Claim Objections
Claim 13 objected to because of the following informalities: The phrase “Reflection Fields field” seems to repeat fields twice which creates situations such as in “Reflection Fields field comprises a Reflection field” in claim 13. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lin et al. US 20250350971 A1 (Domestic Priority April 26, 2022).
Regarding claim 1, Lin discloses a wireless sensing method comprising: generating a measurement request frame (see, the construction of measurement setup request frames by the MAC layer management entity (MLME) from the generated primitives from the SME, sections 0120-0121), wherein the measurement request frame is configured to carry indication information (see, Sensing Measurement Setup Request frame may include a Measurement Setup ID field and/or a Sensing Measurement Parameters Element where the Measurement Setup ID field may include information indicating a Measurement Setup ID that identifies assigned parameters in the Sensing Measurement Parameters Element to be used in the corresponding sensing measurement instances, section 0125) for phase report (see, Sensing Measurement Parameters field may include a Measurement Report Type subfield, section 0129; noted, Sensing Measurement Parameters element may include a Sensing Measurement Parameters field, section 0128) from a sensing responder (see, sensing responder may transmit a Sensing Measurement Setup Response frame to the sensing initiator, section 0172); and sending the measurement request frame to the sensing responder (see, a sensing initiator (e.g., an AP-STA) performs TB measurement setup negotiation with a sensing responder (e.g., a non-AP STA) by transmitting a Sensing Measurement Setup Request frame to the sensing responder, section 0172).
Regarding claim 8, Lin discloses a wireless sensing method comprising: generating a measurement report frame (see, the construction of measurement setup request frames by the MAC layer management entity (MLME) from the generated primitives from the SME, sections 0120-0121), wherein the measurement report frame is configured to carry phase information (see, Sensing Measurement Setup Request frame may include a Measurement Setup ID field and/or a Sensing Measurement Parameters Element where the Measurement Setup ID field may include information indicating a Measurement Setup ID that identifies assigned parameters in the Sensing Measurement Parameters Element to be used in the corresponding sensing measurement instances, section 0125); and sending the measurement report frame to a sensing initiator (see, a sensing initiator (e.g., an AP-STA) performs TB measurement setup negotiation with a sensing responder (e.g., a non-AP STA) by transmitting a Sensing Measurement Setup Request frame to the sensing responder, section 0172).
Regarding claim 21, Lin discloses a wireless communication device for wireless sensing, comprising: a wireless communication circuit; and a control circuit, arranged to generate a measurement request frame (see, the construction of measurement setup request frames by the MAC layer management entity (MLME) from the generated primitives from the SME, sections 0120-0121), and instruct the wireless communication circuit to send the measurement request frame to a sensing responder (see, a sensing initiator (e.g., an AP-STA) performs TB measurement setup negotiation with a sensing responder (e.g., a non-AP STA) by transmitting a Sensing Measurement Setup Request frame to the sensing responder, section 0172), wherein the measurement request frame is configured to carry indication information (see, Sensing Measurement Setup Request frame may include a Measurement Setup ID field and/or a Sensing Measurement Parameters Element where the Measurement Setup ID field may include information indicating a Measurement Setup ID that identifies assigned parameters in the Sensing Measurement Parameters Element to be used in the corresponding sensing measurement instances, section 0125) for phase report (see, Sensing Measurement Parameters field may include a Measurement Report Type subfield, section 0129; noted, Sensing Measurement Parameters element may include a Sensing Measurement Parameters field, section 0128) from the sensing responder (see, sensing responder may transmit a Sensing Measurement Setup Response frame to the sensing initiator, section 0172).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 9, 14, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. US 20250350971 A1 (Domestic Priority April 26, 2022) in view of Sadeghi et al. US 20200359248 A1 (Domestic Priority June 21, 2019).
Lin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 2, the wireless sensing method of claim 1, wherein the measurement request frame is sent during a directional multi-gigabit (DMG) sensing procedure.
However Sadeghi from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the wireless sensing method of claim 1, wherein the measurement request frame is sent during a directional multi-gigabit (DMG) sensing procedure (see, sensing initiator may be a HE STA or a DMG STA or another 802.11 STA that sets up a sensing session by transmitting a sensing request frame, section 0032 Sadeghi).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Lin with the sensing request frame as taught by Sadeghi. The motivation would have been to improve WLAN sensing protocols.
