DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s amendment filed on 03/09/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 12/09/2025. Claims 1, 7, 9, 11 and 14 have been amended. Claims 1-15 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive/are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Main Argument(s):
In cited paragraphs [0008] and [0033], Udalcovs teaches that a TSCTSF receives a request including a time synchronization error budget from an AF, and that after receiving the request, a subscription request is transmitted to a UDM in order to retrieve subscription data, as seen in paragraphs [0029] and [0035]. Contrary to the allegation that the claimed TSCTSF receiving subscription data including a second time synchronization error budget from a UDM is taught in paragraphs [0030], [0033], and [0037] of Udalcovs, the cited reference teaches a UDM and AMF exchanging information, in contrast with the TSCTSF and UDM exchanging information in the rejected claims.
Response: Examiner has considered the attorney’s arguments and respectfully disagrees.
Due to the amendment(s) made on independent claims 1 and 9, the Office no longer relies solely on Udalcovs and instead introduces the combination of Udalcovs and Zang (US 2025/0227637). In Zang, Fig. 8, S809, Zang explicitly states that the TSCTSF sends a second clock subscription data request to a UDM. Correspondingly, the UDM receives the second clock subscription data request from the TSCTSF (¶0407). This response applies to all independent and dependent claims of the current application.
Second Argument(s):
Moreover, it is respectfully asserted that Udalcovs fails to expressly or impliedly teach what subscription data is received by the TSCTSF from the UDM, such as whether it only includes information regarding the ID of a terminal for which a subscription is configured or whether it includes an error budget, in contrast with the rejected claims. Rather, as seen in paragraphs [0029] and [0064], Udalcovs teaches that the TSCTSF obtains from the UDM, as subscription data, only information required for mapping between an internal group ID and a SUPI list when the target of CA information is a group of UEs. It is respectfully asserted that this corresponds to a TSCTSF obtaining mapping information to identify each of a plurality of terminals identified by a group ID and transmitting 5G sync information (i.e., CA information), which differs from when a TSCTSF receives a parameter of the same type as the parameter (error budget) received from an AF, as directed to in the rejected claims.
Response: Examiner has considered the attorney’s arguments and respectfully disagrees.
Due to the amendment(s) made on independent claims 1 and 9, the Office no longer relies solely on Udalcovs and instead introduces the combination of Udalcovs and Zang (US 2025/0227637). In Zang, ¶0232, clock subscription data is described to include one or more of a time synchronization type supported by the UE, a time synchronization error allowed by the UE, or clock precision allowed by the UE. The time synchronization type may be access stratum time synchronization and/or generalized precision time protocol (gPTP) time synchronization. The time synchronization error may be a requirement on a time synchronization error (error budget) during time provision (which may be referred to as a time provision error for short), and the error budget indicates a maximum error of time synchronization in a core network-RAN-UE time provision process. This response applies to all independent and dependent claims of the current application.
Third Argument(s):
Additionally, cited paragraphs [0071] and [0073] of Udalcovs teach that a UDM provides mapping information between an internal group ID and a SUPI list to a TSCTSF and that the NG- RAN node provides 5GS access stratum time to the terminal based on the Uu time synchronization error budget provided by the TSCTSF. That is, Udalcovs teaches that a TSCTSF receives different types of parameters from an AF and UDM, whereas the rejected claims are directed to a TSCTSF which receives the same type of parameter from an AF and UDM. Accordingly, the reference fails to expressly or impliedly teach when a TSCTSF receives the same type of parameter from different entities, in contrast with the rejected claims.
Response: Examiner has considered the attorney’s arguments and respectfully disagrees.
Due to the amendment(s) made on independent claims 1 and 9, the Office no longer relies solely on Udalcovs and instead introduces the combination of Udalcovs and Zang (US 2025/0227637). In Zang, Fig. 8, S801, An AF sends a fourth 5GS clock quality information request to a NEF. Correspondingly, the NEF receives the fourth 5GS clock quality information request from the AF, where the fourth access stratum clock information time provision request carries an identifier of the UE, the identifier of the AF, a time synchronization service parameter, and fifth indication information (¶0393). ¶0394 provides more details on what the time synchronization service parameter indicates, in which this parameter is referenced when communicating with both the AF and the UDM. Furthermore, when the TSCTSF determines, based on the clock subscription data of the UE, that the UE subscribes to the time synchronization service corresponding to the time synchronization service parameter, the TSCTSF may calculate the RAN air interface time provision error (Uu error budget) based on the error budget when determining to activate, for the UE, a time provision capability of the RAN that performs time provision (¶0418), therefore the parameters in Zang are of the same type. This response applies to all independent and dependent claims of the current application.
