Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 02/19/2026 have been fully considered, but are moot in view of new ground of rejection presented in this office action which is necessitated by applicant’s amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 7, 10-11, 14-15, 17, 20-21, 24-25, 27 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20240188081 A1) in view of YANG et al. (US 20260020021 A1).
Regarding claim 1,
Wang discloses “A user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories storing
processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more
memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to” (See Fig. 9): “receive an indication of search space set parameters for a first cell associated
with an uplink carrier and a second cell associated with a downlink carrier, the first cell
comprising an uplink-only cell and the second cell comprising a downlink-only cell” (See
[0140] FIG. 6 shows that in two cells configured by a network device for a terminal device,
only a downlink carrier is configured, activated, or scheduled in one cell, and only an uplink
carrier is configured, activated, or scheduled in the other cell. For example, only a downlink
carrier is scheduled in a primary cell 601 configured by the network device for the terminal
device, and only an uplink carrier is scheduled in a secondary cell 602 configured by the
network device for the terminal device. [0150] Cross-carrier scheduling in a plurality
of cells is also involved in the scenario shown in FIG. 6, the terminal device may monitor DCI
in the first DCI format and DCI in the second DCI format in a same search space. Specifically,
the terminal device may monitor the DCI in the first DCI format in a first search space. The
first search space is a search space corresponding to the carrier indication carried in the
second DCI format. [0151] Alternatively, the first search space may be a subset of
a search space corresponding to the carrier indication carried in the first DCI format. That is,
the terminal device monitors both the DCI in the first DCI format and the DCI in the second
DCI format in the subset of the search space corresponding to the carrier indication carried
in the first DCI format. [0105] The configuration information sent by the network device to
the terminal device may include configuration information such as the DCI formats that
need to be monitored by the terminal device, an information bit quantity of each DCI
format, and the search spaces for monitoring the DCI in the plurality of DCI formats by the
terminal device. Note: The primary cell is a downlink only cell since it’s only configured with
a downlink carrier, and the secondary cell is an uplink only cell since it’s only configured with
an uplink carrier); “wherein the search space set parameters are based at least in part on
the paired set” (See [0140] FIG. 6 shows that in two cells configured by a network
device for a terminal device, only a downlink carrier is configured, activated, or scheduled in
one cell, and only an uplink carrier is configured, activated, or scheduled in the other cell.
For example, only a downlink carrier is scheduled in a primary cell 601 configured by the
network device for the terminal device, and only an uplink carrier is scheduled in a
secondary cell 602 configured by the network device for the terminal device. Note: Since
one cell is uplink only and the other cell is downlink only, the two cells operate in a
coordinated/ paired manner. [0105] The configuration information sent by the network
device to the terminal device may include configuration information such as the DCI formats
that need to be monitored by the terminal device, an information bit quantity of each DCI
format, and the search spaces for monitoring the DCI in the plurality of DCI formats by the
terminal device. [0136] the terminal device may monitor DCI in the first DCI format and DCI
in the second DCI format in a same search space. Note: The search space set parameters are
configured for monitoring DCI based on the paired set of cells (primary and secondary cells); “receive a grant scheduling an uplink transmission via the first cell using the uplink carrier, a downlink transmission via the second cell using the downlink carrier, or both” (See [0077] Scheduling downlink/ uplink transmissions means scheduling downlink/ uplink data for the terminal, the network device sends/ receives the downlink/ uplink data according to a scheduling command, and the terminal device receives the scheduled downlink data, and the network device receives the scheduled uplink data. [0158] the first DCI format is for scheduling an uplink carrier, and carries a first carrier indication; the second DCI format is for scheduling a downlink carrier, and carries a second carrier indication), “the grant received according to the search space set parameters and via the downlink carrier of the second cell or a second downlink carrier associated with a third cell” (See [0150] the terminal device monitors both the DCI in the first DCI format and the DCI in the second DCI format in the search space corresponding to the carrier indication carried in the second DCI format, or [0151] the terminal device monitors both the DCI in the first DCI format and the DCI in the second DCI format in the subset of the search space corresponding to the carrier indication carried in the first DCI format. Note: The grant is received based on search space set parameters, and since DCI is always transmitted via PDCCH in downlink, it means the grant comes via the downlink carrier of the primary cell (downlink only cell) or another downlink carrier from another cell); “and perform the uplink transmission, receiving the downlink transmission, or both, according to the grant” (See [0077] Scheduling downlink/ uplink transmissions means scheduling downlink/ uplink data for the terminal, the network device sends/ receives the downlink/ uplink data according to a scheduling command, and the terminal device receives the scheduled downlink data, and the network device receives the scheduled uplink data).
Wang does not explicitly disclose receiving information identifying the first cell and the
second cell as a paired set of downlink-only and uplink-only cells.
However, YANG discloses “receive information identifying the first cell and the
second cell as a paired set of downlink-only and uplink-only cells” (See [0351] method may be applied to configure a co-scheduled cell set for each CIF value and specify whether each cell is a target for DL, UL, or both multi-cell scheduling (e.g., whether each cell is a target for DL only, UL only, or both DL/UL). [0356] method may be applied to configure a co-scheduled cell set for each CIF value and specify whether each CIF value (or co-scheduled cell set) is a target of DL or UL multi-cell scheduling (e.g., whether each CIF value is a target of DL only, UL only, or both DL/UL).
