful PSCell report (i.e., In step 502, receiving a response message sent by the network-side device, in which the response message has a request indication [0064]); and transmitting, to the base station, a third message including the successful PSCell report (i.e., In step 503, sending the successful PScell addition or change report to the network-side device according to the request indication [0068]), wherein in case that a conditional PSCell change (CPC) or conditional PSCell addition (CPA) is configured for the UE, the successful PSCell report includes information on a time elapsed between an initiation of an execution of the CPC or CPA and a reception of configuration information for the CPC or CPA (i.e., the terminal device may obtain a time for recording relevant information of PScell addition or change into the successful PScell addition or change report; and releasing the successful PScell addition or change report after the event exceeds a preset time [0039]-[0040]), wherein the successful PSCell report includes cell information for at least one of a primary cell, a PCell, a source PSCell, and a target PSCell (i.e., After the terminal device adds relevant information of the successPAC to the VarSuccessPAC-Report for the last time, and 48 hours have passed, the terminal device may release the successful PScell addition or change report. Further, in other embodiments of the present disclosure, the preset time may be configured by the network-side device or agreed upon by a system [0040]-[0041], [0110]-[0112]).
Jiang does not specifically teach wherein the cell information indicates a tracking area to which the PCell, the source PSCell, or the target PSCell belongs.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Yan teaches For successful PSCell change report reporting, configuration(s) for a UE to report the successful PSCell change (e.g., successPSCellChange-Config IE) is sent from the network, e.g., the network sends configuration(s) associated with trigger condition(s) for SPC-report to the UE. Based on the network configuration, a UE needs to log/generate/store/record successful PSCell change related parameters or successful CPAC related parameters when one or more trigger condition(s) is satisfied. The trigger condition can include at least one of the following: [0067] (1) radio problem(s) in a source PSCell, e.g., elapsed running time of timer T310 and/or T312 for source SCG is longer than a configured threshold; [0068] (2) radio problem(s) in a source PCell, e.g., elapsed running time of timer T310 and/or T312 for source MCG is longer than a configured threshold; [0069] (3) radio problem(s) in a target PSCell, e.g., elapsed running time of timer T310 and/or T312 for target SCG is longer than a configured threshold; [0070] (4) elapsed running time of timer T3104 is longer than a configured threshold ([0066]-[0068]); a successful PSCell change report can be generated, logged, and/or stored to the network, including cell information of the source PSCell, cell information of the target PSCell, cause value for successful PSCell change report, and/or measurement result(s). Cell information can be represented by global cell identity and tracking area code, and/or, PCI and carrier frequency ([0070]-[0072], [0120]-[0123). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Yan within the system of Jiang in order to provide wireless network signaling for tracking when a user equipment (UE) successfully completes a primary secondary cell (PSCell) change or conditional PSCell addition/change (CPAC) in problems and tune handover parameters.
Regarding claim 3, Jiang in view of Yan teaches all the limitations above. Yan further teaches the successful PSCell report includes information about whether a PSCell change associated with the successful PSCell report is initiated by a secondary node (SN) (i.e., The exemplary procedure 500 refers to a SN initiated PSCell change or CPAC procedure. In the embodiments of FIG. 5, source SN performs a MRO function, e.g., analysis of SCG failure(s) and/or modification(s) for PSCell change or CPAC related configuration(s) [0280], [0318].
Regarding claim 4, Jiang in view of Yan teaches all the limitations above. Yan further teaches the successful PSCell report includes at least one of location information of the UE, a measurement result of the UE, and common random access information (i.e., A successful PSCell change report can be generated, logged, and/or stored to the network, including cell information of the source PSCell, cell information of the target PSCell, cause value for successful PSCell change report, and/or measurement result(s) [0072]).
Regarding claim 5, Jiang in view of Yan teaches all the limitations above. Yan further teaches teaches wherein in case that the base station is not associated with a master node (MN) serving the UE at a time of successful PSCell change, the successful PSCell report is transmitted to the MN (i.e., generating first information associated with a successful completion of a primary secondary cell group cell (PSCell) change procedure or a conditional PSCell addition and change (CPAC) procedure, wherein the UE switches from a source PSCell to a target PSCell during the PSCell change procedure or the CPAC procedure; and transmitting the first information to a master node (MN) [0013]).