Lin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 3, the wireless sensing method of claim 2, wherein the measurement request frame comprises a DMG Sensing Measurement Session element, and the indication information for phase report is carried in the DMG Sensing Measurement Session element.
However Sadeghi from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the wireless sensing method of claim 2, wherein the measurement request frame comprises a DMG Sensing Measurement Session element (see, sensing session may comprise a successful establishment of a series of uniquely identifiable measurement event(s) through the use of a Sensing Request/Response frame exchange, section 0031 Sadeghi), and the indication information for phase report is carried in the DMG Sensing Measurement Session element (see, sensing session may have a one-time discovery and negotiation phase, but may have multiple measurement and reporting phases, followed by a single teardown phase and re-negotiation may be performed during the sensing session if necessary, section 0030 Sadeghi; noted, negotiation phase may include the sensing initiator sending a sensing request frame to the sensing responder that has sensing protocol provides for rules and frame exchanges used to establish a sensing session, section 0031 Sadeghi; noted, sensing responder(s) may be a HE STA or a DMG STA that agrees to participate in a sensing session by transmitting a sensing response frame in response to the reception of a sensing request frame, section 0032 Sadeghi).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Lin with the sensing request frame as taught by Sadeghi. The motivation would have been to improve WLAN sensing protocols.
Lin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 9, the wireless sensing method of claim 8, wherein the measurement report frame is sent during a directional multi-gigabit (DMG) sensing procedure.
However Sadeghi from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the wireless sensing method of claim 8, wherein the measurement report frame is sent during a directional multi-gigabit (DMG) sensing procedure (see, sensing initiator may be a HE STA or a DMG STA or another 802.11 STA that sets up a sensing session by transmitting a sensing request frame, section 0032 Sadeghi).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Lin with the sensing request frame as taught by Sadeghi. The motivation would have been to improve WLAN sensing protocols.
Lin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 15, the wireless sensing method of claim 14, wherein the measurement report frame is sent during a directional multi-gigabit (DMG) sensing procedure.
However Sadeghi from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the wireless sensing method of claim 14, wherein the measurement report frame is sent during a directional multi-gigabit (DMG) sensing procedure (see, sensing initiator may be a HE STA or a DMG STA or another 802.11 STA that sets up a sensing session by transmitting a sensing request frame, section 0032 Sadeghi).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Lin with the sensing request frame as taught by Sadeghi. The motivation would have been to improve WLAN sensing protocols.
Lin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 22, the wireless communication device of claim 21, wherein the measurement request frame is sent during a directional multi-gigabit (DMG) sensing procedure.
However Sadeghi from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the wireless communication device of claim 21, wherein the measurement request frame is sent during a directional multi-gigabit (DMG) sensing procedure (see, sensing initiator may be a HE STA or a DMG STA or another 802.11 STA that sets up a sensing session by transmitting a sensing request frame, section 0032 Sadeghi).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Lin with the sensing request frame as taught by Sadeghi. The motivation would have been to improve WLAN sensing protocols.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. US 20250350971 A1 (Domestic Priority April 26, 2022) in view of Sadeghi et al. US 20200359248 A1 (Domestic Priority June 21, 2019), and in view of Beg et al. US 20240085551 A1 (Domestic Priority September 8, 2022).
The combination of Lin and Sadeghi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 4, the wireless sensing method of claim 3, wherein the DMG Sensing Measurement Session element comprises a Report Type Control field, and the indication information for phase report is carried in the Report Type Control field.
However Beg from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the wireless sensing method of claim 3, wherein the DMG Sensing Measurement Session element comprises a Report Type Control field (see, Sensing Measurement Report frame may include a Sensing Measurement Report element or a Sensing Measurement Report field, section 0302; noted, Sensing Measurement Report may be implemented by a field, section 0303 Beg), and the indication information for phase report is carried in the Report Type Control field (see, Sensing Receiver subfield may be set to 1 to indicate a sensing responder assumes a sensing receiver role, such as sensing receiver, section 0202 Beg).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Lin and Sadeghi with the trigger-based (TB) sensing measurement instance as taught by Beg. The motivation would have been to improve sensing measurements on fast sounding sensing signals.
The combination of Lin and Sadeghi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 5, the wireless sensing method of claim 4, wherein the Report Type Control field comprises a Report Type subfield, and the indication information for phase report is carried in the Report Type subfield.