Note: Wang discloses a set of DL only and UL only cells. YANG discloses configuring a co-scheduled cell set and signaling information whether each cell in the set is DL only or UL only. Accordingly, the received information identifies the first and second cells as DL-only and UL-only cells within the same co-scheduled set, thereby identifying them as a paired DL/UL cell set.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Wang, with the teachings of YANG, and the motivation to do so would have been in order to enable coordinated multi-cell scheduling, thereby improving scheduling efficiency and reliability.
Regarding claim 4,
Wang in view of YANG discloses “The UE of claim 1, wherein, to receive the grant, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive a first grant scheduling the uplink transmission via the first cell; and receive a second grant scheduling the downlink transmission via the second cell” (See Wang [0077] Scheduling downlink/ uplink transmissions means scheduling downlink/ uplink data for the terminal, the network device sends/ receives the downlink/ uplink data according to a scheduling command, and the terminal device receives the scheduled downlink data, and the network device receives the scheduled uplink data. [0158] the first DCI format is for scheduling an uplink carrier, and carries a first carrier indication; the second DCI format is for scheduling a downlink carrier, and carries a second carrier indication. Note: The UE receives first DCI format scheduling an uplink carrier on the secondary cell and a second DCI formats scheduling a downlink carrier on the primary cell), “wherein a first number of information bits in the first grant and a second number of information bits in the second grant comprise a same number of information bits” (See Wang [0142] the payload size of the DCI format for scheduling the uplink carrier in the secondary cell 602 may be aligned with the payload size of the DCI format for scheduling the downlink carrier in the primary cell 601. That is, a payload size of the first DCI format is aligned with a payload size of the second DCI format. Because the second DCI format is not padded or truncated, the payload size of the first DCI format is an information bit quantity of the second DCI format, and the payload size of the second DCI format is the information bit quantity of the second DCI format. Specifically, the payload size of the first DCI format may be enabled to be the information bit quantity of the second DCI format through padding or truncation, so that payload sizes of the first DCI format and the second DCI format are equal).
Regarding claim 5,
Wang in view of YANG discloses “The UE of claim 4, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: receive an indication of an information bit size allocation for scheduling the uplink transmission via the first cell and for scheduling the downlink transmission via the second cell” (See Wang [0105] before aligning the payload sizes of the different DCI formats, the network device may first send, to the terminal device, configuration information of the DCI formats that need to be monitored by the terminal device. The configuration information sent by the network device to the terminal device may include configuration information such as the DCI formats that need to be monitored by the terminal device, an information bit quantity of each DCI format, and the search spaces for monitoring the DCI in the plurality of DCI formats by the terminal device. [0158] the first DCI format is for scheduling an uplink carrier, and carries a first carrier indication; the second DCI format is for scheduling a downlink carrier, and carries a second carrier indication), “wherein the same number of information bits is based on the information bit size allocation” (See Wang [0142] the payload size of the DCI format for scheduling the uplink carrier in the secondary cell 602 may be aligned with the payload size of the DCI format for scheduling the downlink carrier in the primary cell 601. Note: The alignment is based on the configuration information including information bit size allocation).
Regarding claim 7,
Wang in view of YANG discloses “The UE of claim 1, wherein, to receive the grant, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: monitor, according to the search space set parameters, a search space set on the downlink carrier of the second cell, the second downlink carrier of the third cell, or both” (See Wang [0150] the terminal device may monitor DCI in the first DCI format and DCI in the second DCI format in a same search space, the terminal device monitors both the DCI in the first DCI format and the DCI in the second DCI format in the search space corresponding to the carrier indication carried in the second DCI format, or [0151] the terminal device monitors both the DCI in the first DCI format and the DCI in the second DCI format in the subset of the search space corresponding to the carrier indication carried in the first DCI format).
Regarding claim 10,
Wang in view of YANG discloses “The UE of claim 1, wherein the first cell comprises a non- downlink carrier cell and the second cell comprises a non-uplink carrier cell” (See Wang [0140] FIG. 6 shows that in two cells configured by a network device for a terminal device, only a downlink carrier is configured, activated, or scheduled in one cell, and only an uplink carrier is configured, activated, or scheduled in the other cell. For example, only a downlink carrier is scheduled in a primary cell 601 configured by the network device for the terminal device, and only an uplink carrier is scheduled in a secondary cell 602 configured by the network device for the terminal device.
Regarding claim 11,
Wang discloses “A network entity, comprising: one or more memories storing processor-
executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and
individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to”
(See Fig. 10): “transmit, to a user equipment (UE), an indication of search space set
parameters for a first cell associated with an uplink carrier and a second cell associated with a downlink carrier, the first cell comprising an uplink-only cell and the second cell
comprising a downlink-only cell” (See [0140] FIG. 6 shows that in two cells configured by a
network device for a terminal device, only a downlink carrier is configured, activated, or
scheduled in one cell, and only an uplink carrier is configured, activated, or scheduled in the
other cell. For example, only a downlink carrier is scheduled in a primary cell 601 configured
by the network device for the terminal device, and only an uplink carrier is scheduled in a
secondary cell 602 configured by the network device for the terminal device. [0150] Cross-
carrier scheduling in a plurality of cells is also involved in the scenario shown in FIG. 6, the
terminal device may monitor DCI in the first DCI format and DCI in the second DCI format in
a same search space. Specifically, the terminal device may monitor the DCI in the first DCI
format in a first search space. The first search space is a search space corresponding to the
carrier indication carried in the second DCI format. [0151] Alternatively, the
first search space may be a subset of a search space corresponding to the carrier indication
carried in the first DCI format. That is, the terminal device monitors both the DCI in
the first DCI format and the DCI in the second DCI format in the subset of
the search space corresponding to the carrier indication carried in the first DCI format.