Regarding claim 6, Jiang (US 2025/0287280) teaches a method performed by a base station, the method comprising: receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a first message including information that a successful primary secondary cell (PSCell) report is available (i.e., In step 501, sending indication information to a network-side device after a reporting trigger condition is met, in which the indication information is used to indicate that the terminal device has the successful PScell addition or change report [0063]); transmitting, to the UE, a second message requesting for the successful PSCell report (i.e., In step 502, receiving a response message sent by the network-side device, in which the response message has a request indication [0064]); and receiving, to the UE, a third message including the successful PSCell report (i.e., In step 503, sending the successful PScell addition or change report to the network-side device according to the request indication [0068]), wherein in case that a conditional PSCell change (CPC) or conditional PSCell addition (CPA) is configured for the UE, the successful PSCell report includes information on a time elapsed between an initiation of an execution of the CPC or CPA and a reception of configuration information for the CPC or CPA (i.e., the terminal device may obtain a time for recording relevant information of PScell addition or change into the successful PScell addition or change report; and releasing the successful PScell addition or change report after the event exceeds a preset time [0039]-[0040]), wherein the successful PSCell report includes cell information for at least one of a primary cell, a PCell, a source PSCell, and a target PSCell (i.e., After the terminal device adds relevant information of the successPAC to the VarSuccessPAC-Report for the last time, and 48 hours have passed, the terminal device may release the successful PScell addition or change report. Further, in other embodiments of the present disclosure, the preset time may be configured by the network-side device or agreed upon by a system [0040]-[0041], [0110]-[0112]).
Jiang does not specifically teach wherein the cell information indicates a tracking area to which the PCell, the source PSCell, or the target PSCell belongs.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Yan teaches For successful PSCell change report reporting, configuration(s) for a UE to report the successful PSCell change (e.g., successPSCellChange-Config IE) is sent from the network, e.g., the network sends configuration(s) associated with trigger condition(s) for SPC-report to the UE. Based on the network configuration, a UE needs to log/generate/store/record successful PSCell change related parameters or successful CPAC related parameters when one or more trigger condition(s) is satisfied. The trigger condition can include at least one of the following: [0067] (1) radio problem(s) in a source PSCell, e.g., elapsed running time of timer T310 and/or T312 for source SCG is longer than a configured threshold; [0068] (2) radio problem(s) in a source PCell, e.g., elapsed running time of timer T310 and/or T312 for source MCG is longer than a configured threshold; [0069] (3) radio problem(s) in a target PSCell, e.g., elapsed running time of timer T310 and/or T312 for target SCG is longer than a configured threshold; [0070] (4) elapsed running time of timer T3104 is longer than a configured threshold ([0066]-[0068]); a successful PSCell change report can be generated, logged, and/or stored to the network, including cell information of the source PSCell, cell information of the target PSCell, cause value for successful PSCell change report, and/or measurement result(s). Cell information can be represented by global cell identity and tracking area code, and/or, PCI and carrier frequency ([0070]-[0072], [0120]-[0123). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Yan within the system of Jiang in order to provide wireless network signaling for tracking when a user equipment (UE) successfully completes a primary secondary cell (PSCell) change or conditional PSCell addition/change (CPAC) in problems and tune handover parameters.
Regarding claim 8, Jiang in view of Yan teaches all the limitations above. Yan further teaches the successful PSCell report includes information about whether a PSCell change associated with the successful PSCell report is initiated by a secondary node (SN) (i.e., The exemplary procedure 500 refers to a SN initiated PSCell change or CPAC procedure. In the embodiments of FIG. 5, source SN performs a MRO function, e.g., analysis of SCG failure(s) and/or modification(s) for PSCell change or CPAC related configuration(s) [0280], [0318].
Regarding claim 9, Jiang in view of Yan teaches all the limitations above. Yan further teaches the successful PSCell report includes at least one of location information of the UE, a measurement result of the UE, and common random access information (i.e., A successful PSCell change report can be generated, logged, and/or stored to the network, including cell information of the source PSCell, cell information of the target PSCell, cause value for successful PSCell change report, and/or measurement result(s) [0072]).
Regarding claim 10, Jiang in view of Yan teaches all the limitations above. Yan further teaches in case that the base station is not associated with a master node (MN) serving the UE at a time of successful PSCell change, transmitting, to the MN, the successful PSCell report (i.e., generating first information associated with a successful completion of a primary secondary cell group cell (PSCell) change procedure or a conditional PSCell addition and change (CPAC) procedure, wherein the UE switches from a source PSCell to a target PSCell during the PSCell change procedure or the CPAC procedure; and transmitting the first information to a master node (MN) [0013]).
