DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. This Office Action is in response to the applicant’s response to the Non-Final rejection filed on March 25, 2026.
3. Claims 1-2 and 4-20 are pending and have been examined.
4. Claims 1, 2, 4-8, 10, 11, 13-18, and 20 are amended5. Claim 3 is cancelled by the applicant.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant’s arguments, see “Claim Rejection – 35 U.S.C. § 112” filed on March 25, 2026, have been carefully considered and based on the amendments along with the remarks filed on page 11, the rejection is withdrawn.7. Applicant’s arguments, see “Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 103”, filed on March 25, 2026 with respect to the independent claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
8. Applicant’ arguments, see “Claims Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 101”, filed on March 25, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.9. Applicant argues that: “Applicant has added an executing subject, a terminal device of a user, into each step of Claim 1, and interaction between the terminal device and server is newly presented, thereby excluding the possibility that the method could the interpreted as a mental process. Examiner has carefully considered the argument but respectfully disagrees. However, the mere recitation of generic computer components performing information-processing operations does not remove a claim from the mental process grouping of abstract ideas. The claims continue to recite receiving search information, acquiring topical content, determining comment information, determining keywords, matching keywords to book information stored in a database, determining book information, and displaying results. These limitations recite collecting, analyzing, comparing, categorizing, selecting, and presenting information, which remain mental process concepts under the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance. Implementing such operations using a terminal device and server does not alter the nature of the recited abstract idea.
10. Applicant argues that: “Even if it is maintained that amended Claim 1 fails pass Step 2A (which Applicant disputes), it can be seen that amended Claim 1 improves the functionality of the computer itself, such that the additional elements recited therein amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, thereby at least passing Step 2B”. Examiner has carefully considered the argument but respectfully disagrees. However, the claims do not recite a specific technological mechanism for accomplishing for accomplishing such searching. The claims do not recite a particular search algorithm, indexing structure, natural language processing technique, machine-learning model, database architecture, or other technological improvement to computer functionality. Rather, the claims recite the desired results of identifying book information from comments and keywords and presenting corresponding information to a user. Any improvement is directed to the relevance or usefulness of information provided to a user rather than to the operation of the computer itself.
Accordingly, the claims do not integrate the recited abstract ideas into a practical application under Step 2A, Prong Two. Applicant additionally argues that the claims improve computer functionality and therefore amount to significantly more that any alleged judicial exception. However, the claims rely upon generic computing components, including a terminal device, server, and database, performing conventional information matching keywords, determining associated information, and displaying results. The claims do not recite an unconventional technological solution or an inventive concept sufficient to transform the abstract idea into patent eligible subject matter. Therefore, the claims fail to recite significantly more than the judicial exception under Step 2B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
12. Claims 1–2 and 4-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claims are directed to a judicial exception (abstract ideas) and do not recite significantly more, as analyzed under the USPTO’s 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (2019 PEG) and the October 2019 Update.
Step 1: Statutory Category Claim 1-12 recites an information search method, claims 13–19 recite a computer device, and claim 20 recites a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. These claims fall within the statutory categories of process and machine/manufacture, respectively. However, falling within a statutory category does not end the §101 analysis under the 2019 PEG.
Step 2A, Prong 1 – Judicial Exception
As drafted, the claims recite abstract ideas, including mental processes and organizing, analyzing, and presenting information, which are groupings of abstract ideas identified in the 2019 PEG and clarified in the October 2019 Update.
Representative Claim 1
Representative claim 1 recites the following limitations (bracketed and paraphrased):
[a] receiving, by a terminal device of a user, search information input in a search box of an application program by the user;
[b] initiating, by the terminal device and based on the search information, a search request to a server;
[c] acquiring, by the terminal device, a plurality of pieces of topical content that are searched by the server and correspond to a first keyword in the search information; [d] determining, by the terminal device, second comment information that contains book information from first comment information in each piece of the plurality of pieces of topical content, wherein the book information contained in the second comment information comprises a book cover and/or a book name;
[e] determining, by the terminal device, first book information related to the search information from the book information contained in the second comment information based on attribute information contained in the second comment information; and [f] determining a second keyword in the first comment information in each piece of the plurality of pieces of topical content; [g] in response to the second keyword matching with a piece of book information stored in a book information base, determining the first comment information as the second comment information;
[h] displaying, by the terminal device, the plurality of pieces of topic content and the first book information on a search result page;
Limitations [c]-[g] recite analyzing textual information, identifying keywords, comparing information against stored information, categorizing comments, and selecting information based upon attributes. These operations constitute observations, evaluation, judgments, comparison, and classification that can practically be performed in the human mind or with pen and paper and therefore fall within the mental-process grouping of abstract ideas identified in the 2019 PEG.
