Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 5, 7, 8 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caudill et al. (US 4,304,273) in view of Kurz et al. (US 6,236,826) and in view of Muramatsu et al. (US Pub.2005/0089347) with added support from Ban et al. (US 5,351,728) and Ikeda et al. (JP S59-102260).
Regarding claim 2, Caudill et al. (US 4,304,273) teach an image forming system (fig.1) comprising: an image forming apparatus configured to form an image on a recording material (col.1, ln.10-12), a main body toner storage unit (fig.1, #40; col.4, ln.58-61), and a mounting unit (fig.1&9, #46) provided with a receiving port communicating with the main body toner storage unit (fig.4, #59 & #60); and a toner container that stores toner (fig.5&9, #80/#90 and ‘toner bottle’) and that is mountable to the mounting unit (see fig.9), the toner container including a toner storage portion (fig.9, cylindrical and funnel shaped portion of toner bottle and #80) provided with a discharge port from which the toner in the toner storage portion is discharged to the main body toner storage unit through the receiving port (fig.5, #81 & #82), the toner container including a shutter (fig.5, valve disk #85) movable, relative to the toner storage portion, between an open position, in which the shutter opens the discharge port and a closed position in which the shutter closes the discharge port (col.7, ln.12+), wherein the toner storage portion of the toner container has an exposed portion that is exposed to an outside of the image forming apparatus when the toner container is mounted to the mounting unit (this is presumed to be the case since the bottle must be manipulated while mounted, but it is not explicitly stated), and the toner storage portion is rotatable relative to both the mounting unit and the shutter about a rotation axis between a first position in which the shutter is in the closed position, and a second position in which the shutter is in the open position (see fig.4&5; col.7, ln.12+), the toner storage portion having a first use step of rotation of the toner storage portion from the first position to the second position (col.7, ln.12+); a second use step of a user manipulation of the toner storage portion to reduce an internal volume of the toner storage portion so as to discharge the toner from the toner container (fig.9, #40; col.6, ln.65-col.7, ln.3); and the mounting unit is configured such that a first region of the toner storage portion faces a front side of the image forming apparatus when the toner container mounted to the mounting unit is in the first position (col.7, ln.32-42 & ln.45-46; the initial mounting orientation), and such that a second region of the toner storage portion faces the front side of the image forming apparatus when the toner container mounted to the mounting unit is in the second position (col.7, ln.32-42 & ln.45-46; the once the bottle is rotated 90 degrees).
Regarding claim 7, Caudill et al. (US 4,304,273) teach an image forming system wherein the toner storage portion of the toner container includes a nozzle provided with the discharge port (fig.5&9, #80 has #81 & #82), and a bag that stores the toner and that communicates with the discharge port (col.6, ln.65-col.7, ln.3: a container that can be squeezed to assist discharge may be considered a bag).
Regarding claim 14, Caudill et al. (US 4,304,273) teach an image forming system wherein the image forming apparatus includes a cover configured to move (fig.7, #101) between a cover closed position in which the cover closes the mounting unit to cover the mounting unit (fig.7, #101 closed if assembled in current orientation) and a cover open position in which the cover opens the mounting unit to allow the toner container to be mounted to the mounting unit (fig.7, #101 configured to rotate to a vertical position), and wherein movement of the cover from the cover open position to the cover closed position is hindered by the toner container mounted in the mounting unit (fig.7, if bottle were mounted to #121, cover #101 will be hindered from closing).
Regarding claim 15, Caudill et al. (US 4,304,273) teach an image forming system wherein the rotation axis of the toner storage portion extends in a direction intersecting with a horizontal direction (fig.1&9, rotation axis is vertical along center line of cylindrical ‘toner bottle’, perpendicular to the horizontal).
Regarding claim 16, Caudill et al. (US 4,304,273) teach an image forming system wherein the first region and the second region are provided on the bag (fig.9: different regions of baglike toner bottle will face front depending on orientation).
