DETAILED ACTION
The present office action is in response to claims filed on 11/02/2023. Claims 1 – 20 are pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 16 recites “from a first sensor, which is installed in the second auxiliary exhaust pipe” in line 10, which should recite “from a second sensor, which is installed in the second auxiliary exhaust pipe” for proper antecedent basis.
It is noted antecedent basis for “a first sensor” was previously established in line 8, associated with the first auxiliary exhaust pipe.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goda et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,046,372, listed on Applicant’s IDS dated 04/25/2024).
Regarding Claim 1, Goda shows (Figures 1, 3, 5, 6, 7A, 7B, 7C, 8, 9, and 10):
Semiconductor manufacturing equipment (1) comprising:
a damper (151) installed in (as illustrated in Figure 7A) a main exhaust pipe (121);
a first unit (16a) treating a substrate (w) and connected to (as illustrated in Figure 7A) the main exhaust pipe (121) through a first auxiliary exhaust pipe (100a);
a second unit (16b) treating the substrate (w) and connected to (as illustrated in Figure 7A) the main exhaust pipe (121) through a second auxiliary exhaust pipe (100b); and
a control unit (4) controlling (via 18) the first (16a) and second (16b) units, wherein
the control unit (4) controls (see S203 in Figure 9) the damper (151) based on exhaust volumes (see Step S202 in Figure 9) from the first (16a) and second (16b) units.
Regarding Claim 2, Goda shows (Figures 1, 3, 5, 6, 7A, 7B, 7C, 8, 9, and 10):
A first sensor (101 installed in 100a, as illustrated in Figure 7A) installed in (as illustrated in Figure 7A) the first auxiliary exhaust pipe (100a); and
a second sensor (101 installed in 100b, as illustrated in Figure 7A) installed in (as illustrated in Figure 7A) the second auxiliary exhaust pipe (100b), wherein
the control unit (4) controls (as described in Col. 13, lines 63-65, and illustrated in Figure 9) the damper (151) based on measurement data (pressure data) from the first (101) and second (101) sensors.
Regarding Claim 3, Goda shows (Figures 1, 3, 5, 6, 7A, 7B, 7C, 8, 9, and 10):
A first shutoff valve (200a) installed in (as illustrated in Figure 7A) the first auxiliary exhaust pipe (100a); and
a second shutoff valve (200b) installed in (as illustrated in Figure 7A) the second auxiliary exhaust pipe (100b).
Regarding Claim 4, Goda shows (Figures 1, 3, 5, 6, 7A, 7B, 7C, 8, 9, and 10):
The control unit (4) selectively controls (as described in Detailed Description Section “ 4. Detailed Configuration of Control Device”) the damper (151) based on whether (as detected by 101) the first (200a) and second (200b) shutoff valves are open or closed.
Regarding Claim 5, Goda shows (Figures 1, 3, 5, 6, 7A, 7B, 7C, 8, 9, and 10):
The control unit (4) controls (as described in Detailed Description Section “ 4. Detailed Configuration of Control Device”) the damper (151) if the first (200a) and second (200b) shutoff valves have the same status regarding whether they are open or closed (it is noted 4 controls 151 whether or not 200a and 200b are both in the same position or different positions, thereby satisfying the limitation).
Regarding Claim 8, Goda shows (Figures 1, 3, 5, 6, 7A, 7B, 7C, 8, 9, and 10):
The first (101) and second (101) sensors measure pressure based on exhaust volume (as described in Col. 13, lines 45-53).
Regarding Claim 9, Goda shows (Figures 1, 3, 5, 6, 7A, 7B, 7C, 8, 9, and 10):
The first (16a) and second (16b) units are substrate treating apparatuses of different types or of the same type (see Detailed Description section “2. Detailed Configuration of Processing Unit”, in which the configuration of 16 is described. This applies to 16a and 16b; accordingly, 16a and 16b are of the same type).
Regarding Claim 10, Goda shows (Figures 1, 3, 5, 6, 7A, 7B, 7C, 8, 9, and 10):
The control unit (4) selectively controls (as described in Detailed Description Section “ 4. Detailed Configuration of Control Device”) the damper (151) depending on statuses (based on whether pressure is detected by 101; it is noted if pressure is detected, the unit 16 is in an operational status and if no pressure is detected, the unit 16 is in a nonoperational status) of the first (16a) and second (16b) units.
Regarding Claim 11, Goda shows (Figures 1, 3, 5, 6, 7A, 7B, 7C, 8, 9, and 10):
The control unit (4) determines when to control (as described in Detailed Description Section “ 4. Detailed Configuration of Control Device”; it is determined when to control 151 if there is a change in the total exhaust flow, if there is no change, 151 is not controlled) the damper (151) depending on statuses (based on whether pressure is detected by 101; it is noted if pressure is detected, the unit 16 is in an operational status and if no pressure is detected, the unit 16 is in a nonoperational status) of the first (16a) and second (16b) units.
