DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The following is a non-final office action in response to applicants’ amendment filed on 08/31/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 05/29/2026. Claims 1-15 have been cancelled. Claims 16-27 have been newly added. Claims 16-27 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 08/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive/ moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Main Argument(s):
Udalcovs teaches that, for a time synchronization service requested by an AF, the AMF delivers to the RAN a Uu time synchronization error budget provided by the TSCTSF. However, D1 fails to disclose that the AMF receives a separate, subscription-based error budget from the UDM. Accordingly, it is respectfully asserted that the reference fails to teach or suggest determining to use one of two error budgets in a situation where the two error budgets coexist and conflict at the AMF, either alone or as combined.
Response:
Examiner has considered the applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees. Due to the cancellation of Claims 1-15 and addition of Claims 16-27, the Office no longer solely relies on the combination of Udalcovs and Zang and instead introduces the combination of Udalcovs and Zang and Jagadeesan et al. (US 2010/0153584 A1). Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive with respect to the proposed combination. Although Udalcovs teaches the AMF receiving time synchronization parameters, including a Uu synchronization error budget, from the PCF (¶0073), Zang further teaches the AMF obtaining clock subscription data directly from the UDM, including time synchronization error budget information (Fig. 5 & ¶0232-¶0236). Therefore, the proposed combination provides both the PCF-based and UDM-based error budget information recited in Claim 16.
Second Argument(s):
Zang teaches that the TSCTSF receives clock subscription data of a UE from the UDM and calculates and delivers a Uu error budget to the PCF. However, Zang is directed to operations of the TSCTSF, and either alone or as combined fails to teach or suggest that the AMF receives error budgets via two different paths and determines to use one of the paths, as directed to in the claims.
Response:
Examiner has considered the applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees. Due to the cancellation of Claims 1-15 and addition of Claims 16-27, the Office no longer solely relies on the combination of Udalcovs and Zang and instead introduces the combination of Udalcovs and Zang and Jagadeesan et al. (US 2010/0153584 A1). Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because Zang further teaches where the AMF directly communicates with the UDM. Zang teaches the AMF transmitting a clock subscription data request to the UDM and receiving a response containing UE clock subscription data, including synchronization error budget information (Fig. 5 & ¶0232-¶0236). Therefore, Zang is not limited to solely the TSCTSF-based procedure identified by the applicant.
Third Argument(s):
Therefore, it is respectfully submitted that Udalcovs in view of Zang fails to teach or suggest all that is recited in the pending claims.
Response:
Examiner has considered the applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees. Due to the cancellation of Claims 1-15 and addition of Claims 16-27, the Office no longer solely relies on the combination of Udalcovs and Zang and instead introduces the combination of Udalcovs and Zang and Jagadeesan et al. (US 2010/0153584 A1). Udalcovs teaches the PCF-provided synchronization error budget (¶0073) and Zang teaches the UDM-provided synchronization error budget (¶0232-¶0236). Jagadeesan additionally teaches a priority-based mechanism for resolving conflicts between different synchronization sources by selecting a preferred source according to the predetermined criteria (¶0027, ¶0030-¶0032). Therefore, the proposed combination incorporates a known synchronization selection mechanism into an AMF receiving synchronization information through the two disclosed paths.
Fourth Argument(s):
Moreover, Applicant respectfully notes that in Li, the UDM stores time synchronization subscription information of a UE (i.e., a 5G access stratum time distribution indication and a related service area), and that the AMF obtains the subscription information and instructs the NG-RAN to start or stop the time synchronization service. However, Li either alone or as combined fails to teach or suggest that the subscription information includes an error budget and that the AMF separately receives, from the PCF, an AF request-based error budget. Therefore, Li either alone or as combined fails to teach or suggest determining to use one of two error budgets at the AMF, as directed to in the pending claims.
Response:
Examiner has considered the applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees. Due to the cancellation of Claims 1-15 and addition of Claims 16-27, the Office no longer solely relies on the Li and instead introduces the combination of Udalcovs and Zang and Jagadeesan et al. (US 2010/0153584 A1). Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because the proposed combination relies on Zang to teach the subscription-based synchronization error budget. Zang discloses that the UE clock subscription data obtained by the AMF from the UDM may include a time synchronization error budget (Fig. 5 & ¶0232-¶0236).