[0105] The configuration information sent by the network device to the terminal device may
include configuration information such as the DCI formats that need to be monitored by the
terminal device, an information bit quantity of each DCI format, and the search spaces for
monitoring the DCI in the plurality of DCI formats by the terminal device. Note: The primary
cell is a downlink only cell since it’s only configured with a downlink carrier, and the
secondary cell is an uplink only cell since it’s only configured with an uplink carrier); “wherein the search space set parameters are based at least in part on the paired set” (See [0140] FIG. 6 shows that in two cells configured by a network device for a terminal device, only a downlink carrier is configured, activated, or scheduled in one cell, and only an uplink carrier is configured, activated, or scheduled in the other cell. For example, only a downlink carrier is scheduled in a primary cell 601 configured by the network device for the terminal device, and only an uplink carrier is scheduled in a secondary cell 602 configured by the network device for the terminal device. Note: Since one cell is uplink only and the other cell is downlink only, the two cells operate in a coordinated/ paired manner. [0105] The configuration information sent by the network device to the terminal device may include configuration information such as the DCI formats that need to be monitored by the terminal device, an information bit quantity of each DCI format, and the search spaces for monitoring the DCI in the plurality of DCI formats by the terminal device. [0136] the terminal device may monitor DCI in the first DCI format and DCI in the second DCI format in a same search space. Note: The search space set parameters are configured for monitoring DCI based on the paired set of cells (primary and secondary cells); “transmit a grant scheduling an uplink transmission via the first cell using the uplink carrier, a downlink transmission via the second cell using the downlink carrier, or both, for the UE” (See [0077] Scheduling downlink/ uplink transmissions means scheduling downlink/ uplink data for the terminal, the network device sends/ receives the downlink/ uplink data according to a scheduling command, and the terminal device receives the scheduled downlink data, and the network device receives the scheduled uplink data. [0158] the first DCI format is for scheduling an uplink carrier, and carries a first carrier indication; the second DCI format is for scheduling a downlink carrier, and carries a second carrier indication), “the grant transmitted according to the search space set parameters and via the downlink carrier of the second cell or a second downlink carrier associated with a third cell” (See [0150] the terminal device monitors both the DCI in the first DCI format and the DCI in the second DCI format in the search space corresponding to the carrier indication carried in the second DCI format, or [0151] the terminal device monitors both the DCI in the first DCI format and the DCI in the second DCI format in the subset of the search space corresponding to the carrier indication carried in the first DCI format. Note: The grant is received based on search space set parameters, and since DCI is always transmitted via PDCCH in downlink, it means the grant comes via the downlink carrier of the primary cell (downlink only cell) or another downlink carrier from another cell); “and receive the uplink transmission from the UE, performing the downlink transmission to the UE, or both, according to the grant” (See [0077] Scheduling downlink/ uplink transmissions means scheduling downlink/ uplink data for the terminal, the network device sends/ receives the downlink/ uplink data according to a scheduling command, and the terminal device receives the scheduled downlink data, and the network device receives the scheduled uplink data).
Wang does not explicitly disclose transmitting information identifying the first cell and the
second cell as a paired set of downlink-only and uplink-only cells.
However, YANG discloses “transmit information identifying the first cell and the
second cell as a paired set of downlink-only and uplink-only cells” (See [0351] method may be applied to configure a co-scheduled cell set for each CIF value and specify whether each cell is a target for DL, UL, or both multi-cell scheduling (e.g., whether each cell is a target for DL only, UL only, or both DL/UL). [0356] method may be applied to configure a co-scheduled cell set for each CIF value and specify whether each CIF value (or co-scheduled cell set) is a target of DL or UL multi-cell scheduling (e.g., whether each CIF value is a target of DL only, UL only, or both DL/UL).
Note: Wang discloses a set of DL only and UL only cells. YANG discloses configuring a co-scheduled cell set and signaling information whether each cell in the set is DL only or UL only. Accordingly, the received information identifies the first and second cells as DL-only and UL-only cells within the same co-scheduled set, thereby identifying them as a paired DL/UL cell set.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Wang, with the teachings of YANG, and the motivation to do so would have been in order to enable coordinated multi-cell scheduling, thereby improving scheduling efficiency and reliability.