However, Caudill et al. (US 4,304,273) fail to teach the image forming apparatus including a feed tray, on which the recording material is stacked and wherein the toner storage portion of the toner container has an exposed portion that is exposed to outside of the image forming apparatus when the toner container is mounted to the mounting unit.
Regarding claim 2, Kurz et al. (US 6,236,826) teach an image forming system (fig.1&2) comprising: an image forming apparatus (fig.1&2) configured to form an image on a recording material (fig.2, on #96 via path #98 with #74), the image forming apparatus including a feed tray (fig.2, #28), on which the recording material is stacked (fig.2, #96 on #28), a main body toner storage unit (fig.2, #100; col.12, ln.27-28), and a mounting unit (fig.3-8, #160) provided with a receiving port communicating with the main body toner storage unit (fig.6, hole closed by #166); and a toner container that stores toner (fig.3, #150) and that is mountable to the mounting unit (col.14, ln.34+), the toner container including a toner storage portion (fig.3, cylindrical and funnel shaped portion of #150) provided with a discharge port from which the toner in the toner storage portion is discharged to the main body toner storage unit through the receiving port (fig.9, hole surrounding #156), the toner container including a shutter (fig.9, #156) movable, relative to the toner storage portion, between an open position, in which the shutter opens the discharge port and a closed position in which the shutter closes the discharge port (col.14, ln.34+), wherein the toner storage portion of the toner container has an exposed portion that is exposed to outside of the image forming apparatus when the toner container is mounted to the mounting unit (see fig.3), and the toner storage portion is rotatable relative to both the mounting unit and the shutter about a rotation axis between a first position in which the shutter is in the closed position, and a second position in which the shutter is in the open position (col.14, ln.34+), the toner storage portion having, on a first region of the exposed portion, a first instruction for rotation of the toner storage portion from the first position to the second position (fig.3, see arrow pictograph, unlabeled, atop #150) and the mounting unit is configured such that a first region of the toner storage portion faces a front side of the image forming apparatus when the toner container mounted to the mounting unit is in the first position, and such that a second region of the toner storage portion faces the front side of the image forming apparatus when the toner container mounted to the mounting unit is in the second position (fig.3: first position, fig.4, #150 rotated 180 degrees; col.14, ln.35-42).
Regarding claim 3, Kurz et al. (US 6,236,826) teach an image forming system wherein the toner storage portion of the toner container is configured to be rotated 180 degrees from the first position to the second position (col.14, ln.30+, after a first operation of mounting and locking, there is a step of rotating from a first position to a second position to open the shutter; col.14, ln.39-41).
Regarding claim 5, Kurz et al. (US 6,236,826) teach an image forming system wherein the first instruction includes information regarding a rotation direction or rotation amount of the toner container (fig.3, arrow on top face of #150).
Regarding claim 13, Kurz et al. (US 6,236,826) teach an image forming system wherein in a case where a side of the image forming apparatus opposite to the front side of the image forming apparatus is a back side of the image forming apparatus (fig.1-3, side of #20 with #146 is front, opposite side is back, and #44 is pulled out from #146), the mounting unit is configured such that the second region of the toner storage portion faces the back side of the image forming apparatus when the toner container mounted to the mounting unit is in the first position, and such that the first region of the toner storage portion faces the back side of the image forming apparatus when the toner container mounted to the mounting unit is in the second position (col.14, ln.31-49: since bottle is set and then rotated 180 degrees, this limitation will necessarily be met).
Regarding claim 14, Kurz et al. (US 6,236,826) teach an image forming system wherein the image forming apparatus includes a cover configured to move (fig.1-3, #146) between a cover closed position in which the cover closes the mounting unit to cover the mounting unit (fig.1, #146 closed) and a cover open position in which the cover opens the mounting unit to allow the toner container to be mounted to the mounting unit (fig.3), and wherein movement of the cover from the cover open position to the cover closed position is hindered by the toner container mounted in the mounting unit (fig.3, if #150 is still attached to #44, cover will be hindered from closing).
