Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference characters not mentioned in the description: 10, 20, 30, and 40. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 mentions the second and third lateral surfaces of the cover window facing each other, as echoed in paragraph 0084 of the specifications, while claim 5 mentions the fourth and first lateral surfaces facing each other, as shown in paragraph 0064. These are not shown in any of the drawings, and the drawing of the cover window in FIG. 1 does not show the respective surfaces facing each other as claimed, if it is even possible. It is likely that the language is intending to mean for the lateral surfaces to be parallel, but this is not properly written. For examination purposes, the lateral surfaces of the cover window facing each other will be interpreted to mean that they are parallel to each other.
Claims 6-10 are rejected for being dependent on claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yee et al. (US 20200093016 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 20180121002 A1).
Regarding claim 1, FIG. 1, FIG. 22 and FIG. 23 of Yee et al. teaches a display apparatus (10; FIG. 22; paragraph 0048), comprising:
a display panel (300; FIG. 22; paragraph 0049) including a display area (DA; FIG. 1; paragraph 0049) and a non-display area (NDA; FIG. 1; paragraph 0049);
a cover window (100; FIG. 1; paragraph 0048) disposed on the display panel; and
a back frame (600; FIG. 23; paragraph 0088) coupled to the cover window, wherein:
the cover window includes a plurality of protrusions (100; FIG. 1; paragraph 0048) on a first lateral surface of the cover window, and the back frame includes a plurality of fixation grooves (SS1; FIG. 1; paragraph 0049) on a first lateral surface (SS1; FIG. 1; paragraph 0049) of the back frame, the plurality of fixation grooves coupled to the plurality of protrusions of the cover window, the second lateral surface (LS1; FIG. 1; paragraph 0049) being perpendicular to the first lateral surface of the back frame.
Yee et al. does not teach the back frame including a sliding groove on a second lateral surface and a third lateral surface of the back frame, the third lateral surface facing the second lateral surface.
Kim et al. teaches a housing side wall (530; FIG. 2; paragraph 0123) may include a groove (531; FIG. 2; paragraph 0123) provided in an upper inner surface and an elastic member (570; FIG. 2; paragraph 0123) installed in the groove that the cover window (300; FIG. 2; paragraph 0123) rests on while being perpendicular to the surface of the grooves on Yee et al..
Both Yee et al. and Kim et al. are analogous with the claimed invention in that they involve display devices with windows and frames. Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have sliding grooves on the side walls of the frame. This set up allows external impact on the cover window to be absorbed, making it bendable (paragraph 0123).
Regarding claim 2, as best interpreted in regards to the 112(b) rejection above, the combination of Yee et al. in view of Kim et al. teaches the display apparatus of claim 1. Yee et al further teaches the apparatus wherein the cover window includes a second lateral surface (LS1; FIG. 1; paragraph 0049) being perpendicular to the first lateral surface (SS1; FIG. 1; paragraph 0049) of the cover window, and the cover window further includes a third lateral surface (LS2; FIG. 1; paragraph 0049) facing the second lateral surface. Yee et al. does not teach the apparatus wherein the second lateral surface and the third lateral surface of the cover window are coupled to the sliding grooves of the second lateral surface and the third lateral surface of the back frame.
Kim et al. teaches the corresponding housing side wall (530; FIG. 2; paragraph 0123) may include a groove (531; FIG. 2; paragraph 0123).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have to have sliding grooves on the side walls of the frame. This set up allows external impact on the cover window to be absorbed, making it bendable (paragraph 0123).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Yee et al. in view of Kim et al. teaches the display apparatus of claim 1. Yee et al. teaches the apparatus wherein the plurality of fixation grooves (SS1; FIG. 1; paragraph 0123) of the back frame (600; FIG. 23; paragraph 0088) are provided on a lateral wall (600b; FIG. 23; paragraph 0145) of the back frame, wherein the lateral wall is elongated upward from a bottom surface of the back frame. Yee et al. does not teach the sliding grooves being on the later wall of the back frame.