Regarding claim 14,
Wang in view of YANG discloses “The network entity of claim 11, wherein, to transmit the grant, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: transmit a first grant scheduling the uplink transmission via the first cell; and transmit a second grant scheduling the downlink transmission via the second cell” (See Wang [0077] Scheduling downlink/ uplink transmissions means scheduling downlink/ uplink data for the terminal, the network device sends/ receives the downlink/ uplink data according to a scheduling command, and the terminal device receives the scheduled downlink data, and the network device receives the scheduled uplink data. [0158] the first DCI format is for scheduling an uplink carrier, and carries a first carrier indication; the second DCI format is for scheduling a downlink carrier, and carries a second carrier indication. Note: The UE receives first DCI format scheduling an uplink carrier on the secondary cell and a second DCI formats scheduling a downlink carrier on the primary cell), “wherein a first number of information bits in the first grant and a second number of information bits in the second grant comprise a same number of information bits” (See Wang [0142] the payload size of the DCI format for scheduling the uplink carrier in the secondary cell 602 may be aligned with the payload size of the DCI format for scheduling the downlink carrier in the primary cell 601. That is, a payload size of the first DCI format is aligned with a payload size of the second DCI format. Because the second DCI format is not padded or truncated, the payload size of the first DCI format is an information bit quantity of the second DCI format, and the payload size of the second DCI format is the information bit quantity of the second DCI format. Specifically, the payload size of the first DCI format may be enabled to be the information bit quantity of the second DCI format through padding or truncation, so that payload sizes of the first DCI format and the second DCI format are equal).
Regarding claim 15,
Wang in view of YANG discloses “The network entity of claim 14, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: transmit an indication of an information bit size allocation for scheduling the uplink transmission via the first cell and for scheduling the downlink transmission via the second cell” (See Wang [0105] before aligning the payload sizes of the different DCI formats, the network device may first send, to the terminal device, configuration information of the DCI formats that need to be monitored by the terminal device. The configuration information sent by the network device to the terminal device may include configuration information such as the DCI formats that need to be monitored by the terminal device, an information bit quantity of each DCI format, and the search spaces for monitoring the DCI in the plurality of DCI formats by the terminal device. [0158] the first DCI format is for scheduling an uplink carrier, and carries a first carrier indication; the second DCI format is for scheduling a downlink carrier, and carries a second carrier indication), “wherein the same number of information bits is based on the information bit size allocation” (See Wang [0142] the payload size of the DCI format for scheduling the uplink carrier in the secondary cell 602 may be aligned with the payload size of the DCI format for scheduling the downlink carrier in the primary cell 601. Note: The alignment is based on the configuration information including information bit size allocation).
Regarding claim 17,
Wang in view of YANG discloses “The network entity of claim 11, wherein, to transmit the grant, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: transmit, according to the search space set parameters, the grant on a search space set on the downlink carrier of the second cell, the second downlink carrier of the third cell, or both” (See Wang [0077] scheduling downlink transmission in implementations of this application means that the network device schedules downlink data for the terminal device. Accordingly, the network device sends the downlink data according to a scheduling command, and the terminal device receives the scheduled downlink data. [0158] the first DCI format is for scheduling an uplink carrier, and carries a first carrier indication; the second DCI format is for scheduling a downlink carrier, and carries a second carrier indication).
Regarding claim 20,
Wang in view of YANG discloses “The network entity of claim 11, wherein the first cell comprises a non- downlink carrier cell and the second cell comprises a non-uplink carrier cell” (See Wang [0140] FIG. 6 shows that in two cells configured by a network device for a terminal device, only a downlink carrier is configured, activated, or scheduled in one cell, and only an uplink carrier is configured, activated, or scheduled in the other cell. For example, only a downlink carrier is scheduled in a primary cell 601 configured by the network device for the terminal device, and only an uplink carrier is scheduled in a secondary cell 602 configured by the network device for the terminal device).
Regarding claim 21,
Wang discloses “A method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE),
comprising: receiving an indication of search space set parameters for a first cell
associated with an uplink carrier and a second cell associated with a downlink carrier, the first cell comprising an uplink-only cell and the second cell comprising a downlink- only
cell” (See [0140] FIG. 6 shows that in two cells configured by a network device for a terminal
device, only a downlink carrier is configured, activated, or scheduled in one cell, and only an
uplink carrier is configured, activated, or scheduled in the other cell. For example, only a
downlink carrier is scheduled in a primary cell 601 configured by the network device for the
terminal device, and only an uplink carrier is scheduled in a secondary cell 602 configured by
the network device for the terminal device. [0150] Cross-carrier scheduling in a plurality
of cells is also involved in the scenario shown in FIG. 6, the terminal device may monitor DCI
in the first DCI format and DCI in the second DCI format in a same search space. Specifically,
the terminal device may monitor the DCI in the first DCI format in a first search space. The
first search space is a search space corresponding to the carrier indication carried in the
second DCI format. [0151] Alternatively, the first search space may be a subset of
a search space corresponding to the carrier indication carried in the first DCI format. That is,
the terminal device monitors both the DCI in the first DCI format and the DCI in the second
DCI format in the subset of the search space corresponding to the carrier indication carried
in the first DCI format. [0105] The configuration information sent by the network device to
the terminal device may include configuration information such as the DCI formats that
need to be monitored by the terminal device, an information bit quantity of each DCI
