DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the previous rejection(s) of the claims have been fully considered and are not found persuasive.
With regards to the rejection under 101, applicant contends that the claims solve the technical problem of accessible sleep apnea screening; however, the claim limitations relied upon for these technical improvements are not related to accessibility. The technical limitations relied upon are all assessments/calculations, which have no details which would support a position that the claimed system improves accessibility. Accordingly, the rejection is maintained below.
With regard to the rejection under 102, Applicant contends that the prior art of Waugh does not disclose accumulating bradycardia duration across multiple episode, calculating total time or proportion spent in bradycardia during a monitoring period, using bradycardia burden as a metric for risk assessment; however, the claims do not require these limitations. The claim recites “the bradycardia burden representing accumulated time or relative time of the subject being in the bradycardia during the monitoring period;…” This claim language does not define “bradycardia burden” with the specificity which applicant’s arguments would require to be persuasive. The bradycardia burden is defined by a figure that represents accumulated time or relative time of the subject being in the bradycardia. The cited section of Waugh provides a representative figure indicative of the relative time the subject is in bradycardia – where the examiner notes that the reproduced section from the rejection expressly discloses bradycardia detection along with a value representing the relative time of the subject being in bradycardia. Accordingly, the rejection is maintained below.
Applicant’s arguments combined with the claim amendments have been fully considered and are found persuasive with respect to the previous rejection(s); however, upon further search and consideration due to the change in scope, an updated grounds of rejection is presented below, necessitated by amendment.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are moot in part, persuasive in part, and not persuasive in part. In regards to claims 21-22, please see the new grounds of rejection below, necessitated by amendment.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claim 23 is directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
Invention of Claims 1-22 and Claim 23 are related as combination and subcombination. Inventions in this relationship are distinct if it can be shown that (1) the combination as claimed does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed for patentability, and (2) that the subcombination has utility by itself or in other combinations (MPEP § 806.05(c)). In the instant case, the invention of claims 1-22 specify a system for monitoring but do not require a cardiac information sensing circuit and bradycardia event detector and sleep apnea risk stratification circuit as in the invention of claim 23. The invention of claim 23 specifies determining a bradycardiac burden but does not require the burden represent accumulated time or relative time of the subject being in bradycardia as in the invention of claims 1-22.
The examiner has required restriction between combination and subcombination inventions. Where applicant elects a subcombination, and claims thereto are subsequently found allowable, any claim(s) depending from or otherwise requiring all the limitations of the allowable subcombination will be examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. See MPEP § 821.04(a). Applicant is advised that if any claim presented in a divisional application is anticipated by, or includes all the limitations of, a claim that is allowable in the present application, such claim may be subject to provisional statutory and/or nonstatutory double patenting rejections over the claims of the instant application.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claim 23 is withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is not directed to patent eligible subject matter. Based upon consideration of all of the relevant factors with respect to the claim as a whole, the claims are determined to be directed to a judicial exception, specifically an abstract idea, without significantly more.
Step 1
The claimed inventions in claims 1-20 are directed to statutory subject matter as the claim(s) recite(s) a method and a system of determining apnea risk based on cardiac information.
Step 2A, Prong One
Claims 1 and 12 recite the following steps or instructions for “receive/receiving cardiac information…”, “detect/detecting bradycardia…”, “determine/determining a bradycardia burden…”, “determine/determining an apnea risk…”, and “provide/providing the determined apnea risk…”, which is grouped as a mental process in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III) and/or or mathematical concept in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I).
These limitations concern cardiac data collection, data analysis, further assessment, interpretation, and diagnosis of the analysis, which could be done mentally or by hand with pen and paper, and is directed to mental processes of performing concepts in a human mind or by a human using a pen and paper and mathematical concepts. For example, these limitations are nothing more than a medical professional receiving cardiac information, analyzing the data for bradycardia and the level of severeness, and provide an assessment of its relation to apnea risk.
Accordingly, each of the above-identified claims recites an abstract idea as in MPEP 2106.04(a).
In addition, Claim 1 recites additional elements of a “sleep apnea risk stratification circuit” and “output unit”.
Step 2A, Prong Two
The above-identified abstract idea in each of independent Claims 1 and 13 (and their respective dependent Claims 2-12 and 14-20) is not integrated into a practical application under MPEP 2106.04(d) because the additional elements (identified above in independent Claims 1 and 13), either alone or in combination, generally link the use of the above-identified abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use according to MPEP 2106.05(h) and appear to be extra solution activity where data to be analyzed by the abstract idea is acquired or obtained.