However Beg from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the wireless sensing method of claim 4, wherein the Report Type Control field comprises a Report Type subfield (see, Sensing Measurement Report Control field may contain information necessary to interpret the Sensing Measurement Report field and the Sensing Measurement Report Control field format may comprise one or more subfields, section 0221 Beg), and the indication information for phase report is carried in the Report Type subfield (see, Sensing Receiver subfield may be set to 1 to indicate a sensing responder assumes a sensing receiver role, such as sensing receiver, section 0202 Beg).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Lin and Sadeghi with the trigger-based (TB) sensing measurement instance as taught by Beg. The motivation would have been to improve sensing measurements on fast sounding sensing signals.
The combination of Lin and Sadeghi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 6, the wireless sensing method of claim 3, wherein the DMG Sensing Measurement Session element comprises a plurality of fields, and the indication information of phase report is carried by a one-bit subfield included in one of the plurality of fields.
However Beg from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the wireless sensing method of claim 3, wherein the DMG Sensing Measurement Session element comprises a plurality of fields (see, Sensing Measurement Report Control field format may comprise one or more subfields, section 0221 Beg), and the indication information of phase report is carried by a one-bit subfield included in one of the plurality of fields (see, Sensing Transmitter subfield may be set to 1 to indicate a sensing responder assumes a sensing transmitter role, such as sensing transmitter, section 0202 Beg).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Lin and Sadeghi with the trigger-based (TB) sensing measurement instance as taught by Beg. The motivation would have been to improve sensing measurements on fast sounding sensing signals.
Claims 7, 20, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. US 20250350971 A1 (Domestic Priority April 26, 2022) in view of Chen et al. US 20230033468 A1 (Domestic Priority June 16, 2022).
Lin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 7, the wireless sensing method of claim 1, wherein the measurement request frame is sent during a Wi-Fi sensing procedure.
However Chen ‘468 from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the wireless sensing method of claim 1, wherein the measurement request frame is sent during a Wi-Fi sensing procedure (see, send, during a polling phase of responder-to-responder Wi-Fi sensing, a sensing polling trigger frame to Wi-Fi sensing responder station devices, section 0124 Chen ‘468).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Lin with the Wi-Fi sensing as taught by Chen ‘468. The motivation would have been to improve Wi-Fi sensing between station devices.
Lin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 20, the wireless sensing method of claim 8, wherein the measurement report frame is sent during a Wi-Fi sensing procedure.
However Chen ‘468 from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the wireless sensing method of claim 8, wherein the measurement report frame is sent during a Wi-Fi sensing procedure (see, send, during a polling phase of responder-to-responder Wi-Fi sensing, a sensing polling trigger frame to Wi-Fi sensing responder station devices, section 0124 Chen ‘468).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Lin with the Wi-Fi sensing as taught by Chen ‘468. The motivation would have been to improve Wi-Fi sensing between station devices.
Lin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 23, the wireless communication device of claim 21, wherein the measurement request frame is sent during a Wi-Fi sensing procedure.
However Chen ‘468 from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the wireless communication device of claim 21, wherein the measurement request frame is sent during a Wi-Fi sensing procedure (see, send, during a polling phase of responder-to-responder Wi-Fi sensing, a sensing polling trigger frame to Wi-Fi sensing responder station devices, section 0124 Chen ‘468).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Lin with the Wi-Fi sensing as taught by Chen ‘468. The motivation would have been to improve Wi-Fi sensing between station devices.
Claims 10-12 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. US 20250350971 A1 (Domestic Priority April 26, 2022) in view of Sadeghi et al. US 20200359248 A1 (Domestic Priority June 21, 2019), and in further view of Chen et al. US 20230119873 A1 (Domestic Priority August 30, 2022).
The combination of Lin and Sadeghi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 10, the wireless sensing method of claim 9, wherein the measurement report frame comprises a DMG Sensing Report element, and the phase information is carried in the DMG Sensing Report element.