format, and the search spaces for monitoring the DCI in the plurality of DCI formats by the
terminal device. Note: The primary cell is a downlink only cell since it’s only configured with
a downlink carrier, and the secondary cell is an uplink only cell since it’s only configured with
an uplink carrier); “wherein the search space set parameters are based at least in part on the paired set” (See [0140] FIG. 6 shows that in two cells configured by a network device for a terminal device, only a downlink carrier is configured, activated, or scheduled in one cell, and only an uplink carrier is configured, activated, or scheduled in the other cell. For example, only a downlink carrier is scheduled in a primary cell 601 configured by the network device for the terminal device, and only an uplink carrier is scheduled in a secondary cell 602 configured by the network device for the terminal device. Note: Since one cell is uplink only and the other cell is downlink only, the two cells operate in a coordinated/ paired manner. [0105] The configuration information sent by the network device to the terminal device may include configuration information such as the DCI formats that need to be monitored by the terminal device, an information bit quantity of each DCI format, and the search spaces for monitoring the DCI in the plurality of DCI formats by the terminal device. [0136] the terminal device may monitor DCI in the first DCI format and DCI in the second DCI format in a same search space. Note: The search space set parameters are configured for monitoring DCI based on the paired set of cells (primary and secondary cells); “receiving a grant scheduling an uplink transmission via the first cell using the uplink carrier, a downlink transmission via the second cell using the downlink carrier, or both” (See [0077] Scheduling downlink/ uplink transmissions means scheduling downlink/ uplink data for the terminal, the network device sends/ receives the downlink/ uplink data according to a scheduling command, and the terminal device receives the scheduled downlink data, and the network device receives the scheduled uplink data. [0158] the first DCI format is for scheduling an uplink carrier, and carries a first carrier indication; the second DCI format is for scheduling a downlink carrier, and carries a second carrier indication), “the grant received according to the search space set parameters and via the downlink carrier of the second cell or a second downlink carrier associated with a third cell” (See [0150] the terminal device monitors both the DCI in the first DCI format and the DCI in the second DCI format in the search space corresponding to the carrier indication carried in the second DCI format, or [0151] the terminal device monitors both the DCI in the first DCI format and the DCI in the second DCI format in the subset of the search space corresponding to the carrier indication carried in the first DCI format. Note: The grant is received based on search space set parameters, and since DCI is always transmitted via PDCCH in downlink, it means the grant comes via the downlink carrier of the primary cell (downlink only cell) or another downlink carrier from another cell), “and performing the uplink transmission receiving the downlink transmission, or both, according to the grant” (See [0077] Scheduling downlink/ uplink transmissions means scheduling downlink/ uplink data for the terminal, the network device sends/ receives the downlink/ uplink data according to a scheduling command, and the terminal device receives the scheduled downlink data, and the network device receives the scheduled uplink data).
Wang does not explicitly disclose receiving information identifying the first cell and the
second cell as a paired set of downlink-only and uplink-only cells.
However, YANG discloses “receiving information identifying the first cell and the second cell as a paired set of downlink-only and uplink-only cells” (See [0351] method may be applied to configure a co-scheduled cell set for each CIF value and specify whether each cell is a target for DL, UL, or both multi-cell scheduling (e.g., whether each cell is a target for DL only, UL only, or both DL/UL). [0356] method may be applied to configure a co-scheduled cell set for each CIF value and specify whether each CIF value (or co-scheduled cell set) is a target of DL or UL multi-cell scheduling (e.g., whether each CIF value is a target of DL only, UL only, or both DL/UL).
Note: Wang discloses a set of DL only and UL only cells. YANG discloses configuring a co-scheduled cell set and signaling information whether each cell in the set is DL only or UL only. Accordingly, the received information identifies the first and second cells as DL-only and UL-only cells within the same co-scheduled set, thereby identifying them as a paired DL/UL cell set.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Wang, with the teachings of YANG, and the motivation to do so would have been in order to enable coordinated multi-cell scheduling, thereby improving scheduling efficiency and reliability.
Regarding claim 24,
Wang in view of YANG discloses “The method of claim 21, wherein receiving the grant comprises: receiving a first grant scheduling the uplink transmission via the first cell; and receiving a second grant scheduling the downlink transmission via the second cell” (See Wang [0077] Scheduling downlink/ uplink transmissions means scheduling downlink/ uplink data for the terminal, the network device sends/ receives the downlink/ uplink data according to a scheduling command, and the terminal device receives the scheduled downlink data, and the network device receives the scheduled uplink data. [0158] the first DCI format is for scheduling an uplink carrier, and carries a first carrier indication; the second DCI format is for scheduling a downlink carrier, and carries a second carrier indication. Note: The UE receives first DCI format scheduling an uplink carrier on the secondary cell and a second DCI formats scheduling a downlink carrier on the primary cell), “wherein a first number of information bits in the first grant and a second number of information bits in the second grant comprise a same number of information bits” (See Wang [0142] the payload size of the DCI format for scheduling the uplink carrier in the secondary cell 602 may be aligned with the payload size of the DCI format for scheduling the downlink carrier in the primary cell 601. That is, a payload size of the first DCI format is aligned with a payload size of the second DCI format. Because the second DCI format is not padded or truncated, the payload size of the first DCI format is an information bit quantity of the second DCI format, and the payload size of the second DCI format is the information bit quantity of the second DCI format. Specifically, the payload size of the first DCI format may be enabled to be the information bit quantity of the second DCI format through padding or truncation, so that payload sizes of the first DCI format and the second DCI format are equal).