Fifth Argument(s):
In addition, 3GPP teaches contents related to policy provisioning of the PCF but fails to teach or suggest what operation is to be performed by the AMF, when the AMF has received the same type of parameters from the PCF and the UDM, respectively, to prevent confusion that may arise in time synchronization of the wireless communication system, in contrast to the pending claims.
Response:
Examiner has considered the applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees. Due to the cancellation of Claims 1-15 and addition of Claims 16-27, the Office no longer solely relies on the previously cited 3GPP and instead introduces the combination of Udalcovs and Zang and Jagadeesan et al. (US 2010/0153584 A1). Jagadeesan teaches resolving conflicts among multiple synchronization sources using predetermined priority criteria (¶0027, ¶0030-¶0032). Jagadeesan further teaches permitting a preferred synchronization source to control the time value while preventing competing sources from simultaneously controlling synchronization (¶0032). Therefore, Jagadeesan teaches a known conflict-resolution technique that could be applied to the synchronization information obtained by the AMF in the proposed combination of Udalcovs and Zang.
Sixth Argument(s):
That is, the pending claims are directed to when a subscription-based parameter and an AF- request-based parameter coexist, and thus conflict, at a single AMF, in which case the AMF determines to use the first error budget received from the PCF among the two error budgets. In contrast, while Udalcovs teaches the AF-request-based path, and Li teaches the subscription-based path, neither reference or any cited reference, either alone or as combined, teaches or suggests the same type of parameters delivered via the two paths conflicting at a single AMF as directed to in the pending claims. Zang teaches operations of the TSCTSF, and 3GPP teaches policy provisioning of the PCF, and neither reference either alone or as combined teach or suggests the parameter conflict situation at the AMF as directed to in the pending claims.
Response:
Examiner has considered the applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees. Due to the cancellation of Claims 1-15 and addition of Claims 16-27, the Office no longer solely relies on the combination of Udalcovs and Zang and instead introduces the combination of Udalcovs and Zang and Jagadeesan et al. (US 2010/0153584 A1). Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because Jagadeesan teaches resolving conflicting synchronization information by prioritizing one synchronization source over another according to predetermined selection criteria (¶0027, ¶0030-¶0032). Jagadeesan further teaches allowing one preferred source to control synchronization rather than simultaneously applying conflicting sources (¶0032). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply such a priority-based selection mechanism to the synchronization error-budget information disclosed by Udalcovs and Zang, with the PCF-provided, service specific budget designated as the preferred budget, in order to maintain a consistent configuration for time synchronization and avoid inconsistent requirements being transmitted/forwarded to the NG-RAN.
Seventh Argument(s):
It is respectfully asserted that even if the cited references may be combined as alleged, such that a configuration in which the two paths coexist could be derived, which Applicant respectfully asserts would run afoul of the obviousness requirements for the foregoing reasons, what may be derived therefrom is the two parameters conflicting, not how such a conflict is to be resolved, such as whether one of the two error budgets is to be preferentially selected and, if so, which error budget is to be prioritized, or whether a new error budget derived by appropriately adjusting the two error budgets is to be used, as directed to in the pending claims.
Response:
Examiner has considered the applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees. Due to the cancellation of Claims 1-15 and addition of Claims 16-27, the Office no longer solely relies on the combination of Udalcovs and Zang and instead introduces the combination of Udalcovs and Zang and Jagadeesan et al. (US 2010/0153584 A1). Applicants’ argument is not persuasive because Claim 16 recites determining to use the first time synchronization error budget among the first and second time synchronization error budgets. The claim does not expressly require determining the budgets have conflicting numerical values or calculating a new budget. The relevant determination is the selection of the first synchronization error budget among the two available budgets, as proposed through the combination of Udalcovs, Zang and Jagadeesan. In other words, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., what may be derived therefrom is the two parameters conflicting, not how such a conflict is to be resolved, such as whether one of the two error budgets is to be preferentially selected and, if so, which error budget is to be prioritized, or whether a new error budget derived by appropriately adjusting the two error budgets is to be used) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Udalcovs et al. (US 2025/0220604), Udalcovs hereinafter and Zang et al. (US 2025/0227637), Zang hereinafter, and further in view of Jagadeesan et al. (US 2010/0153584 A1), Jagadeesan hereinafter.
