DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments filed after non-final office action on August 15, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 1 is pending in the instant application and is examined on the merits of this office action.
Maintained/Revised Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 remains rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seferovic (WO2015000082 A1) in view of Horn (EP3027058 B1, cited previously) and Taverniti (Frontiers in Microbiology, 2012, volume 3, pages 2-12) and Taverniti* (Genes Nutr. 2011 Apr 16;6(3):261–274).*All references cited previously.
Seferovic teaches a composition for use in oral hygiene comprising lactobacillus Helveticus (see claim 1). Seferovic teaches treating oral conditions or disease comprising orally administering the composition comprising lactobacillus Helveticus (see claims 1 and 24). Seferovic teaches wherein the composition is a food (claim 26) and treating candidiasis (fungal infection, claims 28). Seferovic is silent to wherein the lactobacillus helveticus is dead cells.
However, Horn teaches specifically Lactobacillus Helveticus as the probiotic in the food (see paragraph 0195). Horn additionally teaches wherein the probiotics can be heat/treated/killed and are preferred. Horn teaches “In some instances, heat-treated probiotics or probiotics that are otherwise rendered non-viable, and/or immune enhancing constituents derived from heat killed or non-viable probiotics, are preferred and are used in the compositions described herein. For example, heat killed Lactobacillis species have been shown to augment innate and acquired immunity in mammals” (see paragraph 0211).
Taverniti teaches that heat inactivated L helveticus cells were observed to maintain part of the antagonist activity, suggesting that the capacity of L helveticus to block pathogen invasion is not completely dependent on the presence of metabolically active bacterial cells and the capacity could be due to the presence of specific cell components, such as the S-layer protein, on the bacterial surface (see page 2, left column, end of first paragraph).
Taverniti* teaches “the use of killed/inactivated bacteria, as long as the beneficial effects are retained, would represent an advantage because it is possible to make these bacteria potentially harmless through a tailored inactivation treatment”. Taverniti teaches “noticeable advantage over probiotics of allowing for the generation of safer and more stable products” (see last paragraph).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to kill/inactivate the Lactobacillus Helveticus of Seferovic for treatment of the oral fungal infection. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so given inactivated L. helveticus bacteria will retain the activity, be more stable and safer than using live bacteria. There is a reasonable expectation of success given that Horn and Taverniti teach that heat inactivation of L helveticus maintains their activity and can be used in food compositions/supplements.
Regarding the limitation of “stimulate B-defensin production in oral epithelial cells of a subject”, Seferovic in view of Horn, Taverniti and Taverniti* teaches the same method of the instant claims including administering a drink comprising Lactobacillus Helveticus dead cells and thus, the result of stimulating B-defensin will necessarily occur.
Response to Applicant’s Argument
Applicant argues that Horn’s teaching that probiotics may be heat treated or killed is not a general teaching, but rather refers to specific strains of probiotics supported by particular research reports. Applicant argues that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have understood Horn as providing a general motivation to inactivate Lactobacillus helveticus in Seferovic’s compositions.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but not found persuasive. Horn (paragraph 0211) expressly teaches that “in some instances, heat treated probiotics or probiotics that are otherwise rendered non-viable…are preferred” in food compositions, and that “heat killed lactobacillus species have been shown to augment innate and acquired immunity in mammals”. These statement are not limited to any one strain but apply broadly to Lactobacillus species, including L. helveticus. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that Horn provides motivation use inactivated L. helveticus in food based probiotic applications such as Seferovic’s oral compositions.
Applicant argues that Taverniti only demonstrates that inactivated L. Helveticus can block adhesion or invasion of bacterial pathogens (E. coli, campylobacter) in intestinal epithelial cells. Applicant contends that a person of ordinary skill would not have applied this teaching to fungal infections in oral epithelial cells.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but not found persuasive. Taverniti teaches the broader principle that the immunomodulatory activity of inactivated L. helveticus is not dependent on viability, but is mediated by structural components such as S-Layer proteins. The fact that Tavernitis experimental examples involve intestinal epithelial cells does not limit the general teaching. Oral and intestinal epithelial cells are both mucosal epithelial tissues with shared innate immune mechanisms, including B-defensin production. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably expected such immunomodulatory effects to occur in oral epithelial cell as well, particularly in the context of Seferovic’s treatment of oral candidiasis.
Applicant argues that Taverniti’s statement that killed/inactivated bacteria are useful “as long as the beneficial effects are retained”, and argues that this teaching does not guarantee retained activity. Applicant contends that POSA would not have been motivated to used inactivated L. helveticus in Seferovic’s method without using specific evidence that beneficial effects against oral candidiasis would be retained.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but not found persuasive. Taverniti provides experimental evidence that inactivated L. Helveticus cells retain activity, including the ability to block pathogen invasion. Thus, Taverniti does not merely present a condition statement, but rather affirms that beneficial effects are retained upon activation. A POSA would therefore have been motivated to apply this teaching to Seferovic’s method, with a reasonable expectation that inactivated L. helveticus would remain effective in stimulating mucosal epithelial defenses.
Applicant argues that because the effects of probiotics depend on pathogen strain and epithelial cell type, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have had a reasonable expectation that inactivated L. helveticus would stimulate B-defensin production in oral epithelial cells to combat fungal infection.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but not found persuasive. Seferovic already teaches treating oral candidiasis, a fungal infection of oral epithelial cells, with L. Helveticus. Thus, contact with oral epithelial cells is inherent in Seferovic’s disclosure. Taverniti teaches that inactivated L. helveticus retains immunodulatory activity, while Horn provides motivation to prefer heat killed probiotics in food compositions. B-defensins are known components of the innate immune response of mucosal epithelial cells. A POSA would have reasonably expected that administering inactivated L. helveticus to oral epithelial cells for treating candidiasis, as in Seferovic, would stimulate epithelial innate immune responses including B-defensin production. The claimed result is therefore an inherent and expected outcome of the combined teachings.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERINNE R DABKOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 1654
/JULIE HA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1654