Fourth Argument(s):
Applicant respectfully asserts that the rejected claims are directed to determining a final parameter of the same type based on parameters of the same type, whereas Udalcovs fails to expressly or impliedly teach that a TSCTSF generates a new parameter. The Examiner relied on paragraph [0073] of Udalcovs for teaching that a TSCTSF determines a final error budget (Uu time synchronization error budget) based on i) CA information transmitted via AF and ii) UDM subscription-based parameters. However, it is respectfully asserted that the only description related to the Uu time synchronization error budget in the reference may be found in paragraph [0073], and it is respectfully asserted that it is unclear what parameter in Udalcovs reads on the "Uu time synchronization error budget". For example, unclear whether it is the same parameter as the time synchronization error budget included in CA information at the TSCTSF, or a newly determined parameter. If newly determined, it is respectfully asserted that it is unclear by which entity the parameter is determined. This response applies to all independent and dependent claims of the current application.
Response: Examiner has considered the attorney’s arguments and respectfully disagrees.
Due to the amendment(s) made on independent claims 1 and 9, the Office no longer relies solely on Udalcovs and instead introduces the combination of Udalcovs and Zang (US 2025/0227637). In Zang, for further context, ¶0386 states if the first indication information includes a specific requested 5GS clock quality parameter, only the corresponding requested 5GS clock quality parameter may be returned in the response (for example, the fourth 5GS clock quality information response). ¶0393-¶0394 provide more details on what the time synchronization service parameter indicates, and this parameter is referenced when communicating with both the AF and the UDM when the TSCTSF determines the Uu time synchronization error budget. All in all, the parameters referenced in Zang are of the same type (time synchronization service parameter). This response applies to all independent and dependent claims of the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Udalcovs et al. (US 2025/0220604), Udalcovs hereinafter, and further in view of Zang et al. (US 2025/0227637), Zang hereinafter.
Re. Claim 1, Udalcovs teaches a method performed by a time sensitive communication and time synchronization function (TSCTSF) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: (Fig. 1 & ¶0010 - a method performed by a time synchronization entity (TSE) (e.g., a TSCTSF));
receiving, from an application function (AF), a first request message for time synchronization including a first time synchronization error budget for a user equipment (UE); (Fig. 2-7 & ¶0006 - The AF can configure time synchronization (TS) for one or more specified UEs. ¶0008 - As further described in TS 23.502, an AF may activate a time synchronization service using the Nnef_TimeSynchronization_ConfigCreate service operation … The Nnef_TimeSynchronization_ConfigCreate may contain the parameters shown below in Table 1: … Time synchronization error budget Indicates the time synchronization budget for the time synchronization service (as described in clause 5.27.1.9 of TS 23.501). ¶0033 - As shown in FIG. 2, an AF 201 transmits a create TS configuration request 252a or 252b, which request comprises CA information specifying a CA and an ID, which in one embodiment is: i) a group ID (GID) associated with a group of UEs or indicates any UE or ii) a UE ID (UID) (e.g., GPSI, SUPI, etc.) associated with a single UE);
Yet, Udalcovs does not explicitly teach transmitting to a unified data management (UDM), a second request message for time synchronization subscription data of the UE, based on the reception of the first request message from the AF; receiving, from the UDM, the time synchronization subscription data of the UE including a second time synchronization error budget for the UE; determining a third time synchronization error budget based on the first time synchronization error budget and the second time synchronization error budget; and transmitting, to a policy control function (PCF), a third request message for time synchronization including the third time synchronization error budget.