Limitation [h] recites displaying the plurality of pieces of topic content and the first book information on a search result page, merely presents the results of the preceding information analysis and selection. Such displaying of information constitutes insignificant extra-solution activity that does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106(g).
Limitations [a] and [b] recite data gathering and retrieval activities that merely obtain information for use in the abstract analysis.
Accordingly, claim 1 recites a mental process (evaluation, comparison, classification, selection of information) plus insignificant extra-solution activity (displaying)..
Dependent Claims
Dependent claims 2–12 further recite:
Determining whether a book matching search information exists in a database;
Determining book covers, names, labels, attributes, and book information;
Determining associated keywords and associated search information;
Screening and categorizing book information using keywords,
Displaying topic cards, sub-cards, recommendation cards, and associated search information.
These additional limitations merely further refine the collection, analysis, comparison, categorization, recommendation, filtering, and presentation of information. They therefore remain within the abstract-idea groupings of mental processes and information organization identified by the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance and October 2019 Updates.
Step 2A, Prong 2 – Integration into a Practical Application
The additional elements, considered individually and in combination, do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application under MPEP 2106.05(a)–(c), (e)–(h). No Improvement to Computer Functionality (MPEP 2106.05(a))
The claims do not recite a specific technical improvement to computer functionality. No improvement to Computer Functionality (MPEP 2106.05(a)) The claims do not recite a specific technological improvement to computer functionality. Although the claims refer to determining keywords from comment information, matching keywords to book information, identifying book information, determining associated keywords, and performing word segmentation processing, the claims do not recite a particular natural language processing technique, parsing algorithm, machine-learning model, indexing structure, search architecture, or other technical mechanism for performing those operations.
Instead, the claims recite the desired informational results at a high level of abstraction while relying on generic computer functionality to receive information, analyzing text, compare information, retrieve information from a database, and display results. Any improvement is directed to the relevance of information presented to a user rather than to the operation of the computer itself.
Accordingly, the claims fail Step 2A, Prong 2.
Step 2B – “Significantly More” (Inventive Concept)
Under Step 2B, the additional elements, individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract ideas themselves.
The claims rely on:
Generic processors and memory,
Routine keyword matching and attribute extraction,
Known database lookups,
Conventional ranking and display of search results.
These elements represent well-understood, routine, and conventional activities in information retrieval systems. Merely limiting the abstract idea to a particular content domain (books, comments, topical content) or adding conventional display constructs does not supply an inventive concept.
As explained in the 2019 PEG, applying abstract ideas using generic computer components and routine information processing does not constitute significantly more.
Conclusion
Claims 1–12 and 13–20 are directed to abstract ideas, including collecting, analyzing, categorizing, matching, and presenting information, without integrating those ideas into a practical application or reciting significantly more. The claims merely use generic computing components to implement abstract information processing and presentation. Accordingly, claims 1–12 and 13–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
16. Claims 1, 4-6, 8-13, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Castaneda et al. US20190155949A1(hereinafter Castaneda) in view of Qiao et al. US20220343077 A1 (hereinafter Qiao).