Regarding claim 11, Jiang (US 2025/0287280) a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising: a transceiver (inherent in UE); and a controller (inherent in UE) configured comprising: transmit, to a base station via the transceiver, a first message including information that a successful primary secondary cell (PSCell) report is available (i.e., In step 501, sending indication information to a network-side device after a reporting trigger condition is met, in which the indication information is used to indicate that the terminal device has the successful PScell addition or change report [0063]); receiving, from the base station via the transceiver, a second message requesting for the successful PSCell report (i.e., In step 502, receiving a response message sent by the network-side device, in which the response message has a request indication [0064]); and transmitting, to the base station via the transceiver, a third message including the successful PSCell report (i.e., In step 503, sending the successful PScell addition or change report to the network-side device according to the request indication [0068]), wherein in case that a conditional PSCell change (CPC) or conditional PSCell addition (CPA) is configured for the UE, the successful PSCell report includes information on a time elapsed between an initiation of an execution of the CPC or CPA and a reception of configuration information for the CPC or CPA (i.e., the terminal device may obtain a time for recording relevant information of PScell addition or change into the successful PScell addition or change report; and releasing the successful PScell addition or change report after the event exceeds a preset time [0039]-[0040]), wherein the successful PSCell report includes cell information for at least one of a primary cell, a PCell, a source PSCell, and a target PSCell (i.e., After the terminal device adds relevant information of the successPAC to the VarSuccessPAC-Report for the last time, and 48 hours have passed, the terminal device may release the successful PScell addition or change report. Further, in other embodiments of the present disclosure, the preset time may be configured by the network-side device or agreed upon by a system [0040]-[0041], [0110]-[0112]).
Jiang does not specifically teach wherein the cell information indicates a tracking area to which the PCell, the source PSCell, or the target PSCell belongs.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Yan teaches For successful PSCell change report reporting, configuration(s) for a UE to report the successful PSCell change (e.g., successPSCellChange-Config IE) is sent from the network, e.g., the network sends configuration(s) associated with trigger condition(s) for SPC-report to the UE. Based on the network configuration, a UE needs to log/generate/store/record successful PSCell change related parameters or successful CPAC related parameters when one or more trigger condition(s) is satisfied. The trigger condition can include at least one of the following: [0067] (1) radio problem(s) in a source PSCell, e.g., elapsed running time of timer T310 and/or T312 for source SCG is longer than a configured threshold; [0068] (2) radio problem(s) in a source PCell, e.g., elapsed running time of timer T310 and/or T312 for source MCG is longer than a configured threshold; [0069] (3) radio problem(s) in a target PSCell, e.g., elapsed running time of timer T310 and/or T312 for target SCG is longer than a configured threshold; [0070] (4) elapsed running time of timer T3104 is longer than a configured threshold ([0066]-[0068]); a successful PSCell change report can be generated, logged, and/or stored to the network, including cell information of the source PSCell, cell information of the target PSCell, cause value for successful PSCell change report, and/or measurement result(s). Cell information can be represented by global cell identity and tracking area code, and/or, PCI and carrier frequency ([0070]-[0072], [0120]-[0123). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Yan within the system of Jiang in order to provide wireless network signaling for tracking when a user equipment (UE) successfully completes a primary secondary cell (PSCell) change or conditional PSCell addition/change (CPAC) in problems and tune handover parameters.
Regarding claim 13, Jiang in view of Yan teaches all the limitations above. Yan further teaches the successful PSCell report includes information about whether a PSCell change associated with the successful PSCell report is initiated by a secondary node (SN) (i.e., The exemplary procedure 500 refers to a SN initiated PSCell change or CPAC procedure. In the embodiments of FIG. 5, source SN performs a MRO function, e.g., analysis of SCG failure(s) and/or modification(s) for PSCell change or CPAC related configuration(s) [0280], [0318].
Regarding claim 14, Jiang in view of Yan teaches all the limitations above. Yan further teaches the successful PSCell report includes at least one of location information of the UE, a measurement result of the UE, and common random access information (i.e., A successful PSCell change report can be generated, logged, and/or stored to the network, including cell information of the source PSCell, cell information of the target PSCell, cause value for successful PSCell change report, and/or measurement result(s) [0072]).
Regarding claim 15, Jiang in view of Yan teaches all the limitations above. Yan further teaches teaches wherein in case that the base station is not associated with a master node (MN) serving the UE at a time of successful PSCell change, the successful PSCell report is transmitted to the MN (i.e., generating first information associated with a successful completion of a primary secondary cell group cell (PSCell) change procedure or a conditional PSCell addition and change (CPAC) procedure, wherein the UE switches from a source PSCell to a target PSCell during the PSCell change procedure or the CPAC procedure; and transmitting the first information to a master node (MN) [0013]).