However, in the analogous art, Zang explicitly teaches transmitting to a unified data management (UDM), a second request message for time synchronization subscription data of the UE, based on the reception of the first request message from the AF; (Fig. 6-8 & ¶0392 - S806: The AF sends a fourth access stratum clock information time provision request to the TSCTSF. Correspondingly, the TSCTSF receives the fourth access stratum clock information time provision request from the AF. Please also see ¶0393-¶394. ¶0407 – (Fig. 8) S809: The TSCTSF sends a second clock subscription data request to a UDM. Correspondingly, the UDM receives the second clock subscription data request from the TSCTSF);
receiving, from the UDM, the time synchronization subscription data of the UE including a second time synchronization error budget for the UE; (¶0232 - The clock subscription data of the UE may include one or more of a time synchronization type supported by the UE, a time synchronization error allowed by the UE, or clock precision allowed by the UE … The time synchronization error may be a requirement on a time synchronization error (error budget) during time provision (which may be referred to as a time provision error for short), and the error budget indicates a maximum error of time synchronization in a core network-RAN-UE time provision process. ¶0410 (Fig. 8) - S810: The UDM sends a second clock subscription data response to the TSCTSF. Correspondingly, the TSCTSF receives the second clock subscription data response from the UDM. ¶0411 - The second clock subscription data response (Nudm_SDM_Get_Resp) carries the clock subscription data of the UE);
determining a third time synchronization error budget based on the first time synchronization error budget and the second time synchronization error budget; (Fig. 8 & ¶0418 - When the TSCTSF determines, based on the clock subscription data of the UE, that the UE subscribes to the time synchronization service corresponding to the time synchronization service parameter, the TSCTSF may calculate the RAN air interface time provision error (Uu error budget) based on the error budget when determining to activate, for the UE, a time provision capability of the RAN that performs time provision … For the Uu error budget, if the fourth access stratum clock information time provision request has a requirement on an upper limit of the error budget, the TSCTSF may subtract a core network time provision error from the error budget required in the first access stratum clock information time provision request to obtain the Uu error budget. Please also see ¶0400);
and transmitting, to a policy control function (PCF), a third request message for time synchronization including the third time synchronization error budget (Fig. 8 & ¶0421 - S812: The TSCTSF sends an access and mobility (AM) policy create/update request to a PCF. Correspondingly, the PCF receives the AM policy create/update request from the TSCTSF. ¶0422 - For example, after receiving the fourth access stratum clock information time provision request, the TSCTSF initiates the AM policy create/update request to the PCF when determining to continue to provide time for the UE and/or when the RAN does not have the 5GS clock quality information, to continue a subsequent time provision procedure. The AM policy create/update request (AMPolicyAuthorization_Create/Update req) carries UE time synchronization data (UE Time Sync Data) and the 5GS clock quality information. The time synchronization data of the UE may include a time provision capability enabling indication (which may also be referred to as a time provision indication) and the Uu error budget, and the time provision capability enabling indication is used to activate the time provision capability of the RAN).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zang to the teaching of Udalcovs. The motivation would be because embodiments of the invention aim to resolve the problem that the terminal device cannot determine the change of 5GS clock information when a terminal device cannot compare the 5GS clock with another available clock, and consequently cannot select the optimal and most accurate clock as a grandmaster (¶0148, Zang).
Re. Claims 3 and 11, Udalcovs and Zang teach Claims 1 and 9.
Udalcovs further teaches determining a coverage area for the time synchronization of the UE based on first coverage area information and second coverage area information, (¶0026 - in order to enforce that the requested TS service is enabled for UEs (a specific UE or a group of UEs) only in that coverage area, the proposed embodiments exploit the functionality provided by an AMF of tracking and reporting UE mobility events (see, e.g., clause 5.3.4.4 of TS 23.501));
wherein the first request message includes the first coverage area information, (Fig. 2-7 & ¶0030 - The AoI information sent to an AMF may be the CA information received by the TSCTSF from the AF/NEF or a subset of that CA information. ¶0033 - As shown in FIG. 2, an AF 201 transmits a create TS configuration request 252a or 252b, which request comprises CA information specifying a CA and an ID, which in one embodiment is: i) a group ID (GID) associated with a group of UEs or indicates any UE or ii) a UE ID (UID) (e.g., GPSI, SUPI, etc.) associated with a single UE);
and wherein the time synchronization subscription data includes the second coverage area information (¶0037 - For example, as shown in FIG. 2, UDM 204 transmits to AMF 206 at least a first subscribe request 262 that contains the ID and AoI information that identifies an AoI. The AoI information comprises the CA information (e.g., TAI list) received from the TSCTSF or a subset of the CA information (e.g., subset of the TAI list).
Re. Claims 4 and 12, Udalcovs and Zang teach Claims 1 and 9.
