DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Applicant’s arguments, and amendments filed on February 02, 2026, in which claims 1, 4, 6, 9, 11, and 16 have been amended, claims 2, 7, 12, 17 have been canceled. Claims 1, 3-11, 13-16, and 18-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-11, 13-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnan et al. (US 2024/0049074) in view of Wu et al. (US 2025/0184836).
Regarding claim 1, Krishman teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: transmitting, to a base station, a first message including information that a successful primary secondary cell (PSCell) report is available (i.e., receiving, from a user equipment (UE) (corresponding to UE transmits to base), a first message indicating successful HO information is available and successful PScell change information is available [0007], [0011], [0015], [0097], [0108] first message); receiving, from the base station, a second message requesting for the successful PSCell report (i.e., transmitting, to the UE (corresponding to UE receives from BS/node) based on the first message, at least one request for the successful HO information and the successful PScell change information [0007], [0011], [0015], [0097], [0108] second message); and transmitting, to the base station, a third message including the successful PSCell report (i.e., receiving, from the UE (corresponding to BS/node transmits to UE) based on the at least one request, a successful HO report indicating the successful HO information and a SPC report indicating the successful PScell change information [0007], [0011], [0015], [0097], [0108] (third message)).
Krishman does not specifically teach in case that a conditional PSCell change (CPC) or conditional PSCell addition (CPA) is configured for the UE, the successful PSCell report includes information on a time elapsed between execution of the CPC or CPA and reception of configuration information for the CPC or CPA.
However the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Wu teaches a mobility robustness optimization (MRO) mechanism for a successful PSCell addition procedure, a conditional PSCell addition (CPA) procedure a conditional PScell change (CPC) procedure ([0001], [0095]-[0098])… transmitting assistance information includes at least one of: an elapsed time duration of the handover timer exceeds the threshold multiplied by the length of the handover timer; or an expiry of the handover timer ([0180]). In an embodiment, the elapsed time duration of timer T310 upon initiating the SCG failure information procedure can be reported if timer T310 is running. [0201] 3) Information regarding whether timer T312 is running can be reported to the MCG in the SCGFailureInformation message. [0202] In an embodiment, the elapsed time duration of timer T312 upon initiating the SCG failure information procedure can be reported if timer T312 is running ([0200]-[0203]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Wu within the system of Krishman in order to improve handover reliability, reduce failure rates, and enhance user experience.
Regarding claim 3, Krishman in view of Wu teaches all the limitations above. Krishman further teaches the successful PSCell report includes information about whether a PSCell change associated with the successful PSCell report is initiated by a secondary node (SN) (i.e., the SN initiates a PScell change and is at least partially involved in the configuration of the UE 115 to determine a successful PScell change and/or for PScell change reporting [0102], [0115]).
Regarding claim 4, Krishman in view of Wu teaches all the limitations above. Krishman further teaches the successful PSCell report includes at least one of: cell information for at least one of a primary cell (PCell), a source PSCell, and a target PSCell, location information of the UE, a measurement result of the UE, and common random access information (i.e., the SPC report may comprise information associated with the PScell change. In some aspects, the UEInformationResponse message may comprise a RRC message or IE [0111]-[0114], the SPC report may comprise information associated with the PScell change [0126]-[0127], [0242]).
Regarding claim 5, Krishman in view of Wu teaches all the limitations above. Krishman further teaches wherein in case that the base station is not associated with a master node (MN) serving the UE at a time of successful PSCell change, the successful PSCell report is transmitted to the MN ([0219]).
Regarding claim 6, Krishman teaches a method performed by a base station, the method comprising: receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a first message including information that a successful primary secondary cell (PSCell) report is available (i.e., receiving, from a user equipment (UE) (corresponding to UE transmits to base), a first message indicating successful HO information is available and successful PScell change information is available [0007], [0011], [0015], [0097], [0108] first message); transmitting, to the UE, a second message requesting for the successful PSCell report; and receiving, from the UE (i.e., transmitting, to the UE (corresponding to UE receives from BS/node) based on the first message, at least one request for the successful HO information and the successful PScell change information [0007], [0011], [0015], [0097], [0108] second message); and receiving, from the UE, a third message including the successful PSCell report (i.e., receiving, from the UE (corresponding to BS/node transmits to UE) based on the at least one request, a successful HO report indicating the successful HO information and a SPC report indicating the successful PScell change information [0007], [0011], [0015], [0097], [0108] (third message)).
