DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 20220286895 A1) in view of Cao et al (US 20240196355 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee et al, discloses a wireless communication method (a data rate control method of a terminal in an access and mobility management function device of a wireless communication system; abstract, paragraph 0015) comprising : receiving (receive a protocol data unit session create request message including network slice information for the UE and UE information from an access and mobility function device through the network interface; paragraph 0013), by an access and mobility management node (an access and mobility management function device of a wireless communication system; receiving subscription information, including network slice information which can be allocated to the terminal ; paragraph 0011, 0013), information of a network slice maximum bit rate (read as: the QoS information comprises a slice-specific aggregate maximum bit rate (AMBR) specific to the slice; furthermore, the aggregate rate limit QoS parameter associated with the network slice may include, for example, an aggregate maximum bit rate per network slice; in addition, it determines an aggregate maximum bit rate of single network slice selection assistance information of the PDU Session for the UE, based on the SM policy association, establishes an N4 session with the AMF, based on the SM policy association and the S-NSSAI-AMBR, and informs the AMF device of the session establishment with the UPF; it means that the information of a network slice maximum bit rate for the user equipment can be received by the policy control node or the access and mobility management function (AMF) (see paragraph 0011, 0051, 0275, 0277 for details) for a wireless communication terminal (SMF1 200 may authenticate the UE request received in operation 214 on the basis of the UE subscription information; for example, SMF1 200 may identify whether the S-NSSAI and the DNN requested by the UE included in the PDU session create request message are included in the UE subscription information; in addition, the PCF 103 may determine an authorized slice-AMBR of the received subscribed slice-AMBR and the serving network slice-AMBR ; paragraph 0044, 0054, 0056, 0058).
However, Lee et al, does not specifically teach that the wireless communication terminal is authorized by an “ Authentication, Authorization, and Accounting-Server from a network slice specific authentication and authorization node.
On the other hand, Cao et al, from the same field of endeavor, teaches that a user equipment is authorized by an “ Authentication, Authorization, and Accounting-Server from a network slice specific authentication and authorization node to access network resources (read as: the UE indicates a new NSSAA procedure that can include receiving from an Authentication, Authorization and Accounting, AAA, Server, AAA-S, after a successful NSSAA procedure by the UE with respect to the first network slice, a request to revoke authorization for the UE with respect to the first network slice ; it means that the AAA server identifies the user terminal, by verifying credentials (user identities) like username/password; paragraph 0014-0015). Network Slice Specific Authentication and Authorization Function (NSSAAF) supports network slice-specific authentication and authorization with a AAA Server (AAA-S). Furthermore, the UE sends a registration request including an NSSAI to the AMF/SEAF, where the UE, AMF/SEAF, and ARPF/UDM perform a primary authentication of the UE. The AMF/SEAF determines if the network slice identified by NSSAI requires a slice-specific authentication of the UE. The AMF/SEAF sends a registration accept message to the UE, which responds with a registration complete message; the UE and AAA-S run an EAP-based authentication via AMF (EAP Authenticator) and NSSAAF (paragraph 0084-0089, 0124-0125). It means that the AAA server handles user requests for access to computer resources and, provides authentication, authorization, and accounting services. Note that AAA servers are usually used by Internet service providers to effectively manage subscriber services by authenticating and authorizing customers to connect to their networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Cao to the communication system of Lee in order to provide a method for performing a network-slice-specific authentication and authorization procedure with respect to the first network slice of the communication network.
Regarding claim 2, Lee et al, discloses everything claimed as explained in claim 1, except the features of the access and mobility management node is configured to transmit the information of the network slice maximum bit rate for the wireless communication terminal authorized by the AAA-S to a policy control node to acquire the information of the network slice maximum bit rate for the wireless communication terminal authorized by the policy control node.
