DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/31/24, 1/23/24 are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: METHODS FOR OPERATING MODES FOR SIDELINK DISCONTINUOUS RECEPTION.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LG (LG Electronics, Discussion on physical layer design considering sidelink DRX operation[online], 3G6PP TSG RAN WG1 #103-e, 3GPP, November 13, 2020, R1-2007897,, [Searched Date: October 4, 2024], Internet: URL:https:/Avww.3gpp.org/ftp/tsg_ran/WG1_RL1/TSGR1_103-e/Docs/R1-2007897.zip - 16 pages.), as disclosed in the IDS.
As to claim 1, LG teaches a user equipment, UE, of a wireless communication system (LG, Pg. 4 Sec 2.2, a SL UE),
wherein the user equipment, UE, is configured to operate in new radio sidelink mode 1 (LG, Pg. 5 Section 2.3, the UE is operating in sidelink mode-1), wherein the user equipment, UE, is configured to receive, in the sidelink scenario, sidelink transmissions using a discontinuous reception, DRX, mode of operation (LG, Pg. 2 Para 6-7, a UE receives SL TB using DRX operation. Pg 4. Section 2.2 SL DRX UE receiving),
wherein the user equipment, UE, is configured to adjust, modify or stop an inactivity timer of the discontinuous reception, DRX, mode of operation in dependence on an operating parameter of the user equipment, UE (LG, Pg. 2 Para. 5 Proposal 1, the UE adjusts the inactivity timer of the SL DRX cycle based on the time domain resource allocation/period of SL grant),
wherein the user equipment, UE, is configured to communicate in the new radio sidelink mode 1 with a group of other user equipments, UEs (LG, Pg. 5 Para 2, the UE communicates with a group of UEs in the SL DRX mode),
wherein the user equipment, UE is configured to receive from a base station, gNB, of the wireless communication system a discontinuous reception, DRX, configuration information and to adjust at least one parameter of the discontinuous reception, DRX, mode of operation in dependence on the discontinuous reception, DRX, configuration information (LG, Pg. 6 Para. 2,, the UE receives from the network SL DRX cycle configuration to adjust its DRX cycle),
wherein the user equipment, UE, is configured to transmit to one or more other UEs of the group of other UEs, that are operating in a new radio sidelink mode 2, the discontinuous reception, DRX, configuration information (LG, Pg. 6 Para. 2, the SL DRX configuration is sent to the other UEs that are operating in mode-2).
As to claim 2, LG teaches wherein the operating parameter is one out of a successful sidelink data reception or data transmission (LG, Pg. 2 Para. 6, basing the adjusting off of successful HARQ feedback (reception/transmission).
As to claim 3, LG teaches wherein the user equipment, UE, is configured to operate in the new radio sidelink mode 2 (LG, Pg. 6 Section 2.4, the UE operates in SL mode-2), wherein the user equipment, UE, is configured to communicate in the new radio sidelink mode 2 with a group of other user equipments, UEs (LG, Pg. 6 Para. 2, the UE communicates with a group of UEs), wherein the user equipment, UE, is configured to receive, in the new radio sidelink mode 2 sidelink transmissions from one or more other UEs of the group of other UEs using a discontinuous reception, DRX, mode of operation (LG, Pg. 2 Para 6-7, a UE receives SL TB using DRX operation. Pg 4. Section 2.2 SL DRX UE receiving), wherein the user equipment, UE is configured to receive from another user equipment of the group of user equipments, UEs, a discontinuous reception, DRX, configuration information (LG, Pg. 6 Para. 2, the SL DRX configuration is sent to the other UEs that are operating in mode-2).and to adjust at least one parameter of the discontinuous reception, DRX, mode of operation in dependence on the discontinuous reception, DRX, configuration information (LG, Pg. 6 Para. 2, a UE adapts based on SL DRX cycle information it receives from other UEs).
As to claim 4, LG teaches wherein the user equipment, UE, is configured to communicate in the sidelink scenario with a group of other user equipments, UEs, wherein the user equipment, UE, is configured to receive, in the sidelink scenario sidelink transmissions from one or more other UEs of the group of other UEs using the discontinuous reception, DRX, mode of operation (LG, Pg. 2 Para 6-7, a UE receives SL TB using DRX operation. Pg 4. Section 2.2 SL DRX UE receiving), wherein the user equipment, UE, is configured to change/switch from the new radio sidelink mode 2 to the new radio sidelink mode 1, wherein the user equipment, UE is configured, in the new radio sidelink mode 1 (LG, Pg. 5 Para 1, the UE is configured to switch SL DRX modes), to transmit to a base station, gNB, of the wireless communication system a discontinuous reception, DRX, configuration information describing the discontinuous reception, DRX, mode of operation used by the user equipment, UE, and/or the group of other user equipments, UEs (LG, Pg. 5 Para 2, the UE sends to the base station the DRX configuration information used by the other in group).
