DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to Amendments made on 5/1/2026, in which: claims 1, 6 are amended, claims 2, 5, 7-9, 11-14 remain as filed originally, and claims 3-4, 10 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-8, 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bardwell (EP 2049394 B1) in view of Schaefer (US 11966671) and Ender (US 2011/0168324).
Regarding claim 1, 6, 8, Bardwell discloses a flow body for an aircraft, comprising: a front skin (24) having an outer surface (outer surface of element 24) configured to be contacted by an ambient flow, and an inner surface (inner surface of element 24) opposite the outer surface (outer surface of element 24), at least one rib (52) arranged inside the flow body (14) and having a first side (front at element 24) and a second side (aft opposite element 24), wherein the at least one rib (52) comprises two independent flanges (54), wherein the two independent flanges (54) extend from a common junction section (junction of each flange element 54 at element 52, Figs. 6-8), which is arranged between the first side (front at element 24) and the second side (aft opposite element 24), to the first side (front at element 24), wherein the two independent flanges (54) diverge towards the first side (front at element 24), and wherein each of the two independent flanges (54) comprises an attachment strap (58) at the first side (front at element 24) for attaching the respective flange (54) to the front skin (24), wherein the respective attachment strap (58) has a shape (Fig. 7) corresponding to the shape (Fig. 7) of the inner surface (inner surface of element 24) of the front skin (24), but does not expressly disclose wherein the flanges are curved in an outward direction and the at least one rib comprises a collar radiating outwardly between the second side and the common junction section, the collar forming a circumferential outwardly extending structure with each attachment strap on opposing sides of the at least one rib, or wherein the at least one rib is made from two sheet metal components that are joined together in a connection region between the junction section and the second side, wherein each sheet metal component comprises an outwardly extending attachment flange at the second side of the at least one rib, each outwardly extending attachment flange forming a circumferential outwardly extending structure with a corresponding attachment strap.
However, Schaefer discloses a similar aircraft structure (10) having flanges (portions of elements 12, 14 that extend from the junction and curve outward and attach to skin element 16) that are curved in an outward direction (Fig. 1A), and further wherein the at least one rib (12, 14) is made from two sheet metal (Column 6 line 35, composite metal) components (first sheet element 12, second sheet element 14) that are joined together in a connection region (the portion of element 12 and 14 that is joined together) between the junction section (portion where elements 12 and 14 mate) and the second side (side extending away from the flange portion and skin element 16)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention/application, to modify Barwell, by making the flanges curved in an outward direction, or wherein the at least one rib is made from two sheet metal components that are joined together in a connection region between the junction section and the second side, as taught by Schaefer, for the purpose of strengthening and stiffening the structural framework of the aircraft.
Ender discloses a similar aircraft structure (Fig. 2) at least one rib (20) comprises a collar (outwardly extending portion at element 14, Fig. 2) radiating outwardly between the second side (bottom, fig. 2) and the common junction section (junction of elements 16 and 17) , the collar (outwardly extending portion at element 14, Fig. 2) forming a circumferential outwardly extending structure (outwardly extending portion at element 14, Fig. 2) with each attachment strap (16, 17) on opposing sides (left and right sides) of the at least one rib (20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention/application, to modify Barwell, by making the at least one rib comprises a collar radiating outwardly between the second side and the common junction section, the collar forming a circumferential outwardly extending structure with each attachment strap on opposing sides of the at least one rib, as taught by Ender, for the purpose of reinforcing the structure to manage loads on the device ([0053]).
Regarding claim 2, Bardwell discloses wherein the attachment straps (58) each comprise a bonding surface (the surface of element 58 facing the skin element 24, Fig. 7) facing the inner surface (inner surface of element 24) of the front skin (24), and wherein the bonding surfaces (the surface of element 58 facing the skin element 24, Fig. 7) of the attachment straps (58) are materially bonded ([0037] adhesive and/or attachment means such as bolts or rivets could be used) to the inner surface (inner surface of element 24) of the front skin (24).
Regarding claim 5, Bardwell discloses wherein the at least one rib (52) further comprises a substantially flat web section (Figs. 7, 8, 9) between the junction section (junction of each flange element 54 at element 52, Figs. 6-8) and a second end (aft opposite element 24).
Regarding claim 7, Bardwell discloses wherein the two flanges (54) enclose a transition region (forward of junction of each flange element 54 at element 52, fig. 8) adjacent to the junction section (junction of each flange element 54 at element 52, Figs. 6-8) and facing the front skin (24), and wherein the transition region (forward of junction of each flange element 54 at element 52, fig. 8) is rounded and substantially free of kinks (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 11, Bardwell discloses a wing (12) for an aircraft (10), comprising at least one flow body (14) according to according to claim 1 arranged in a leading-edge region (Figs. 1-2) of the wing (12).
Regarding claim 12, Bardwell discloses wherein the at least one flow body (14) is movably arranged ([0004] element 14 is a wing slat) on a fixed wing body of the wing (12).
Regarding claim 13, Bardwell discloses an aircraft (10) having at least one wing (12) according to claim 11.
Regarding claim 14, Bardwell discloses an aircraft (10) having at least one flow body (14) according to claim 1.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bardwell (EP 2049394 B1), Schaefer (US 11966671) and Ender (US 2011/0168324) in view of Overbergh (WO 2005070762).
Regarding claim 9, Bardwell discloses the invention substantially as set forth above, but does not expressly disclose a load introduction rib having at least one coupling element at the second side.
However, Overbergh discloses a similar structure (16) having a load introduction rib (36) having at least one coupling element (aperture extending through element 36, Fig. 3) at the second side (aft end of element 36, Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention/application, to modify Bardwell, by adding a load introduction rib having at least one coupling element at the second side, as taught by Overbergh, for the purpose of providing a stiffened structure that is capable of transferring the load of the movable surface.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-2, 5-9, 11-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/AARON M RODZIWICZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3642 /JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642