However, Cao et al, from the same field of endeavor discloses an access and mobility management node is configured to transmit the information of the network slice maximum bit rate (configuring aggregate maximum bit rate; provide additional information to the AMF) for the wireless communication terminal authorized by the AAA-S to a policy control node to acquire the information of the network slice maximum bit rate for the wireless communication terminal authorized by the policy control node (the UE may control a sum of the maximum uplink data rates of non-GBR QoS flows of all PDU sessions associated with S-NSSAI up to the slice; furthermore, the AMF 102 can determine whether to add a single network slice selection assistance information the QoS information comprises a slice-specific aggregate maximum bit rate specific to the slice; procedure for retrieving slice information from an authentication, authorization, and accounting server (paragraph 0089, 0124-0125). Note that the AAA-S may request the NSSAA Re- authentication or revocation for an S-NSSAI which had been previously successfully authenticated/authorized. Network Slice Specific Authentication and Authorization Function supports network slice-specific authentication and authorization with a AAA Server (AAA-S). Furthermore, the UE sends a registration request including an NSSAI to the AMF/SEAF, where the UE, AMF/SEAF, and ARPF/UDM perform a primary authentication of the UE. The AMF/SEAF determines if the network slice identified by NSSAI requires a slice-specific authentication of the UE. The AMF/SEAF sends a registration accept message to the UE, which responds with a registration complete message; the UE and AAA-S run an EAP-based authentication via AMF (EAP Authenticator) and NSSAAF (paragraph 0084-0089, 0124-0125). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Cao to the communication system of Lee in order to provide a method for performing a network-slice-specific authentication and authorization procedure with respect to the first network slice of the communication network.
Regarding claim 4, Lee et al, discloses everything claimed as explained in claim 1, except the features of the access and mobility management node is configured to receive the information of the network slice maximum bit rate for the wireless communication terminal authorized by the AAA-S during a network slice specific authentication and authorization (NSSAA) procedure for a piece of Single-Network Slice Selection Assistant Information (S-NSSAI) for the network slice.
However, Cao et al, from the same field of endeavor discloses an access and mobility management node that is configured to transmit the information of the network slice maximum bit rate (configuring aggregate maximum bit rate; provide additional information to the AMF) for the wireless communication terminal authorized by the AAA-S during a network slice specific authentication and authorization (NSSAA) procedure (performing a network-slice-specific authentication and authorization procedure with respect to a first network slice of the communication network ; paragraph 0011-0012, 0027-0028) for a piece of Single-Network Slice Selection Assistant Information (S-NSSAI) for the network slice (Network Slice Specific Authentication and Authorization Function (NSSAAF) supports network slice-specific authentication and authorization with a AAA Server (AAA-S). In addition, Cao et al, determines that the stored status for the UE indicates that a new NSSAA procedure should be executed and can include receiving from an Authentication, Authorization and Accounting, AAA, Server, AAA-S, after a successful NSSAA procedure by the UE with respect to the first network slice, a request to revoke authorization for the UE with respect to the first network slice (paragraph 0014-0015). Note that the AAA-S may request the NSSAA Re- authentication or revocation for an S-NSSAI which had been previously successfully authenticated/authorized. Furthermore, the UE sends a registration request including an NSSAI to the AMF/SEAF, where the UE, AMF/SEAF, and ARPF/UDM perform a primary authentication of the UE. The AMF/SEAF determines if the network slice identified by NSSAI requires a slice-specific authentication of the UE. The AMF/SEAF sends a registration accept message to the UE, which responds with a registration complete message; the UE and AAA-S run an EAP-based authentication via AMF (EAP Authenticator) and NSSAAF (paragraph 0084-0089, 0124-0125). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Cao to the communication system of Lee in order to provide a method for performing a network-slice-specific authentication and authorization procedure with respect to the first network slice of the communication network.
Regarding claims 5, 6, Lee et al, discloses everything claimed as explained in claim 1, except the features of the access and mobility management node that is configured to subscribe updates of the information of the network slice for the wireless communication terminal authorized by the AAA-S from the network slice specific authentication and authorization node
, wherein the access and mobility management node is configured to receive the information of the network slice maximum bit rate for the wireless communication terminal authorized by the AAA-S after a successful NSSAA procedure for a piece of S-NSSAI for the network slice.