As to claim 5, LG teaches wherein the user equipment, UE, is configured to receive sidelink transmissions using the discontinuous reception, DRX, mode of operation (LG, Pg. 2 Para 6-7, a UE receives SL TB using DRX operation. Pg 4. Section 2.2 SL DRX UE receiving), from at least two other user equipments, UEs, the at least two other user equipments (LG, Pg. 5 Para 5, a group of 2 more UEs using SL DRX for receiving and transmitting), UEs, using different discontinuous reception, DRX, configurations, wherein a discontinuous reception, DRX, configuration used by the user equipment in the discontinuous reception, DRX, mode of operation is adjusted to the different discontinuous reception, DRX, configurations used by at least two other user equipments, UEs (LG, Pg. 6 Para. 2, a UE adapts based on SL DRX cycle information it receives from other UEs)..
As to claim 6, LG teaches wherein the discontinuous reception, DRX, configuration of the user equipment is adjusted to the different discontinuous reception, DRX, configurations such that on periods of the discontinuous reception, DRX, configuration of the user equipment match on periods (LG, Pg. 2 Para. 5 Proposal 1, matching DRX with periods of reception) of more than one or all of the different discontinuous reception, DRX, configurations (LG, Pg. 6 Para. 2, a UE adapts based on SL DRX cycle information it receives from other UEs).
As to claim 7, LG teaches wherein the user equipment, UE, is configured to receive, in the sidelink scenario, a discontinuous reception, DRX, configuration information describing the discontinuous reception, DRX, mode of operation used by another user equipment, UE, of the wireless communication network (LG, Pg. 6 Para. 2, the UE receives in SL, DRX configuration being used by other UE in the group), wherein the user equipment, UE, is configured to receive the discontinuous reception, DRX, configuration information using one out of a discontinuous reception, DRX, mode of operation with a standard/preconfigured discontinuous reception, DRX, configuration (LG, Pg. 6 Para. 2, the UE receives in SL, DRX configuration), wherein the user equipment is configured to at least one out of adjust/modify its discontinuous reception, DRX, configuration in accordance with the received discontinuous reception, DRX, configuration information (LG, Pg. 6 Para. 2, a UE adapts based on SL DRX cycle information it receives from other UEs).
As to claim 14, LG teaches wherein the user equipment, UE, is configured to receive, in the sidelink scenario, sidelink transmissions using a discontinuous reception, DRX, mode of operation, wherein the user equipment, UE, is configured to align on-periods and/or a cycle of the discontinuous reception, DRX, mode of operation in accordance with period traffic (LG, Pg. 2 Para. 5 Proposal 1,receive SL DRX transmissions and align the DRX cycle with SL grant period traffic).
As to claim 15, LG teaches wherein the user equipment, UE, is configured to receive a resource reservation information during an on-period of the discontinuous reception, DRX, mode of operation, wherein the user equipment, UE, is configured to one out of adjust an inactivity timer of the discontinuous reception, DRX, mode of operation in dependence on the resource reservation information (LG, Pg. 2 Para. 5 Proposal 1,adjust the inactivity timer based on the SL grant).
As to claim 16, LG teaches a method for operating a user equipment, UE, of a wireless communication system (LG, Pg. 4 Sec 2.2, method for a UE),, wherein the method comprises:
operating the user equipment, UE, in a new radio sidelink mode 1 (LG, Pg. 5 Section 2.3, the UE is operating in sidelink mode-1), receiving with the user equipment, UE, in the sidelink scenario, sidelink transmissions using a discontinuous reception, DRX, mode of operation (LG, Pg. 2 Para 6-7, a UE receives SL TB using DRX operation. Pg 4. Section 2.2 SL DRX UE receiving), adjusting, modifying or stopping an inactivity timer of the discontinuous reception, DRX, mode of operation in dependence on an operating parameter of the user equipment, UE (LG, Pg. 2 Para. 5 Proposal 1, the UE adjusts the inactivity timer of the SL DRX cycle based on the time domain resource allocation/period of SL grant), communicating in the new radio sidelink mode 1 with a group of other user equipments, UEs (LG, Pg. 5 Para 2, the UE communicates with a group of UEs in the SL DRX mode), receiving from a base station, gNB, of the wireless communication system a discontinuous reception, DRX, configuration information and adjusting at least one parameter of the discontinuous reception, DRX, mode of operation in dependence on the discontinuous reception, DRX, configuration information (LG, Pg. 6 Para. 2,, the UE receives from the network SL DRX cycle configuration to adjust its DRX cycle) , transmitting to one or more other UEs of the group of other UEs, that are operating in a new radio sidelink mode 2, the discontinuous reception, DRX, configuration information (LG, Pg. 6 Para. 2, the SL DRX configuration is sent to the other UEs that are operating in mode-2).
