DETAILED ACTION
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendments
Applicant's response of 05/18/2026 has been acknowledged. Claims 26 and 31 have been amended. No new matter has been added.
This office action considers claims 1-31 pending for prosecution and are examined on their merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 05/18/2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 26 and 31 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
Notes: when present, hyphen separated fields within the hyphens (- -) represent, for example, as (30A - Fig 2B - [0128]) = (element 30A - Figure No. 2B - Paragraph No. [0128]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. The same conventions apply to Column and Sentence, for example (19:14-20) = (column19:sentences 14-20). These conventions are used throughout this document.
Claims 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gang et al. (US 20180033850 A1 – hereinafter Gang) in view of Lee et al. (US 20210202659 A1 - hereinafter Lee), Jin et al. (US 20130256723 A1 – hereinafter Jin), and Kim et al. (US 20210132424 A1 – hereinafter Kim-424).
Regarding independent claim 26, Gang teaches
(Currently Amended) A display panel (150 – Fig. 1 – [0035] – “display
panel 150 displays”) comprising:
a substrate (SUB – Fig. 6 – [0060] – “substrate SUB”);
a bank (BNK – Fig. 6 – [0088] – “bank layer BNK defining pixels is positioned on
the substrate SUB”) on the substrate (SUB), the bank (BNK) including an opening (Fig. 6 annotated, see below, hereinafter ‘OP’);
a subpixel (SP – Fig. 1 – [0035] – “subpixels SP”) on the substrate (SUB), the
subpixel (SP) including a thin film transistor (DR – Fig. 6 – [0067] – “driving transistor DR”) and a light emitting element (OLED – Fig. 6 – [0068] – “organic light emitting diode OLED”) connected to the thin film transistor (DR – Fig. 6 shows this), the light emitting element (OLED) in the opening (OP – Fig. 7 annotated, see below, shows this) of the bank (BNK) and including an anode electrode (ANO – Fig. 7 – [0058] – “first electrode ANO”), a light emitting layer (EML – Fig. 7 – [0068] – “emission layer EML”) on the anode electrode (ANO), and a cathode electrode (CAT – Fig. 7 – [0069] – “organic light emitting diode OLED includes a second electrode CAT on the emission layer EML”) on the light emitting layer (EML);
a first signal line configured to supply a first signal to the subpixel ; and
a first active pattern comprising a first cutting area that disconnects the first
signal line and the subpixel, the first cutting area overlapping the light emitting element,
wherein the active pattern comprises a material having oxide, and
wherein the first active pattern is disposed on a layer lower than a layer on which a drain electrode of the thin film transistor is disposed.
Gang does not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 26.
However, in an analogous art, Lee teaches
a thin film ([0057] – “driving thin film transistor TFT” – hereinafter ‘DR’) transistor,
a first signal line (RL – Fig. – [0244] – “branch line RBL includes a long line
portion RBL-1 in a first direction x and a branch portion RBL-2 which is bent from the line portion RBL-1 in a second direction y intersecting the first direction x and is connected to a pixel circuit. The line portion RBL-1 is connected to a reference voltage line RL and intersects data lines DL1 and DL2”) configured to supply a first signal to the subpixel (SP1 – Fig. 22 – [0157] – “first subpixel SP1”); and
a first active pattern (RBL-2 – Fig. 22 – [0247] – “RBL-2 have a multi-layered
structure in which a semiconductor layer SEM and a third metal layer ML3 are stacked”) comprising a first cutting area (Fig. 22 – [0243] – “cutting line I-I′ in FIG. 22” – hereinafter ‘CTA’) that disconnects the first signal line (RL) and the subpixel (SP1),
wherein the active pattern (SEM) comprises a material having oxide (SEM – Fig. 11A – [0132] – “semiconductor material is deposited on a buffer layer BUF to form a semiconductor layer SEM on the buffer layer BUF. An oxide semiconductor, for example, indium-gallium-zinc oxide (IGZO), can be selected as the semiconductor material”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the signal line and active pattern structure as taught by Lee into Gang.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Lee in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result [0006] - "to providing a display panel in which an aperture ratio of pixels is increased. The present disclosure is directed to providing a repair method of darkening a defective pixel of the display panel."
To do so would have merely been to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143 I. D.
Gang and Lee do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 26.
However, in an analogous art, Jin teaches
, the first cutting area (CL – Fig. 3 – [0050] – “structure of the pixel PE cut by the laser according to the cutting line CL of the OLED display”) overlapping (Fig. 3 shows this) the light emitting element (70 – Fig. 3 – [0041] – “organic light emitting diode 70”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the cutting area structure as taught by Jin into Gang and Lee.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Jin in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of performing a laser cut
line overlapping a light emitting element.