However, Cao et al, from the same field of endeavor discloses a method that includes performing a network-slice-specific authentication and authorization procedure with respect to a first network slice of the communication network (paragraph 0011-0012, 0027-0028). In addition, Cao et al, determines that the stored status for the UE indicates that a new NSSAA procedure should be executed and can include receiving from an Authentication, Authorization and Accounting, AAA, Server, AAA-S, after a successful NSSAA procedure by the UE with respect to the first network slice, a request to revoke authorization for the UE with respect to the first network slice (paragraph 0014-0015). Note that the AAA-S may request the NSSAA Re- authentication or revocation for an S-NSSAI which had been previously successfully authenticated/authorized. Network Slice Specific Authentication and Authorization Function (NSSAAF) supports network slice-specific authentication and authorization with a AAA Server (AAA-S). Furthermore, the UE sends a registration request including an NSSAI to the AMF/SEAF, where the UE, AMF/SEAF, and ARPF/UDM perform a primary authentication of the UE. The AMF/SEAF determines if the network slice identified by NSSAI requires a slice-specific authentication of the UE. The AMF/SEAF sends a registration accept message to the UE, which responds with a registration complete message; the UE and AAA-S run an EAP-based authentication via AMF (EAP Authenticator) and NSSAAF (paragraph 0084-0089, 0124-0125). Note that the AMF can select an access type to be used to perform the NSSAA procedures based on network policies (paragraph 0112-0116). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Cao to the communication system of Lee in order to provide a method for performing a network-slice-specific authentication and authorization procedure with respect to the first network slice of the communication network.
Regarding claim 7, Lee et al, discloses a wireless communication method (a data rate control method of a terminal in an access and mobility management function device of a wireless communication system; abstract, paragraph 0015) comprising: receiving (receive a protocol data unit session create request message including network slice information for the UE and UE information from an access and mobility function device through the network interface; paragraph 0013), by a network slice specific authentication and authorization node (an access and mobility management function device of a wireless communication system; receiving subscription information, including network slice information which can be allocated to the terminal ; paragraph 0011, 0013), information of a network slice maximum bit rate (read as: the QoS information comprises a slice-specific aggregate maximum bit rate (AMBR) specific to the slice; furthermore, the aggregate rate limit QoS parameter associated with the network slice may include, for example, an aggregate maximum bit rate per network slice; in addition, it determines an aggregate maximum bit rate of single network slice selection assistance information of the PDU Session for the UE, based on the SM policy association, establishes an N4 session with the AMF, based on the SM policy association and the S-NSSAI-AMBR, and informs the AMF device of the session establishment with the UPF; it means that the information of a network slice maximum bit rate for the user equipment can be received by the policy control node or the access and mobility management function (AMF) (see paragraph 0011, 0051, 0275, 0277 for details) for a wireless communication terminal (SMF1 200 may authenticate the UE request received in operation 214 on the basis of the UE subscription information; for example, SMF1 200 may identify whether the S-NSSAI and the DNN requested by the UE included in the PDU session create request message are included in the UE subscription information; in addition, the PCF 103 may determine an authorized slice-AMBR of the received subscribed slice-AMBR and the serving network slice-AMBR ; paragraph 0044, 0054, 0056, 0058).
However, Lee et al, does not specifically teach that the wireless communication terminal is authorized by an “ Authentication, Authorization, and Accounting-Server from a network slice specific authentication and authorization node.
On the other hand, Cao et al, from the same field of endeavor, teaches that a user equipment is authorized by an “ Authentication, Authorization, and Accounting-Server from a network slice specific authentication and authorization node to access network resources (read as: the UE indicates a new NSSAA procedure that can include receiving from an Authentication, Authorization and Accounting, AAA, Server, AAA-S, after a successful NSSAA procedure by the UE with respect to the first network slice, a request to revoke authorization for the UE with respect to the first network slice ; it means that the AAA server identifies the user terminal, by verifying credentials (user identities) like username/password; paragraph 0014-0015). Network Slice Specific Authentication and Authorization Function (NSSAAF) supports network slice-specific authentication and authorization with a AAA Server (AAA-S). Furthermore, the UE sends a registration request including an NSSAI to the AMF/SEAF, where the UE, AMF/SEAF, and ARPF/UDM perform a primary authentication of the UE. The AMF/SEAF determines if the network slice identified by NSSAI requires a slice-specific authentication of the UE. The AMF/SEAF sends a registration accept message to the UE, which responds with a registration complete message; the UE and AAA-S run an EAP-based authentication via AMF (EAP Authenticator) and NSSAAF (paragraph 0084-0089, 0124-0125). It means that the AAA server handles user requests for access to computer resources and, provides authentication, authorization, and accounting services. Note that AAA servers are usually used by Internet service providers to effectively manage subscriber services by authenticating and authorizing customers to connect to their networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Cao to the communication system of Lee in order to provide a method for performing a network-slice-specific authentication and authorization procedure with respect to the first network slice of the communication network.