As to claim 17, LG teaches a non-transitory digital storage medium having stored thereon a computer program for performing a method for operating a user equipment, UE, of a wireless communication system (LG, Pg. 4 Sec 2.2, a SL UE), wherein the method comprises:
operating the user equipment, UE, in a new radio sidelink mode 1 (LG, Pg. 5 Section 2.3, the UE is operating in sidelink mode-1), receiving with the user equipment, UE, in the sidelink scenario, sidelink transmissions using a discontinuous reception, DRX, mode of operation (LG, Pg. 2 Para 6-7, a UE receives SL TB using DRX operation. Pg 4. Section 2.2 SL DRX UE receiving), adjusting, modifying or stopping an inactivity timer of the discontinuous reception, DRX, mode of operation in dependence on an operating parameter of the user equipment, UE (LG, Pg. 2 Para. 5 Proposal 1, the UE adjusts the inactivity timer of the SL DRX cycle based on the time domain resource allocation/period of SL grant), communicating in the new radio sidelink mode 1 with a group of other user equipments, UEs (LG, Pg. 5 Para 2, the UE communicates with a group of UEs in the SL DRX mode), receiving from a base station, gNB, of the wireless communication system a discontinuous reception, DRX, configuration information and adjusting at least one parameter of the discontinuous reception, DRX, mode of operation in dependence on the discontinuous reception, DRX, configuration information (LG, Pg. 6 Para. 2,, the UE receives from the network SL DRX cycle configuration to adjust its DRX cycle), transmitting to one or more other UEs of the group of other UEs, that are operating in a new radio sidelink mode 2, the discontinuous reception, DRX, configuration information, when the computer program is run by a computer (LG, Pg. 6 Para. 2, the SL DRX configuration is sent to the other UEs that are operating in mode-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LG as applied to claims above, and further in view of Yu et al (Pub No: 2023/0247550).
As to claim 8, LG teaches the the UE and network using a DRX mode (LG, Pg. 2 Para 6-7, a UE receives SL TB using DRX operation. Pg 4. Section 2.2 SL DRX UE receiving)
LG does not explicitly teach the user equipment, UE, is configured to receive, in the sidelink scenario sidelink control information, SCI, from at least one other user equipment, UE, of the wireless communication network using a discontinuous reception, DRX, mode of operation, wherein the user equipment, UE, is configured to derive a sensing information from the sidelink control information, SCI, the sensing information describing an occupancy of a sidelink resource pool.
However, Yu teaches wherein the user equipment, UE, is configured to receive, in the sidelink scenario sidelink control information, SCI, from at least one other user equipment, UE, of the wireless communication network using a discontinuous reception, DRX, mode of operation (Yu, [00184], a UE receiving SCI by monitoring) , wherein the user equipment, UE, is configured to derive a sensing information from the sidelink control information, SCI, the sensing information describing an occupancy of a sidelink resource pool (Yu, [00184], sensing by determining in the SCI if resources in the resource pool are reserved (occupied)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to provide “sensing of resources via SCI” as taught by Yu in the system of LG, so that it would improve data rate, latency, reliability and mobility (Yu [0003]).
As to claim 9, the combination of LG and Yu teaches wherein the user equipment is configured to derive the sensing information from the sidelink control information by decoding the sidelink control information (Yu, [0042], the information in the SCI is decoded).
As to claim 10, the combination of LG and Yu teaches teaches wherein the user equipment, UE, is configured to determine a set of candidate resources for a sidelink transmission based on the sensing information (Yu, [0042][0184], the sensing information is for deriving resources to restrict for selection, the selection being of candidate resources), wherein the user equipment, UE, is configured to perform the sidelink transmission in one or more selected resources selected out of the set of candidate resources (Yu, [0042][0184], performing SL DRX using the resources).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yang et al (Pub No: 2022/0104180) [0063][0077][0093].
Hosseini et al (Pub No: 2021/0059005) Fig 7 [0052][0057]
/AFSHAWN M TOWFIGHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469