DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after 3/11/2023 March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Priority
This application is a CON of 17/383,664 07/23/2021 ABN
17/383,664 is a CON of 16/044,276 07/24/2018 PAT 11,071,745
16/044,276 is a CON of 14/793,550 07/07/2015 PAT 10,052,329
14/793,550 has PRO 62/021,589 07/07/2014.
This claim to priority is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed 9/9/2026, 8/22/2024, and 11/3/2023 have been considered by the Examiner. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR §§ 1.97 and 1.98. Enclosed with this Office Action is a return-copy of the Forms PTO-1449 with the Examiner’s signature and indication of those references that have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Written Description
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims are drawn to an invention where any antiviral agent, generally, is used for the prevention of HSV infection in an HSV seronegative subject prior to physical contact with an HSV seropositive partner. However, the specification fails to adequately describe the claimed invention as generically presented. The lack of written description is exacerbated by 1) the many different species of antiviral agents having unrelated structures such as peptide-fatty acid conjugates, interferon cytokines, pyridinyl ketones, ionic metals, etc.
The description requirement of the patent statute requires a description of an invention, not an indication of a result that one might achieve if one made that invention. See, e.g., In re Wilder, 22 USPQ 369, 372-3 (Fed. Cir. 1984). (Holding that a claim was not adequately described because the specification did ‘little more than outline goals appellants hope the claimed invention achieves and the problems the invention will hopefully ameliorate.’)
Mere indistinct terms (such as “antiviral agent” used herein), however, may not suffice to meet the written description requirement. This is particularly true when a compound is claimed in purely functional terms. See Univ. of Rochester v. G.D. Searle, 69 USPQ2d 1886 (CAFC 2004) at 1892, stating:
The appearance of mere indistinct words in a specification or a claim, even an original claim, does not necessarily satisfy that requirement. A description of an anti-inflammatory steroid, i.e., a steroid (a generic structural term) described even in terms of its functioning of lessening inflammation of tissues fails to distinguish any steroid from others having the same activity or function. A description of what a material does, rather than of what it is, usually does not suffice…. The disclosure must allow one skilled in the art to visualize or recognize the identity of the subject matter purportedly described. (Emphasis added).
Conversely, a description of a chemical genus will usually comprise a recitation of structural features common to the members of the genus, which features constitute a substantial portion of the genus. See Univ. of Calf. V. Eli Lilly, 43 USPQ 2d 1398, 1406 (Fed. Cir. 1997). This is analogous to enablement of a genus under Section 112(a), by showing the enablement of a representative number of species within the genus.
A chemical genus can be adequately described if the disclosure presents a sufficient number of representative species that encompass the genus as claimed. If the genus has substantial variance, the disclosure must describe a sufficient number of species to reflect the variation within that genus. See MPEP 2163. The MPEP lists factors that can be used to determine if sufficient evidence of possession has been furnished in the disclosure of the application. These include the level of skill and knowledge in the art, partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics alone or coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between structure and function, and the method of making the claimed invention. Disclosure of any combination of such identifying characteristics that distinguish the claimed invention from other materials and would lead one of skill in the art to the conclusion that the applicant was in possession of the claimed species is sufficient. See MPEP § 2163. However, the genus of “antiviral agents” comprises substantial variance and encompasses agents unrelated by structure, physical and/or chemical properties. The term “antiviral agent” encompasses a multitude of different agents with distinct molecular structures including:
peptide-fatty acid conjugates having the structure
(see US 5,837,249; col. 1),
antibodies such as SEQ ID 1 (see US 2019/0185546; abstract; p. 3; Claim 1),
ionic metals such as ionic zinc (see US 2020/0397791; 0157),
interferon cytokines (see US 4,507,281; abstract; Claim 10),
nucleoside analogs such as acyclovir, Ara A, trifluridine, and ribavirin (see US 7,091,190; Claims 16-19, 26-31),
amido-substituted heterocycle (see US 2023/0077499; title; abstract; Claim 1),
imidazo[1,2-a]pyridine compounds (see US 2005/0228004; title; abstract; Claim 18) and
pyridinyl ketones (see US 4,479,958; title; abstract).
Clearly, the genus “antiviral agent” has substantial variance in structural and chemical characteristics.
(NOTE: references 1-7 were submitted with 11/03/2023 IDS.)
Here, the specification does not provide a reasonably representative disclosure of useful “antiviral agent” generally, a potentially huge genus inclusive of many different compounds having widely divergent structures and chemical functions. Specifically, the specification discloses only a limited number of antiviral agent species at 0010 and 0011, and these are not viewed as being reasonably representative of the genus in its claimed scope because no readily apparent combination of identifying characteristics is provided, other than the disclosure of those specific species as examples of the claimed genus. Moreover, regarding the actual prevention of HSV infection in a seronegative subject as claimed, the specification does not provide results for any antiviral agent. Thus, it is clear that the specification does not describe a representative number of species of antiviral agents for preventing HSV infection in a seropositive subject.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Stanberry et al. (“Glycoprotein-D–Adjuvant Vaccine to Prevent Genital Herpes.”; N Engl J Med (2002); 347:1652-1661. DOI: 10.1056/NEJMoa011915.)