Regarding claim 25,
Wang in view of YANG discloses “The method of claim 24, further comprising: receiving an indication of an information bit size allocation for scheduling the uplink transmission via the first cell and for scheduling the downlink transmission via the second cell” (See Wang [0105] before aligning the payload sizes of the different DCI formats, the network device may first send, to the terminal device, configuration information of the DCI formats that need to be monitored by the terminal device. The configuration information sent by the network device to the terminal device may include configuration information such as the DCI formats that need to be monitored by the terminal device, an information bit quantity of each DCI format, and the search spaces for monitoring the DCI in the plurality of DCI formats by the terminal device. [0158] the first DCI format is for scheduling an uplink carrier, and carries a first carrier indication; the second DCI format is for scheduling a downlink carrier, and carries a second carrier indication), “wherein the same number of information bits is based on the information bit size allocation” (See Wang [0142] the payload size of the DCI format for scheduling the uplink carrier in the secondary cell 602 may be aligned with the payload size of the DCI format for scheduling the downlink carrier in the primary cell 601. Note: The alignment is based on the configuration information including information bit size allocation).
Regarding claim 27,
Wang in view of YANG discloses “The method of claim 21, wherein receiving the grant comprises: monitoring, according to the search space set parameters, a search space set on the downlink carrier of the second cell, the second downlink carrier of the third cell, or both” (See Wang [0150] the terminal device may monitor DCI in the first DCI format and DCI in the second DCI format in a same search space, the terminal device monitors both the DCI in the first DCI format and the DCI in the second DCI format in the search space corresponding to the carrier indication carried in the second DCI format, or [0151] the terminal device monitors both the DCI in the first DCI format and the DCI in the second DCI format in the subset of the search space corresponding to the carrier indication carried in the first DCI format).
Regarding claim 30,
Wang discloses “A method for wireless communications at a network entity, comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), an indication of search space set parameters for a
first cell associated with an uplink carrier and a second cell associated with a downlink
carrier, the first cell comprising an uplink-only cell and the second cell comprising a
downlink-only cell” (See [0140] FIG. 6 shows that in two cells configured by a network
device for a terminal device, only a downlink carrier is configured, activated, or scheduled in
one cell, and only an uplink carrier is configured, activated, or scheduled in the other cell.
For example, only a downlink carrier is scheduled in a primary cell 601 configured by the
network device for the terminal device, and only an uplink carrier is scheduled in a
secondary cell 602 configured by the network device for the terminal device. [0150] Cross-
carrier scheduling in a plurality of cells is also involved in the scenario shown in FIG. 6, the
terminal device may monitor DCI in the first DCI format and DCI in the second DCI format in
a same search space. Specifically, the terminal device may monitor the DCI in the first DCI
format in a first search space. The first search space is a search space corresponding to the
carrier indication carried in the second DCI format. [0151] Alternatively, the
first search space may be a subset of a search space corresponding to the carrier indication
carried in the first DCI format. That is, the terminal device monitors both the DCI in
the first DCI format and the DCI in the second DCI format in the subset of the search space corresponding to the carrier indication carried in the first DCI format. [0105] The configuration information sent by the network device to the terminal device may
include configuration information such as the DCI formats that need to be monitored by the
terminal device, an information bit quantity of each DCI format, and the search spaces for
monitoring the DCI in the plurality of DCI formats by the terminal device. Note: The primary
cell is a downlink only cell since it’s only configured with a downlink carrier, and the
secondary cell is an uplink only cell since it’s only configured with an uplink carrier); “wherein the search space set parameters are based at least in part on the paired set” (See [0140] FIG. 6 shows that in two cells configured by a network device for a terminal device, only a downlink carrier is configured, activated, or scheduled in one cell, and only an uplink carrier is configured, activated, or scheduled in the other cell. For example, only a downlink carrier is scheduled in a primary cell 601 configured by the network device for the terminal device, and only an uplink carrier is scheduled in a secondary cell 602 configured by the network device for the terminal device. Note: Since one cell is uplink only and the other cell is downlink only, the two cells operate in a coordinated/ paired manner. [0105] The configuration information sent by the network device to the terminal device may include configuration information such as the DCI formats that need to be monitored by the terminal device, an information bit quantity of each DCI format, and the search spaces for monitoring the DCI in the plurality of DCI formats by the terminal device. [0136] the terminal device may monitor DCI in the first DCI format and DCI in the second DCI format in a same search space. Note: The search space set parameters are configured for monitoring DCI based on the paired set of cells (primary and secondary cells); “transmitting a grant scheduling an uplink transmission via the first cell using the uplink carrier, a downlink transmission via the second cell using the downlink carrier, or both, for the UE” (See [0077] Scheduling downlink/ uplink transmissions means scheduling downlink/ uplink data for the terminal, the network device sends/ receives the downlink/ uplink data according to a scheduling command, and the terminal device receives the scheduled downlink data, and the network device receives the scheduled uplink data. [0158] the first DCI format is for scheduling an uplink carrier, and carries a first carrier indication; the second DCI format is for scheduling a downlink carrier, and carries a second carrier indication), “the grant transmitted according to the search space set parameters and via the downlink carrier of the second cell or a second downlink carrier associated with a third cell” (See [0150] the terminal device monitors both the DCI in the first DCI format and the DCI in the second DCI format in the search space corresponding to the carrier indication carried in the second DCI format, or [0151] the terminal device monitors both the DCI in the first DCI format and the DCI in the second DCI format in the subset of the search space corresponding to the carrier indication carried in the first DCI format. Note: The grant is received based on search space set parameters, and since DCI is always transmitted via PDCCH in downlink, it means the grant comes via the downlink carrier of the primary cell (downlink only cell) or another downlink carrier from another cell); “and receiving the uplink transmission from the UE, performing the downlink transmission to the UE, or both, according to the grant” (See [0077] Scheduling downlink/ uplink transmissions means scheduling downlink/ uplink data for the terminal, the network device sends/ receives the downlink/ uplink data according to a scheduling command, and the terminal device receives the scheduled downlink data, and the network device receives the scheduled uplink data).