Re. Claim 16,
Udalcovs teaches a method performed by an access and mobility management function (AMF) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: (Fig. 1 & ¶0003 - As shown in FIG. 1, user equipments (UEs) connect to the AN as well as an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF). ¶0026 - Furthermore, in order to enforce that the requested TS service is enabled for UEs (a specific UE or a group of UEs) only in that coverage area, the proposed embodiments exploit the functionality provided by an AMF of tracking and reporting UE mobility events (see, e.g., clause 5.3.4.4 of TS 23.501));
receiving, from a policy control function (PCF), a first request message for a time synchronization service including first information on a first time synchronization error budget for a user equipment (UE); (Fig. 5 & ¶0073 - In response to receiving notification 530, PCF 402 may deliver 5G AS Time Distribution information (TDI) … For example, as described in step 7 in clause 4.15.9.4 of TS 23.502 “PCF may initiate an AM Policy Association Modification procedure for the UE as described in clause 4.16.2.2 of TS 23.502 to provide AMF the 5G access stratum time distribution parameters);
and transmitting, to a base station, the first time synchronization error budget (¶0073 - As part of this, the AMF shall, if supported, send the 5G access stratum time distribution indication (enable, disable) and the Uu time synchronization error budget, when they are available, to an NG-RAN node using NGAP procedures (e.g., UE Context Setup/Modification) specified in TS 38.413).
Yet, Udalcovs does not explicitly teach identifying second information on a second time synchronization error budget for the UE, the second information being received from a unified data management (UDM); determining to use the first time synchronization error budget among the first time synchronization error budget and the second time synchronization error budget;
However, in the analogous art, Zang explicitly teaches identifying second information on a second time synchronization error budget for the UE, the second information being received from a unified data management (UDM); (Fig. 5 & ¶0230 - The attach procedure may be performed between the UE, a RAN, the AMF, and a UDM. ¶0233 - For example, during configuration of the attach procedure, the AMF may send the first clock subscription data request to the UDM to obtain the clock subscription data of the UE, to trigger the time provision for the UE. ¶0234 - S503: The UDM sends a first clock subscription data response to the AMF. Correspondingly, the AMF receives the first clock subscription data response from the UDM);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zang to the teaching of Udalcovs. The motivation would be because embodiments of the invention aim to resolve the problem that the terminal device cannot determine the change of 5GS clock information when a terminal device cannot compare the 5GS clock with another available clock, and consequently cannot select the optimal and most accurate clock as a grandmaster (¶0148, Zang).
Yet, Udalcovs and Zang do not explicitly teach determining to use the first time synchronization error budget among the first time synchronization error budget and the second time synchronization error budget;
However, in the analogous art, Jagadeesan explicitly teaches determining to use the first time synchronization error budget among the first time synchronization error budget and the second time synchronization error budget; (Fig. 2-4 & ¶0027 - The time synchronization component 206 includes an interface component 210 that enables the time synchronization component 206 to synchronize the mobile device's 202 time value with one or more communication entities 208 … the entities 208 work independently of one another, and may attempt to update the time value of the mobile device 202 simultaneously. This can result in conflicts when the entities 208 contain differing time values (as previously noted). The time sync component 206 can militate against such conflicts by requiring the entities 208 to register with the time sync component 206, and prioritizing, allowing, and/or disallowing, one or more communication entities 208 from synchronizing time values with the mobile device 202 based on one or more criteria. ¶0030 - In addition, the time sync component 310 can require each of the entities to register with a registration component 314, and query the time sync component 310 before setting the time value 308. The time sync component 310 can prioritize, allow, or disallow the entities 304 from setting the time value 308 based on one or more criteria maintained in the schema component 316. ¶0032 - The time sync component 310 can avoid conflicts caused by multiple entities 304 attempting to set the time value 308 using disparate values by allowing only one entity 304 to set the time value at any given time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Jagadeesan to the teachings of Udalcovs and Zang. The motivation would be because it would be desirable to have a system and/or methodology of allowing, disallowing, or prioritizing the ability of multiple sources to update, set or otherwise synchronize one or more data values in a mobile computing/communication device (¶0003, Jagadeesan).
Re. Claim 17, Udalcovs and Zang and Jagadeesan teach Claim 16.
Yet, Udalcovs does not explicitly teach receiving, from the UE, a second request message for initiating a registration procedure, wherein the second information is received from the UDM during the registration procedure.
