DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 7-11 in the reply filed on 3/18/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that request rejoinder upon allowance of claims elected. Rejoinder will be considered if the withdrawn claims are amended commensurate in scope with the claims found allowable.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 8, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “an organic salt composed only of monovalent cations and monovalent anions.” The monovalent cations and anions recited are only inorganic. This is confusing. Also molecular weight of potassium nitrate is 101.10.
Examiner assumes that the monovalent cations and anions are only for the inorganic salt.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. The added elements in claim 11, bisulfite, etc., change he scope of claim 7, because claim 7 is limited to only the recited salts. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7, 8, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by, or in the alternative, under 35 USC 103 as unpatentable over Marsh et al (US 2003/0098272).
Claims are directed to a spiral wound membrane having a preservative solution in it, which is a salt composed of inorganic and/or organic salt in claim 7. Therefore, claim 7 is met when the preservative is only an organic salt (like acetates.) The membrane has a porous support and the polyamide layer composed of piperazine in claim 8. The preservation solution has the salt at 0.5% or more by mass in claim 10.
Marsh teaches commercially available NF45 and SR90 membranes which are available [0006] as spiral wound [0007] and which are preserved with 1% sodium bisulfite at pH 4.4 – see the table I, example 1 and example 8 for spiral wound element bagged in 1% sodium bisulfite solution.
Marsh teaches that the preservative solution is buffered with anions -HCO3 (bicarbonate) in claim 12, or salts of formic or acetic acids in claim 14. Na or K or NH4 is implied as cation in these cases, or at the last obvious to one of ordinary skill as immediately envisaged, since these are applied as pH buffer in Marsh. Sodium acetate and sodium bicarbonate, for example, are a well-known pH buffers. This along with the bisulfite meets the bacteriostat or bactericide of claim 11.
MPEP 2131.02-III: A GENERIC DISCLOSURE WILL ANTICIPATE A CLAIMED SPECIES COVERED BY THAT DISCLOSURE WHEN THE SPECIES CAN BE "AT ONCE ENVISAGED" FROM THE DISCLOSURE
"[W]hether a generic disclosure necessarily anticipates everything within the genus … depends on the factual aspects of the specific disclosure and the particular products at issue." Sanofi-Synthelabo v. Apotex, Inc., 550 F.3d 1075, 1083, 89 USPQ2d 1370, 1375 (Fed. Cir. 2008). See also Osram Sylvania Inc. v. American Induction Tech. Inc., 701 F.3d 698, 706, 105 USPQ2d 1368, 1374 (Fed. Cir. 2012) ("how one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the relative size of a genus or species in a particular technology is of critical importance").
A reference disclosure can anticipate a claim when the reference describes the limitations but "'d[oes] not expressly spell out' the limitations as arranged or combined as in the claim, if a person of skill in the art, reading the reference, would ‘at once envisage’ the claimed arrangement or combination." Kennametal, Inc. v. Ingersoll Cutting Tool Co., 780 F.3d 1376, 1381, 114 USPQ2d 1250, 1254 (Fed. Cir. 2015)
In the instant case, Na, K, NH4, etc., are at once envisaged by one of ordinary skill in the art as the common cationic species (from the genus of cations) by one of ordinary skill as the cations associated with the cited anions in Marsh, especially when used as a buffer. Also, since Marsh adds sodium bisulfite, the solution does contain sodium ions. Nonetheless, since claim 7 is recited in the alternative, that is, only one of organic and inorganic sat be present, which makes the presence of monovalent ions moot.
Claim(s) 7, 8, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by, or in the alternative, under 35 USC 103 as unpatentable over CN 101219345 A.
This reference teaches polyamide spiral wound membrane with piperazine, and is preserved with combinations of sodium bisulfite, sodium acetate, sodium chloride, etc., which anticipates the claims. However, since the reference teaches combinations of many compounds as possible preservatives, it would have also been obvious to one of ordinary skill to pick and choose the commonly known and readily available compounds from the teaching of CN. The concentration recommended is 500 ppm to 10%.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/26/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. They are addressed in the rejection.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant submitted several references in IDSs that are relevant prior arts, but not applied at this time. Notable among them is JP2020142191A, which teaches 3% or more salt solution as a preservative for hollow fiber membranes.
/KRISHNAN S MENON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777