DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I .Claims 1-19 and 23-27, drawn to a launch wheel and coupling insert for an object throwing apparatus, classified in A63B69/40.
II. Claims 20-22, drawn to a method of making a launch wheel, classified in B29C43/00.
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions I and II are related as process of making and product made. The inventions are distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) that the process as claimed can be used to make another and materially different product or (2) that the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process (MPEP § 806.05(f)). In the instant case the product can be made by another and materially different process, such as separately manufacturing a wheel and affixing a coupling insert.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
The inventions are separately classified and a search burden is present in that a separate search would be necessary for each invention..
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of an invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
During a telephone conversation with Kyle St. James on 28 January 2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of I, claims 1-29 and 23-27. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 20-22 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 14, 16, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu, U.S. Patent Application No. 2013/0312723, in view of Watanabe, U.S. Patent Application No. 2019/0154085. As to Claim 1, Lu teaches a coupling insert (60) for securing a launch wheel (20) to an object throwing apparatus, paragraphs 0018 and 0020. The coupling insert may comprise a circumferential wall defining a cylinder having a center hole extending between a first end and a second end, the center hole being configured to receive a first portion of a motor shaft (32) therethrough, paragraph 0020 and see Figure 3. The coupling insert may have a coupling surface extending partially along an outside surface of the circumferential wall and configured to enable a secure attachment of a wheel frame of the launch wheel to the coupling insert during a forming process of the wheel frame, paragraph 0020 and see Figure 3, noting that the coupling insert may be formed in the wheel body. Lu teaches that a first coupling mechanism (66, 68) may be disposed at an end of the coupling insert and configured to secure the coupling insert to a portion of the motor shaft, paragraph 0020. The examiner finds that the ends of the coupling insert and motor shaft may be considered to be first ends. Lu does not disclose that the first coupling mechanism may comprise a first screw. Watanabe teaches a coupling mechanism (bolt and screw hole 16) comprising a circumferential wall defining a cylinder having a center hole, paragraph 0020 and see Figure 2. A first screw (bolt) may be disposed within a first screw hole (16), paragraph 0035 and see Figure 2. The first screw hole may extend laterally through the cylinder along a first chord, being configured to secure a coupling insert (1) to a shaft upon tightening the screw, paragraph 0035, noting that the screw hole extends across the cylinder spaced from a diameter and a second slit may be compressed to fix the coupling insert to a shaft. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Lu with a coupling mechanism comprising a screw disposed in a screw hole arranged as claimed and as taught by Watanabe, to provide Lu with a known substitute coupling mechanism. As to Claims 4 and 14, Lu teaches that the portion of the coupling insert between ends is fitted within the wheel frame and comprises the coupling surface, see Figure 3. It follows that the coupling surface is centrally located between first and second ends. As to Claims 6 and 16, Watanabe teaches that a first coupling mechanism may include a first lateral slit (12) extending radially inward through the circumferential wall and a first longitudinal slit (14) extending through the circumferential wall between a first end and the first lateral slit, paragraph 0026 and see Figure 2. The slits define first and second deflectable arms, with the first screw hole extending through the first and second deflectable arms, paragraphs 0027 and 0035, noting that the longitudinal slit may be compressed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Lu with first and second slits configured as claimed and as taught by Watanabe, to provide Lu with a coupling mechanism configured to deflect first and second arms to secure the coupling insert to the motor shaft. As to Claims 7 and 17, Lu, as modified, discloses the claimed invention except for providing a second duplicate coupling mechanism on a second end of the coupling insert. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Lu, as modified with a second coupling mechanism configured as taught by Watanabe, as discussed above, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art, St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. As to Claims 9 and 19, Watanabe is applied as in Claim 6, with the same obviousness rationale being found applicable. Further, the case law applied in Claim 7 is found to applicable with regard to the duplication of the claimed coupling mechanism. As to Claim 10, Lu teaches a launch wheel (20) for an object throwing apparatus, paragraph 0018. The wheel may comprise a wheel frame (22) and a tire (24) coupled to the wheel frame, paragraph 0018 and see Figure 3. A coupling insert (60) may be coupled with the wheel frame at the center, paragraph 0020 and see Figure 3. Lu, as modified by Watanabe, is applied as in Claim 1, with the same obviousness rationale being found applicable.