Regarding claim 15, Kurz et al. (US 6,236,826) teach an image forming system wherein the rotation axis of the toner storage portion extends in a direction intersecting with a horizontal direction (fig.3, rotation axis is vertical along #150, perpendicular to the horizontal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the undefined apparatus configuration of Caudill et al. (US 4,304,273) by using the apparatus configuration of Kurz et al. (US 6,236,826) because it is a known configuration in the art and also allows for the easy ability to only partially remove the cartridge for refilling without needing a separate work surface or to chose to fully remove the cartridge through the same opening (col.3, ln.52-62).
Additionally, regarding claims 3 and 13, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the mutually opening action of the bottle shutter with the mount shutter of Caudill et al. (US 4,304,273) by using the two-step shutter-opening configuration of Kurz et al. (US 6,236,826) in order to ensure the bottle is opened last and closed first to prevent spilling (col.14, ln.45-49). As a result, if the two-step opening/closing of Kurz et al. (US 6,236,826) is applied to the 90-degree opening configuration of Caudill et al. (US 4,304,273), the final second position would necessarily be 180 degrees from the initial mounting position.
However, Caudill et al. (US 4,304,273) fail to teach instructions pertaining to a user manipulation of the toner storage portion and the mounting unit configured such that the first region of the toner container faces a front side of the image forming apparatus when the toner container mounted to the mounting unit is in the first position, and such that the second region faces the front side of the image forming apparatus when the toner container mounted to the mounting unit is in the second position.
Regarding claim 2, Muramatsu et al. (US Pub.2005/0089347) teaches an image forming system comprising: a toner container that stores toner and that is attachable to a mounting unit (fig.1, #40 mountable to #50), the toner container being provided with a discharge port for discharging the toner to the main body toner storage unit via the receiving port (fig.1, #45), wherein the toner container having, on a first region of the exposed portion of the toner container, a first instruction for use of the toner container from the first position (fig.5A), and the toner container having, on a second region of the exposed portion of the toner container, a second instruction for an operation of the toner container (fig.5B), the first region and the second region being provided at mutually different positions in a rotation direction of the toner container about the rotation axis (see fig.5A&B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the toner container of Caudill et al. (US 4,304,273) in view of Kurz et al. (US 6,236,826) to have illustrative use instructions on differing sides facing the user in a use position as in Muramatsu et al. (US Pub.2005/0089347) in order to use characters and graphics that will prevent faulty container mounting and use, and in order to allow the use to be executed more easily (para.0058&0061).
While, Muramatsu relies on instructions for folding and disposing of the container after use, one of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize, especially in light of Ban et al. (US 5,351,728) fig.15 and col.9, ln10+ and Ikeda et al. (JP S59-102260) (fig.2, #25), that the same principle would be applicable to the mounting and emptying/user manipulating instructions since illustrating the steps in some manner is known in the art for the purpose of allowing a low level user to perform the steps and manipulations surely without trouble (Ban et al. (US 5,351,728), col.11, ln.1-7) and putting instructions on the side of a rotatable bottle instead of a top is known in the art (Ikeda et al. (JP S59-102260); fig.2, #25).
Regarding claims 5 and 8, the claim limitations are not given patentable weight because the recited messages are merely printed matter and do not have a functional relationship to the structure or use of the apparatus and container. While the choice of wording on the message is tied to the structure and helps the user, it is not necessary to the function of the apparatus/container structure.
Regarding claim 7, the claim language “the second instruction includes an instruction for a squeezing of the bag” is not given patentable weight because the recited messages are merely printed matter and do not have a functional relationship to the structure or use of the apparatus and container. While the choice of wording on the message is tied to the structure and helps the user, it is not necessary to the function of the apparatus/container structure; however, since Caudill et al. (US 4,304,273) recites a use that involves squeezing or tapping, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include instructions related thereto in addition to instructions for rotation direction.