Regarding Claim 12, Goda shows (Figures 1, 3, 5, 6, 7A, 7B, 7C, 8, 9, and 10):
The first (16a) and second (16b) units are substrate treating apparatuses of the same type (see Detailed Description section “2. Detailed Configuration of Processing Unit”, in which the configuration of 16 is described. This applies to 16a and 16b; accordingly, 16a and 16b are of the same type), the control unit (4) controls (as described in Detailed Description Section “ 4. Detailed Configuration of Control Device”) the damper (151) based on whether the first (16a) and second (16b) units are at the same process stage (it is noted 4 controls 151 whether or not 16a and 16b are both in the same process stage or not in the same process stage, thereby satisfying the limitation).
Regarding Claim 13, Goda shows (Figures 1, 3, 5, 6, 7A, 7B, 7C, 8, 9, and 10):
The control device (4) controls (as described in Detailed Description Section “ 4. Detailed Configuration of Control Device”) the damper (151) if the first (16a) and second (16b) units are at the same process stage (it is noted 4 controls 151 whether or not 16a and 16b are both in the same process stage or not in the same process stage, thereby satisfying the limitation).
Regarding Claim 15, Goda shows (Figures 1, 3, 5, 6, 7A, 7B, 7C, 8, 9, and 10):
The control device (4) controls (as described in Detailed Description Section “ 4. Detailed Configuration of Control Device”) exhaust pressures of the first (16a) and second (16b) units at a predetermined ratio (the predetermined ratio for each pressure at 16a, 16b versus the pressure of the outdoor air intake section 141 controlled by 151).
Regarding Claim 16, Goda shows (Figures 1, 3, 5, 6, 7A, 7B, 7C, 8, 9, and 10):
A control unit (4) for controlling first (16a) and second (16b) units, wherein
the first unit (16a) treats a substrate (w) and is connected to (as illustrated in Figure 7A) a damper (151), which is installed in (as illustrated in Figure 7A) a main exhaust pipe (121) through a first auxiliary exhaust pipe (100a),
the second unit (16b) treats the substrate (w) and is connected to (as illustrated in Figure 7A) the damper (151), which is also connected to (as illustrated in Figure 7A) the main exhaust pipe (121) through a second auxiliary exhaust pipe (100b),
the control unit (4) receives (as described in Col. 13, lines 63-65) pressure (exhaust pressure in 100a) resulting from an exhaust volume (the exhaust volume from 16a) of the first unit (16a) from a first sensor (101 installed in 100a, as illustrated in Figure 7A), which is installed in the first auxiliary exhaust pipe (100a),
the control unit (4) receives (as described in Col. 13, lines 63-65) pressure (exhaust pressure in 100b) resulting from an exhaust volume (the exhaust volume from 16b) of the second unit (16b) from a second sensor (101 installed in 100b, as illustrated in Figure 7A), which is installed in the second auxiliary exhaust pipe (100b), and
the control unit (4) controls (see S203 in Figure 9) the damper (151) based on the received pressures (see Step S202 in Figure 9).
Regarding Claim 17, Goda shows (Figures 1, 3, 5, 6, 7A, 7B, 7C, 8, 9, and 10):
The control unit (4) selectively controls (as described in Detailed Description Section “ 4. Detailed Configuration of Control Device”) the damper (151) based on whether (as detected by 101) first (200a) and second (200b) shutoff valves, which are installed in the first (100a) and second (100b) auxiliary exhaust pipes, are open or closed.
Regarding Claim 19, Goda shows (Figures 1, 3, 5, 6, 7A, 7B, 7C, 8, 9, and 10):
The control unit (4) selectively controls (as described in Detailed Description Section “ 4. Detailed Configuration of Control Device”) the damper (151) based on statuses (based on whether pressure is detected by 101; it is noted if pressure is detected, the unit 16 is in an operational status and if no pressure is detected, the unit 16 is in a nonoperational status) of the first (16a) and second (16b) units.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goda et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,046,372, listed on Applicant’s IDS dated 04/25/2024), as recited in Claim 3 above, in view of Yamada et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,825,697).
Regarding Claim 7, Goda shows (Figures 1, 3, 5, 6, 7A, 7B, 7C, 8, 9, and 10):
The first sensor (101 installed in 100a, as illustrated in Figure 7A) is disposed between the first shutoff valve (100a) and the main exhaust pipe (121);
the second sensor (101 installed in 100b, as illustrated in Figure 7A) is disposed between the second shutoff valve (200a) and the main exhaust pipe (121).
However, Goda lacks showing the first sensor is disposed between the first unit and the first shutoff valve and the second sensor is disposed between the second unit and the second shutoff valve.