Regarding claim 1, Castaneda discloses an information search method, comprising: receiving, by a terminal device of a user, search information input in a search box of an application program by the user (Castaneda [0014] e.g., “The selected portion of text may be parsed at the user device ,,, to determine a keyword”, see also [0006] e.g., “A query for supplemental content related to the eBook portion may be generated”. The user provides input (selected text/keyword) which serves as search information used to generate a query); initiating, by the terminal device and based on the search information, a search request to a server (Castaneda [0006] e.g., “The query may be transmitted from the user device to a remote database”, see also [0015] e.g., “The keyword in the query may be transmitted using the media guidance application over a network to a remote database to search for supplemental content.”. Directly teaches initiating a search request to a server/database); acquiring, by the terminal device, a plurality of pieces of topical content that are searched by the server and correspond to a first keyword in the search information (Castaneda [0015] e.g., “Search results matching the query may be received at the user device from the remote database”, see also [0016] e.g., “The search results may be filtered … may generate a display of search results that match the criteria.”. Search results correspond to the determined keyword and constitute topical content); determining, by the terminal device, second comment information that contains book information from first comment information in each piece of the plurality of pieces of topical content (Castaneda [0024] e.g., “… keywords may be obtained from a third party book related database, such as a database of book reviews, book blogs, book seller information,”, see also [0057] e.g., “Metadata 820 for the file can include reader notes, publisher notes, public comments, etc.”. Castaneda teaches comments, reviews, blogs, and public comments), wherein the book information contained in the second comment information comprises a book cover and/or a book name (Castaneda [0027] e.g., “…book title information from a manifest file…”, see also [0057] e.g., “The metadata 820 may also include other details about the book 825, such as the title, book description…”. Book names are expressly taught. Book cover); and displaying, by the terminal device, the plurality of pieces of topic content and the first book information on a search result page (Castaneda [0016] e.g., “…generate a display of search results…”, see also [0051] e.g., “…multiple search results for a search query may be presented…”. Search results are displayed to the user). Castaneda does not explicitly discloses: determining, by the terminal device, first book information related to the search information from the book information contained in the second comment information based on attribute information of the book information contained in the second comment information; wherein determining the second comment information comprising: determining a second keyword in the first comment information in each piece of the plurality of pieces of topical content; and in response to the second keyword matching with a piece of book information stored in a book information base. Qiao discloses determining, by the terminal device, first book information related to the search information from the book information contained in the second comment information based on attribute information of the book information contained in the second comment information (Qiao [0072] e.g., “selecting an electronic book associated with the keyword from electronic books contained in a database…”, see also [0072] e.g., “determining the book type of information that matches the keyword based on the selected electronic book”. Keyword-derived information is used to identify associated book information from book database); wherein determining the second comment information comprising: determining a second keyword in the first comment information in each piece of the plurality of pieces of topical content (Qiao [0102] e.g., “determining keywords contained in pages of the electronic book…”, see also [0030] e.g., “… the keywords … may also be recognized with reference … comments, annotation information”. Directly teaches determining keywords from comment-related content); and in response to the second keyword matching with a piece of book information stored in a book information base (Qiao [0072] e.g., “selecting an electronic book associated with the keyword from electronic books contained in a database …”, see also [0054] e.g., “…electronic books contained in a database…”. Keyword matching against book information stored in a database), determining the first comment information as the second comment information (Qiao [0030] e.g., “… the keywords contained in the pages of the electronic book may also be recognized with reference to such as content of comments, annotation information and the like fed back by a user”. This teaches deriving/recognizing keywords from: comments, annotations, and user feedback. See also [0055] e.g., “… user interaction data, such as user comments, user notes, user sharing, user marking, etc., of the each of the keywords in the electronic books may be counted… introduction information of the electronic books associated with the target electronic book … corresponding to the keyword may be displayed”. This maps to matching the second keyword with book information stored in a book information base, because a) keyword identified, b) electronic books in a database evaluated, c) electronic books associated with keyword determined, and d) book information displayed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the method for displaying entity-associated information based on electronic-book taught by Qiao, in the system and method for displaying supplemental content for an electronic book taught by Castaneda, to yield a predictable result of enables to determine associated electronic-book information from books stored in a database and content containing the keywork is intensified.
3. (Cancelled).
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference, Castaneda and Qiao discloses a method, wherein the method further comprises: based on attribute information of the first book information, determining, from the first book information, third book information matching the search information (Castaneda [0024] e.g., “… keywords may be obtained from a third party book related database, such as a database of book reviews, book blogs, book seller information,”, see also [0057] e.g., “Metadata 820 for the file can include reader notes, publisher notes, public comments, etc.”. Castaneda teaches comments, reviews, blogs, and public comments), wherein the book information contained in the second comment information comprises a book cover and/or a book name (Castaneda [0027] e.g., “…book title information from a manifest file…”, see also [0057] e.g., “The metadata 820 may also include other details about the book 825, such as the title, book description…”. Book names are expressly taught. Book cover. The reference teach using attributes associated with identified books/content to determine additional related books.); displaying, on the search result page, a topic card comprising the third book information (Castaneda [0016] e.g., “…generate a display of search results…”), see also [0051] e.g., “…multiple search results for a search query may be presented…”. Search results are displayed to the user). The reference teach using attributes associated with identified books/content to determine additional related books).
