DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 20 recites, non-functional descriptive material limitations, “A non-transitory computer readable storage medium with a computer program to execute a wireless connection method applicable to a multi-device system…” in lines 1-3.
“A non-transitory computer readable storage medium” merely serves a support for data instructions, and the data instruction will not impart/convey a patentable distinction when no functional relationship exists.
In particular, a non-transitory computer readable storage medium cannot process data instruction alone, and require enabling a computer processor/CPU to process the data instruction in order to impart/convey a patentable distinction of a claim.
As such, the functional language, “executing/processing data instruction stored in a non-transitory computer readable medium by a CPU or a computer processor” adds functional relationship to the clamed invention.
See Lowry, 32 F.3d at 1583-84, 32 USPQ2d at 1035. (also see MPEP 2111.05 III)
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 9, 11-12, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwon (US 2014/0112324 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kwon discloses a wireless connection method applicable to a multi-device system, wherein the multi-device system comprises a first electronic device and a second electronic device [see Fig. 2, 8, para. 43-46, 85-88; a wireless connection method applicable to a multi-device system, wherein the multi-device system comprises terminal device 100 and external device 100’], and the wireless connection method comprises:
based on that the first electronic device is connected to a network access device, by the first electronic device, enabling a wireless communication function through a first channel, wherein a first wireless connection is established between the first electronic device and the network access device at the first channel [see Fig. 2C, 8A, para. 44, 86-87; based on that the terminal device 100 is connected to an AP, by the terminal device 100, enabling a wireless communication function (Wi-Fi P2P function) through Ch. 5, wherein a first wireless connection (Wi-Fi station mode) is established between the terminal device 100 and the AP at Ch. 5]; and
by the first electronic device, establishing a second wireless connection with the second electronic device at the first channel [see Fig. 2C, 8B, para. 44, 87-88; by the terminal device 100, establishing a second wireless connection (Wi-Fi P2P mode) with the external device 100’ at Ch. 5].
Regarding claim 2, Kwon discloses wherein enabling the wireless communication function through the first channel comprising: by the first electronic device, creating a peer-to-peer (P2P) group at the first channel [see Fig. 2C, 8A, para. 44, 86; wherein enabling the wireless communication function (Wi-Fi P2P function) through Ch. 5 comprising: by the terminal device 100, forming a peer-to-peer (P2P) group at Ch. 5; also see para. 81-82].
Regarding claim 9, Kwon discloses the wireless connection method of claim 1, further comprising: based on that the first electronic device is not connected to the network access device, by the first electronic device, enabling the wireless communication function through a second channel; and by the first electronic device, establishing the second wireless connection with the second electronic device at the second channel [see Fig. 9, para. 89, 92; based on that a connection to an AP is interrupted (S930), the terminal device 100 enables the wireless communication function (Wi-Fi P2P function) through a second channel (Ch. 5); and the terminal device 100 establishes the second wireless connection (Wi-Fi P2P mode) with the external device 100’ at Ch. 5; also see Fig. 2C, 8B, para. 44, 86-88].
Regarding claim 11, Kwon discloses a multi-device system, comprising:
a first electronic device [see Fig. 2, 8, para. 43-46, 85-88; terminal device 100], configured to connect a network access device, and configured to enable a wireless communication function through a first channel in a condition that the first electronic device is connected to the network access device, wherein a first wireless connection is established between the first electronic device and the network access device at the first channel [see Fig. 2C, 8A, para. 44, 86-87; configured to connect an AP, and configured to enable a wireless communication function (Wi-Fi P2P function) through Ch. 5 in a condition that the terminal device 100 is connected to the AP, wherein a first wireless connection (Wi-Fi station mode) is established between the terminal device 100 and the AP at Ch. 5]; and
a second electronic device [see Fig. 2, 8, para. 43-46, 85-88; external device 100’], configured to establish a second wireless connection with the first electronic device at the first channel [see Fig. 2C, 8B, para. 44, 87-88; configured to establish a second wireless connection (Wi-Fi P2P mode) with the terminal device 100 at Ch. 5].
Regarding claim 12, Kwon discloses wherein the first electronic device is configured to create a peer-to-peer (P2P) group at the first channel [see Fig. 2C, 8A, para. 44, 86; the terminal device 100 is configured to create a peer-to-peer (P2P) group at Ch. 5; also see para. 81-82].
Regarding claim 18, Kwon discloses wherein the first electronic device is configured to enable the wireless communication function through a second channel in a condition that the first electronic device is not connected to the network access device, and is configured to establish the second wireless connection with the second electronic device at the second channel [see Fig. 9, para. 89, 92; the terminal device 100 is configured to enable the wireless communication function (Wi-Fi P2P function) through a second channel (Ch. 5) in a condition that a connection to an AP is interrupted (S930), and is configured to establish the second wireless connection (Wi-Fi P2P mode) with the external device 100’ at Ch. 5; also see Fig. 2C, 8B, para. 44, 86-88].