Regarding claim 8, Lee et al, discloses everything claimed as explained in claim 7, except the features of the network slice specific authentication and authorization node is configured to receive the information of the network slice maximum bit rate for the wireless communication terminal authorized by the AAA-S during a network slice specific authentication and authorization (NSSAA)procedure for a piece of Single-Network Slice Selection Assistant Information (S-NSSAI) for a network slice.
However, Cao et al, from the same field of endeavor discloses an access and mobility management node that is configured to transmit the information of the network slice maximum bit rate (configuring aggregate maximum bit rate; provide additional information to the AMF) for the wireless communication terminal authorized by the AAA-S during a network slice specific authentication and authorization (NSSAA) procedure (performing a network-slice-specific authentication and authorization procedure with respect to a first network slice of the communication network ; paragraph 0011-0012, 0027-0028) for a piece of Single-Network Slice Selection Assistant Information (S-NSSAI) for the network slice (Network Slice Specific Authentication and Authorization Function (NSSAAF) supports network slice-specific authentication and authorization with a AAA Server (AAA-S). In addition, Cao et al, determines that the stored status for the UE indicates that a new NSSAA procedure should be executed and can include receiving from an Authentication, Authorization and Accounting, AAA, Server, AAA-S, after a successful NSSAA procedure by the UE with respect to the first network slice, a request to revoke authorization for the UE with respect to the first network slice (paragraph 0014-0015). Note that the AAA-S may request the NSSAA Re- authentication or revocation for an S-NSSAI which had been previously successfully authenticated/authorized. Furthermore, the UE sends a registration request including an NSSAI to the AMF/SEAF, where the UE, AMF/SEAF, and ARPF/UDM perform a primary authentication of the UE. The AMF/SEAF determines if the network slice identified by NSSAI requires a slice-specific authentication of the UE. The AMF/SEAF sends a registration accept message to the UE, which responds with a registration complete message; the UE and AAA-S run an EAP-based authentication via AMF (EAP Authenticator) and NSSAAF (paragraph 0084-0089, 0124-0125). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Cao to the communication system of Lee in order to provide a method for performing a network-slice-specific authentication and authorization procedure with respect to the first network slice of the communication network.
Regarding claims 9, 10, Lee et al, discloses everything claimed as explained in claim 7, except the features of the network slice specific authentication and authorization node is configured to subscribe updates of the information of the network slice for the wireless communication terminal authorized by the AAA-S from the AAA-SS or the AAA-P, wherein the network slice specific authentication and authorization is configured to receive the information of the network slice for the wireless communication terminal authorized by the AAA-S after a successful NSSA procedure for a piece of Single-Network Slice Selection Assistant Information (S-NSSAI) for a network slice.
However, Cao et al, from the same field of endeavor discloses a network slice specific authentication and authorization node (performing a network-slice-specific authentication and authorization procedure with respect to a first network slice of the communication network (paragraph 0011-0012, 0027-0028) is configured to subscribe updates of the information of the network slice for the wireless communication terminal authorized by the AAA-S from the AAA-SS or the AAA-P (the AAA-S may request the NSSAA Re- authentication or revocation for an S-NSSAI which had been previously successfully authenticated/authorized; in addition, Network Slice Specific Authentication and Authorization Function (NSSAAF) supports network slice-specific authentication and authorization with a AAA Server (AAA-S); paragraph 0084-0089, 0124-0125), wherein the network slice specific authentication and authorization is configured to receive (receiving from an Authentication, Authorization and Accounting, AAA, Server, AAA-S, after a successful NSSAA procedure by the UE with respect to the first network slice, a request to revoke authorization for the UE with respect to the first network slice ; paragraph 0014-0015) the information of the network slice for the wireless communication terminal authorized by the AAA-S after a successful NSSA procedure for a piece of Single-Network Slice Selection Assistant Information (S-NSSAI) for a network slice (read as: determine that the stored status for the UE indicates that a new NSSAA procedure should be executed and can include receiving from an Authentication, Authorization and Accounting, AAA, Server, AAA-S, after a successful NSSAA procedure by the UE with respect to the first network slice, a request to revoke authorization for the UE with respect to the first network slice ; paragraph 0014-0015). Note that the AAA-S may request the NSSAA Re- authentication or revocation for an S-NSSAI which had been previously successfully authenticated/authorized. Network Slice Specific Authentication and Authorization Function (NSSAAF) supports network slice-specific authentication and authorization with a AAA Server (AAA-S). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Cao to the communication system of Lee in order to provide a method for performing a network-slice-specific authentication and authorization procedure with respect to the first network slice of the communication network.