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference, Castaneda and Qiao discloses a method, wherein the step of displaying the plurality of pieces of topic content and the first book information on the search result page comprises: displaying a topic card showing the first book information and a plurality of topic sub-cards (Qiao [0102] e.g., “determining keywords contained in pages of the electronic book…”, see also [0030] e.g., “… the keywords … may also be recognized with reference … comments, annotation information”. Directly teaches determining keywords from comment-related content); and displaying the plurality of pieces of topical content on the plurality of topic sub-cards, and highlighting first content in the plurality of pieces of topical content which matches the first keyword in the search information (Qiao [0020] e.g., “… displaying entity-associated information based on an electronic book and the electronic device provided by the present disclosure, the keywords contained in pages of the electronic book can be determined, and the search entrance element corresponding to each of the keywords in the pages can be displayed, and correspondingly according to the detected search request triggered through the search entrance element, information associated with the entity based on the search request can be displayed”, see also (Castaneda [0016] e.g., “…generate a display of search results…”, see also [0051] e.g., “…multiple search results for a search query may be presented…”. Search results are displayed to the user).
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 5 is hereby incorporated by reference, Castaneda and Qiao discloses a method, wherein the step of displaying the topic card showing the first book information and the plurality of topic sub-cards comprises: displaying the plurality of topic sub-cards on the topic card, and displaying, on each topic sub-card, the first book information comprised in the topical content that is displayed on the topic sub-card (Castaneda [0016] e.g., “…generate a display of search results…”, see also [0051] e.g., “…multiple search results for a search query may be presented…”. Search results are displayed to the user); or, displaying the plurality of topic sub-cards in a first position area of the topic card, and displaying the first book information in a second position area of the topic card displaying a topic card showing the first book information and a plurality of topic sub-cards (Qiao [0102] e.g., “determining keywords contained in pages of the electronic book…”, see also [0030] e.g., “… the keywords … may also be recognized with reference … comments, annotation information”. Directly teaches determining keywords from comment-related content), see also (Castaneda [0024] e.g., “… keywords may be obtained from a third party book related database, such as a database of book reviews, book blogs, book seller information,”, see also [0057] e.g., “Metadata 820 for the file can include reader notes, publisher notes, public comments, etc.”. Castaneda teaches comments, reviews, blogs, and public comments), wherein the book information contained in the second comment information comprises a book cover and/or a book name (Castaneda [0027] e.g., “…book title information from a manifest file…”, see also [0057] e.g., “The metadata 820 may also include other details about the book 825, such as the title, book description…”. Book names are expressly taught. Book cover).
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference, Castaneda and Qiao discloses a method, wherein the method further comprises: performing word segmentation processing on the search information , and when it is detected that the search information comprises a book feature keyword, screening the first book information based on the book feature keyword, wherein the preset book feature keyword is used for describing feature information of a book (Castaneda [0006] e.g., “The query may be transmitted from the user device to a remote database”, see also [0015] e.g., “The keyword in the query may be transmitted using the media guidance application over a network to a remote database to search for supplemental content.”); displaying, on the search result page, a topic card comprising the screened first book information (Castaneda [0016] e.g., “…generate a display of search results…”, see also [0051] e.g., “…multiple search results for a search query may be presented…”. Search results are displayed to the user).
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference, Castaneda and Qiao discloses a method,, wherein the method further comprises: acquiring recommended book information (Castaneda [0015] e.g., “Search results matching the query may be received at the user device from the remote database”, see also [0016] e.g., “The search results may be filtered … may generate a display of search results that match the criteria.”. Search results correspond to the determined keyword and constitute topical content); and displaying, on the search result page, a book recommendation card comprising the recommended book information (Castaneda [0016] e.g., “…generate a display of search results…”, see also [0051] e.g., “…multiple search results for a search query may be presented…”. Search results are displayed to the user).
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 9 is hereby incorporated by reference, Castaneda and Qiao discloses a method, wherein the step of acquiring the recommended book information comprises: determining an associated keyword having an association relationship with the keyword in the search information, and acquiring recommended book information corresponding to the associated keyword (Castaneda [0024] e.g., “… keywords may be obtained from a third party book related database, such as a database of book reviews, book blogs, book seller information,”, see also [0057] e.g., “Metadata 820 for the file can include reader notes, publisher notes, public comments, etc.”. Castaneda teaches comments, reviews, blogs, and public comments); or, acquiring recommended book information having an association relationship with the first book information; or, searching for recommended book information matching the keyword in the search information.