To do so would have merely been to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143 I. D.
Gang, Lee, and Jin do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 26.
However, in an analogous art, Kim-424 teaches
wherein the first active pattern (CH – Fig. 2 – [0058] – “active pattern AP including a channel layer CH”) is disposed on a layer lower than a layer ([0058] – “switching element may include an active pattern AP including a channel layer CH, a gate electrode GE overlapping the active pattern AP” – Fig. 2 shows this) on which a drain electrode (DE – Fig. 2 – [0058] – “drain electrode DE”) of the thin film transistor ([0058] – “switching element may include an active pattern AP including a channel layer CH, a gate electrode GE overlapping the active pattern AP” – this is a thin film transistor) is disposed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the active pattern structure as taught by Kim-424 into Gang, Lee, and Jin.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Kim-424 in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0059] – “the active pattern AP may include ohmic contact layers OC1 and OC2 for reducing a contact resistance with the source/drain electrodes SE and DE.”
Regarding claim 27, Gang, as modified by Lee, Jin, and Kim-424, teaches claim 26 from which claim 27 depends. Gang, Jin, and Kim-424 do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 27.
However, in an analogous art, Lee teaches
(Original) The display panel of claim 26, further comprising:
a second signal line (VDDH – Fig. 13 – [0213] – “power line VDDH”)
configured to supply a second signal (VDDH – Fig. 13 – [0213] – “power line VDDH, which supply power (Vref or EVDD) to a pixel circuit”) to the subpixel (SP1);
and
a second active pattern (ML3 – Fig. 23 – [0231] – “active layer ACT of a transistor TFT can have a multi-layered structure in which a semiconductor layer SEML and a third metal layer ML3 are stacked”) overlapping the light emitting element (OLED – [0078] – “light-emitting element OLED” – Fig. 23 shows this) and comprising a second cutting area (Fig. 13 annotated, see below – [0213] – “power line VDDH can be melted to disconnect the horizontal power line VDDH without changing the wavelength of the laser beam” – hereinafter ‘CTA2’”) that disconnects the second signal line (VDDH) and the subpixel (SP1), the second cutting area (CTA2) overlapping the bank (BNK – [0080 – “bank BNK” – Fig. 18 shows BNK overlapping the data line DL and CTA2 is near DL therefore CTA2 overlaps BNK),
wherein the second active pattern (ML3) comprises the material having oxide (RBL – Fig. 17 – [0151] – “A multi-layer portion of the branch line RBL, in which the semiconductor layer and the third metal layer are stacked (hereinafter, referred to as a “branch line having a multi-layered structure”)” – RBL contains ACT and SEM, SEM if formed of IGZO, ACT if formed of ML3, therefor ML3 includes IGZO).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the signal line and active pattern structure as taught by Lee into Gang.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Lee in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 26.
Regarding claim 28, Gang, as modified by Lee, Jin, and Kim-424, teaches claim 27 from which claim 28 depends. Gang, Jin, and Kim-424 do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 28.
However, in an analogous art, Lee teaches
(Original) The display panel of claim 27, wherein the second active pattern
(ML3) overlaps a light emitting element (OLED) of another subpixel ([0231] – “active layer ACT of a transistor TFT can have a multi-layered structure in which a semiconductor layer SEML and a third metal layer ML3 are stacked” – each subpixel has a transistor therefor ML3 also overlaps OLED of another subpixel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the second active pattern structure as taught by Lee into Gang.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Lee in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 26.
Regarding claim 29, Gang, as modified by Lee, Jin, and Kim-424, teaches claim 26 from which claim 29 depends. Gang, Jin, and Kim-424 do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 29.
However, in an analogous art, Lee teaches
(Original) The display panel of claim 26, further comprising:
a color filter (CF – Fig. 23 – [0093] – “color filter CF”) between the first active
pattern (SEM) and the light emitting element (OLED – Fig. 23 shows this), and
the color filter (CF) overlapping the first active pattern (SEM) and the light emitting element (OLED – Fig. 23 shows this).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the signal line and active pattern structure as taught by Lee into Gang.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Lee in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 26.
Regarding claim 30, Gang, as modified by Lee, Jin, and Kim-424, teaches claim 26 from which claim 30 depends. Gang, Jin, and Kim-424 do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 30.