Regarding claim 11, Lee et al, discloses a wireless communication method (a data rate control method of a terminal in an access and mobility management function device of a wireless communication system; abstract, paragraph 0015) comprising: transmitting (the PCF 103 may transmit a policy association response message to SMF1 200 and establish policy association paragraph 0117), by an Authentication (read as: slice procedure for retrieving slice information from an authentication, authorization, and accounting server; furthermore, the PCF 103 may determine an authorized session-AMBR; the PCF 103 may transmit a policy association response message to SMF1 200 and establish policy association; the policy association response message may include at least one the authorized slice-AMBR and the authorized session-AMBR; paragraph 0089, 0117) information of a network slice maximum bit rate (read as: the QoS information comprises a slice-specific aggregate maximum bit rate (AMBR) specific to the slice; furthermore, the aggregate rate limit QoS parameter associated with the network slice may include, for example, an aggregate maximum bit rate per network slice; in addition, it determines an aggregate maximum bit rate of single network slice selection assistance information of the PDU Session for the UE, based on the SM policy association, establishes an N4 session with the AMF, based on the SM policy association and the S-NSSAI-AMBR, and informs the AMF device of the session establishment with the UPF; it means that the information of a network slice maximum bit rate for the user equipment can be received by the policy control node or the access and mobility management function (AMF) (see paragraph 0011, 0051, 0275, 0277 for details) for a wireless communication terminal (SMF1 200 may authenticate the UE request received in operation 214 on the basis of the UE subscription information; for example, SMF1 200 may identify whether the S-NSSAI and the DNN requested by the UE included in the PDU session create request message are included in the UE subscription information; in addition, the PCF 103 may determine an authorized slice-AMBR of the received subscribed slice-AMBR and the serving network slice-AMBR ; paragraph 0044, 0054, 0056, 0058).
However, Lee et al, does not specifically teach that the wireless communication terminal is authorized by an “ Authentication, Authorization, and Accounting-Server from a network slice specific authentication and authorization node.
On the other hand, Cao et al, from the same field of endeavor, teaches that a user equipment is authorized by an “ Authentication, Authorization, and Accounting-Server from a network slice specific authentication and authorization node to access network resources (read as: the UE indicates a new NSSAA procedure that can include receiving from an Authentication, Authorization and Accounting, AAA, Server, AAA-S, after a successful NSSAA procedure by the UE with respect to the first network slice, a request to revoke authorization for the UE with respect to the first network slice ; it means that the AAA server identifies the user terminal, by verifying credentials (user identities) like username/password; paragraph 0014-0015). Network Slice Specific Authentication and Authorization Function (NSSAAF) supports network slice-specific authentication and authorization with a AAA Server (AAA-S). Furthermore, the UE sends a registration request including an NSSAI to the AMF/SEAF, where the UE, AMF/SEAF, and ARPF/UDM perform a primary authentication of the UE. The AMF/SEAF determines if the network slice identified by NSSAI requires a slice-specific authentication of the UE. The AMF/SEAF sends a registration accept message to the UE, which responds with a registration complete message; the UE and AAA-S run an EAP-based authentication via AMF (EAP Authenticator) and NSSAAF (paragraph 0084-0089, 0124-0125). It means that the AAA server handles user requests for access to computer resources and, provides authentication, authorization, and accounting services. Note that AAA servers are usually used by Internet service providers to effectively manage subscriber services by authenticating and authorizing customers to connect to their networks. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Cao to the communication system of Lee in order to provide a method for performing a network-slice-specific authentication and authorization procedure with respect to the first network slice of the communication network.