Wang does not explicitly disclose transmitting information identifying the first cell and the
second cell as a paired set of downlink-only and uplink-only cells.
However, YANG discloses “transmitting information identifying the first cell and the
second cell as a paired set of downlink-only and uplink-only cells” (See [0351] method may be applied to configure a co-scheduled cell set for each CIF value and specify whether each cell is a target for DL, UL, or both multi-cell scheduling (e.g., whether each cell is a target for DL only, UL only, or both DL/UL). [0356] method may be applied to configure a co-scheduled cell set for each CIF value and specify whether each CIF value (or co-scheduled cell set) is a target of DL or UL multi-cell scheduling (e.g., whether each CIF value is a target of DL only, UL only, or both DL/UL).
Note: Wang discloses a set of DL only and UL only cells. YANG discloses configuring a co-scheduled cell set and signaling information whether each cell in the set is DL only or UL only. Accordingly, the received information identifies the first and second cells as DL-only and UL-only cells within the same co-scheduled set, thereby identifying them as a paired DL/UL cell set.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the teachings of Wang, with the teachings of YANG, and the motivation to do so would have been in order to enable coordinated multi-cell scheduling, thereby improving scheduling efficiency and reliability.
Claims 3, 6, 13, 16, 23 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Wang et al. (US 20240188081 A1) in view of YANG et al. (US 20260020021 A1) and further in view of WEI et al. (US 20240072971 A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 23,
Wang in view of YANG discloses claim 3 of “The UE of claim 1, wherein, to receive the grant, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to”, and claim 23 of “The method of claim 21, wherein receiving the grant comprises”.
Wang in view of YANG discloses that the carrier indication for the uplink grant is different than the carrier indication of the uplink grant, but does not explicitly disclose receiving a shared CIF to indicate that the grant schedules the uplink, downlink or both transmissions.
However, WEI discloses “receive a shared carrier indicator field (CIF) of the grant that is
associated with the first cell and the second cell, wherein the shared CIF indicates that the
grant schedules the uplink transmission via the first cell, the downlink transmission via the
second cell, or both” (See [0029] If one Cell (Cell A) contains one UL carrier but without DL
carrier, the base station configures another Cell (Cell B) as the scheduling Cell for Cell A. The
base station then transmits the corresponding DL signals or channels for Cell A on Cell B. Cell
B can schedule signals or channels for Cell B and can also schedule signals or channels for
Cell A. The base station can configure the same CORESET and Search Space configuration for
scheduling signals or channels for Cell A and for scheduling signals or channels for Cell B. The
Base station can configure different carrier indicator values for Cell B. The UE determines
whether the PDCCH transmitted on Cell B is for scheduling signals or channels on Cell B or
Cell A based on this carrier indicator. Note: The UE receives PDCCH including a carrier
indicator field and determines whether the grant schedules uplink transmission in Cell A or
downlink transmission in Cell B based on this indicator).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Wang and YANG with the teachings of WEI, and the motivation to do so would have been to reduce control signaling and monitoring overhead and reliably identify whether a DCI schedules uplink or downlink transmissions.
Regarding claims 6 and 26,
Wang in view of YANG discloses claim 6 of “The UE of claim 1, wherein, to receive the grant, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to”, and claim 26 of “The method of claim 21, wherein receiving the grant comprises”.
Wang in view of YANG discloses that the carrier indication for the uplink grant is different than the carrier indication of the uplink grant, but does not explicitly disclose receiving an indication of whether the grant schedules the uplink, downlink transmissions.
However, WEI discloses “receive an indication of whether the grant schedules the uplink
transmission via the first cell or the downlink transmission via the second cell” (See [0029]
If one Cell (Cell A) contains one UL carrier but without DL carrier, the base station configures
another Cell (Cell B) as the scheduling Cell for Cell A. The base station then transmits the
corresponding DL signals or channels for Cell A on Cell B. Cell B can schedule signals or
channels for Cell B and can also schedule signals or channels for Cell A. The base station can
configure the same CORESET and Search Space configuration for scheduling signals or
channels for Cell A and for scheduling signals or channels for Cell B. The Base station can
configure different carrier indicator values for Cell B. The UE determines whether the PDCCH transmitted on Cell B is for scheduling signals or channels on Cell B or Cell A based on this
carrier indicator. Note: The UE receives PDCCH including a carrier indicator field and
determines whether the grant schedules uplink transmission in Cell A or downlink
transmission in Cell B based on this indicator).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Wang and YANG with the teachings of WEI, and the motivation to do so would have been to reduce control signaling and monitoring overhead and reliably identify whether a DCI schedules uplink or downlink transmissions.
Regarding claim 13,
Wang in view of YANG discloses “The network entity of claim 11, wherein, to transmit the grant, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to”, but does not explicitly disclose configuring the grant to indicate a shared CIF that indicates that the grant schedules the uplink, downlink or both transmissions.