However, in an analogous art, Lee teaches
(Original) The display panel of claim 26, wherein the first active pattern
(ACT – Fig. 18 – [0231] – “[0231] – “active layer ACT of a transistor TFT”) comprises a
first layer (SEML – Fig. 23 – [0231] – “active layer ACT of a transistor TFT can have a multi-layered structure in which a semiconductor layer SEML and a third metal layer ML3 are stacked”) and a second layer (ML3 – Fig. 23 – [0231] – “active layer ACT of a transistor TFT can have a multi-layered structure in which a semiconductor layer SEML and a third metal layer ML3 are stacked”) on the first layer (SEML), the first layer (SEML) including oxide semiconductor ({SEML – Fig. 15 – [0219] – “semiconductor layer SEML includes an active layer ACT”}, {SEM – Fig. 11A – [0132] – “semiconductor material is deposited on a buffer layer BUF to form a semiconductor layer SEM on the buffer layer BUF. An oxide semiconductor, for example, indium-gallium-zinc oxide (IGZO), can be selected as the semiconductor material”} – therefore SEML is an oxide semiconductor), and the second layer (ML3) including transparent conductive oxide (RBL – Fig. 17 – [0151] – “A multi-layer portion of the branch line RBL, in which the semiconductor layer and the third metal layer are stacked (hereinafter, referred to as a “branch line having a multi-layered structure”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the active pattern structure as taught by Lee into Gang.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Lee in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 26.
Regarding independent claim 31, Gang teaches
(Currently Amended) A display panel (150 – Fig. 1 – [0035] – “display
panel 150 displays”) comprising:
a substrate;
a bank (BNK – Fig. 6 – [0088] – “bank layer BNK defining pixels is positioned on
the substrate SUB”) on the substrate (SUB), the bank (BNK) including an opening (Fig. 6 annotated, see below, hereinafter ‘OP’);
a subpixel (SP – Fig. 1 – [0035] – “subpixels SP”) on the substrate (SUB), the
subpixel (SP) including a thin transistor (DR – Fig. 6 – [0067] – “driving transistor DR”) and a light emitting element (OLED – Fig. 6 – [0068] – “organic light emitting diode OLED”) connected to the thin film transistor (DR – Fig. 6 shows this), the light emitting element (OLED) in the opening (OP – Fig. 7 annotated, see below, shows this) of the bank (BNK) and including an anode electrode (ANO – Fig. 7 – [0058] – “first electrode ANO”), a light emitting layer (EML – Fig. 7 – [0068] – “emission layer EML”) on the anode electrode (ANO), and a cathode electrode (CAT – Fig. 7 – [0069] – “organic light emitting diode OLED includes a second electrode CAT on the emission layer EML”) on the light emitting layer (EML);
a signal line configured to supply a signal to the subpixel; and
an active pattern comprising a cutting area that disconnects the signal line and the subpixel, the cutting area overlapping the bank and non-overlapping the light emitting element,
wherein the active pattern comprises a material having oxide, and
wherein the first active pattern is disposed on a layer lower than a layer on which a drain electrode of the thin film transistor is disposed.
Gang does not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 31.
However, in an analogous art, Lee teaches
thin film ([0057] – “driving thin film transistor TFT” – hereinafter ‘DR’) transistor,
a signal line (RL – Fig. – [0244] – “branch line RBL includes a long line portion RBL-1 in a first direction x and a branch portion RBL-2 which is bent from the line portion RBL-1 in a second direction y intersecting the first direction x and is connected to a pixel circuit. The line portion RBL-1 is connected to a reference voltage line RL and intersects data lines DL1 and DL2”) configured to supply a signal to the subpixel (lee (SP1 – Fig. 22 – [0157] – “first subpixel SP1”); and
an active pattern comprising a cutting area (Fig. 22 – [0243] – “cutting line I-I′ in FIG. 22” – hereinafter ‘CTA’) that disconnects the signal line (RL) and the subpixel (SP1 – Fig. 2 shows this), the cutting area (CTA) overlapping the bank (BNK) and non-overlapping the light emitting element (OLED – [0078] – “light-emitting element OLED” – Fig. 23 shows this),
wherein the active pattern (SEM) comprises a material having oxide (SEM – Fig. 11A – [0132] – “semiconductor material is deposited on a buffer layer BUF to form a semiconductor layer SEM on the buffer layer BUF. An oxide semiconductor, for example, indium-gallium-zinc oxide (IGZO), can be selected as the semiconductor material”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the signal line and active pattern structure as taught by Lee into Gang.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Lee in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 26.
To do so would have merely been to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143 I. D.
Gang and Lee do not expressly disclose the other limitations of claim 31.