Regarding claim 12, Lee et al, discloses everything claimed as explained in claim 11, except the features of the AAA-S is configured to transmit the information of the network slice maximum bit rate for the wireless communication terminal authorized by the AAA-S during a network slice specific authentication and authorization (NSSAA) procedure for a piece of Single-Network Slice Selection Assistant Information (S-NSSAI) for a network slice
However, Cao et al, from the same field of endeavor discloses a method that includes performing a network-slice-specific authentication and authorization procedure with respect to a first network slice of the communication network (paragraph 0011-0012, 0027-0028). In addition, Cao et al, determines that the stored status for the UE indicates that a new NSSAA procedure should be executed and can include receiving from an Authentication, Authorization and Accounting, AAA, Server, AAA-S, after a successful NSSAA procedure by the UE with respect to the first network slice, a request to revoke authorization for the UE with respect to the first network slice (paragraph 0014-0015). Note that the AAA-S may request the NSSAA Re- authentication or revocation for an S-NSSAI which had been previously successfully authenticated/authorized. Network Slice Specific Authentication and Authorization Function (NSSAAF) supports network slice-specific authentication and authorization with a AAA Server (AAA-S). Furthermore, the UE sends a registration request including an NSSAI to the AMF/SEAF, where the UE, AMF/SEAF, and ARPF/UDM perform a primary authentication of the UE. The AMF/SEAF determines if the network slice identified by NSSAI requires a slice-specific authentication of the UE. The AMF/SEAF sends a registration accept message to the UE, which responds with a registration complete message; the UE and AAA-S run an EAP-based authentication via AMF (EAP Authenticator) and NSSAAF (paragraph 0084-0089, 0124-0125). Note that the AMF can select an access type to be used to perform the NSSAA procedures based on network policies (paragraph 0112-0116). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Cao to the communication system of Lee in order to provide a method for performing a network-slice-specific authentication and authorization procedure with respect to the first network slice of the communication network.
Regarding claims 13, 14, Lee et al, discloses everything claimed as explained in claim 11, except the features of the AAA-S is configured to receive a subscription for updates of the information of the network slice for the wireless communication terminal authorized by the AAA-S from the AAA-P or the network slice specific authentication and authorization node,
wherein the AAA-S is configured to transmit the information of the network slice maximum bit rate for the wireless communication terminal authorized by the AAA-S after a successful NSSAA procedure for a piece of S-NSSAI for a network slice.
However, Cao et al, from the same field of endeavor discloses a method that includes performing a network-slice-specific authentication and authorization procedure with respect to a first network slice of the communication network (paragraph 0011-0012, 0027-0028). In addition, Cao et al, determines that the stored status for the UE indicates that a new NSSAA procedure should be executed and can include receiving from an Authentication, Authorization and Accounting, AAA, Server, AAA-S, after a successful NSSAA procedure by the UE with respect to the first network slice, a request to revoke authorization for the UE with respect to the first network slice (paragraph 0014-0015). Note that the AAA-S may request the NSSAA Re- authentication or revocation for an S-NSSAI which had been previously successfully authenticated/authorized. Network Slice Specific Authentication and Authorization Function (NSSAAF) supports network slice-specific authentication and authorization with a AAA Server (AAA-S). Furthermore, the UE sends a registration request including an NSSAI to the AMF/SEAF, where the UE, AMF/SEAF, and ARPF/UDM perform a primary authentication of the UE. The AMF/SEAF determines if the network slice identified by NSSAI requires a slice-specific authentication of the UE. The AMF/SEAF sends a registration accept message to the UE, which responds with a registration complete message; the UE and AAA-S run an EAP-based authentication via AMF (EAP Authenticator) and NSSAAF (paragraph 0084-0089, 0124-0125). Note that the AMF can select an access type to be used to perform the NSSAA procedures based on network policies (paragraph 0112-0116). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to apply the technique of Cao to the communication system of Lee in order to provide a method for performing a network-slice-specific authentication and authorization procedure with respect to the first network slice of the communication network.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
MARCEAU MILORD
Examiner
Art Unit 2641
/MARCEAU MILORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641