Claim(s) 2 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu, in view of Watanabe, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Todd et al., U.S. Patent No. 6,789,445. Lu, as modified, substantially shows the claimed limitations, as discussed above. As to Claim 2 and 12, Lu teaches a contact surface (66) configured to butt up against a part of the motor shaft (68) when the coupling insert is secured to the motor shaft, paragraph 0020 and see Figure 4, noting that the inside of engaging slot (66) butts against the transverse pin (68) when the coupling insert is secured to the motor shaft. Lu, as modified, does not disclose a shoulder. Todd teaches a wheel retained on a shaft, see Abstract. A coupling mechanism of a coupling insert of the wheel may include a shoulder contact surface configured to butt up against a shoulder of the shaft wherein the shoulder may be disposed between a first lesser diameter portion of the shaft and a second greater diameter portion of the shaft, see drawing below. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the coupling mechanism to include a shoulder contact surface butting a shoulder of a shaft configured as claimed and as taught by Todd, to provide Lu, as modified, with a known substitute wheel mounting arrangement.
Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu, in view of Watanabe, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Leith, U.S. Patent Application No. 2018/0111418. Lu, as modified, substantially shows the claimed limitations, as discussed above. As to Claim 3 and 13, Lu, as modified, is silent as to knurling. Leith teaches an axle assembly wherein a coupling surface (end) of a shaft, which is connected to a flange, may be provided with knurling, paragraph 0019 and see Figure 2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide knurling on the coupling surface of Lu, as taught by Leith, to provide Lu, as modified, with a roughened coupling surface to yield the predictable result of a non-slip connection.
Claim(s) 5, 18, 15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu, in view of Watanabe, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Solomon, U.S. Patent No. 3,870,371. Lu, as modified, substantially shows the claimed limitations, as discussed above. As to Claim 5 and 15, Lu, as modified, is silent as to a first smooth portion of the coupling insert extending along the outside surface of the circumferential wall between the first end and the coupling surface. Solomon teaches a wheel (10, 16, 20) mounted on a shaft (26), Col. 2, ln. 46-48 and see Figure 1. Solomon teaches that a coupling insert (32) may comprise a smooth portion extending along the outside of a circumferential wall between an end and a coupling surface and extending beyond a coupling mechanism (44), Col. 2, ln. 65 – Col. 3, ln. 8 and see Figures 1 and 4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Lu, as modified, with a smooth portion of the circumferential wall arranged as claimed and as taught by Solomon, to provide Lu, as modified, with a known substitute arrangement of a smooth portion of the coupling insert between the coupling surface and the coupling mechanism. The examiner finds that the end may be considered to be a first end. Further, the examiner finds that the configuration of the first smooth portion to define a first shut-off interface does not patentably distinguish the inventive coupling insert from the coupling insert of prior art, because the prior art coupling insert is the same as or obvious from the inventive coupling insert. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), MPEP 2113. As to Claims 8 and 18, Watanabe teaches that a smooth portion may extend inward from an end and beyond a coupling mechanism, along a circumferential surface, see Figure 2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Lu, as modified, with a smooth portion inward of the coupling mechanism to provide Lu, a modified, with a known substitute arrangement of the coupling insert. Lu, as modified, does not specify that the smooth portion may extend between the second end and the coupling surface. Solomon is applied as in Claim 5, together with the case law applied in the treatment of Claim 7, with the same obviousness rationale being found applicable as to the same configuration being present on a second end. Further, the examiner finds that the use of the smooth portion to define a shut-off interface does not patentably distinguish the claim, for the same reasoning applied above.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu, in view of Watanabe, as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Richard, U.S. Patent Application No. 2005/0016516. Lu, as modified, substantially shows the claimed limitations, as discussed above. As to Claim 11, Lu teaches that the launch wheel may be formed of plastic, paragraph 0018, but Lu, as modified, is silent as to an injection molded plastic launch wheel. Richard teaches a launch wheel which may be formed via plastic injection molding, paragraph 0033. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide an injection molded wheel, as taught by Richard, to provide Lu, as modified, with a known substitute type of launch wheel.