Udalcovs further teaches the first request message is received from the AF via a network exposure function (NEF) (Fig. 1-2 & ¶0034 - In the scenario where AF 201 transmits request 252a, the request is received by NEF 202 (and request 252a may be a Nnef_TimeSynchronization_ConfigCreate request message or a Nnef_ASTICreate request message). In the case where request 252a contains geographical data specifying the CA, NEF 202 functions to translate the geographical data to a list of one or more TAIs that specify the CA and then sends to TSCTSF 203 a create TS configuration request 254 that contains the new CA information (i.e., the list of TAIs) and the ID (request 254 may also include the parameters listed in Table 1)).
Re. Claims 5 and 13, Udalcovs and Zang teach Claims 1 and 9.
Yet, Udalcovs does not explicitly teach operator policy information for determining the third time synchronization error budget is preconfigured in the TSCTSF.
However, in the analogous art, Zang explicitly teaches operator policy information for determining the third time synchronization error budget is preconfigured in the TSCTSF (Fig. 6-8 & ¶0400 - If the fourth access stratum clock information time provision request does not have a requirement on an upper limit of the error budget, the TSCTSF may subtract a core network time provision error from the pre-configured error budget to obtain the Uu error budget).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zang to the teaching of Udalcovs. The motivation would be because embodiments of the invention aim to resolve the problem that the terminal device cannot determine the change of 5GS clock information when a terminal device cannot compare the 5GS clock with another available clock, and consequently cannot select the optimal and most accurate clock as a grandmaster (¶0148, Zang).
Re. Claims 7 and 14, Udalcovs and Zang teach Claims 1 and 9.
Yet, Udalcovs does not explicitly teach receiving,/the controller is further configured to: receive, from the PCF, an update message for the time synchronization subscription data of the UE.
However, in the analogous art, Zang explicitly teaches receiving,/the controller is further configured to: receive, from the PCF, an update message for the time synchronization subscription data of the UE (Fig. 6-8 & ¶0432 (Fig. 8) - S817: The PCF sends an AM policy create/update response to the TSCTSF. Correspondingly, the TSCTSF receives the AM policy create/update response from the PCF.¶0433 - The AM policy create/update response (AMPolicyAuthoritation_Create/Update resp) may be used to notify the TSCTSF that the time provision for the UE has been completed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zang to the teaching of Udalcovs. The motivation would be because embodiments of the invention aim to resolve the problem that the terminal device cannot determine the change of 5GS clock information when a terminal device cannot compare the 5GS clock with another available clock, and consequently cannot select the optimal and most accurate clock as a grandmaster (¶0148, Zang).
Re. Claims 8 and 15, Udalcovs and Zang teach Claims 1 and 9.
Yet, Udalcovs does not explicitly teach the third time synchronization error budget is determined to one of the first time synchronization error budget or the second time synchronization error budget.
However, in the analogous art, Zang explicitly teaches the third time synchronization error budget is determined to one of the first time synchronization error budget or the second time synchronization error budget (Fig. 6-8 & ¶0418 - When the TSCTSF determines, based on the clock subscription data of the UE, that the UE subscribes to the time synchronization service corresponding to the time synchronization service parameter, the TSCTSF may calculate the RAN air interface time provision error (Uu error budget) based on the error budget when determining to activate, for the UE, a time provision capability of the RAN that performs time provision … For the Uu error budget, if the fourth access stratum clock information time provision request has a requirement on an upper limit of the error budget, the TSCTSF may subtract a core network time provision error from the error budget required in the first access stratum clock information time provision request to obtain the Uu error budget. Please also see ¶0400);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zang to the teaching of Udalcovs. The motivation would be because embodiments of the invention aim to resolve the problem that the terminal device cannot determine the change of 5GS clock information when a terminal device cannot compare the 5GS clock with another available clock, and consequently cannot select the optimal and most accurate clock as a grandmaster (¶0148, Zang).
