DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toya (US 2017/0193250) in view of Igata et al. (EP3486882A1).
Regarding claim 1, Toya teaches a management method (figs. 3 and 6)of a power storage device (101), the management method comprising: when energy management by charging or discharging of a power storage device is requested from an aggregator (102), when determining the aggregator having requested is a registered aggregator (S205-S206), performing charging or discharging of the power storage device in accordance with the request (S206), and wherein determining the aggregator having requested is not a registered aggregator, not performing charging or discharging of the power storage device in accordance with the request (S205 and S207) ([0101]-[0114] and [0130]-[0137]).
Toya fails to teach determining whether or not a requested magnitude of power for the charging or discharging exceeds a predetermined value as claimed.
However, Igata teaches electric vehicle battery management (fig. 2) comprising determining whether or not a requested magnitude of power for the charging or discharging exceeds a predetermined value (“state of charge”) as claimed (figs. 3-10).
In view of Igata’s teaching, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Toya by incorporating the teaching as taught by Igata in order to arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, Toya as modified by Igata teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Igata further teaches wherein the power storage device is provided to a vehicle by a lease, and the registered aggregator is a terminal of an owner of the power storage device (figs. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 3, Toya as modified by Igata teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Igata further teaches when the request magnitude of the power is less than the predetermined value, performing charging or discharging of the power storage device in accordance with the request regardless of whether or not the aggregator having requested is the registered aggregator (figs. 5-10).
Regarding claim 4, Toya as modified by Igata teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Igata further teaches a vehicle control device (204, fig. 1) comprising: a processor ([0036]); and a storage device (206, fig. 1) that stores a program for causing the processor to perform the management method for a power storage device (214, fig. 2) according to claim 1, wherein the identification information of the registered aggregator is stored in the storage device ([0067]-[0071]). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have recognized to modify the system of Toya to store the aggregator information in the storage device of Igata instead of the server of Toya since it is just a matter of shifting functionality for storing the aggregator information. Moreover, it has been decided that a mere rearrangement of parts is an obvious expedient over a prior art. See M.P.E.P. 2144.01 (VI)(C).
Regarding claim 5, Toya as modified by Igata teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Igata further teaches a vehicle (200, fig. 2) that performs the management method for a power storage device (214, fig. 2) according to claim 1, the vehicle comprising: a vehicle body (fig. 2); a power storage device (214, fig. 2) mounted on the vehicle body; and control device (204, fig. 1) that performs the management method with regard to the power storage device, wherein the registered aggregator is registered in the control device ([0067]-[0071). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have recognized to modify the system of Toya to store the aggregator information in the storage device of Igata instead of the server of Toya since it is just a matter of shifting functionality for storing the aggregator information. Moreover, it has been decided that a mere rearrangement of parts is an obvious expedient over a prior art. See M.P.E.P. 2144.01 (VI)(C).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
References: Amari et al. (US 2019/0061552); Kitaoka (EP 3363676A1); Kyoung (US 2014/0232356); Holme (US 11,691,518); Uyeki (US 2022/0051319); Ikui et al. (US 2022/0024340); Namiki (US 2020/0386561); Tu et al. (US 2019/0287190) and Outwater et al. (US 2014/0114448) are cited because they are related to power storage device management system and method.
/TUYEN K VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876