In the same field of endeavor of semiconductor manufacturing equipment, Yamada teaches (Figure 8):
It is known for a first pressure sensor (62) to be disposed between (as illustrated in Figure 8) a first unit (35) and a first shutoff valve (60) and a second pressure sensor (101) to be disposed between (as illustrated in Figure 8) a second unit (79) and a second shutoff valve (99).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the location of the first and second sensors shown by Goda to be disposed between the first unit and the first shutoff valve and the second unit and the second shutoff valve, respectively, as taught by Yamada, by choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (either upstream or downstream of the shutoff valve) with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is allowed.
Regarding Claim 20, Goda shows (Figures 1, 3, 5, 6, 7A, 7B, 7C, 8, 9, and 10):
Semiconductor manufacturing equipment (1) comprising:
a damper (151) installed in (as illustrated in Figure 7A) a main exhaust pipe (121);
a first unit (16a) treating a substrate (w) and connected to (as illustrated in Figure 7A) the main exhaust pipe (121) through a first auxiliary exhaust pipe (100a);
a second unit (16b) treating the substrate (w) and connected to (as illustrated in Figure 7A) the main exhaust pipe (121) through a second auxiliary exhaust pipe (100b);
a first shutoff valve (200a) installed in (as illustrated in Figure 7A) the first auxiliary exhaust pipe (100a);
a second shutoff valve (200b) installed in (as illustrated in Figure 7A) the second auxiliary exhaust pipe (100b);
a first sensor (101 installed in 100a, as illustrated in Figure 7A) installed in (as illustrated in Figure 7A) the first auxiliary exhaust pipe (100a) and disposed between the first shutoff valve (200a) and the main exhaust pipe (121);
a second sensor (101 installed in 100b, as illustrated in Figure 7A) installed in (as illustrated in Figure 7A) the second auxiliary exhaust pipe (100b) and disposed between the second shutoff valve (200b) and the main exhaust pipe (121);
a control unit (4) controlling (via 18) the first (16a) and second (16b) units, wherein
the control unit (4) controls (see S203 in Figure 9) the damper (151) based on (see Step S202 in Figure 9) pressures (exhaust pressure in 100a/b) resulting from exhaust volumes (the exhaust volume from 16a/b) measured from the first (16a) and second (16b) units by the first (101) and second (101) sensors, respectively,
the control unit (4) selectively controls (as described in Detailed Description Section “ 4. Detailed Configuration of Control Device”) the damper (151) based on whether (as detected by 101) the first (200a) and second (200b) shutoff valves are open or closed; and
the control unit (4) controls (as described in Detailed Description Section “ 4. Detailed Configuration of Control Device”) the damper (151) if the first (200a) and second (200b) shutoff valves have the same status regarding whether they are open or closed (it is noted 4 controls 151 whether or not 200a and 200b are both in the same position or different positions, thereby satisfying the limitation).
However, Goda lacks showing the first sensor is disposed between the first unit and the first shutoff valve and the second sensor is disposed between the second unit and the second shutoff valve and the control unit does not control the damper if the first and second shutoff valves have different statuses regarding whether they are open or closed.
In the same field of endeavor of semiconductor manufacturing equipment, Yamada teaches (Figure 8):
It is known for a first pressure sensor (62) to be disposed between (as illustrated in Figure 8) a first unit (35) and a first shutoff valve (60) and a second pressure sensor (101) to be disposed between (as illustrated in Figure 8) a second unit (79) and a second shutoff valve (99).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the location of the first and second sensors shown by Goda to be disposed between the first unit and the first shutoff valve and the second unit and the second shutoff valve, respectively, as taught by Yamada, by choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (either upstream or downstream of the shutoff valve) with a reasonable expectation of success.
However, modifying the combination such that the control unit does not control the damper if the first and second shutoff valves have different statuses regarding whether they are open or closed teaches away from the principle operation of Goda.
Claims 6, 14, and 18 are objected to as being dependent on a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 6, Goda shows the claimed invention except the control unit does not control the damper if the first and second shutoff valves have different statuses regarding whether they are open or closed.
Modifying Goda accordingly teaches away from the principle operation of Goda.
Regarding Claim 14, Goda shows the claimed invention except the control unit does not control the damper if the first and second units are at different process stages.
Modifying Goda accordingly teaches away from the principle operation of Goda.
Regarding Claim 18, Goda (Figures 1, 3, 5, 6, 7A, 7B, 7C, 8, 9, and 10):
the control unit (4) controls (as described in Detailed Description Section “ 4. Detailed Configuration of Control Device”) the damper (151) if the first (200a) and second (200b) shutoff valves have the same status regarding whether they are open or closed (it is noted 4 controls 151 whether or not 200a and 200b are both in the same position or different positions, thereby satisfying the limitation).
However, Goda lacks showing the control unit does not control the damper if the first and second shutoff valves have different statuses regarding whether they are open or closed.
Modifying Goda accordingly teaches away from the principle operation of Goda.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided in the Notice of References Cited.
Imamura et al. (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2022/0319874): see Figure 3
Morita et al. (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2012/0227768): see Figure 3
Kim (U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2011/0087378): see Figure 1
/DANA K TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/AVINASH A SAVANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762