More specifically, the additional elements of: “sleep apnea risk stratification circuit” and “output unit” are generically recited computer elements in independent Claims 1 and 13 (and their respective dependent Claims 2-12 and 14-20) which do not improve the functioning of a computer, or any other technology or technical field according to MPEP 2106.04(d)(1) and 2106.05(a). Nor do these above-identified additional elements serve to apply the above-identified abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine according to MPEP 2106.05(b), effect a transformation according to MPEP 2106.05(c), provide a particular treatment or prophylaxis according to MPEP 2106.04(d)(2) or apply or use the above-identified abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use thereof to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception according to MPEP 2106.04(d)(2) and 2106.05(e). Furthermore, the above-identified additional elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer in accordance with MPEP 2106.05(f). For at least these reasons, the abstract idea identified above in independent Claims 1 and 13 (and their respective dependent Claims 2-12 and 14-20) is not integrated into a practical application in accordance with MPEP 2106.04(d).
Moreover, the above-identified abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application in accordance with MPEP 2106.04(d) because the claimed method and system merely implements the above-identified abstract idea (e.g., mental process and using mathematical concepts) using rules (e.g., computer instructions) executed by a computer (e.g. “a sleep apnea risk stratification circuit” and “output circuit” as claimed). In other words, these claims are merely directed to an abstract idea with additional generic computer elements which do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer according to MPEP 2106.05(f). Additionally, Applicant’s specification does not include any discussion of how the claimed invention provides a technical improvement realized by these claims over the prior art or any explanation of a technical problem having an unconventional technical solution that is expressed in these claims according to MPEP 2106.05(a). That is, like Affinity Labs of Tex. v. DirecTV, LLC, the specification fails to provide sufficient details regarding the manner in which the claimed invention accomplishes any technical improvement or solution. Thus, for these additional reasons, the abstract idea identified above in independent Claims 1 and 13 (and their respective dependent Claims 2-12 and 14-20) is not integrated into a practical application under MPEP 2106.04(d)(I).
Accordingly, independent Claims 1 and 13 (and their respective dependent Claims 2-12 and 14-20) are each directed to an abstract idea according to MPEP 2106.04(d).
Step 2B
Claims 1 and 13 do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea in accordance with MPEP 2106.05 for at least the following reasons:
These claims require the additional elements of: “a sleep apnea risk stratification circuit” and “output circuit”, which is a generically claimed computer component which enables the above-identified abstract idea(s) to be conducted by performing the basic functions of automating mental tasks. The courts have recognized such computer functions as well understood, routine, and conventional functions when claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity. See, MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) along with Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); and OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93.
Claim 1 recites the additional elements of “a sleep apnea risk stratification circuit” and “output circuit”; however, these elements and their function are well understood routine and conventional in the art.
A “sleep apnea risk stratification circuit” is described in the disclosure as a component that is generic and conventionally used and known in the art: “The sleep apnea stratification system 300 may include one or more of a patient data receiver 310, a processor 320, and a user interface 330.” [¶¶ 56 – published app].
An “output circuit” is described in the disclosure as a component that is generic and conventionally used and known in the art: “The output unit may include a printer for printing hard copies of the detection information” [¶¶ 65 – published app].
Accordingly, in light of Applicant’s specification, “a sleep apnea risk stratification circuit” and “output circuit” and their function are considered well-understood routine and conventional in the art.
Additionally, the claimed “a sleep apnea risk stratification circuit” and “output circuit” are reasonably construed as a generic computing device. Like SAP America vs Investpic, LLC (Federal Circuit 2018), it is clear, from the claims themselves and the specification, that these limitations require no improved computer resources, just already available computers, with their already available basic functions, to use as tools in executing the claimed process. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Furthermore, Applicant’s specification does not describe any special programming or algorithms required for the “a sleep apnea risk stratification circuit” and “output circuit”. This lack of disclosure is acceptable under 35 U.S.C. §112(a) since this hardware performs non-specialized functions known by those of ordinary skill in the computer arts. By omitting any specialized programming or algorithms, Applicant's specification essentially admits that this hardware is conventional and performs well understood, routine and conventional activities in the computer industry or arts. In other words, Applicant’s specification demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the above-identified additional elements because it describes these additional elements in a manner that indicates that the additional elements are sufficiently well-known that the specification does not need to describe the particulars of such additional elements to satisfy 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) (see MPEP 2106.05(d)(I)(2) and 2106.07(a)(III)). Adding hardware that performs “‘well understood, routine, conventional activit[ies]’ previously known to the industry” will not make claims patent-eligible (TLI Communications along with MPEP 2106.05(d)(I)).