Regarding claim 16, Jiang (US 2025/0287280) teaches a base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: a transceiver and controller (inherent in BS) configured to: receive, from a user equipment (UE) via a transceiver, a first message including information that a successful primary secondary cell (PSCell) report is available (i.e., In step 501, sending indication information to a network-side device after a reporting trigger condition is met, in which the indication information is used to indicate that the terminal device has the successful PScell addition or change report [0063]); transmit, to the UE via a transceiver, a second message requesting for the successful PSCell report (i.e., In step 502, receiving a response message sent by the network-side device, in which the response message has a request indication [0064]); and receive, to the UE via a transceiver, a third message including the successful PSCell report (i.e., In step 503, sending the successful PScell addition or change report to the network-side device according to the request indication [0068]), wherein in case that a conditional PSCell change (CPC) or conditional PSCell addition (CPA) is configured for the UE, the successful PSCell report includes information on a time elapsed between an initiation of an execution of the CPC or CPA and a reception of configuration information for the CPC or CPA (i.e., the terminal device may obtain a time for recording relevant information of PScell addition or change into the successful PScell addition or change report; and releasing the successful PScell addition or change report after the event exceeds a preset time [0039]-[0040]), wherein the successful PSCell report includes cell information for at least one of a primary cell, a PCell, a source PSCell, and a target PSCell (i.e., After the terminal device adds relevant information of the successPAC to the VarSuccessPAC-Report for the last time, and 48 hours have passed, the terminal device may release the successful PScell addition or change report. Further, in other embodiments of the present disclosure, the preset time may be configured by the network-side device or agreed upon by a system [0040]-[0041], [0110]-[0112]).
Jiang does not specifically teach wherein the cell information indicates a tracking area to which the PCell, the source PSCell, or the target PSCell belongs.
However, the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Yan teaches For successful PSCell change report reporting, configuration(s) for a UE to report the successful PSCell change (e.g., successPSCellChange-Config IE) is sent from the network, e.g., the network sends configuration(s) associated with trigger condition(s) for SPC-report to the UE. Based on the network configuration, a UE needs to log/generate/store/record successful PSCell change related parameters or successful CPAC related parameters when one or more trigger condition(s) is satisfied. The trigger condition can include at least one of the following: [0067] (1) radio problem(s) in a source PSCell, e.g., elapsed running time of timer T310 and/or T312 for source SCG is longer than a configured threshold; [0068] (2) radio problem(s) in a source PCell, e.g., elapsed running time of timer T310 and/or T312 for source MCG is longer than a configured threshold; [0069] (3) radio problem(s) in a target PSCell, e.g., elapsed running time of timer T310 and/or T312 for target SCG is longer than a configured threshold; [0070] (4) elapsed running time of timer T3104 is longer than a configured threshold ([0066]-[0068]); a successful PSCell change report can be generated, logged, and/or stored to the network, including cell information of the source PSCell, cell information of the target PSCell, cause value for successful PSCell change report, and/or measurement result(s). Cell information can be represented by global cell identity and tracking area code, and/or, PCI and carrier frequency ([0070]-[0072], [0120]-[0123). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Yan within the system of Jiang in order to provide wireless network signaling for tracking when a user equipment (UE) successfully completes a primary secondary cell (PSCell) change or conditional PSCell addition/change (CPAC) in problems and tune handover parameters.
Regarding claim 18, Jiang in view of Yan teaches all the limitations above. Yan further teaches the successful PSCell report includes information about whether a PSCell change associated with the successful PSCell report is initiated by a secondary node (SN) (i.e., The exemplary procedure 500 refers to a SN initiated PSCell change or CPAC procedure. In the embodiments of FIG. 5, source SN performs a MRO function, e.g., analysis of SCG failure(s) and/or modification(s) for PSCell change or CPAC related configuration(s) [0280], [0318].
Regarding claim 19, Jiang in view of Yan teaches all the limitations above. Yan further teaches the successful PSCell report includes at least one of location information of the UE, a measurement result of the UE, and common random access information (i.e., A successful PSCell change report can be generated, logged, and/or stored to the network, including cell information of the source PSCell, cell information of the target PSCell, cause value for successful PSCell change report, and/or measurement result(s) [0072]).
Regarding claim 20, Jiang in view of Yan teaches all the limitations above. Yan further teaches in case that the base station is not associated with a master node (MN) serving the UE at a time of successful PSCell change, transmitting, to the MN, the successful PSCell report (i.e., generating first information associated with a successful completion of a primary secondary cell group cell (PSCell) change procedure or a conditional PSCell addition and change (CPAC) procedure, wherein the UE switches from a source PSCell to a target PSCell during the PSCell change procedure or the CPAC procedure; and transmitting the first information to a master node (MN) [0013]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-11, 13-16, and 18-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEAN A GELIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643