However, in the analogous art, Zang explicitly teaches receiving, from the UE, a second request message for initiating a registration procedure, (Fig. 5 & ¶0229 - S501: The UE performs an attach procedure. ¶0230 - The attach procedure may be performed between the UE, a RAN, the AMF, and a UDM. The attach procedure may include random access (RRC connection setup), a registration and authentication procedure, or the like of the UE);
wherein the second information is received from the UDM during the registration procedure (Fig. 5 & ¶0231 - S502: The AMF sends a first clock subscription data request to the UDM. Correspondingly, the UDM receives the first clock subscription data request from the AMF. Please also see ¶0231-¶0235. ¶0236 - For example, the UDM may query for the clock subscription data of the UE based on the identifier of the UE in the received first clock subscription data request, and feed back the clock subscription data of the UE to the AMF);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zang to the teachings of Udalcovs and Jagadeesan. The motivation would be because embodiments of the invention aim to resolve the problem that the terminal device cannot determine the change of 5GS clock information when a terminal device cannot compare the 5GS clock with another available clock, and consequently cannot select the optimal and most accurate clock as a grandmaster (¶0148, Zang).
Re. Claim 18, Udalcovs and Zang and Jagadeesan teach Claim 16.
Yet, Udalcovs does not explicitly teach transmitting, to the UDM, a third request message for subscription data; and receiving, from the UDM, a response message including the subscription data including information on the time synchronization service, wherein the information on the time synchronization service includes the second information.
However, in the analogous art, Zang explicitly teaches transmitting, to the UDM, a third request message for subscription data; (Fig. 5 & ¶0231 - S502: The AMF sends a first clock subscription data request to the UDM. Correspondingly, the UDM receives the first clock subscription data request from the AMF. ¶0232 - The first clock subscription data request (Nudm_SDM_Get_Req) carries an identifier of the UE, and is used to request to obtain clock subscription data of the UE. The clock subscription data of the UE may include one or more of a time synchronization type supported by the UE, a time synchronization error allowed by the UE, or clock precision allowed by the UE. ¶0233 - For example, during configuration of the attach procedure, the AMF may send the first clock subscription data request to the UDM to obtain the clock subscription data of the UE, to trigger the time provision for the UE);
and receiving, from the UDM, a response message including the subscription data including information on the time synchronization service, wherein the information on the time synchronization service includes the second information (Fig. 5 & ¶0234 - S503: The UDM sends a first clock subscription data response to the AMF. Correspondingly, the AMF receives the first clock subscription data response from the UDM. ¶0235 - The first clock subscription data response (Nudm_SDM_Get_Resp) carries the clock subscription data of the UE. ¶0236 - For example, the UDM may query for the clock subscription data of the UE based on the identifier of the UE in the received first clock subscription data request, and feed back the clock subscription data of the UE to the AMF).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zang to the teachings of Udalcovs and Jagadeesan. The motivation would be because embodiments of the invention aim to resolve the problem that the terminal device cannot determine the change of 5GS clock information when a terminal device cannot compare the 5GS clock with another available clock, and consequently cannot select the optimal and most accurate clock as a grandmaster (¶0148, Zang).
Re. Claim 19, Udalcovs and Zang and Jagadeesan teach Claim 18.
Yet, Udalcovs does not explicitly teach the information on the time synchronization service further includes at least one of information indicating whether the UE is to be provisioned with the time synchronization service over an access stratum (AS), period information including at least one period of start and stop times for the time synchronization service, or coverage area information including a list of tracking areas (TAs) for the time synchronization service.
However, in the analogous art, Zang explicitly teaches the information on the time synchronization service further includes at least one of information indicating whether the UE is to be provisioned with the time synchronization service over an access stratum (AS), (Fig. 5 & ¶0232 - The clock subscription data of the UE may include one or more of a time synchronization type supported by the UE, a time synchronization error allowed by the UE, or clock precision allowed by the UE. The time synchronization type may be access stratum time synchronization and/or generalized precision time protocol (gPTP) time synchronization. Please also see ¶0415-¶416. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of”);
period information including at least one period of start and stop times for the time synchronization service, or coverage area information including a list of tracking areas (TAs) for the time synchronization service.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zang to the teachings of Udalcovs and Jagadeesan. The motivation would be because embodiments of the invention aim to resolve the problem that the terminal device cannot determine the change of 5GS clock information when a terminal device cannot compare the 5GS clock with another available clock, and consequently cannot select the optimal and most accurate clock as a grandmaster (¶0148, Zang).
Re. Claim 20, Udalcovs and Zang and Jagadeesan teach Claim 19.