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference, Castaneda and Qiao discloses a method, wherein the method further comprises: when it is detected that the search information comprises a book label, acquiring second book information corresponding to the book label from the book information contained in the second comment information, and displaying the second book information on the search result page, wherein the book label is used for representing the type of the book (Castaneda [0015] e.g., “Search results matching the query may be received at the user device from the remote database”, see also [0016] e.g., “The search results may be filtered … may generate a display of search results that match the criteria.”).
Regarding claim 12, the rejection of claim 11 is hereby incorporated by reference, Castaneda and Qiao discloses a method, wherein in the case that the search information comprises a plurality of book labels, the step of acquiring the second book information corresponding to the book label comprises: determining and acquiring second multi-associated book information simultaneously associated with the plurality of book labels (Castaneda [0024] e.g., “… keywords may be obtained from a third party book related database, such as a database of book reviews, book blogs, book seller information,”, see also [0057] e.g., “Metadata 820 for the file can include reader notes, publisher notes, public comments, etc.”. Castaneda teaches comments, reviews, blogs, and public comments); and determining and acquiring second single-associated book information associated with any one of the plurality of book labels (Qiao [0072] e.g., “selecting an electronic book associated with the keyword from electronic books contained in a database…”, see also [0072] e.g., “determining the book type of information that matches the keyword based on the selected electronic book”).
Regarding claim 15, the rejection of claim 13 is hereby incorporated by reference, Castaneda and Qiao discloses a computer device, wherein the machine-readable instruction, when executed by the processor, executes the steps of: based on attribute information of the first book information, determining, from the first book information, third book information matching the search information (Qiao [0102] e.g., “determining keywords contained in pages of the electronic book…”, see also [0030] e.g., “… the keywords … may also be recognized with reference … comments, annotation information”. Directly teaches determining keywords from comment-related content); displaying, on the search result page, a topic card comprising the third book information (Qiao [0020] e.g., “… displaying entity-associated information based on an electronic book and the electronic device provided by the present disclosure, the keywords contained in pages of the electronic book can be determined, and the search entrance element corresponding to each of the keywords in the pages can be displayed, and correspondingly according to the detected search request triggered through the search entrance element, information associated with the entity based on the search request can be displayed”, see also (Castaneda [0016] e.g., “…generate a display of search results…”, see also [0051] e.g., “…multiple search results for a search query may be presented…”. Search results are displayed to the user).
Regarding claim 17, the rejection of claim 13 is hereby incorporated by reference, Castaneda and Qiao discloses a computer device, wherein the machine-readable instruction, when executed by the processor, executes the steps of: performing word segmentation processing on the search information, and when it is detected that the search information comprises a book feature keyword, screening the first book information based on the book feature keyword, wherein the book feature keyword is used for describing feature information of a book (Castaneda [0006] e.g., “The query may be transmitted from the user device to a remote database”, see also [0015] e.g., “The keyword in the query may be transmitted using the media guidance application over a network to a remote database to search for supplemental content; displaying, on the search result page, [[the]] a topic card comprising the screened first book information (Castaneda [0016] e.g., “…generate a display of search results…”, see also [0051] e.g., “…multiple search results for a search query may be presented…”. Search results are displayed to the user).
Regarding claim 18, the rejection of claim 13 is hereby incorporated by reference, Castaneda and Qiao discloses a computer device, wherein the machine-readable instruction, when executed by the processor, executes the steps of: when it is detected that the search information comprises a book label, acquiring second book information corresponding to the book label from the book information contained in the second comment information, and displaying the second book information on the search result page, wherein the book label is used for representing the type of the book (Castaneda [0015] e.g., “Search results matching the query may be received at the user device from the remote database”, see also [0016] e.g., “The search results may be filtered … may generate a display of search results that match the criteria.”).
Regarding claim 19, the rejection of claim 18 is hereby incorporated by reference, Castaneda and Qiao discloses a computer device, wherein the machine-readable instruction, when executed by the processor, executes the steps of: determining and acquiring second multi-associated book information simultaneously associated with the plurality of book labels (Castaneda [0024] e.g., “… keywords may be obtained from a third party book related database, such as a database of book reviews, book blogs, book seller information,”, see also [0057] e.g., “Metadata 820 for the file can include reader notes, publisher notes, public comments, etc.”. Castaneda teaches comments, reviews, blogs, and public comments); and determining and acquiring second single-associated book information associated with any one of the plurality of book labels (Qiao [0072] e.g., “selecting an electronic book associated with the keyword from electronic books contained in a database…”, see also [0072] e.g., “determining the book type of information that matches the keyword based on the selected electronic book”).