Kim et al. teaches the corresponding housing side wall (530; FIG. 2; paragraph 0123) may include a groove (531; FIG. 2; paragraph 0123).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have sliding walls on the side grooves of the frame. This set up allows external impact on the cover window to be absorbed, making it bendable (paragraph 0123).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Yee et al. and Kim et al. teach the display apparatus of claim 3. Kim et al. further teaches the apparatus wherein the display apparatus further comprises an upper surface part (SS1; FIG. 1; paragraph 0049), wherein the upper surface part is elongated from the lateral wall (600b; FIG. 23; paragraph 0145) of the back frame (600; FIG. 23; paragraph 0088) and covers the plurality of fixation grooves (SS1; FIG. 1; paragraph 0049). Yee et al. does not teach the upper surface covering sliding grooves.
Kim et al. teaches the corresponding housing side wall (530; FIG. 2; paragraph 0123) covers a groove (531; FIG. 2; paragraph 0123) that the cover window (300; FIG. 2; paragraph 0123) rests on.
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have sliding grooves on the side walls of the frame covered by an upper side wall. This set up allows external impact on the cover window to be absorbed, making it bendable (paragraph 0123).
Regarding claim 5, as best interpreted in regards to the 112(b) rejection above, the combination of Yee et al. in view of Kim et al. teaches the display apparatus of claim 1. FIG. 1 and FIG. 23 of Yee et al. further teaches the apparatus wherein the cover window (100; FIG. 1; paragraph 0048) includes a fixation bar (200; FIG. 23; paragraph 0123) disposed on a lower surface of a fourth lateral surface (SS2; FIG. 1; paragraph 0049) of the cover window, and wherein the fourth lateral surface of the cover window faces the first lateral surface (SS1; FIG. 1; paragraph 0049) of the cover window.
Regarding claim 10, as best interpreted in regards to the 112(b) rejection above, the combination of Yee et al. in view of Kim et al. teaches the display apparatus of claim 5. FIG. 1 and FIG. 23 of Yee et al. further teach the apparatus wherein the fixation bar (200; FIG. 23; paragraph 0123) is attached to the lower surface of the fourth lateral surface (SS2; FIG. 1; paragraph 0049) of the cover window (100; FIG. 1; paragraph 0048), by an adhesive (910; FIG. 23; paragraph 0123).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Yee et al. in view of Kim et al. teaches the display apparatus of claim 1. Yee et al. does not teach the apparatus further comprising: a driving assembly including a printed circuit board and a chip on film electrically coupled to the display panel.
FIG. 2 of Kim et al. teaches a driving circuit unit (700; FIG. 125; paragraph 0125) according to an embodiment may include a circuit board (710; FIG. 125; paragraph 0125), first flexible printed circuit cable (720; FIG. 2; paragraph 0125), and a display panel driving circuit (740; FIG. 2; paragraph 0125) in which the first flexible printed circuit cable may be connected to a first connector provided in the circuit board and may be connected to the panel pad part (115; FIG. 2; paragraph 0125) provided on the substrate (110; FIG. 2; paragraph 0125) of the organic light emitting display device (100; FIG. 2; paragraph 0125) and the driving integrated circuit (IC) mounted in a chip mounting area in a chip-on glass (COG) type (paragraph 0129).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a driving assembly including a printed circuit board and a chip on film electrically coupled to the display panel. This allows the display device to display an image (paragraph 0124).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Yee et al. in view of Kim et al. teaches the display apparatus of claim 11. Yee et al. does not teach the apparatus, wherein the driving assembly is disposed between the back frame and the display panel.
FIG. 2 of Kim et al. shows the driving circuit unit (700; FIG. 125; paragraph 0125) between the rear cover (550; FIG. 2; paragraph 0121) and the display device (100; FIG. 2; paragraph 0125).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the driving assembly disposed between the back frame and the display panel. This is because the rear surface can be used a system accommodating space (paragraph 0121).