Furthermore, claims 5 and 8 merely illustrate the steps for usage: for attaching, using, and detaching the toner container. As can be seen from Ban et al. (US 5,351,728), fig.15 and col.9, ln10+ and Ikeda et al. (JP S59-102260); fig.2, #25, providing either instructions for re-rotating the item or providing the sequence and direction for each step in the attachment and use process is already known in the art. As a result, the Office has determined that one of ordinary skill in the art would easily arrive at the proper steps, wording, and visual placement thereof to easily walk an average user of no skill in the art through the attachment and use steps. As such, the Office believes that the recited claim limitations would be met.
Claims 2, 3, 5, 7, 8 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurz et al. (US 6,236,826) in view of Caudill et al. (US 4,304,273) and in view of Muramatsu et al. (US Pub.2005/0089347) with added support from Ban et al. (US 5,351,728) and Ikeda et al. (JP S59-102260).
Regarding claim 2, Kurz et al. (US 6,236,826) teach an image forming system (fig.1&2) comprising: an image forming apparatus (fig.1&2) configured to form an image on a recording material (fig.2, on #96 via path #98 with #74), the image forming apparatus including a feed tray (fig.2, #28) on which the recording material is stacked (fig.2, #96 on #28), a main body toner storage unit (fig.2, #100; col.12, ln.27-28), and a mounting unit (fig.3-8, #160) provided with a receiving port communicating with the main body toner storage unit (fig.6, hole closed by #166); and a toner container that stores toner (fig.3, #150) and that is mountable to the mounting unit (col.14, ln.34+), the toner container including a toner storage portion (fig.3, cylindrical and funnel shaped portion of #150) provided with a discharge port from which the toner in the toner storage portion is discharged to the main body toner storage unit through the receiving port (fig.9, hole surrounding #156), the toner container including a shutter (fig.9, #156) movable, relative to the toner storage portion, between an open position, in which the shutter opens the discharge port and a closed position in which the shutter closes the discharge port (col.14, ln.34+), wherein the toner storage portion of the toner container has an exposed portion that is exposed to an outside of the image forming apparatus when the toner container is mounted to the mounting unit (see fig.3), and the toner storage portion is rotatable relative to both the mounting unit and the shutter about a rotation axis between a first position in which the shutter is in the closed position, and a second position in which the shutter is in the open position (col.14, ln.34+), the toner storage portion having, on a first region of the exposed portion, a first instruction for rotation of the toner storage portion from the first position to the second position (fig.3, see arrow pictograph, unlabeled, atop #150) and the mounting unit is configured such that a first region of the toner storage portion faces a front side of the image forming apparatus when the toner container mounted to the mounting unit is in the first position, and such that a second region of the toner storage portion faces the front side of the image forming apparatus when the toner container mounted to the mounting unit is in the second position (fig.3: first position, fig.4, #150 rotated 180 degrees; col.14, ln.35-42).
Regarding claim 3, Kurz et al. (US 6,236,826) teach an image forming system wherein the toner storage portion of the toner container is configured to be rotated 180 degrees from the first position to the second position (col.14, ln.30+, after a first operation of mounting and locking, there is a step of rotating from a first position to a second position to open the shutter; col.14, ln.39-41).
Regarding claim 5, Kurz et al. (US 6,236,826) teach an image forming system wherein the first instruction includes information regarding a rotation direction or rotation amount of the toner container (fig.3, arrow on top face of #150).
Regarding claim 13, Kurz et al. (US 6,236,826) teach an image forming system wherein in a case where a side of the image forming apparatus opposite to the front side of the image forming apparatus is a back side of the image forming apparatus (fig.1-3, side of #20 with #146 is front, opposite side is back, and #44 is pulled out from #146), the mounting unit is configured such that the second region of the toner storage portion faces the back side of the image forming apparatus when the toner container mounted to the mounting unit is in the first position, and such that the first region of the toner storage portion faces the back side of the image forming apparatus when the toner container mounted to the mounting unit is in the second position (col.14, ln.31-49: since bottle is set and then rotated 180 degrees, this limitation will necessarily be met).