Regarding claim 20, Kwon discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium with a computer program to execute a wireless connection method applicable to a multi-device system [see Fig. 1, 2, 8, para. 43-46, 85-88, 95-97; a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a program to execute a wireless connection method applicable to a multi-device system], wherein the multi-device system comprises a first electronic device and a second electronic device [see Fig. 2, 8, para. 43-46, 85-88; the multi-device system comprises terminal device 100 and external device 100’], and the wireless connection method comprises:
based on that the first electronic device is connected to a network access device, by the first electronic device, enabling a wireless communication function through a first channel, wherein a first wireless connection is established between the first electronic device and the network access device at the first channel [see Fig. 2C, 8A, para. 44, 86-87; based on that the terminal device 100 is connected to an AP, by the terminal device 100, enabling a wireless communication function (Wi-Fi P2P function) through Ch. 5, wherein a first wireless connection (Wi-Fi station mode) is established between the terminal device 100 and the AP at Ch. 5]; and
by the first electronic device, establishing a second wireless connection with the second electronic device at the first channel [see Fig. 2C, 8B, para. 44, 87-88; by the terminal device 100, establishing a second wireless connection (Wi-Fi P2P mode) with the external device 100’ at Ch. 5].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon in view of ("Wi-Fi Peer-to-Peer (P2P) Technical Specification version 1.5", 4 August 2014 (2014-08-04), pages 1-183, XP055234860, Retrieved from the Internet: URL:https://www.wi-fi.org/discover-wi-fi/specifications, hereinafter “Wi-Fi P2P”).
Regarding claim 3, Kwon discloses the wireless connection method of claim 2, further comprising: by the first electronic device, sending a P2P group information of the P2P group through a short distance wireless connection established between the first electronic device and the second electronic device, wherein the P2P group information comprises channel information indicating the first channel [see para. 6-7, 83, 86-87; by the terminal device 100, sending a beacon signal including various operation parameters of the P2P group through Wi-Fi P2P (Wi-Fi Direct) connection established between the terminal device 100 and the external device 100’, wherein the various operation parameters comprises operating channel of the group (Ch. 5)].
Although Kwon discloses the various operation parameters of the P2P group comprises channel information indicating the first channel,
Kwon does not explicitly disclose “a P2P group name and an access password”.
However, Wi-Fi P2P teaches by a first electronic device, sending a P2P group information of a P2P group through a short distance wireless connection established between the first electronic device and a second electronic device, wherein the P2P group information comprises a P2P group name, an access password and channel information indicating a first channel [see pages 1, 20, section 2.3, Fig. 3; see pages 38-45, section 3.1.4, Fig. 8; see page 52, section 3.2.1, P2P Group ID; by a first P2P device, sending a P2P group information of a P2P group through a short distance wireless connection (Wi-Fi Direct which allows Wi-Fi client devices to connect directly without the use of an access point) established between the first P2P device and a second P2P device, wherein the P2P group information comprises P2P Group ID attribute containing SSID of the P2P Group, Device Password ID attribute, and Operating Channel attribute indicating Operating Channel of the P2P Group].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “by a first electronic device, sending a P2P group information of a P2P group through a short distance wireless connection established between the first electronic device and a second electronic device, wherein the P2P group information comprises a P2P group name, an access password and channel information indicating a first channel”, as taught by Wi-Fi P2P, into the system of Kwon so that it would form a new P2P Group [see Wi-Fi P2P, section 3.1.4].
Regarding claim 4, Kwon discloses the wireless connection method of claim 1, further comprising: by the first electronic device, sending an access information to the second electronic device through a short distance wireless connection established between the first electronic device and the second electronic device, wherein the access information comprises channel information indicating the first channel [see para. 6-7, 83, 86-87; by the terminal device 100, sending a beacon signal including various operation parameters of the P2P group to the external device 100’ through Wi-Fi P2P (Wi-Fi Direct) connection established between the terminal device 100 and the external device 100’, wherein the various operation parameters comprises operating channel of the group (Ch. 5)].
Although Kwon discloses the access information comprises channel information indicating the first channel,
Kwon does not explicitly disclose “a Service Set Identifier (SSID) and an access password”.
However, Wi-Fi P2P teaches by a first electronic device, sending an access information to a second electronic device through a short distance wireless connection established between the first electronic device and the second electronic device, wherein the access information comprises a Service Set Identifier (SSID), an access password and channel information indicating a first channel [see pages 1, 20, section 2.3, Fig. 3; see pages 38-45, section 3.1.4, Fig. 8; see page 52, section 3.2.1, P2P Group ID; by a first P2P device, sending an access information to a second P2P device through a short distance wireless connection (Wi-Fi Direct which allows Wi-Fi client devices to connect directly without the use of an access point) established between the first P2P device and the second P2P device, wherein the access information comprises P2P Group ID attribute containing SSID of the P2P Group, Device Password ID attribute, and Operating Channel attribute indicating Operating Channel of the P2P Group].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “by a first electronic device, sending an access information to a second electronic device through a short distance wireless connection established between the first electronic device and the second electronic device, wherein the access information comprises a Service Set Identifier (SSID), an access password and channel information indicating a first channel”, as taught by Wi-Fi P2P, into the system of Kwon so that it would form a new P2P Group [see Wi-Fi P2P, section 3.1.4].