Regarding claim 13, FIG. 1, FIG. 22 and FIG. 23 Yee et al. teach a display apparatus (10; FIG. 22; paragraph 0048), comprising:
a display panel (300; FIG. 22; paragraph 0049);
a cover window (100; FIG. 22; paragraph 0049) disposed on the display panel, the cover window including a plurality of protrusions (100; FIG. 22; paragraph 0048); and
a back frame (600; FIG. 23; paragraph 0088) coupled to the cover window, the back frame including a plurality of fixation grooves (SS1; FIG. 1; paragraph 0049), wherein the plurality of protrusions of the cover window are coupled to the plurality of fixation grooves of the back frame.
Yee et al. does not include the back frame including a sliding groove, wherein the plurality of fixation grooves and the at least one sliding groove are on different surfaces of the back frame.
FIG. 2 of Kim et al. teaches a housing side wall (530; FIG. 2; paragraph 0123) may include a groove (531; FIG. 2; paragraph 0123) provided in an upper inner surface and an elastic member (570; FIG. 2; paragraph 0123) installed in the groove that the cover window (300; FIG. 2; paragraph 0123) rests on while being perpendicular to the surface of the grooves on Yee et al..
Both Yee et al. and Kim et al. are analogous with the claimed invention in that they involve display devices with windows and frames. Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have sliding grooves on the side walls of the frame. This set up allows external impact on the cover window to be absorbed, making it bendable (paragraph 0123).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Yee et al. in view of Kim et al. teaches the display apparatus of claim 13. Yee does not teach the apparatus wherein the at least one sliding groove of the back frame includes a first sliding groove and a second sliding groove, the first sliding groove and the second sliding groove being on opposite lateral surfaces of the back frame.
FIG. 2 of Kim et al. teaches opposing housing side walls (530; FIG. 2; paragraph 0123) may each include a groove (531; FIG. 2; paragraph 0123).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have to have sliding grooves on the side walls of the frame. This set up allows external impact on the cover window to be absorbed, making it bendable (paragraph 0123).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Yee et al. in view of Kim et al. teach the display apparatus of claim 14. Yee et al. does not teach the apparatus wherein the cover window includes opposite side surfaces coupled to the first sliding groove and the second sliding groove on the opposite lateral surfaces of the back frame.
FIG. 2 of Kim et al. teaches opposing housing side walls (530; FIG. 2; paragraph 0123) may each include a groove (531; FIG. 2; paragraph 0123) that opposing sides of the cover window (300; FIG. 2; paragraph 0066).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have to have sliding grooves on the side walls of the frame. This set up allows external impact on the cover window to be absorbed, making it bendable (paragraph 0123).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Yee et al. in view of Kim et al. teaches the display apparatus of claim 14. FIG. 1 and FIG. 23 of Yee et al. further teach the apparatus wherein the back frame (600; FIG. 23; paragraph 0088) includes a lateral wall (600b; FIG. 23; paragraph 0145) extending from a bottom surface of the back frame (600a; FIG. 23; paragraph 0145), the lateral wall including the plurality of fixation grooves (SS1; FIG. 1; paragraph 0049). Yee et al. does not teach the lateral wall including the first sliding groove and the second sliding groove.
FIG. 2 of Kim et al. teaches opposing housing side walls (530; FIG. 2; paragraph 0123) may each include a groove (531; FIG. 2; paragraph 0123).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have to have sliding grooves on the side walls of the frame. This set up allows external impact on the cover window to be absorbed, making it bendable (paragraph 0123).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Yee et al. in view of Kim et al. teaches the display apparatus of claim 13. Yee does not teach the apparatus further comprising: a driving assembly electrically coupled to the display panel and disposed between the back frame and the display panel, wherein the driving assembly includes a printed circuit board and a chip on film.