Regarding claim 14, Kurz et al. (US 6,236,826) teach an image forming system wherein the image forming apparatus includes a cover configured to move (fig.1-3, #146) between a cover closed position in which the cover closes the mounting unit to cover the mounting unit (fig.1, #146 closed) and a cover open position in which the cover opens the mounting unit to allow the toner container to be mounted to the mounting unit (fig.3), and wherein movement of the cover from the cover open position to the cover closed position is hindered by the toner container mounted in the mounting unit (fig.3, if #150 is still attached to #44, cover will be hindered from closing).
Regarding claim 15, Kurz et al. (US 6,236,826) teach an image forming system wherein the rotation axis of the toner storage portion extends in a direction intersecting with a horizontal direction (fig.3, rotation axis is vertical along #150, perpendicular to the horizontal).
However, Kurz et al. (US 6,236,826) fail to teach a step of a user manipulation of the toner storage portion for reducing an internal volume of the toner storage portion so as to discharge the toner from the toner container.
Regarding claim 2, Caudill et al. (US 4,304,273) discloses a toner refill container of a substantially similar shape to that of Kurz et al. (US 6,236,826) (fig.9, toner bottle/#80) configured to have a mutually rotatable shutter and mounting system (see fig.4&5), wherein the toner container is configured to be squeezable to facilitate complete emptying of the toner into the main body toner storage unit (fig.9, #40; col.6, ln.65-col.7, ln.3).
Regarding claim 7, Caudill et al. (US 4,304,273) teach an image forming system wherein the toner storage portion of the toner container includes a nozzle provided with the discharge port (fig.5&9, #80 has #81 & #82), and a bag that stores the toner and that communicates with the discharge port (col.6, ln.65-col.7, ln.3: a container that can be squeezed to assist discharge may be considered a bag), and use includes a step of squeezing of the bag (col.6, ln.65-col.7, ln.3).
Regarding claim 16, Caudill et al. (US 4,304,273) teach an image forming system wherein the first region and the second region are provided on the bag (fig.9: different regions of baglike toner bottle will face front depending on orientation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the bottle and refill process of Kurz et al. (US 6,236,826) by having the bottle be squeezable yet resilient as in Caudill et al. (US 4,304,273) because it is a known structure in the art and aids in complete emptying of the toner refill container (col6, ln.65-colo.7, ln.3).
However, Kurz et al. (US 6,236,826) fail to teach a second instruction pertaining to a user manipulation of the toner storage portion and the mounting unit is configured such that the first region of the toner container faces a front side of the image forming apparatus when the toner container mounted to the mounting unit is in the first position, and such that the second region faces the front side of the image forming apparatus when the toner container mounted to the mounting unit is in the second position.
Regarding claim 2, Muramatsu et al. (US Pub.2005/0089347) teaches an image forming system comprising: a toner container that stores toner and that is attachable to a mounting unit (fig.1, #40 mountable to #50), the toner container being provided with a discharge port for discharging the toner to the main body toner storage unit via the receiving port (fig.1, #45), wherein the toner container having, on a first region of the exposed portion of the toner container, a first instruction for use of the toner container from the first position (fig.5A), and the toner container having, on a second region of the exposed portion of the toner container, a second instruction for an operation of the toner container (fig.5B), the first region and the second region being provided at mutually different positions in a rotation direction of the toner container about the rotation axis (see fig.5A&B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the toner container of Kurz et al. (US 6,236,826) to have more illustrative use instructions on differing sides facing the user in a use position as in Muramatsu et al. (US Pub.2005/0089347) in order to use characters and graphics that will prevent faulty container mounting and use, and in order to allow the use to be executed more easily (para.0058&0061).
