DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election of species A, without traverse, including claims 1-9, 12-18 and 20 is noted. Claims 10-11 and 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 5, 2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
the support member in claims 1, 13 and all dependent claims
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. In this case, the support member is interpreted as “support beam, … stiffening strut, etc”, as described in the specification in pg 11 lines 12-13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 9, 12-15 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zenz-Olson et al. US 20170189164 A1, herein referred to as Zenz-Olson.
Regarding claim 1, Zenz-Olson discloses an implant delivery system (Fig 2,40), the implant delivery system comprising: an elongate shaft (42); and a frame (52) coupled to a distal end region of the elongate shaft (Fig 6), the frame including a body portion (Fig 4b, 56) and a plurality of attachment arms (Fig 4b, 64) extending from the body portion (Fig 4b, 56), wherein each of the attachment arms includes a support member (Fig 4a, 66) configured to extend through an aperture of an implant (Fig 5c, implant 12 and 76 forms a hole though the implant; see [0093]); and wherein each of the attachment arms includes a stop (See annotated figure below; this element is interpreted under 112(f) as a “node”, see pg 18 lines 14-24 of the instant application, and equivalents thereof) disposed on a free end region of the support member ([0096]), wherein the stop is configured to releasably secure the implant to the frame ([0096]).
Regarding claim 2, Zenz-Olson discloses wherein the stop is configured to engage a bottom surface of the implant to releasably secure the frame to the implant (bottom surface being the implant see [0096]).
Regarding claim 9, Zenz-Olson discloses wherein the stop includes an upper face configured to engage a bottom surface of the implant (Fig 7).
Regarding claim 12, Zenz-Olson discloses wherein the implant is configured to be positioned between the stop and a distal portion (portions further down) of one of the plurality of attachment arms (Fig 7).
Regarding claim 13, Zennz-Olson discloses an implant delivery system (Fig 2,40), the implant delivery system comprising: a tether (Fig 16, 96; [0014]) including a proximal end and a distal end (Annotated Fig 16 below); and a frame (52) coupled to the distal end of the tether ([0014]), the frame including a body portion (Fig 4b, 56) and a plurality of attachment arms (Fig 4b, 64) extending from the body portion (Fig 4b), wherein each of the attachment arms includes a support member (annotated Fig 7 above) configured to extend through an aperture of an implant (Fig 5c, implant 12 and 76 forms a hole though the implant; see [0093]); and wherein each of the attachment arms includes a stop (See annotated figure 7 above; this element is interpreted under 112(f) as a “node”, see pg 18 lines 14-24 of the instant application, and equivalents thereof) disposed on a free end (Fig 5c, 68) region of the support member ([0076] and [0096]), wherein the stop is configured to releasably secure the implant to the frame ([0096]) .
Regarding claim 14, Zenz-Olson discloses wherein the stop is configured to engage a bottom surface of the implant to releasably secure the frame to the implant [0096].
Regarding claim 15, Zenz-Olson discloses wherein retraction of the tether is configured to pull the stop through the aperture of the implant [0028].
Regarding claim 20, Zenz-Olson discloses the implant delivery system (Fig 2,40) comprising: a frame (52) including an upper surface and a bottom surface (Fig 2, top and bottom); and a stabilizer (Fig 12, 94) coupled to the frame (Fig 4a), wherein the stabilizer is positioned below the bottom surface of the frame (Fig 4a), wherein the stabilizer is spaced away from the bottom surface of the frame to permit an implant (12) to be releasably secured between the bottom surface of the frame and the stabilizer ([0124] and [0096]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-8 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zenz-Olson in view of Tran et al. US 20170189014 A1, herein referred to as Tran.
Regarding claim 3, Zenz-Olson does not disclose wherein the stop is configured to pass through the aperture of the implant.
However, Tran teaches an implant delivery system (Fig 8, 80; [0083]) comprising a shaft (Fig 12, 202), a frame (204) including, a body portion (203), an implant (310) and a stop (Figs 18 and 20, 272); wherein the stop is configured to pass through the aperture of the implant (see annotated Fig 20 below; [0044]).
Tran annotated Fig 20.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Zenz-Olson to incorporate a stop configured to pass through the aperture of the implant, as taught by Tran in order to establish pilot holes in the implant and tissue of interest (Tran [0044]).
Regarding claim 4, Zenz-Olson as modified by Tran does not disclose wherein the stop is configured to shift from a first configuration prior to passing through the aperture to a second configuration as it passes through the implant, wherein the first configuration is different from the second configuration.
However, in another embodiment, Tran also teaches wherein the stop (Fig 4, 120a/120b) is configured to shift from a first configuration prior to passing through the aperture to a second configuration as it passes through the implant (122a/122c projections meet Webster’s1 definition of node: “ a point at which a curve intersects itself in such a manner that the branches have different tangents”; [0059] and [0068]; Tran teaches projection on nodes will change configuration as nodes pass through implant), wherein the first configuration is different from the second configuration (depending on the depth will impart different configuration see [0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Zenz-Olson to incorporate a stop is configured to shift from a first configuration prior to passing through the aperture to a second configuration as it passes through the implant, wherein the first configuration is different from the second configuration, as taught and suggested by Tran in order to prevent the implant/nodes from being displaced (Tran [0068]).
Regarding claim 5, Zenz-Olson as modified by Tran discloses wherein the stop includes a node (Tran Fig 4, 122a/122c) extending laterally away from the support member.
Regarding claim 6, Zenz-Olson as modified by Tran teaches wherein a distal tip (Tran Fig 4, point) portion of the support member extends beyond the node (Tran Fig 4).
Regarding claim 7, Zenz-Olson as modified by Tran teaches wherein the distal tip portion of the support member is configured to be removed from the node subsequent to attaching the implant to the frame (Tran teaches removing the node see [0045]) and [0121]).
Regarding claim 8, Zenz-Olson as modified by Tran teaches wherein the node includes a first projecting portion extending a laterally away from a first lateral side of the support (Tran Fig 4).
Regarding claim 16, Zenz-Olson does not explicitly disclose wherein the stop includes a node extending laterally away from the support member.
However, in the same field of invention, Tran teaches an implant delivery system (Fig 8, 80; [0083]) comprising a shaft (Fig 12, 202), a frame (204) including, a body portion (203), an implant (310) and a stop (Figs 18 and 20, 272); wherein the stop is configured to pass through the aperture of the implant (Fig 20; [0044]); and wherein the stop includes a node (Tran Fig 4, 122a/122c) extending laterally away from the support member.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Zenz-Olson to incorporate wherein the stop includes a node extending laterally away from the support member, as taught and suggested by Tran in order to prevent the implant/nodes from being displaced (Tran [0068]).
Regarding claim 17, Zenz-Olson as modified by Tran teaches wherein a distal tip (Tran Fig 4, point) portion of the support member extends beyond the node (Tran Fig 4).
Regarding claim 18, Zenz-Olson teaches wherein the distal tip portion of the support member is configured to be removed from the node subsequent to attaching the implant to the frame (Tran teaches removing the node see [0045]) and [0121]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Roslin et al. US 20100069930 A1 discloses a system for implanting prosthetic tissue
Regauer et al US 20130030479 A1 discloses a bone wedge implantation system.
/A.F./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/KATRINA M STRANSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3700
1 “Node.” Merriam-Webster.com Dictionary, Merriam-Webster, https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/node. Accessed 14 Aug. 2026.