FIG. 2 of Kim et al. teaches a driving circuit unit (700; FIG. 125; paragraph 0125) located between the rear cover (550; FIG. 2; paragraph 0121) and the display device (100; FIG. 2; paragraph 0125) and, according to an embodiment, may include a circuit board (710; FIG. 125; paragraph 0125), first flexible printed circuit cable (720; FIG. 2; paragraph 0125), and a display panel driving circuit (740; FIG. 2; paragraph 0125) in which the first flexible printed circuit cable may be connected to a first connector provided in the circuit board and may be connected to the panel pad part (115; FIG. 2; paragraph 0125) provided on the substrate (110; FIG. 2; paragraph 0125) of the organic light emitting display device (100; FIG. 2; paragraph 0125) and the driving integrated circuit (IC) mounted in a chip mounting area in a chip-on glass (COG) type (paragraph 0129).
It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a driving assembly including a printed circuit board and a chip on film electrically coupled to the display panel. This allows the display device to display an image (paragraph 0124).
Claims 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Yee et al. in view of Kim et al. as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20230217614 A1).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Yee et al. in view of Kim et al. teaches the display apparatus of claim 5. Neither Yee et al. nor Kim et al. teach the apparatus wherein the back frame further includes a lower end fixation part having at least one hook on a fourth lateral surface of the back frame, the fourth lateral surface of the back frame facing the first lateral surface of the back frame.
Lee et al. teach a second housing (220; FIG. 14; FIG. 15; paragraph 0142) may include the first reception groove (222; FIG. 14; paragraph 0142), a fourth reception groove (224; FIG. 14; paragraph 0142), a fifth reception groove (228; FIG. 14; paragraph 0142), and a second hook structure (227; FIG. 14; FIG. 15; paragraph 0142) opposite of the grooves, and a first housing (210; FIG. 15; paragraph 0142) opposite of the second housing may include a first hook structure (214; FIG. 15; paragraph 0142).
Yee et al., Kim et al., and Lee et al. are all analogous with the claimed invention in that they involve display devices with windows and frames. Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a fixation part of the frame to have at least one hook opposite of the grooves on the frame. This allows components to be prevented and/or reduced from spacing apart from each other due to an external force unintended by a user (paragraph 0145).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Yee et al. in view of Kim et al. teaches the display apparatus of claim 13. Neither Yee et al. nor Kim et al. teach apparatus wherein the back frame further includes a fastener having a hook, and wherein the fastener is located on an opposite side of the back frame from the plurality of fixation grooves.
Lee et al. teach a second housing (220; FIG. 14; FIG. 15; paragraph 0142) may include the first reception groove (222; FIG. 14; paragraph 0142), a fourth reception groove (224; FIG. 14; paragraph 0142), a fifth reception groove (228; FIG. 14; paragraph 0142), and a second hook structure (227; FIG. 14; FIG. 15; paragraph 0142) opposite of the grooves, and a first housing (210; FIG. 15; paragraph 0142) opposite of the second housing may include a first hook structure (214; FIG. 15; paragraph 0142).
Yee et al., Kim et al., and Lee et al. are all analogous with the claimed invention in that they involve display devices with windows and frames. Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a fixation part of the frame to have at least one hook opposite of the grooves on the frame. This allows components to be prevented and/or reduced from spacing apart from each other due to an external force unintended by a user (paragraph 0145).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Yee et al. in view of Kim et al. and further in view of Lee et al. teach the display apparatus of claim 17. Yee et all, Kim et al., and Lee et al. do not teach the apparatus wherein the cover window includes a fixation bar with a hole configured to receive the hook of the fastener of the back frame. Based on this configuration, it would be improper in hindsight for a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify Yee et al. so that a fixation bar on the cover window has a hole to fit a hook on the back frame.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jeong et al. (US 20160204377 A1) concerns a cover window for a display device. Jinbo (US 20150177789 A1) concerns a portable semiconductor device with a flexible display panel.
/J.A.V./ Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/RATISHA MEHTA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817