However Chen ‘873 from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the wireless sensing method of claim 9, wherein the measurement report frame comprises a DMG Sensing Report element (see, Proposed subelement IDs for Sensing Measurement Parameters element, sections 0076-0078 Chen ‘873; noted, non-TB specific subelement may be a subelement under the existing Sensing Measurement Parameters element, sections 0076-0078 Chen ‘873; noted, AP may send a Sensing Measurement Report frame to the non-AP STA containing sensing measurement results obtained from the previous non-TB sensing measurement instance, section 0074 Chen ‘873; noted, AP and STAs may be directional multi-gigabit (DMG) STAs or enhanced DMG (EDMG) STAs configured to communicate in accordance with IEEE 802.11ad standard, section 0069 Chen ‘873), and the phase information is carried in the DMG Sensing Report element (see, non-TB sensing measurement instance may include of a measurement sounding phase and of a reporting phase if the Sensing Measurement Report Requested subfield within the Sensing Measurement Setup Request frame that resulted in the non-TB sensing measurement instance is set to 1, section 0083 Chen ‘873; noted, AP and STAs may be directional multi-gigabit (DMG) STAs or enhanced DMG (EDMG) STAs configured to communicate in accordance with IEEE 802.11ad standard, section 0069 Chen ‘873).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Lin and Sadeghi with the sensing reports as taught by Chen ‘873. The motivation would have been to improve sensing measurement setup.
The combination of Beg and Sadeghi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 11, the wireless sensing method of claim 10, wherein the DMG Sensing Report element comprises a DMG Sensing Report field, and the phase information is carried in the DMG Sensing Report field.
However Chen ‘873 from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the wireless sensing method of claim 10, wherein the DMG Sensing Report element comprises a DMG Sensing Report field (see, non-TB sensing measurement instance may include of a measurement sounding phase and of a reporting phase if the Sensing Measurement Report Requested subfield within the Sensing Measurement Setup Request frame that resulted in the non-TB sensing measurement instance is set to 1, section 0083 Chen ‘873; noted, AP and STAs may be directional multi-gigabit (DMG) STAs or enhanced DMG (EDMG) STAs configured to communicate in accordance with IEEE 802.11ad standard, section 0069 Chen ‘873), and the phase information is carried in the DMG Sensing Report field (see, non-TB sensing measurement instance may include of a measurement sounding phase and of a reporting phase if the Sensing Measurement Report Requested subfield within the Sensing Measurement Setup Request frame that resulted in the non-TB sensing measurement instance is set to 1, section 0083 Chen ‘873; noted, AP and STAs may be directional multi-gigabit (DMG) STAs or enhanced DMG (EDMG) STAs configured to communicate in accordance with IEEE 802.11ad standard, section 0069 Chen ‘873).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Lin and Sadeghi with the sensing reports as taught by Chen ‘873. The motivation would have been to improve sensing measurement setup.
The combination of Lin and Sadeghi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 12, the wireless sensing method of claim 11, wherein the DMG Sensing Report field comprises a DMG Sensing Image Report Data subelement, and the phase information is carried in the DMG Sensing Image Report Data subelement.
However Chen ‘873 from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the wireless sensing method of claim 11, wherein the DMG Sensing Report field comprises a DMG Sensing Image Report Data subelement (see, non-TB specific subelement may be a subelement under the existing Sensing Measurement Parameters element, sections 0076-0078 Chen ‘873; noted, AP and STAs may be directional multi-gigabit (DMG) STAs or enhanced DMG (EDMG) STAs configured to communicate in accordance with IEEE 802.11ad standard, section 0069 Chen ‘873), and the phase information is carried in the DMG Sensing Image Report Data subelement (see, non-TB specific subelement may be a subelement under the existing Sensing Measurement Parameters element, sections 0076-0078 Chen ‘873; noted, non-TB sensing measurement instance may include of a measurement sounding phase and of a reporting phase if the Sensing Measurement Report Requested subfield within the Sensing Measurement Setup Request frame that resulted in the non-TB sensing measurement instance is set to 1, section 0083 Chen ‘873; noted, AP and STAs may be directional multi-gigabit (DMG) STAs or enhanced DMG (EDMG) STAs configured to communicate in accordance with IEEE 802.11ad standard, section 0069 Chen ‘873).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Lin and Sadeghi with the sensing reports as taught by Chen ‘873. The motivation would have been to improve sensing measurement setup.
The combination of Lin and Sadeghi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 16, the wireless sensing method of claim 15, wherein the measurement report frame comprises a DMG Sensing Report element, and the indicator is carried in the DMG Sensing Report element.