Udalcovs further teaches in case that the information on the time synchronization service further includes the period information, identifying whether a current time is within the at least one period of start and stop times; (Fig. 1, 5 & ¶0008 (Table 1) - Temporal Validity Condition Indicates start-time and stop-time attributes that describe the time period when the time synchronization service for a PTP instance is active. ¶0032 - The existing time synchronization activation/deactivation/modification procedures (clause 4.15.9 of TS 23.502) are used for this purpose);
and in case that the current time is within the at least one period of start and stop times, transmitting, to the base station, information on an AS time distribution for the time synchronization service (Fig. 5 & ¶0073 - In response to receiving notification 530, PCF 402 may deliver 5G AS Time Distribution information (TDI) or remove the 5G AS TDI based on whether the notification indicates the UE has entered or left the PRA (this is described in step 7 in clause 4.15.9.4 of TS 23.502). … As part of this, the AMF shall, if supported, send the 5G access stratum time distribution indication (enable, disable) and the Uu time synchronization error budget, when they are available, to an NG-RAN node using NGAP procedures (e.g., UE Context Setup/Modification) specified in TS 38.413. The NG-RAN node shall, if supported, store the information in the UE Context. Based on this information, the NG-RAN node provides the 5GS access stratum time to the UE according to the Uu time synchronization error budget as provided by the TSCTSF (if supported by UE and NG-RAN)).
Re. Claim 21, Udalcovs and Zang and Jagadeesan teach Claim 19.
Udalcovs further teaches in case that the information on the time synchronization service further includes the coverage area information, identifying whether the UE is located in a TA included in the list of the TAs; (Fig. 1, 5 & ¶0027 - … an AF within an operator's domain may specify a CA using a list of Tracking Area Identities (TAIs) that jointly represents the CA for a specific UE (e.g., identified by a Subscription Permanent ID (SUPI) or a group of UEs (identified by an Internal Group ID)) for whom the requested time synchronization services shall be enabled. ¶0030 - … transmitting to each AMF a subscribe request (e.g., Namf_EventExposure_Subscribe message) containing area of interest (AoI) information (e.g., a list of one more TAIs) identifying one or more AoIs (e.g., tracking areas (TAs)) to get notified whenever the UE enters/leaves any one of the AoIs identified by the AoI information. ¶0031 - The AMF tracks the UE's location to determine the UE's presence in the AoI (e.g., the AMF determines whether UE is has entered or left any one of the TAs identified by the TAI list included in the subscribe request). ¶0069 - In response to the request, if the specific coverage area (CA) targets a group of UEs, then TSCTSF 203 invokes the Nudm_SDM_Get service operation 422 to UDM 204 to map the group ID to a UID list (e.g., list of SUPIs) identifying UEs in that group. That is, in response to message 422, UDM transmits response message 424 that contains the UID list. ¶0072 - Next, the PCF send to the AMF a subscribe message 528 containing PRA information (which is the CA information or is derived from the CA information) identifying a PRA and UID);
and in case that the UE is located in the TA, transmitting, to the base station, information on an AS time distribution for the time synchronization service (Fig. 5 & ¶0068 - This alternative is used in the case of 5G Access Stratum time distribution … That is, in this scenario, PCF 402 subscribes to the UE mobility event notification service from the AMF. Based on the notifications, PCF 402 decides to activate/deactivate the TS accordingly. ¶0072 - Next, the PCF send to the AMF a subscribe message 528 containing PRA information (which is the CA information or is derived from the CA information) identifying a PRA and UID. When the AMF detects the UE has entered/left the PRA, the AMF notifies the PCF by sending notification message 530. ¶0073 - In response to receiving notification 530, PCF 402 may deliver 5G AS Time Distribution information (TDI) or remove the 5G AS TDI based on whether the notification indicates the UE has entered or left the PRA (this is described in step 7 in clause 4.15.9.4 of TS 23.502) … As part of this, the AMF shall, if supported, send the 5G access stratum time distribution indication (enable, disable) and the Uu time synchronization error budget, when they are available, to an NG-RAN node using NGAP procedures (e.g., UE Context Setup/Modification) specified in TS 38.413).
