DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The acronyms GTI and PTJ in paragraphs [0005] and [0006] are not defined.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the strand grabber mechanically coupled to the extending body must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simms (US 3,184,219) in view of Stankus et al. (US 6,283,451 B1)
Claims 1 and 8: Simms discloses a frameless lightweight jack comprising: a pressure cylinder (31 of Figure 1), the pressure cylinder having a pressure cylinder passage; a pressure cylinder bod (28 of Figure 1), the pressure cylinder body being a block through which a pressure cylinder body passage is formed, the pressure cylinder body mechanically coupled to the pressure cylinder; a first and a second hydraulic actuator (4,5 of Figure 1), the first and the second hydraulic actuator each coupled to the pressure cylinder body on a proximal end, wherein the first and the second hydraulic actuator are in hydraulic communication through a cylinder loop hose (27 of Figure 1) connected to a port in a distal end of each of the first and second hydraulic actuator; an extending body (8 of Figure 1), the extending body coupled to the first and the second hydraulic actuator, the extending body being a block through which an extending body passage is formed, wherein the pressure cylinder passage, the pressure cylinder body passage, and the extending body passage are aligned to form a tension member channel (as depicted in Figure 5); and a strand grabber assembly (6 of Figure 1), the strand grabber assembly mechanically coupled to the extending body (Col. 3, Lines 63-74), and wherein the pressure cylinder body is configured to not touch the extending body when the frameless lightweight jake is in a retracted position (as depicted in Figure 1, the bolts provide an offset). Simms fails to explicitly disclose that the pressure cylinder, pressure cylinder body, and extending body are comprised of aluminum, titanium, fiber reinforced plastic, polymers, or carbon fiber.
However, Stankus et al. teaches that it is known in the art to form jacks such as cable tensioning devices primarily from aluminum in order to reduce their weight and facilitate portability and ease of use (Col. 5, Lines 39-59). Further titanium, fiber reinforced plastic, polymers, or carbon fiber are all known lightweight materials from which mechanical devices are known to be made.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute aluminum, titanium, fiber reinforced plastic, polymers, or carbon fiber for the material of which the pressure cylinder, pressure cylinder body, and extending body of Simms are made because it is prima facie obvious to substitute one known prior art element for another in order to achieve a predictable result (MPEP 2413(B)). In the instant case the predictable result would be that the jack of Simms would include components that would made of a lightweight materail.
Claim 3: Simms further discloses that the first and the second hydraulic actuator each have an internal piston (24, 25 of Figure 4).
Claim 4: Simms further discloses that the first and the second hydraulic actuator are each coupled to the pressure cylinder body at a proximal end of the internal piston of each hydraulic actuator (Col. 3, Lines 6-21)
Claim 7: Stankus et al. further teaches that it is known in the art to locate a port in a distal end of each of a first and second hydraulic actuator on a circumferential surface of each hydraulic actuator (as depicted in Figure 1).
Claim 9: Simms further discloses there is a gap between the pressure cylinder body and the extending body when the frameless lightweight jack is in the retracted position (as depicted in Figure 1, the bolts provide an offset).
Claim 10: Simms fails to explicitly disclose that the gap is at least 1 inch.
However, Simms does disclose a gap of a certain size.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the size of the gap of Simms such that it was at least 1 inch since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Further, in Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Claim 11: Concerning method claim 11 in view of the structure disclosed by Simms as modified above by Stankus et al., the method of operating the device would have been inherent, since it is the normal and logical manner in which the device could be used.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simms (US 3,184,219) in view of Stankus et al. (US 6,283,451 B1) and Goldring (US 2,976,845).
Claim 2: Simms fails to explicitly disclose that the hydraulic actuators are pneumatically actuated.
However, Goldring teaches a pneumatically actuated hydraulic cylinder (Col. 5, Lines 14-20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute pneumatically actuated hydraulic actuators for the hydraulic actuators of Simms because it is prima facie obvious to substitute one known prior art element for another in order to achieve a predictable result (MPEP 2413(B)). This modification would have been advantageous because air driven systems are more economical and hydraulic systems are more predictable in their motion.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simms (US 3,184,219) in view of Stankus et al. (US 6,283,451 B1) and Prince et al. (US 6,224,036B1).
Claim 5: Simms further discloses that the strand grabber assembly (6 of Figure 1) includes a strand grabber (39,40); a grabber block (32); and a grabber retaining plate (36,37), but fails to disclose that the strand grabber assembly includes a strand grabber handle.
However, Prince et al. teaches a strand grabber assembly (62 of Figure 7) that includes a strand grabber handle (66 of Figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the strand grabber assembly of Simms such that it included a handle as taught by Prince et al. This modification would have been advantageous because the strand grabber assembly of Simms would be more easily grasped.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simms (US 3,184,219) in view of Stankus et al. (US 6,283,451 B1) and Biass (US 4,615,509)
Claim 6: Simms fails to disclose that the first and the second hydraulic actuator are free floating on the distal ends.
However, Biass teaches a cable tensioning apparatus that includes a first and second actuator that are free floating on a distal end (as depicted in Figure 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of Stankus et al. such that the first and the second hydraulic actuator are free floating on the distal ends because this would reduce the weight of the apparatus by eliminating the end plate 7.
Conclusion
/JASON L VAUGHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726