The recitation of the above-identified additional limitations in Claims 1 and 13 (and their respective dependent Claims 2-12 and 14-20) amounts to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer. Simply using a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general-purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice or mathematical equation) does not provide significantly more. See MPEP 2106.05(f) along with Affinity Labs v. DirecTV, 838 F.3d 1253, 1262, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (cellular telephone); and TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto, LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 613, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1748 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (computer server and telephone unit). Moreover, implementing an abstract idea on a generic computer, does not add significantly more, similar to how the recitation of the computer in the claim in Alice amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of intermediated settlement on a generic computer.
A claim that purports to improve computer capabilities or to improve an existing technology may provide significantly more. See MPEP 2106.05(a) along with McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games Am. Inc., 837 F.3d 1299, 1314-15, 120 USPQ2d 1091, 1101-02 (Fed. Cir. 2016); and Enfish, LLC v. Microsoft Corp., 822 F.3d 1327, 1335-36, 118 USPQ2d 1684, 1688-89 (Fed. Cir. 2016). However, a technical explanation as to how to implement the invention should be present in the specification for any assertion that the invention improves upon conventional functioning of a computer, or upon conventional technology or technological processes. That is, per MPEP 2106.05(a), the disclosure must provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. Here, Applicant’s specification does not include any discussion of how the claimed invention provides a technical improvement realized by these claims over the prior art or any explanation of a technical problem having an unconventional technical solution that is expressed in these claims. Instead, as in Affinity Labs of Tex. v. DirecTV, LLC 838 F.3d 1253, 1263-64, 120 USPQ2d 1201, 1207-08 (Fed. Cir. 2016), the specification fails to provide sufficient details regarding the manner in which the claimed invention accomplishes any technical improvement or solution.
For at least the above reasons, the method and systems of Claims 1 and 13 (and their respective dependent Claims 2-12 and 14-20) are directed to applying an abstract idea as identified above on a general purpose computer without (i) improving the performance of the computer itself or providing a technical solution to a problem in a technical field according to MPEP 2106.05(a), or (ii) providing meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that these claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself according to MPEP 2106.04(d)(2) and 2106.05(e).
Taking the additional elements individually and in combination, the additional elements do not provide significantly more. Specifically, when viewed individually, the above-identified additional elements in independent Claims 1 and 13 (and their respective dependent Claims 2-12 and 14-20) do not add significantly more because they are simply an attempt to limit the abstract idea to a particular technological environment according to MPEP 2106.05(h). When viewed as a combination, these above-identified additional elements simply instruct the practitioner to implement the claimed functions with well-understood, routine and conventional activity specified at a high level of generality in a particular technological environment according to MPEP 2106.05(h). When viewed as whole, the above-identified additional elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claims amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself according to MPEP 2106.04(d)(2) and 2106.05(e). Moreover, neither the general computer elements nor any other additional element adds meaningful limitations to the abstract idea because these additional elements represent insignificant extra-solution activity according to MPEP 2106.05(g). As such, there is no inventive concept sufficient to transform the claimed subject matter into a patent-eligible application as required by MPEP 2106.05.
Regarding dependent claims 2-12 and 14-22, the limitations of these claims further define limitations directed to the abstract idea. As such, claim 1-20 when analyzed as a whole, do not appear to be patent eligible for the reasons set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. In claim 21, the phrase “wherein the bradycardia event detector…” lacks antecedent basis and it is unclear what element in claim 1 is being further limited by the newly presented language. In claim 22, the phrase “wherein the sleep apnea risk stratification circuit…” lacks antecedent basis and it is unclear what element in claim 1 is being further limited by the newly presented language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Waugh et al. (US 2023/0190184; hereinafter “Waugh”).
Regarding claim 1, Waugh discloses a system for monitoring a subject for risk of sleep apnea, the system comprising: a sleep apnea risk stratification circuit (e.g. ¶¶ 54) configured to: receive cardiac information of the subject (e.g. ¶¶ 24); detect bradycardia from the received cardiac information during a monitoring period (e.g. Fig. 3, #320); determine a bradycardia burden based on the detected bradycardia, the bradycardia burden representing accumulated time or relative time of the subject being in the bradycardia during the monitoring period (e.g. ¶¶ 25 – “apnea events are indicated as beginning only after a threshold time (e.g., 20 seconds) during which a cessation of breathing was identified and bradycardia and oxygen desaturation occurred”); and determine an apnea risk based on the bradycardia burden (e.g. ¶¶ 42, 46, 59-60, etc.); and an output unit configured to provide the determined apnea risk to a user or a process (e.g. Fig. 3, #360).