While, Muramatsu relies on instructions for folding and disposing of the container after use, one of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize, especially in light of Ban et al. (US 5,351,728) fig.15 and col.9, ln10+ and Ikeda et al. (JP S59-102260) (fig.2, #25), that the same principle would be applicable to the mounting and emptying instructions since illustrating the steps in some manner is known in the art for the purpose of allowing a low level user to perform the steps and manipulations surely without trouble (Ban et al. (US 5,351,728), col.11, ln.1-7) and putting instructions on the side of a rotatable bottle instead of a top is known in the art (Ikeda et al. (JP S59-102260); fig.2, #25).
Regarding claims 5 and 8, the claim limitations are not given patentable weight because the recited messages are merely printed matter and do not have a functional relationship to the structure or use of the apparatus and container. While the choice of wording on the message is tied to the structure and helps the user, it is not necessary to the function of the apparatus/container structure.
Furthermore, claims 5 and 8 merely illustrate the steps for usage: for attaching, using, and detaching the toner container. As can be seen from Ban et al. (US 5,351,728), fig.15 and col.9, ln10+ and Ikeda et al. (JP S59-102260); fig.2, #25, providing either instructions for re-rotating the item or providing the sequence and direction for each step in the attachment and use process is already known in the art. As a result, the Office has determined that one of ordinary skill in the art would easily arrive at the proper steps, wording, and visual placement thereof to easily walk an average user of no skill in the art through the attachment and use steps. As such, the Office believes that the recited claim limitations would be met.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 29 September 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments, see p.6-7, filed 29 September 2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 2, 3, 5, 8, and 13-15 under both sets of art revolve around discussing various lacking pieces of each reference. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
First, the applicant alleges Caudill does not teach a “second instruction” on a “second region of the exposed portion”. While this is correct, this lack is the reason the claim was addressed under 35 U.S.C. 103 and having a second instruction in a second region facing the user at a different position is shown in the prior art applied in the rejection above.
The applicant also alleges that Caudill does not disclose a first region and second region at mutually different positions in a rotation direction. On this point the Office does not agree and directs the applicant’s attention to the citation and cited rationale in the rejection above.
The applicant then goes on to discuss the reference of Kurz by asserting that Kurz does not disclose the second instruction for manipulation. While this is accurate, in the first rejection set with Caudill as the primary reference, Kurz does not need to teach this limitation because user manipulation is already a part of the mounting and refill process in Caudill and one of ordinary skill in the art, when combining to include refill instructions on the storage portion would readily understand that including this step would be a part of describing the use of the storage portion of Caudill. In the alternate rejection, one of ordinary skill would easily recognize from the teachings of Caudill and the tertiary references that providing the manipulation as a second step would serve a practical benefit to the use if the storage portion is modified to be squeezable.
Next, the applicant addresses Muramatsu by pointing out that Muramatsu’s instructions are for post-use handling. While this is correct, Muramatsu was not relied upon in the combination to teach the specifics of the instructions, but rather to provide evidence that providing instructions in different parts of a storage portion that differ depending on the use-position is known in the art and as support for making this modification to the primary and secondary base references.
An explicit teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art is but one KSR rationale, which the Examiner illustrated in the rejection above. Examiner's rationale was that it is beneficial to have a storage portion that is squeezable to remove the last of the developer (Caudill), putting sequential use instructions on different parts of a storage portion such that they are visible from the user’s angle is known (Muramatsu, Kurz,Ban, partially Ikeda) and if user manipulation is one of the steps to fully emptying the storage portion, one of ordinary skill in the art may readily think to include it without undue experimentation (see rejections above and cited rationale therein). Because the Applicant complied with the requirement under 37 CFR 111(b) to submit a reply "which distinctly and specifically points out the supposed errors in the examiner’s action and must reply to every ground of objection and rejection in the prior Office action", this is a complete reply. Examiner construes Applicant's failure to "distinctly and specifically point out the supposed error" in Examiner's actual rationale, Examiner construes that as an admission that the rejection was proper.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/LKR/
11/18/2025
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852