Krishman does not specifically teach in case that a conditional PSCell change (CPC) or conditional PSCell addition (CPA) is configured for the UE, the successful PSCell report includes information on a time elapsed between execution of the CPC or CPA and reception of configuration information for the CPC or CPA.
However the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Wu teaches a mobility robustness optimization (MRO) mechanism for a successful PSCell addition procedure, a conditional PSCell addition (CPA) procedure a conditional PScell change (CPC) procedure ([0001], [0095]-[0098])… transmitting assistance information includes at least one of: an elapsed time duration of the handover timer exceeds the threshold multiplied by the length of the handover timer; or an expiry of the handover timer ([0180]). In an embodiment, the elapsed time duration of timer T310 upon initiating the SCG failure information procedure can be reported if timer T310 is running. [0201] 3) Information regarding whether timer T312 is running can be reported to the MCG in the SCGFailureInformation message. [0202] In an embodiment, the elapsed time duration of timer T312 upon initiating the SCG failure information procedure can be reported if timer T312 is running ([0200]-[0203]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Wu within the system of Krishman in order to improve handover reliability, reduce failure rates, and enhance user experience.
Regarding claim 8, Krishman in view of Wu teaches all the limitations above. Krishman further teaches the successful PSCell report includes information about whether a PSCell change associated with the successful PSCell report is initiated by a secondary node (SN). (i.e., the SN initiates a PScell change and is at least partially involved in the configuration of the UE 115 to determine a successful PScell change and/or for PScell change reporting [0102], [0115]).
Regarding claim 9, Krishman in view of Wu teaches all the limitations above. Krishman further teaches the successful PSCell report includes at least one of: cell information for at least one of a primary cell (PCell), a source PSCell, and a target PSCell, location information of the UE, a measurement result of the UE, and common random access information (i.e., the SPC report may comprise information associated with the PScell change. In some aspects, the UEInformationResponse message may comprise a RRC message or IE [0111]-[0114], the SPC report may comprise information associated with the PScell change [0126]-[0127], [0242]).
Regarding claim 10, Krishman in view of Wu teaches all the limitations above. Krishman further teaches in case that the base station is not associated with a master node (MN) serving the UE at a time of successful PSCell change, transmitting, to the MN, the successful PSCell report ([0219]).
Regarding claim 11, Krishman teaches a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the UE comprising: a transceiver (inherent in UE); and a controller (inherent in UE) configured comprising: transmit, to a base station via the transceiver, a first message including information that a successful primary secondary cell (PSCell) report is available (i.e., receiving, from a user equipment (UE) (corresponding to UE transmits to base), a first message indicating successful HO information is available and successful PScell change information is available [0007], [0011], [0015], [0097], [0108] first message); receive, from the base station via the transceiver, a second message requesting for the successful PSCell report (i.e., transmitting, to the UE (corresponding to UE receives from BS/node) based on the first message, at least one request for the successful HO information and the successful PScell change information [0007], [0011], [0015], [0097], [0108] second message); and transmit, to the base station via the tranceiver, a third message including the successful PSCell report (i.e., receiving, from the UE (corresponding to BS/node transmits to UE) based on the at least one request, a successful HO report indicating the successful HO information and a SPC report indicating the successful PScell change information [0007], [0011], [0015], [0097], [0108] (third message)).
Krishman does not specifically teach in case that a conditional PSCell change (CPC) or conditional PSCell addition (CPA) is configured for the UE, the successful PSCell report includes information on a time elapsed between execution of the CPC or CPA and reception of configuration information for the CPC or CPA.
However the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Wu teaches a mobility robustness optimization (MRO) mechanism for a successful PSCell addition procedure, a conditional PSCell addition (CPA) procedure a conditional PScell change (CPC) procedure ([0001], [0095]-[0098])… transmitting assistance information includes at least one of: an elapsed time duration of the handover timer exceeds the threshold multiplied by the length of the handover timer; or an expiry of the handover timer ([0180]). In an embodiment, the elapsed time duration of timer T310 upon initiating the SCG failure information procedure can be reported if timer T310 is running. [0201] 3) Information regarding whether timer T312 is running can be reported to the MCG in the SCGFailureInformation message. [0202] In an embodiment, the elapsed time duration of timer T312 upon initiating the SCG failure information procedure can be reported if timer T312 is running ([0200]-[0203]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Wu within the system of Krishman in order to improve handover reliability, reduce failure rates, and enhance user experience.