Regarding claim 13, Waugh teaches a method of monitoring a subject for risk of sleep apnea, the method comprising: receiving cardiac information of the subject (e.g. ¶¶ 24); detecting bradycardia from the received cardiac information during a monitoring period (e.g. Fig. 3, #320); determining a bradycardia burden based on the detected bradycardia, the bradycardia burden representing accumulated time or relative time of the subject being in the bradycardia during a monitoring period (e.g. ¶¶ 25 – “apnea events are indicated as beginning only after a threshold time (e.g., 20 seconds) during which a cessation of breathing was identified and bradycardia and oxygen desaturation occurred”); and determining an apnea risk based on the bradycardia burden using a sleep apnea risk stratification circuit (e.g. ¶¶ 42, 46, 59-60, etc.); and providing the determined apnea risk to a user or a process (e.g. Fig. 3, #360).
Regarding claim 2, Waugh discloses an ambulatory medical device configured to collect the cardiac information including a surface or subcutaneous electrocardiogram from the subject, the ambulatory medical device including the sleep apnea risk stratification circuit (e.g. Fig. 4, 420A).
Regarding claim 3, Waugh discloses to detect the bradycardia includes to determine a duration of a bradycardia episode, the bradycardia episode including one or more of a sinus pause episode, a sinus bradycardia episode, or an atrioventricular (AV) disturbance or AV block episode (e.g. ¶¶ 16).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Waugh discloses the sleep apnea risk stratification circuit is configured to determine the bradycardia burden based on the bradycardia detected during a nighttime monitoring period (e.g. ¶¶ 55 – where sleep apnea necessarily is monitored during nighttime and further where the period of recording includes nighttime).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Waugh discloses the sleep apnea risk stratification circuit is configured to determine the bradycardia burden based on the bradycardia detected during a time period when the subject is asleep (e.g. ¶¶ 55 - where sleep apnea necessarily is monitored when the subject is asleep and further where the period of recording encompasses the time when a subject would be asleep).
Regarding claim 6, Waugh discloses a sleep detector configured to detect a sleep or awake state of the subject, wherein the sleep apnea risk stratification circuit is configured to determine the bradycardia burden based on the bradycardia detected when the detected sleep or awake state indicates that the subject is asleep (e.g. ¶¶ 55 - where sleep apnea necessarily is monitored when the subject is asleep and further where the period of recording encompasses the time when a subject would be asleep).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Waugh discloses the sleep apnea risk stratification circuit is configured to detect one or more bradycardia episodes each satisfying a rate or duration requirement, and to determine the bradycardia burden based on a count of the detected one or more bradycardia episodes that satisfy the rate or duration requirement during the monitoring period (e.g. ¶¶ 25 – “apnea events are indicated as beginning only after a threshold time (e.g., 20 seconds) during which a cessation of breathing was identified and bradycardia and oxygen desaturation occurred”).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, Waugh discloses the one or more bradycardia episodes include one or more sinus pause episodes each lasting at least a threshold duration (e.g. ¶¶ 40-43).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, Waugh discloses the one or more bradycardia episodes include one or more sinus bradycardia episodes each having an average heart rate below a threshold heart rate (e.g. ¶¶ 40-43).
Regarding claims 10 and 19, Waugh discloses the sleep apnea risk stratification circuit is configured to trend the bradycardia burden over time, and to determine the apnea risk based on the trended bradycardia burden (e.g. ¶¶ 40-43).
Regarding claims 11 and 20, Waugh discloses the output unit is configured to generate an alert or a recommendation of apnea evaluation or treatment in response to the determined apnea risk exceeding a risk threshold (e.g. ¶¶ 46).
Regarding claim 12, Waugh discloses the output unit is configured to generate a control signal to a respiration-based apnea detector to trigger sleep apnea detection in response to the determined apnea risk exceeding a risk threshold (e.g. ¶¶ 43 – “a cessation of breathing with bradycardia”).
Regarding claim 21, as best understood by the examiner, Waugh discloses detecting a plurality of bradycardia episodes, each bradycardia episode characterized by at least one of a heart rate below a bradycardia rate threshold or a cardiac pause exceeding a pause duration threshold and determining the bradycardia burden based on the accumulated time in which the plurality of bradycardia episodes are detected during the monitoring period (e.g. ¶¶ 42-46, 59-60, etc.).
Regarding claim 22, Waugh discloses an implantable or ambulatory medical device configured to monitor cardiac information of the subject during the monitoring period, wherein to determine the apnea risk based on the bradycardia burden comprises without direct or indirect respiration sensing (e.g. ¶¶ 25 – “respiration rate based solely on CI waveform”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL J D'ABREU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796