Re. Claim 22,
Udalcovs teaches an access and mobility management function (AMF) in a wireless communication system, the AMF comprising: a transceiver; and a controller operably coupled with the transceiver and configured to: (Fig. 1 & ¶0003 - As shown in FIG. 1, user equipments (UEs) connect to the AN as well as an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF). ¶0026 - Furthermore, in order to enforce that the requested TS service is enabled for UEs (a specific UE or a group of UEs) only in that coverage area, the proposed embodiments exploit the functionality provided by an AMF of tracking and reporting UE mobility events (see, e.g., clause 5.3.4.4 of TS 23.501));
receive, from a policy control function (PCF), a first request message for a time synchronization service including first information on a first time synchronization error budget for a user equipment (UE), (Fig. 5 & ¶0073 - In response to receiving notification 530, PCF 402 may deliver 5G AS Time Distribution information (TDI) … For example, as described in step 7 in clause 4.15.9.4 of TS 23.502 “PCF may initiate an AM Policy Association Modification procedure for the UE as described in clause 4.16.2.2 of TS 23.502 to provide AMF the 5G access stratum time distribution parameters);
and transmit, to a base station, the first time synchronization error budget (¶0073 - As part of this, the AMF shall, if supported, send the 5G access stratum time distribution indication (enable, disable) and the Uu time synchronization error budget, when they are available, to an NG-RAN node using NGAP procedures (e.g., UE Context Setup/Modification) specified in TS 38.413).
Yet, Udalcovs does not explicitly teach identify second information on a second time synchronization error budget for the UE, the second information being received from a unified data management (UDM), determine to use the first time synchronization error budget among the first time synchronization error budget and the second time synchronization error budget,
However, in the analogous art, Zang explicitly teaches identify second information on a second time synchronization error budget for the UE, the second information being received from a unified data management (UDM), (Fig. 5 & ¶0230 - The attach procedure may be performed between the UE, a RAN, the AMF, and a UDM. ¶0233 - For example, during configuration of the attach procedure, the AMF may send the first clock subscription data request to the UDM to obtain the clock subscription data of the UE, to trigger the time provision for the UE. ¶0234 - S503: The UDM sends a first clock subscription data response to the AMF. Correspondingly, the AMF receives the first clock subscription data response from the UDM);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zang to the teaching of Udalcovs. The motivation would be because embodiments of the invention aim to resolve the problem that the terminal device cannot determine the change of 5GS clock information when a terminal device cannot compare the 5GS clock with another available clock, and consequently cannot select the optimal and most accurate clock as a grandmaster (¶0148, Zang).
Yet, Udalcovs and Zang do not explicitly teach determine to use the first time synchronization error budget among the first time synchronization error budget and the second time synchronization error budget,
However, in the analogous art, Jagadeesan explicitly teaches determine to use the first time synchronization error budget among the first time synchronization error budget and the second time synchronization error budget, (Fig. 2-4 & ¶0027 - The time synchronization component 206 includes an interface component 210 that enables the time synchronization component 206 to synchronize the mobile device's 202 time value with one or more communication entities 208 … the entities 208 work independently of one another, and may attempt to update the time value of the mobile device 202 simultaneously. This can result in conflicts when the entities 208 contain differing time values (as previously noted). The time sync component 206 can militate against such conflicts by requiring the entities 208 to register with the time sync component 206, and prioritizing, allowing, and/or disallowing, one or more communication entities 208 from synchronizing time values with the mobile device 202 based on one or more criteria. ¶0030 - In addition, the time sync component 310 can require each of the entities to register with a registration component 314, and query the time sync component 310 before setting the time value 308. The time sync component 310 can prioritize, allow, or disallow the entities 304 from setting the time value 308 based on one or more criteria maintained in the schema component 316. ¶0032 - The time sync component 310 can avoid conflicts caused by multiple entities 304 attempting to set the time value 308 using disparate values by allowing only one entity 304 to set the time value at any given time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Jagadeesan to the teachings of Udalcovs and Zang. The motivation would be because it would be desirable to have a system and/or methodology of allowing, disallowing, or prioritizing the ability of multiple sources to update, set or otherwise synchronize one or more data values in a mobile computing/communication device (¶0003, Jagadeesan).
Re. Claim 23, Udalcovs and Zang and Jagadeesan teach Claim 22.
Yet, Udalcovs does not explicitly teach the controller is further configured to: receive, from the UE, a second request message for initiating a registration procedure, wherein the second information is received from the UDM during the registration procedure.