However Chen ‘873 from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the wireless sensing method of claim 15, wherein the measurement report frame comprises a DMG Sensing Report element (see, Proposed subelement IDs for Sensing Measurement Parameters element, sections 0076-0078 Chen ‘873; noted, non-TB specific subelement may be a subelement under the existing Sensing Measurement Parameters element, sections 0076-0078 Chen ‘873; noted, AP may send a Sensing Measurement Report frame to the non-AP STA containing sensing measurement results obtained from the previous non-TB sensing measurement instance, section 0074 Chen ‘873; noted, AP and STAs may be directional multi-gigabit (DMG) STAs or enhanced DMG (EDMG) STAs configured to communicate in accordance with IEEE 802.11ad standard, section 0069 Chen ‘873), and the indicator is carried in the DMG Sensing Report element (see, non-TB sensing measurement instance may include of a measurement sounding phase and of a reporting phase if the Sensing Measurement Report Requested subfield within the Sensing Measurement Setup Request frame that resulted in the non-TB sensing measurement instance is set to 1, section 0083 Chen ‘873; noted, AP and STAs may be directional multi-gigabit (DMG) STAs or enhanced DMG (EDMG) STAs configured to communicate in accordance with IEEE 802.11ad standard, section 0069 Chen ‘873).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Lin and Sadeghi with the sensing reports as taught by Chen ‘873. The motivation would have been to improve sensing measurement setup.
The combination of Lin and Sadeghi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 17, the wireless sensing method of claim 16, wherein the DMG Sensing Report element comprises a DMG Sensing Report field, and the indicator is carried in the DMG Sensing Report field.
However Chen ‘873 from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the wireless sensing method of claim 16, wherein the DMG Sensing Report element comprises a DMG Sensing Report field (see, non-TB sensing measurement instance may include of a measurement sounding phase and of a reporting phase if the Sensing Measurement Report Requested subfield within the Sensing Measurement Setup Request frame that resulted in the non-TB sensing measurement instance is set to 1, section 0083 Chen ‘873; noted, AP and STAs may be directional multi-gigabit (DMG) STAs or enhanced DMG (EDMG) STAs configured to communicate in accordance with IEEE 802.11ad standard, section 0069 Chen ‘873), and the indicator is carried in the DMG Sensing Report field (see, non-TB sensing measurement instance may include of a measurement sounding phase and of a reporting phase if the Sensing Measurement Report Requested subfield within the Sensing Measurement Setup Request frame that resulted in the non-TB sensing measurement instance is set to 1, section 0083 Chen ‘873; noted, AP and STAs may be directional multi-gigabit (DMG) STAs or enhanced DMG (EDMG) STAs configured to communicate in accordance with IEEE 802.11ad standard, section 0069 Chen ‘873).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Lin and Sadeghi with the sensing reports as taught by Chen ‘873. The motivation would have been to improve sensing measurement setup.
The combination of Lin and Sadeghi discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 18, the wireless sensing method of claim 17, wherein the DMG Sensing Report field comprises a DMG Sensing Image Report Data subelement, and the indicator is carried in the DMG Sensing Image Report Data subelement.
However Chen ‘873 from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the wireless sensing method of claim 17, wherein the DMG Sensing Report field comprises a DMG Sensing Image Report Data subelement (see, non-TB specific subelement may be a subelement under the existing Sensing Measurement Parameters element, sections 0076-0078 Chen ‘873; noted, AP and STAs may be directional multi-gigabit (DMG) STAs or enhanced DMG (EDMG) STAs configured to communicate in accordance with IEEE 802.11ad standard, section 0069 Chen ‘873), and the indicator is carried in the DMG Sensing Image Report Data subelement (see, non-TB specific subelement may be a subelement under the existing Sensing Measurement Parameters element, sections 0076-0078 Chen ‘873; noted, non-TB sensing measurement instance may include of a measurement sounding phase and of a reporting phase if the Sensing Measurement Report Requested subfield within the Sensing Measurement Setup Request frame that resulted in the non-TB sensing measurement instance is set to 1, section 0083 Chen ‘873; noted, AP and STAs may be directional multi-gigabit (DMG) STAs or enhanced DMG (EDMG) STAs configured to communicate in accordance with IEEE 802.11ad standard, section 0069 Chen ‘873).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Lin and Sadeghi with the sensing reports as taught by Chen ‘873. The motivation would have been to improve sensing measurement setup.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. US 20250350971 A1 (Domestic Priority April 26, 2022) in view of Sadeghi et al. US 20200359248 A1 (Domestic Priority June 21, 2019), and in further view of Chen et al. US 20230119873 A1 (Domestic Priority August 30, 2022), and in further view of Eitan et al. US 20200150263 A1 (Domestic Priority November 8, 2018).