Re. Claim 9, Udalcovs teaches a time sensitive communication and time synchronization function (TSCTSF) in a wireless communication system, the TSCTSF comprising: a transceiver; and a controller operably coupled with the transceiver and configured to: (Fig. 1, 8 & ¶0010 - a method performed by a time synchronization entity (TSE) (e.g., a TSCTSF));
receive, from an application function (AF), a first request message for time synchronization including a first time synchronization error budget for a user equipment (UE), (Fig. 2-7 & ¶0006 - The AF can configure time synchronization (TS) for one or more specified UEs. ¶0008 - As further described in TS 23.502, an AF may activate a time synchronization service using the Nnef_TimeSynchronization_ConfigCreate service operation … The Nnef_TimeSynchronization_ConfigCreate may contain the parameters shown below in Table 1: … Time synchronization error budget Indicates the time synchronization budget for the time synchronization service (as described in clause 5.27.1.9 of TS 23.501). ¶0033 - As shown in FIG. 2, an AF 201 transmits a create TS configuration request 252a or 252b, which request comprises CA information specifying a CA and an ID, which in one embodiment is: i) a group ID (GID) associated with a group of UEs or indicates any UE or ii) a UE ID (UID) (e.g., GPSI, SUPI, etc.) associated with a single UE);
Yet, Udalcovs does not explicitly teach transmit to a unified data management (UDM), a second request message for time synchronization subscription data of the UE, based on the reception of the first request message from the AF, receive, from the UDM, the time synchronization subscription data of the UE including a second time synchronization error budget for the UE, determine a third time synchronization error budget based on the first time synchronization error budget and the second time synchronization error budget, and transmit, to a policy control function (PCF), a third request message for time synchronization including the third tine synchronization error budget.
However, in the analogous art, Zang explicitly teaches transmit to a unified data management (UDM), a second request message for time synchronization subscription data of the UE, based on the reception of the first request message from the AF, (Fig. 6-8 & ¶0392 - S806: The AF sends a fourth access stratum clock information time provision request to the TSCTSF. Correspondingly, the TSCTSF receives the fourth access stratum clock information time provision request from the AF. Please also see ¶0393-¶394. ¶0407 – (Fig. 8) S809: The TSCTSF sends a second clock subscription data request to a UDM. Correspondingly, the UDM receives the second clock subscription data request from the TSCTSF);
receive, from the UDM, the time synchronization subscription data of the UE including a second time synchronization error budget for the UE, (¶0232 - The clock subscription data of the UE may include one or more of a time synchronization type supported by the UE, a time synchronization error allowed by the UE, or clock precision allowed by the UE … The time synchronization error may be a requirement on a time synchronization error (error budget) during time provision (which may be referred to as a time provision error for short), and the error budget indicates a maximum error of time synchronization in a core network-RAN-UE time provision process. ¶0410 (Fig. 8) - S810: The UDM sends a second clock subscription data response to the TSCTSF. Correspondingly, the TSCTSF receives the second clock subscription data response from the UDM. ¶0411 - The second clock subscription data response (Nudm_SDM_Get_Resp) carries the clock subscription data of the UE);
determine a third time synchronization error budget based on the first time synchronization error budget and the second time synchronization error budget, (Fig. 8 & ¶0418 - When the TSCTSF determines, based on the clock subscription data of the UE, that the UE subscribes to the time synchronization service corresponding to the time synchronization service parameter, the TSCTSF may calculate the RAN air interface time provision error (Uu error budget) based on the error budget when determining to activate, for the UE, a time provision capability of the RAN that performs time provision … For the Uu error budget, if the fourth access stratum clock information time provision request has a requirement on an upper limit of the error budget, the TSCTSF may subtract a core network time provision error from the error budget required in the first access stratum clock information time provision request to obtain the Uu error budget. Please also see ¶0400);
and transmit, to a policy control function (PCF), a third request message for time synchronization including the third tine synchronization error budget (Fig. 8 & ¶0421 - S812: The TSCTSF sends an access and mobility (AM) policy create/update request to a PCF. Correspondingly, the PCF receives the AM policy create/update request from the TSCTSF. ¶0422 - For example, after receiving the fourth access stratum clock information time provision request, the TSCTSF initiates the AM policy create/update request to the PCF when determining to continue to provide time for the UE and/or when the RAN does not have the 5GS clock quality information, to continue a subsequent time provision procedure. The AM policy create/update request (AMPolicyAuthorization_Create/Update req) carries UE time synchronization data (UE Time Sync Data) and the 5GS clock quality information. The time synchronization data of the UE may include a time provision capability enabling indication (which may also be referred to as a time provision indication) and the Uu error budget, and the time provision capability enabling indication is used to activate the time provision capability of the RAN).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Zang to the teaching of Udalcovs. The motivation would be because embodiments of the invention aim to resolve the problem that the terminal device cannot determine the change of 5GS clock information when a terminal device cannot compare the 5GS clock with another available clock, and consequently cannot select the optimal and most accurate clock as a grandmaster (¶0148, Zang).
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Udalcovs and Zang, and further in view of Li et al. (US 2025/0133518), Li hereinafter.