Regarding claim 13, Krishman in view of Wu teaches all the limitations above. Krishman further teaches the successful PSCell report includes information about whether a PSCell change associated with the successful PSCell report is initiated by a secondary node (SN) (i.e., the SN initiates a PScell change and is at least partially involved in the configuration of the UE 115 to determine a successful PScell change and/or for PScell change reporting [0102], [0115]).
Regarding claim 14, Krishman in view of Wu teaches all the limitations above. Krishman further teaches the successful PSCell report includes at least one of: cell information for at least one of a primary cell (PCell), a source PSCell, and a target PSCell, location information of the UE, a measurement result of the UE, and common random access information (i.e., the SPC report may comprise information associated with the PScell change. In some aspects, the UEInformationResponse message may comprise a RRC message or IE [0111]-[0114], the SPC report may comprise information associated with the PScell change [0126]-[0127], [0242]).
Regarding claim 15, Krishman in view of Wu teaches all the limitations above. Krishman further teaches wherein in case that the base station is not associated with a master node (MN) serving the UE at a time of successful PSCell change, the successful PSCell report is transmitted to the MN ([0219]).
Regarding claim 16, Krishman teaches a base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: a transceiver and controller (inherent in BS) configured to: receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a first message including information that a successful primary secondary cell (PSCell) report is available (i.e., receiving, from a user equipment (UE) (corresponding to UE transmits to base), a first message indicating successful HO information is available and successful PScell change information is available [0007], [0011], [0015], [0097], [0108] first message); transmitting, to the UE, a second message requesting for the successful PSCell report; and receiving, from the UE (i.e., transmitting, to the UE (corresponding to UE receives from BS/node) based on the first message, at least one request for the successful HO information and the successful PScell change information [0007], [0011], [0015], [0097], [0108] second message); and receiving, from the UE, a third message including the successful PSCell report (i.e., receiving, from the UE (corresponding to BS/node transmits to UE) based on the at least one request, a successful HO report indicating the successful HO information and a SPC report indicating the successful PScell change information [0007], [0011], [0015], [0097], [0108] (third message)).
Krishman does not specifically teach in case that a conditional PSCell change (CPC) or conditional PSCell addition (CPA) is configured for the UE, the successful PSCell report includes information on a time elapsed between execution of the CPC or CPA and reception of configuration information for the CPC or CPA.
However the preceding limitation is known in the art of communications. Wu teaches a mobility robustness optimization (MRO) mechanism for a successful PSCell addition procedure, a conditional PSCell addition (CPA) procedure a conditional PScell change (CPC) procedure ([0001], [0095]-[0098])… transmitting assistance information includes at least one of: an elapsed time duration of the handover timer exceeds the threshold multiplied by the length of the handover timer; or an expiry of the handover timer ([0180]). In an embodiment, the elapsed time duration of timer T310 upon initiating the SCG failure information procedure can be reported if timer T310 is running. [0201] 3) Information regarding whether timer T312 is running can be reported to the MCG in the SCGFailureInformation message. [0202] In an embodiment, the elapsed time duration of timer T312 upon initiating the SCG failure information procedure can be reported if timer T312 is running ([0200]-[0203]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to have implemented the technique of Wu within the system of Krishman in order to improve handover reliability, reduce failure rates, and enhance user experience.
Regarding claim 18, Krishman in view of Wu teaches all the limitations above. Krishman further teaches the successful PSCell report includes information about whether a PSCell change associated with the successful PSCell report is initiated by a secondary node (SN). (i.e., the SN initiates a PScell change and is at least partially involved in the configuration of the UE 115 to determine a successful PScell change and/or for PScell change reporting [0102], [0115]).
Regarding claim 19, Krishman in view of Wu teaches all the limitations above. Krishman further teaches the successful PSCell report includes at least one of: cell information for at least one of a primary cell (PCell), a source PSCell, and a target PSCell, location information of the UE, a measurement result of the UE, and common random access information (i.e., the SPC report may comprise information associated with the PScell change. In some aspects, the UEInformationResponse message may comprise a RRC message or IE [0111]-[0114], the SPC report may comprise information associated with the PScell change [0126]-[0127], [0242]).
Regarding claim 20, Krishman in view of Wu teaches all the limitations above. Krishman further teaches in case that the base station is not associated with a master node (MN) serving the UE at a time of successful PSCell change, transmitting, to the MN, the successful PSCell report ([0219]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-11, 13-16, and 18-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JEAN A GELIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643