The combination of Lin, Sadeghi, and Chen ‘873 discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 13, the wireless sensing method of claim 12, wherein the DMG Sensing Image Report Data subelement comprises a Reflection Fields field, the Reflection Fields field comprises a Reflection field with a Reflection Phase field, and the phase information is carried in the Reflection Phase field.
However Eitan from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the wireless sensing method of claim 12, wherein the DMG Sensing Image Report Data subelement comprises a Reflection Fields field (see, wireless node may determine information about an area based on at least one of arrival times, signal strength, phase, or direction, of the reflected training fields, section 0064 Eitan; noted, Phased array antennas use elements, section 0049 Eitan), the Reflection Fields field comprises a Reflection field with a Reflection Phase field (see, wireless node may determine information about an area based on at least one of arrival times, signal strength, phase, or direction, of the reflected training fields, section 0064 Eitan), and the phase information is carried in the Reflection Phase field (see, wireless node may determine information about an area based on at least one of arrival times, signal strength, phase, or direction, of the reflected training fields, section 0064 Eitan).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Lin, Sadeghi, and Chen ‘873 with the reflected training fields as taught by Eitan. The motivation would have been to enhance wireless local area network (WLAN) protocol compliant radar operation.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. US 20250350971 A1 (Domestic Priority April 26, 2022) in view of Beg et al. US 20240085551 A1 (Domestic Priority September 8, 2022).
Lin discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 14, the wireless sensing method of claim 8, wherein the measurement report frame is further configured to carry an indicator for indicating presence of the phase information.
However Beg from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the wireless sensing method of claim 8, wherein the measurement report frame is further configured to carry an indicator for indicating presence of the phase information (see, trigger-based (TB) sensing measurement instance comprises a polling phase, an NDPA sounding phase, a TF sounding phase, and a reporting phase, sections 0214-0216 Beg; noted, sensing responder may use a Status Code field in the Sensing Measurement Setup Response frame to indicate, section 0205 Beg; noted, sensing session is an agreement between a sensing initiator and a sensing responder to participate in a WLAN sensing procedure, section 0212 Beg; noted, a sensing session of a WLAN sensing procedure comprising a sensing measurement setup procedure followed by one or more trigger-based (TB) sensing measurement instances that consists of either NDPA sounding or trigger frame (TF) sounding, following by a sensing measurement setup termination procedure, section 0213 Beg).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Lin with the trigger-based (TB) sensing measurement instance as taught by Beg. The motivation would have been to improve sensing measurements on fast sounding sensing signals.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. US 20250350971 A1 (Domestic Priority April 26, 2022) in view of Beg et al. US 20240085551 A1 (Domestic Priority September 8, 2022) in view of Sadeghi et al. US 20200359248 A1 (Domestic Priority June 21, 2019), and in further view of Chen et al. US 20230119873 A1 (Domestic Priority August 30, 2022), and in further view of Kim et al. US 20230016370 A1 (Foreign Priority February 20, 2020).
The combination of Lin, Beg, Sadeghi, and Chen ‘873 discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above but fails to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 19, the wireless sensing method of claim 18, wherein the DMG Sensing Image Report Data subelement comprises an Axis Present field, the Axis Present field comprises a Phase Present field, and the indicator is carried in the Phase Present field.
However Kim from a similar field of endeavor discloses: the wireless sensing method of claim 18, wherein the DMG Sensing Image Report Data subelement comprises an Axis Present field (see, field associated with axis, section 0450 Kim), the Axis Present field comprises a Phase Present field (see, phase modulation associated with a field, section 0117 Kim), and the indicator is carried in the Phase Present field (see, by changing phase modulation applied to 2 symbols in which the U-SIG field is transmitted, a number of PPDU types may be individually indicated via the PPDU type field, section 0117 Kim).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art of which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Lin, Beg, Sadeghi, and Chen ‘873 with the phase modulation as taught by Kim. The motivation would have been to improve transmitting information for allocation of a channel for data transmission or reception in a wireless communication system.
Conclusion
/PATRICK YIPAO PEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473