Re. Claims 2 and 10, Udalcovs and Zang teach Claims 1 and 9.
Udalcovs further teaches wherein the first request message includes the first period information, (Fig. 2-7 & ¶0008 - As further described in TS 23.502, an AF may activate a time synchronization service using the Nnef_TimeSynchronization_ConfigCreate service operation. The service operation creates a time synchronization configuration based on the service parameters as indicated in the create request … The Nnef_TimeSynchronization_ConfigCreate may contain the parameters shown below in Table 1: … Temporal Validity Condition Indicates start-time and stop-time attributes that describe the time period when the time synchronization service for a PTP instance is active);
Yet, Udalcovs and Zang do not explicitly teach determining/the controller is further configured to: determine at least one period of start and stop time for the time synchronization of the UE based on first period information and second period information, and wherein the time synchronization subscription data includes the second period information.
However, in the analogous art, Li explicitly teaches determining/the controller is further configured to: determine at least one period of start and stop time for the time synchronization of the UE based on first period information and second period information, (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0089 - Therefore, in an embodiment, the UE and/or related network function(s) may acquire information associated with the time synchronization subscription of the UE, so as to acknowledge whether the time synchronization service to the UE shall be stopped/started and perform corresponding operations. Please also see Fig. 4 & ¶0104 - Step 404: According to whether the UE is in the time synchronization service area, the AMF sends the 5G access stratum time distribution indication to the NG-RAN to stop or start the time synchronization service/operation) and wherein the time synchronization subscription data includes the second period information (¶0090 - In an embodiment, the UDM may store UE time synchronization subscription information, which may comprise a 5G access stratum time synchronization indication and/or related time synchronization area for the UE. Thus, the AMF may obtain the UE time synchronization subscription information which comprises the 5G access stratum time synchronization indication and related time synchronization service area. ¶0113 - Step 507: According to whether the UE is in the time synchronization service area, the AMF sends the 5G access stratum time distribution indication to the NG-RAN, to stop or start the time sync service/operation. ¶0114 - Step 508: According to the message from AMF, the NG-RAN starts or stops providing precise time to the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of Li to the teachings of Udalcovs and Zang. The motivation would be because the invention relates to methods, systems, and devices for enforcing the time synchronization (¶0004, Li).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Udalcovs and Zang, and further in view of 3GPP TS 23.503 version 17.5.0 Release 17, (TS 123 503 - V17.5.0 - 5G; Policy and charging control framework for the 5G System (5GS); Stage 2 (3GPP TS 23.503 version 17.5.0 Release 17)), 3GPP TS 23.503 version 17.5.0 Release 17 hereinafter.
Re. Claim 6, Udalcovs and Zang teach Claim 1.
Yet, Udalcovs and Zang do not explicitly teach receiving, from the PCF, operator policy information for determining the third time synchronization error budget.
However, in the analogous art, 3GPP TS 23.503 version 17.5.0 Release 17 explicitly teaches receiving, from the PCF, operator policy information for determining the third time synchronization error budget (Page 33, Section 6.1.2.1, ¶16 - The optional management of 5G access stratum time distribution enables the PCF for the UE to instruct the AMF about the 5G access stratum time distribution parameters, i.e., 5G access stratum time distribution indication (enable, disable). Optionally, when 5G access stratum time distribution or (g)PTP time synchronization is enabled, the PCF for the UE instructs the AMF about the Uu Time synchronization error budget. Page 33, Section 6.1.2.1, ¶17 - the PCF for the UE (providing the access and mobility related policy information) and the PCF for the PDU Session of this UE (providing the Session Management related policies) … Page 82, Section 6.2.1.1.1 - The PCF provides authorized QoS for a service data flow and other network control regarding service data flow detection, gating, QoS … towards the SMF. Page 82, Section 6.2.1.1.1, Note 1 - The PCF provides always the maximum values for the authorized QoS even if the requested QoS is lower than what can be authorized. Please also see Page 101-108, Table 6.3.1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the teaching of 3GPP TS 23.503 version 17.5.0 Release 17 to the teachings of Udalcovs and Zang. The motivation would be because the document defines the Stage 2 policy and charging control framework for the 5G System specified in TS 23.501 [2] and TS 23.502 [3] (1 Scope, 3GPP TS 23.503 version 17.5.0 Release 17).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALYSSA WILLIAMS whose telephone number is (571)270-7673. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached on (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/ALYSSA WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465B
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465