Regarding claim 13, Kwon discloses wherein the first electronic device is configured to send a P2P group information of the P2P group through a short distance wireless connection established between the first electronic device and the second electronic device, wherein the P2P group information comprises channel information indicating the first channel [see para. 6-7, 83, 86-87; the terminal device 100 is configured to send a beacon signal including various operation parameters of the P2P group through Wi-Fi P2P (Wi-Fi Direct) connection established between the terminal device 100 and the external device 100’, wherein the various operation parameters comprises operating channel of the group (Ch. 5)].
Although Kwon discloses the various operation parameters of the P2P group comprises channel information indicating the first channel,
Kwon does not explicitly disclose “a P2P group name and an access password”.
However, Wi-Fi P2P teaches a first electronic device is configured to send a P2P group information of a P2P group through a short distance wireless connection established between the first electronic device and a second electronic device, wherein the P2P group information comprises a P2P group name, an access password and channel information indicating the first channel [see pages 1, 20, section 2.3, Fig. 3; see pages 38-45, section 3.1.4, Fig. 8; see page 52, section 3.2.1, P2P Group ID; a first P2P device is configured to send a P2P group information of a P2P group through a short distance wireless connection (Wi-Fi Direct which allows Wi-Fi client devices to connect directly without the use of an access point) established between the first P2P device and a second P2P device, wherein the P2P group information comprises P2P Group ID attribute containing SSID of the P2P Group, Device Password ID attribute, and Operating Channel attribute indicating Operating Channel of the P2P Group].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “a first electronic device is configured to send a P2P group information of a P2P group through a short distance wireless connection established between the first electronic device and a second electronic device, wherein the P2P group information comprises a P2P group name, an access password and channel information indicating the first channel”, as taught by Wi-Fi P2P, into the system of Kwon so that it would form a new P2P Group [see Wi-Fi P2P, section 3.1.4].
Regarding claim 14, Kwon discloses wherein the first electronic device is configured to send an access information to the second electronic device through a short distance wireless connection established between the first electronic device and the second electronic device, wherein the access information comprises channel information indicating the first channel [see para. 6-7, 83, 86-87; the terminal device 100 is configured to send a beacon signal including various operation parameters of the P2P group to the external device 100’ through Wi-Fi P2P (Wi-Fi Direct) connection established between the terminal device 100 and the external device 100’, wherein the various operation parameters comprises operating channel of the group (Ch. 5)].
Although Kwon discloses the access information comprises channel information indicating the first channel,
Kwon does not explicitly disclose “a Service Set Identifier (SSID) and an access password”.
However, Wi-Fi P2P teaches a first electronic device is configured to send an access information to a second electronic device through a short distance wireless connection established between the first electronic device and the second electronic device, wherein the access information comprises a Service Set Identifier (SSID), an access password and channel information indicating a first channel [see pages 1, 20, section 2.3, Fig. 3; see pages 38-45, section 3.1.4, Fig. 8; see page 52, section 3.2.1, P2P Group ID; a first P2P device is configured to send an access information to a second P2P device through a short distance wireless connection (Wi-Fi Direct which allows Wi-Fi client devices to connect directly without the use of an access point) established between the first P2P device and the second P2P device, wherein the access information comprises P2P Group ID attribute containing SSID of the P2P Group, Device Password ID attribute, and Operating Channel attribute indicating Operating Channel of the P2P Group].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “by a first electronic device, sending an access information to a second electronic device through a short distance wireless connection established between the first electronic device and the second electronic device, wherein the access information comprises a Service Set Identifier (SSID), an access password and channel information indicating a first channel”, as taught by Wi-Fi P2P, into the system of Kwon so that it would form a new P2P Group [see Wi-Fi P2P, section 3.1.4].
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon in view of Wi-Fi P2P and Achyuth et al. (US 2021/0211902 A1, hereinafter “Achyuth”).
Regarding claim 5, Kwon discloses wherein both the first wireless connection and the second wireless connection are established under Wi-Fi protocol [see Fig. 2, 8, para. 43-46, 85-88; the first wireless connection is Wi-Fi station mode and the second wireless connection is Wi-Fi P2P mode], and the short distance wireless connection is established under Wi-Fi Direct protocol [see para. 6-8].
Kwon does not explicitly disclose Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) protocol.
However, Achyuth teaches a short distance wireless connection is established between a first electronic device and a second electronic device under Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) protocol [see Fig. 2, para. 72; a short-range wireless interconnection (e.g., a Bluetooth connection) is established between a first client device and a second client device].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “a short distance wireless connection is established between a first electronic device and a second electronic device under Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) protocol”, as taught by Achyuth, into the combined system of Kwon and Wi-Fi P2P so that it would provide communication using an asynchronous connection-less link that can be encrypted to protect exchanged data against eavesdropping [see Achyuth, para. 72].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8, 10, 15-17, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (US 2015/0296416 A1), see Fig. 6-13, para. 27-29, 31, 46-48, discloses a method for performing connection setting for Wi-Fi direct services communication.
/BRIAN T LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469