However, WEI discloses “configure the grant to indicate a shared carrier indicator field
(CIF) that is associated with the first cell and the second cell, wherein the shared CIF
indicates that the grant schedules the uplink transmission via the first cell, the downlink
transmission via the second cell, or both” (See [0029] If one Cell (Cell A) contains
one UL carrier but without DL carrier, the base station configures another Cell (Cell B) as the
scheduling Cell for Cell A. The base station then transmits the corresponding DL signals or
channels for Cell A on Cell B. Cell B can schedule signals or channels for Cell B and can also schedule signals or channels for Cell A. The base station can configure the same CORESET
and Search Space configuration for scheduling signals or channels for Cell A and for
scheduling signals or channels for Cell B. The Base station can configure different carrier
indicator values for Cell B. The UE determines whether the PDCCH transmitted on Cell B is
for scheduling signals or channels on Cell B or Cell A based on this carrier indicator. Note:
The base station configures PDCCH to include a carrier indicator field and determines
whether the grant schedules uplink transmission in Cell A or downlink transmission in Cell B
based on this indicator).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Wang and YANG with the teachings of WEI, and the motivation to do so would have been to reduce control signaling and monitoring overhead and reliably identify whether a DCI schedules uplink or downlink transmissions.
Regarding claim 16,
Wang in view of YANG discloses “The network entity of claim 11, wherein, to transmit the grant, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to”.
Wang in view of YANG discloses that the carrier indication for the uplink grant is different than the carrier indication of the uplink grant, but does not explicitly disclose configuring an indication of whether the grant schedules the uplink, downlink transmissions.
However, WEI discloses “configure an indication of whether the grant schedules the uplink
transmission via the first cell or the downlink transmission via the second cell” (See [0029]
If one Cell (Cell A) contains one UL carrier but without DL carrier, the base station configures
another Cell (Cell B) as the scheduling Cell for Cell A. The base station then transmits the
corresponding DL signals or channels for Cell A on Cell B. Cell B can schedule signals or
channels for Cell B and can also schedule signals or channels for Cell A. The base station can
configure the same CORESET and Search Space configuration for scheduling signals or
channels for Cell A and for scheduling signals or channels for Cell B. The Base station can
configure different carrier indicator values for Cell B. The UE determines whether the PDCCH
transmitted on Cell B is for scheduling signals or channels on Cell B or Cell A based on this
carrier indicator. Note: The base station configures PDCCH to include a carrier indicator field
and determines whether the grant schedules uplink transmission in Cell A or downlink
transmission in Cell B based on this indicator).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Wang and YANG with the teachings of WEI, and the motivation to do so would have been to reduce control signaling and monitoring overhead and reliably identify whether a DCI schedules uplink or downlink transmissions.
Claims 8, 18 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al.
(US 20240188081 A1) in view of YANG et al. (US 20260020021 A1) and further in view of Zhou et al. (US 20220240284 A1).
Regarding claims 8, 18 and 28,
Wang in view of YANG discloses claim 8 of “The UE of claim 1”, claim 18 of “The network entity of claim 11”, and claim 28 of “The method of claim 21”, but does not explicitly disclose that the search space set parameters identify a set of control channel resources to monitor to receive the grant.
However, Zhou discloses “wherein the search space set parameters identify a set of control
channel resources to monitor to receive the grant on the downlink carrier of the second
cell or the second downlink carrier of the third cell” (See [0299] a UE may monitor a set of
PDCCH candidates according to configuration parameters of a search space set comprising a
plurality of search spaces (SSs). The UE may monitor a set of PDCCH candidates in one or
more CORESETs for detecting one or more DCIs). Note: This means the search space set
parameters identify a set of PDCCH candidates (a set of control channel resources) to
monitor for detecting DCI (including grants on downlink carriers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Wang and YANG with the teachings of Zhou, and the motivation to do so would have been reduce power consumption at the UE.
Claims 9, 19 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al.
(US 20240188081 A1) in view of YANG et al. (US 20260020021 A1) and further in view of LI et al. (US 20240224292 A1).
Regarding claims 9, 19 and 29,
Wang in view of YANG discloses claim 9 of “The UE of claim 1”, claim 19 of “The network entity of claim 11”, and claim 29 of “The method of claim 21”.
Wang in view of YANG discloses that that the uplink and downlink grants comprises a DCI formats, See Wang [0158] the first DCI format is for scheduling an uplink carrier, and carries a first carrier indication; the second DCI format is for scheduling a downlink carrier, and carries a second carrier indication), but does not explicitly disclose the types of DCI formats being DCI format 0_2 for uplink grant and DCI format 1_2 for downlink grant.
However, LI discloses “wherein the grant comprises a downlink control information (DCI)
format 0_2 uplink grant, a DCI format 1_2 downlink grant, or both” (See [0132] The DCI
format 0_0, the DCI format 0_1, and the DCI format 0_2 are DCI for scheduling the PUSCH,
and the DCI format 1_0, the DCI format 1_1, and the DCI format 1_2 are DCI for scheduling
the PDSCH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have
modified the teachings of Wang and YANG , with the teachings of LI, and the motivation to do so would have been for a clear standardized separation of UL and DL grants, simplifying UE interpretation and decoding.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SALMA AYAD/Examiner, Art Unit 2462 /YEMANE MESFIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2462