Claimed invention
The claim is drawn to method of preventing HSV infection in an HSV seronegative subject comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a first antiviral agent prior to physical contact with a partner who is seropositive for HSV.
Prior art
Stanberry teaches prevention of herpes simplex virus type 2 (HSV-2) by administering a glycoprotein-D–subunit vaccine with alum and 3-O-deacylated-monophosphoryl lipid A to HSV seronegative subjects whose regular sexual partners had a history of genital herpes. These sexual partners were referred to as “source partners” and their infected status was clinically confirmed, i.e., inferring seropositive (see abstract; see also ‘Vaccination and Design of the Studies’, p. 1653):
We conducted two double-blind, randomized trials of a herpes simplex virus type 2 (HSV-2) glycoprotein-D–subunit vaccine with alum and 3-O-deacylated-monophosphoryl lipid A in subjects whose regular sexual partners had a history of genital herpes. In Study 1, subjects were seronegative for herpes simplex virus type 1 (HSV-1) and HSV-2; in Study 2, subjects were of any HSV serologic status.
See abstract. Emphasis added.
All subjects had a regular sexual partner (the “source partner”) with clinically confirmed genital herpes, were randomly assigned to receive either vaccine or a control preparation by intramuscular injection in the deltoid area at months 0, 1, and 6, and were followed for a total of 19 months. The primary efficacy end point, the occurrence of genital herpes disease, was defined as genital signs or symptoms (e.g., pain, itching, swelling, papules, vesicles, ulcers, or crusts) with either a positive HSV culture or detection of HSV DNA by polymerase chain reaction (PCR) and HSV seroconversion. A secondary efficacy end point, HSV infection, was defined as genital herpes disease or asymptomatic seroconversion to HSV antigens not contained in the vaccine.
See ‘Vaccination and Design of the Studies’, p. 1653. Emphasis added.
Some of the source partners agreed to not use suppressive antiviral therapy. See ‘Vaccination and Design of the Studies’, p. 1653. Condom use was recommended to reduce the risk of transmission. See ‘Assessments of Efficacy’ at p. 1653. The subjects further indicated whether they used condoms and, if so, how often (see Table 1 at p. 1654):
Thus, treatment occurred prior to contacts with a source partner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kern (US 4719235).
Claimed invention
The claim is drawn to method of preventing HSV infection in an HSV seronegative subject comprising administering to the subject a therapeutically effective amount of a first antiviral agent prior to physical contact with a partner who is seropositive for HSV.
Prior art
Kern is drawn to treating and preventing viral infections including HSV (HSV-1 or HSV-2 – see col. 1:~30; see Claim 6) infection. See col. 1:~14-16; see col. 2:33-36; see Claim 8. Kern discloses methods for preventing virus from infecting a cell and thereby preventing infection in a person susceptible thereto by administering an effective amount of dioctyl sodium sulfosuccinate. See Claims 9, 10, 12, 13 and 16. Deterring the virus from infecting a human after entry has been made is suggested as a way to prevent infection. See col. 13, lines ~50-55.
While Kern teaches that the antiviral agent, dioctyl sodium sulfosuccinate, can be used to protect a subject from contracting HSV infection, Kern does not teach that the subject is seronegative and has a seropositive partner.
Given that the antiviral is taught to be given to persons prior to a virus infecting their cells, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to administer the antiviral agent to those subjects who are not infected with HSV, i.e., seronegative, to prevent them from becoming infected with the HSV. Further given that the antiviral is administered to those subjects who are susceptible to infection, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to administer the antiviral agent to a subject who has an HSV seropositive partner, that would make them susceptible to HSV infection. The artisan would have reasonably sought to prevent infection of the seronegative subject due to HSV from a seropositive partner by taking advantage of the effectiveness of the antiviral agent in preventing infection. Therefore, the claimed invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious over the prior art.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-29 of U.S. Patent No. 10,052,329. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current claim and the patented claims are drawn to the use of an antiviral composition for preventing HSV infection in a seronegative subject who has a seropositive partner.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-42 of U.S. Patent No. 11,071,745. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current claim and the patented claims are drawn to the use of an antiviral composition for preventing HSV infection in a seronegative subject who has a seropositive partner.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims, 1-46 of U.S. Patent No. 11,071,745 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current claim and the copending claims are drawn to the use of an antiviral composition for preventing HSV infection in a seronegative subject who has a seropositive partner.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
CHRIS E. SIMMONS
Examiner
Art Unit 1622
/CHRIS E SIMMONS/
Examiner, Art Unit 1622
/JAMES H ALSTRUM-ACEVEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1622