However, in the analogous art, Zang explicitly teaches the controller is further configured to: receive, from the UE, a second request message for initiating a registration procedure, (Fig. 5 & ¶0229 - S501: The UE performs an attach procedure. ¶0230 - The attach procedure may be performed between the UE, a RAN, the AMF, and a UDM. The attach procedure may include random access (RRC connection setup), a registration and authentication procedure, or the like of the UE);
wherein the second information is received from the UDM during the registration procedure (Fig. 5 & ¶0231 - S502: The AMF sends a first clock subscription data request to the UDM. Correspondingly, the UDM receives the first clock subscription data request from the AMF. Please also see ¶0231-¶0235. ¶0236 - For example, the UDM may query for the clock subscription data of the UE based on the identifier of the UE in the received first clock subscription data request, and feed back the clock subscription data of the UE to the AMF);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zang to the teachings of Udalcovs and Jagadeesan. The motivation would be because embodiments of the invention aim to resolve the problem that the terminal device cannot determine the change of 5GS clock information when a terminal device cannot compare the 5GS clock with another available clock, and consequently cannot select the optimal and most accurate clock as a grandmaster (¶0148, Zang).
Re. Claim 24, Udalcovs and Zang and Jagadeesan teach Claim 22.
Yet, Udalcovs does not explicitly teach the controller is further configured to: transmit, to the UDM, a third request message for subscription data, and receive, from the UDM, a response message including the subscription data including information on the time synchronization service, wherein the information on the time synchronization service includes the second information.
However, in the analogous art, Zang explicitly teaches the controller is further configured to: transmit, to the UDM, a third request message for subscription data, (Fig. 5 & ¶0231 - S502: The AMF sends a first clock subscription data request to the UDM. Correspondingly, the UDM receives the first clock subscription data request from the AMF. ¶0232 - The first clock subscription data request (Nudm_SDM_Get_Req) carries an identifier of the UE, and is used to request to obtain clock subscription data of the UE. The clock subscription data of the UE may include one or more of a time synchronization type supported by the UE, a time synchronization error allowed by the UE, or clock precision allowed by the UE. ¶0233 - For example, during configuration of the attach procedure, the AMF may send the first clock subscription data request to the UDM to obtain the clock subscription data of the UE, to trigger the time provision for the UE);
and receive, from the UDM, a response message including the subscription data including information on the time synchronization service, wherein the information on the time synchronization service includes the second information (Fig. 5 & ¶0234 - S503: The UDM sends a first clock subscription data response to the AMF. Correspondingly, the AMF receives the first clock subscription data response from the UDM. ¶0235 - The first clock subscription data response (Nudm_SDM_Get_Resp) carries the clock subscription data of the UE. ¶0236 - For example, the UDM may query for the clock subscription data of the UE based on the identifier of the UE in the received first clock subscription data request, and feed back the clock subscription data of the UE to the AMF).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zang to the teachings of Udalcovs and Jagadeesan. The motivation would be because embodiments of the invention aim to resolve the problem that the terminal device cannot determine the change of 5GS clock information when a terminal device cannot compare the 5GS clock with another available clock, and consequently cannot select the optimal and most accurate clock as a grandmaster (¶0148, Zang).
Re. Claim 25, Udalcovs and Zang and Jagadeesan teach Claim 24.
Yet, Udalcovs does not explicitly teach the information on the time synchronization service further includes at least one of information indicating whether the UE is to be provisioned with the time synchronization service over an access stratum (AS), period information including at least one period of start and stop times for the time synchronization service, or coverage area information including a list of tracking areas (TAs) for the time synchronization service.
However, in the analogous art, Zang explicitly teaches the information on the time synchronization service further includes at least one of information indicating whether the UE is to be provisioned with the time synchronization service over an access stratum (AS), (Fig. 5 & ¶0232 - The clock subscription data of the UE may include one or more of a time synchronization type supported by the UE, a time synchronization error allowed by the UE, or clock precision allowed by the UE. The time synchronization type may be access stratum time synchronization and/or generalized precision time protocol (gPTP) time synchronization. Please also see ¶0415-¶416. Examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of”);
period information including at least one period of start and stop times for the time synchronization service, or coverage area information including a list of tracking areas (TAs) for the time synchronization service.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zang to the teachings of Udalcovs and Jagadeesan. The motivation would be because embodiments of the invention aim to resolve the problem that the terminal device cannot determine the change of 5GS clock information when a terminal device cannot compare the 5GS clock with another available clock, and consequently cannot select the optimal and most accurate clock as a grandmaster (¶0148, Zang).
Re. Claim 26, Udalcovs and Zang and Jagadeesan teach Claim 25.