However, in an analogous art, Kim-424 teaches
wherein the first active pattern (CH – Fig. 2 – [0058] – “active pattern AP including a channel layer CH”) is disposed on a layer lower than a layer ([0058] – “switching element may include an active pattern AP including a channel layer CH, a gate electrode GE overlapping the active pattern AP” – Fig. 2 shows this) on which a drain electrode (DE – Fig. 2 – [0058] – “drain electrode DE”) of the thin film transistor ([0058] – “switching element may include an active pattern AP including a channel layer CH, a gate electrode GE overlapping the active pattern AP” – this is a thin film transistor) is disposed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the active pattern structure as taught by Kim-424 into Gang and Lee.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Kim-424 in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 26.
Regarding claim 32, Gang, as modified by Lee and Kim-424, teaches claim 31 from which claim 32 depends. Gang and Kim-424 do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 32.
However, in an analogous art, Lee teaches
(Currently Amended) The display panel of claim 31, wherein the first active
pattern (ACT – Fig. 18 – [0231] – “[0231] – “active layer ACT of a transistor TFT”) comprises a first layer (SEML – Fig. 23 – [0231] – “active layer ACT of a transistor TFT can have a multi-layered structure in which a semiconductor layer SEML and a third metal layer ML3 are stacked”) and a second layer (ML3 – Fig. 23 – [0231] – “active layer ACT of a transistor TFT can have a multi-layered structure in which a semiconductor layer SEML and a third metal layer ML3 are stacked”) on the first layer (SEML), the first layer (SEML) including oxide semiconductor ({SEML – Fig. 15 – [0219] – “semiconductor layer SEML includes an active layer ACT”}, {SEM – Fig. 11A – [0132] – “semiconductor material is deposited on a buffer layer BUF to form a semiconductor layer SEM on the buffer layer BUF. An oxide semiconductor, for example, indium-gallium-zinc oxide (IGZO), can be selected as the semiconductor material”} – therefore SEML is an oxide semiconductor), and the second (ML3) layer including transparent conductive oxide (RBL – Fig. 17 – [0151] – “A multi-layer portion of the branch line RBL, in which the semiconductor layer and the third metal layer are stacked (hereinafter, referred to as a “branch line having a multi-layered structure”)” – RBL contains ACT and SEM, SEM if formed of IGZO, ACT if formed of ML3, therefor ML3 includes IGZO).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the active pattern structure as taught by Lee into Gang and Kim-424.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of Lee in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result as stated above in claim 26.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gang in
view of Lee, Kim-424, and Kim (US 20200075699 A1 - hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 33, Gang as modified by Lee, and Kim-424, teaches claim 31 from which claim 33 depends. Gang, Lee, and Kim-424 do not expressly disclose the limitations of claim 33.
However, in an analogous art, Kim teaches
(Original) The display panel of claim 31, wherein the bank comprises black material ([0065] - "the first bank 114 can be formed of a black material").
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to integrate the black material structure
as taught by Kim into Gang, Lee, and Kim-424.
An ordinary artisan would have been motivated to use the known technique of
Kim in the manner set forth above to produce the predictable result of [0008] - "when
the light emitting device is formed to be uneven, there is a problem in that scattering
reflectance in an off-state of the light emitting display apparatus is increased so that a
visual feel in an off-state, that is, a black luminance can be degraded and thus not only
the outdoor visibility, but also the contrast ratio can be degraded. [0009] Therefore, the inventor of the present disclosure invented a light emitting display apparatus having a new structure which improves an outdoor visibility."
To do so would have merely been to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143 I. D.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 1 is allowed.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance:
In reference to claim 1, the prior art of record to the examiner's knowledge does
not teach or render obvious, at least to one skilled in the art, the instant invention
regarding wherein the first active pattern of at least one of the first subpixel to the
fourth subpixel is electrically connected to the fourth signal line, the second
active pattern of at least one of the first subpixel to the fourth subpixel is electrically connected to one of the second signal line or the third signal line, and
the third active pattern of at least one of the first subpixel to the fourth subpixel is
electrically connected to the first signal line,
wherein at least one of the first active pattern to the third active pattern of
at least one of the first subpixel to the fourth subpixel includes a cutting area configured to disconnect the at least one of the first subpixel to the fourth subpixel from at least one of the plurality of signal,
wherein cutting areas of the first active pattern and the second active
pattern in the first subpixel and the second subpixel overlap the emission area, and
wherein at least one cutting area of the first active pattern to the third
active pattern in the third subpixel and the fourth subpixel is in the non-emission
area in combination with the other recited limitations.
Claims 2-25 depend on claim 1 and are therefore allowable.
than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably
accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled "Comments on
Statement of Reasons for Allowance."
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner should be directed to GARY ABEL whose telephone number is (571) 272-0246. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday 8:00 am - 5:00 pm (Eastern).
/GRA/
Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/CHAD M DICKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897