17. Claims 2, 7, 14, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Castaneda et al. US20190155949A1 (hereinafter Castaneda) in view of Qiao et al. US20220343077 A1 (hereinafter Qiao) as applied to claims 1, 4-6, 8-13, 15, and 17-20 above, and further in view of Jenkins et al. US20080065609A1 (hereinafter Jenkins).
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference, Castaneda and Qiao discloses a method, wherein before acquiring the plurality of pieces of topical content that are searched by the server and correspond to the first keyword in the search information and acquiring first book information comprised in each piece of the plurality of pieces of topical content, the method further comprises:
The combination Castaneda and Qiao does not explicitly disclose: confirming an absence of a book matching the first keyword in the search information; wherein confirming the absence of the book matching the first keyword in the search information comprises: the search information comprises a book name, and there is an absence of a book corresponding to the book name in a database. Jenkins discloses confirming an absence of a book matching the first keyword in the search information (Jenkins [0074] e.g., “when provided a search query by a user, [the search engine operates] to search for an exact match … and the event and exact match is not found, operate to expand the query and return scored search results …”) wherein confirming the absence of the book matching the first keyword in the search information comprises: the search information comprises a book name, and there is an absence of a book corresponding to the book name in a database (Jenkins [0052] e.g., “…the user may search for a document by entering words in the document's title, the author's name, the publisher or the ISBN”, see also [0053] e.g., “…the user is able to search … key words which might occur in the text of the document”); or, detecting that the search information fails to comprise a book name.A person of ordinary skill would understand that before expanding the search and obtaining alternative results, the search engine first determines whether a matching item exists. Thus, the reference teaches determining the absence of a matching result corresponding to the search query.
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is hereby incorporated by reference, Castaneda, Qiao, and Jenkins discloses a method, wherein the method further comprises: determining associated search information matching the search information in at least one dimension (Jenkins [0074] e.g., “… search engine together with an interface that operates, when provided a search query by a user, to search for an exact match and to score hits for relevance, and in the event an exact match is not found…”), wherein the dimension comprises an author dimension, a book type dimension and a book name dimension (Jenkins [0064] e.g., “…stemming the key words entered by the user, implementing “near” operators, and implementing “and” and “or” operators…”); and displaying the associated search information on the search result page, wherein the associated search information is used for prompting the user to perform supplementary search (Jenkins [0066] e.g., “…the search module 14 displays the actual search conducted to locate the search results.”. Expanded query suggestions inherently encourage additional searching).
Regarding claim 14, the rejection of claim 13 is hereby incorporated by reference, Castaneda, Qiao, and Jenkins discloses a method, before acquiring the plurality of pieces of topical content that are searched by the server and correspond to the first keyword in the search information, the machine-readable instruction, when executed by the processor, executes the steps of: confirming an absence of a book matching the first keyword in the search information (Jenkins [0074] e.g., “when provided a search query by a user, [the search engine operates] to search for an exact match … and the event and exact match is not found, operate to expand the query and return scored search results …”); wherein confirming the absence of the book matching the first keyword in the search information comprises: the search information comprises a book name, and there is an absence of a book corresponding to the book name in a database (Jenkins [0052] e.g., “…the user may search for a document by entering words in the document's title, the author's name, the publisher or the ISBN”, see also [0053] e.g., “…the user is able to search … key words which might occur in the text of the document); or, detecting that the search information fails to comprise a book name.
Regarding claim 16, the rejection of claim 13 is hereby incorporated by reference, Castaneda, Qiao, and Jenkins discloses a method, wherein the machine-readable instruction, when executed by the processor, executes the steps of: determining associated search information matching the search information in at least one dimension (Jenkins [0074] e.g., “… search engine together with an interface that operates, when provided a search query by a user, to search for an exact match and to score hits for relevance, and in the event an exact match is not found…”), wherein the dimension comprises an author dimension, a book type dimension and a book name dimension; and displaying the associated search information on the search result page, wherein the associated search information is used for prompting the user to perform supplementary search (Jenkins [0064] e.g., “…stemming the key words entered by the user, implementing “near” operators, and implementing “and” and “or” operators…”).
Conclusion
18. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BERHANU MITIKU/Examiner, Art Unit 2156
/AJAY M BHATIA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2156