Udalcovs further teaches the controller is further configured to: in case that the information on the time synchronization service further includes the period information, identify whether a current time is within the at least one period of start and stop times, (Fig. 1, 5 & ¶0008 (Table 1) - Temporal Validity Condition Indicates start-time and stop-time attributes that describe the time period when the time synchronization service for a PTP instance is active. ¶0032 - The existing time synchronization activation/deactivation/modification procedures (clause 4.15.9 of TS 23.502) are used for this purpose);
and in case that the current time is within the at least one period of start and stop times, transmit, to the base station, information on an AS time distribution for the time synchronization service (Fig. 5 & ¶0073 - In response to receiving notification 530, PCF 402 may deliver 5G AS Time Distribution information (TDI) or remove the 5G AS TDI based on whether the notification indicates the UE has entered or left the PRA (this is described in step 7 in clause 4.15.9.4 of TS 23.502). … As part of this, the AMF shall, if supported, send the 5G access stratum time distribution indication (enable, disable) and the Uu time synchronization error budget, when they are available, to an NG-RAN node using NGAP procedures (e.g., UE Context Setup/Modification) specified in TS 38.413. The NG-RAN node shall, if supported, store the information in the UE Context. Based on this information, the NG-RAN node provides the 5GS access stratum time to the UE according to the Uu time synchronization error budget as provided by the TSCTSF (if supported by UE and NG-RAN)).
Re. Claim 27, Udalcovs and Zang and Jagadeesan teach Claim 19.
Udalcovs further teaches the controller is further configured to: in case that the information on the time synchronization service further includes the coverage area information, identify whether the UE is located in a TA included in the list of the TAs, (Fig. 1, 5 & ¶0027 - … an AF within an operator's domain may specify a CA using a list of Tracking Area Identities (TAIs) that jointly represents the CA for a specific UE (e.g., identified by a Subscription Permanent ID (SUPI) or a group of UEs (identified by an Internal Group ID)) for whom the requested time synchronization services shall be enabled. ¶0030 - … transmitting to each AMF a subscribe request (e.g., Namf_EventExposure_Subscribe message) containing area of interest (AoI) information (e.g., a list of one more TAIs) identifying one or more AoIs (e.g., tracking areas (TAs)) to get notified whenever the UE enters/leaves any one of the AoIs identified by the AoI information. ¶0031 - The AMF tracks the UE's location to determine the UE's presence in the AoI (e.g., the AMF determines whether UE is has entered or left any one of the TAs identified by the TAI list included in the subscribe request). ¶0069 - In response to the request, if the specific coverage area (CA) targets a group of UEs, then TSCTSF 203 invokes the Nudm_SDM_Get service operation 422 to UDM 204 to map the group ID to a UID list (e.g., list of SUPIs) identifying UEs in that group. That is, in response to message 422, UDM transmits response message 424 that contains the UID list. ¶0072 - Next, the PCF send to the AMF a subscribe message 528 containing PRA information (which is the CA information or is derived from the CA information) identifying a PRA and UID);
in case that the UE is located in the TA, transmit, to the base station, information on an AS time distribution for the time synchronization service (Fig. 5 & ¶0068 - This alternative is used in the case of 5G Access Stratum time distribution … That is, in this scenario, PCF 402 subscribes to the UE mobility event notification service from the AMF. Based on the notifications, PCF 402 decides to activate/deactivate the TS accordingly. ¶0072 - Next, the PCF send to the AMF a subscribe message 528 containing PRA information (which is the CA information or is derived from the CA information) identifying a PRA and UID. When the AMF detects the UE has entered/left the PRA, the AMF notifies the PCF by sending notification message 530. ¶0073 - In response to receiving notification 530, PCF 402 may deliver 5G AS Time Distribution information (TDI) or remove the 5G AS TDI based on whether the notification indicates the UE has entered or left the PRA (this is described in step 7 in clause 4.15.9.4 of TS 23.502) … As part of this, the AMF shall, if supported, send the 5G access stratum time distribution indication (enable, disable) and the Uu time synchronization error budget, when they are available, to an NG-RAN node using NGAP procedures (e.g., UE Context Setup/Modification) specified in TS 38.413).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xiong (US 2022/0174631 A1) – Please see Abstract and ¶0094-¶0109.
Li et al. (US 2025/0193814 A1) – Please see Abstract, Fig. 5-10, 13 & ¶0045, ¶0051-¶0063, ¶0071.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2429 /AYMAN A ABAZA/SPE, Art Unit 2429