Claim(s) 23-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu, in view of Watanabe and Todd, and further in view of Vorozilchak, U.S. Patent No. 9,914,0441. As to Claim 23, Lu teaches installing a launch wheel (20) onto a motor shaft (32) of an object throwing apparatus, the motor shaft being disposed within a center hole (28) of a coupling insert (60), paragraph 0020, noting that the wheel can be engaged with the shaft. Lu does not disclose that first screw may be tightened. Watanabe teaches tightening a first screw (bolt) of a coupling mechanism (bolt and screw hole 15) of a coupling insert (1) to secure the coupling insert to a shaft (104) with the first screw extending along a first chord of the coupling insert, paragraphs 0028 and 0035. Watanabe is applied as in Claim 1 above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Lu with a step of tightening a first screw configured as claimed and as taught by Watanabe, to provide Lu with a known substitute step for securing the coupling insert to the motor shaft. Lu, as modified, does not disclose a shoulder contact surface in contact with a shoulder surface of a motor shaft. Todd is applied as in Claim 2, with the same obviousness rationale being found applicable. Given that the shoulder contact surface of the coupling insert butts against the shoulder surface of the motor shaft, it is inherent that the components have been butted into the claimed relationship. Lu, as modified, discloses the claimed invention except for indicating that arrangement of the launch wheel on the motor shaft may define a location of the launch wheel with respect to a ball-delivery ramp. Vorozilchak teaches an object throwing apparatus (hockey practice device). A launch wheel (70) may be coupled to a motor shaft, Col. 3, ln. 65-66 and see Figure 12. The position of the launch wheel on the motor shaft may define the location of the launch wheel with respect to a delivery ramp (50), see Figure 10. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Lu, as modified, with a delivery ramp positioned with respect to a launch wheel, as taught by Vorozilchak, to provide Lu, as modified, with a defined location of a launch wheel with respect to a ball ramp, to yield the predictable result of maintaining proper alignment for predictable launches. As to Claim 24, Lu teaches that a coupling mechanism (28, 68) may be adjacent a second portion of the motor shaft (portion nearest the motor), paragraph 0020 and see Figure 3. Todd teaches that the shoulder surface and the shoulder contact surface of the coupling insert may be adjacent a second portion of the motor shaft, see drawing above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Lu, as modified, by Todd, as discussed in the treatment of Claim 2. It follows that the coupling mechanism may be disposed adjacent the shoulder contact surface. As to Claim 25, Watanabe is applied as in Claim 23 and Claim 1, with the same obviousness rationale being found appliable. The case law applied in Claims 7 and 17 is found to be equally applicable to support a finding of obviousness with regard to duplication of the step of tightening a second screw in a duplicate component. As to Claim 26, Vorozilchak teaches that a coupling mechanism (74) may be provided on each side of the launch wheel, Col. 6, ln. 51-54 and see Figures 10 and 11. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Lu, as modified, with a second coupling mechanism disposed on a side of the launch wheel opposite the shoulder contact surface as taught by Vorozilchak, to provide Lu, as modified, with two coupling mechanisms to yield the predictable result of more secure coupling of the launch wheel. As to Claim 27, Lu, as modified by Watanabe, teaches that the coupling insert may be provided with a smooth outside circumferential surface extending longitudinally inward beyond a first coupling mechanism, as discussed in the treatment of Claim 8. Todd teaches that a coupling insert may have a shoulder contact surface, see drawing above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide Lu, as modified, with the coupling insert with a shoulder contact surface, as taught by Todd, to provide Lu, as modified with the smooth outside circumferential surface extending longitudinally inward of the shoulder contact surface beyond the first coupling mechanism, as a known substitute arrangement of components. The same reasoning applied in Claim 5 is found to be equally applicable to support a finding that the smooth outside circumferential surface being configured to define a shut-off interface does not patentably distinguish the claim from prior art.
Conclusion
/JOHN E SIMMS JR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711 30 January 2026