Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 12-14 of the Applicant’s Response, Applicant: “Accordingly, the multiple PMIs for different points in time as discussed by Ren are not the same as, and do not disclose "communicating with the second wireless device during the second time slot using multiple precoders," as recited in independent claim 1…Ren therefore fails to disclose changing precoders within a single slot, and thus Ren does not disclose "communicating with the second wireless device during the second time slot using multiple precoders," as recited in independent claim 1.“.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s argument. In claim 1, the second time slot is an interval of time for transmission that is further divided into at least 2 smaller intervals within the second time slot. Ren expressly discloses a second time slot, e.g. figure 13 duration D which comprises sub-slots 6N-10N. Each sub-slot 6N-10N uses a predicted precoder based on PMI(6N)-PMI(10N), respectively (paragraphs 152-153, 160-161). In other words, second time slot is duration D; first sub-slot is 6N; second sub-slot is 7N; first precoder is PMI(6N); second precoder is PMI(7N).
In view of the above discussions the rejection of claims 1-30 still stands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 10-14, 16, 19-23, and 25-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ren et al. (US 2022/0329305) (“Ren”).
For claims 1, 10, 19, and 25; Ren discloses: first wireless device to: transmit one or more reference signals to a second wireless device (paragraph 115: CSI-RS); receive, from the second wireless device, in response to the one or more reference signals, channel estimation information that is associated with observed channel conditions for the second wireless device during a first time slot (paragraph 117, 161: the predicted coefficients are based on current channel conditions…feedback the predicted channels in the form of a time domain coefficient); determine, based at least in part on the received channel estimation information, multiple channel condition predictions for the second wireless device (paragraph 117, 161: a PMI is calculated based on the predicted channel coefficient. the PMI corresponds to the channel condition prediction…a plurality of future channels are estimated for different points in time), the multiple channel condition predictions associated with a second time slot that is subsequent to the first time slot, wherein the multiple channel condition predictions comprise a first channel condition prediction that is for a first sub-slot of the second time slot and a second channel condition prediction that is for a second sub-slot of the second time slot (paragraph 161: multiple PM ls for different points in time are predicted); and communicate with the second wireless device during the second time slot using multiple precoders, wherein the multiple precoders comprise a first precoder for one or more first transmissions during the first sub-slot, the first precoder based at least in part on the first channel condition prediction, and a second precoder for one or more second transmissions during the second sub-slot, the second precoder based least in part on the second channel condition prediction (paragraph 161: multiple PMls for different points in time are predicted and used for transmission).
For claims 2, 11, 20, and 26; Ren discloses: transmit, to the second wireless device, an indication of a quantity of precoders associated with transmissions from the first wireless device to the second wireless device during the second time slot, wherein the indicated quantity of precoders is equal to a quantity of channel condition predictions included in the multiple channel condition predictions (paragraph 152-153: The terminal device receives the configuration information sent by the network device, where the configuration information is used to configure the feedback mode of the channel information to be the second mode, and configure the CSI-RS measurement resource, the channel information feedback resource, the time offset T, the window duration D, and the time domain feedback granularity M… the time domain feedback granularity M is N slots).
For claims 3, 12, 21, and 27; Ren discloses: wherein a boundary between the first sub-slot and the second sub-slot is based at least in part on the quantity of precoders, the boundary being between an end symbol of the first sub-slot and a start symbol of the second sub-slot (paragraph 153, fig. 9: for example, X is N slots, the time offset T is N slots, the time domain feedback granularity M is N slots; second slot starts after T).
For claims 4, 13, 22, and 28; Ren discloses: transmit, to the second wireless device, an indication of the boundary between the first sub-slot and the second sub-slot (paragraph 152-153: The terminal device receives the configuration information sent by the network device, where the configuration information is used to configure the feedback mode of the channel information to be the second mode, and configure the CSI-RS measurement resource, the channel information feedback resource, the time offset T, the window duration D, and the time domain feedback granularity M; second slot starts at the end of T).
For claims 5, 14, 23, and 29; Ren discloses: use the multiple precoders to communicate with the second wireless device during the second time slot based at least in part on a velocity of the second wireless device satisfying a threshold velocity (paragraph 122: when the moving speed of the terminal device is relatively high, the network device may configure the second mode, to indicate the terminal device to feed back the predicted channel information).
For claims 7 and 16; Ren discloses: a third channel condition prediction that is for a third sub-slot of the second time slot (paragraph 161: a plurality of moments may be represented by using a Doppler codebook).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 15, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren in view of Kim et al. (US 2025/0309952) (“Kim”).
For claims 6, 15, and 30; Ren discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action.
Ren does not expressly disclose, but Kim from similar fields of endeavor teaches: receive, from the second wireless device, capability information indicating support by the second wireless device for communicating in accordance with two or more precoders within a slot, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the first wireless device to determine multiple channel condition predictions based at least in part on receiving the capability information (paragraph 233-234: The number of time instances that will be represented by a PMI (i.e., information about the number of time instances within a window) may be configured/indicated to a terminal… a terminal may report candidate values for a time instance number value to a network as capability information… the value of t may be represented by an absolute time length, the number of slots, the number of OFDM symbols, etc. In addition, a terminal may report candidate values for the value of t to a network as capability information). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Kim in the predictive PMI transmission as described by Ren. The motivation is to improve device interoperability.
Claim(s) 8, 17, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren in view of Graybeal et al. (US 2022/0247465) (“Graybeal”).
For claims 8, 17, and 24; Ren discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action.
Ren does not expressly disclose, but Graybeal from similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein: the first channel condition prediction is based at least in part on predicted channel conditions for the second wireless device during a first interior symbol within the first sub-slot of the second time slot, the first interior symbol being between at least two other symbols of the first sub-slot; and the second channel condition prediction is based at least in part on predicted channel conditions for the second wireless device during a second interior symbol within the second sub-slot of the second time slot, the second interior symbol being between at least two other symbols of the second sub-slot (paragraph 47: the forward-predictive matrix can occur on a per-symbol basis such that each symbol in the long data frame is updated with a forward-predictive precoding matrix that corresponds to the time-position of the symbol in the long data frame. In another example, the forward-predictive matrix can occur on a symbol group basis such that each of a group of a plurality of symbols in the long data frame is updated with a forward-predictive precoding matrix that corresponds to the time-position of the group in the long data frame). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the granularity as described by Graybeal in the predictive PMI transmission as described by Ren. The motivation is to improve transmission quality.
Claim(s) 9 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren in view of Chavva et al. (US 2021/0351885) (“Chavva”).
For claims 9 and 18; Ren discloses the subject matter in claim 1 as described above in the office action.
Ren does not expressly disclose, but Chavva from similar fields of endeavor teaches: transmit the one or more reference signals to the second wireless device during a third time slot prior to the first time slot (paragraph 104, fig. 2: The UE can, periodically, in a semi-persistent manner, or in an aperiodic manner, send CSI reports to the gNB… The UE can compute the feedback parameters (such as RI, PMI, CQI, CRI, and so on), to be included in the CSI report, using the content in the CSI-RS). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Chavva in the predictive PMI transmission as described by Ren. The motivation is to improve transmission quality.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Grossmann et al. (US 2025/0202546); Grossmann discloses extend the CSI reporting schemes by a Doppler component that allows a network node time-domain-based channel prediction and precoding of downlink signals.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN D BLANTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466