DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed 02/05/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 11 are amended. Claims 1-8, 10-18, and 20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ajami et al. (US 2023/0140312), Ajami hereinafter, in view of Oteri et al. (US 2018/0132278), Oteri hereinafter, further in view of Zhu et al. (US 2025/0310876), Zhu hereinafter.
Re. Claim 1. Ajami teaches an access point (AP) device (Ajami, 0045: The WLAN 100 may include numerous wireless communication devices such as an access point (AP) 102 and multiple stations (STAs) 104.) comprising:
a transmitter associated with a first basic service set identifier (BSSID) (Ajami, 0047: The AP 102 periodically broadcasts beacon frames (“beacons”) including the BSSID to enable any STAs 104 within wireless range of the AP 102 to “associate” or re-associate with the AP 102 to establish a respective communication link 106 (hereinafter also referred to as a “Wi-Fi link”), or to maintain a communication link 106, with the AP 102.
0066: FIG. 5A shows a block diagram of an example AP 502. For example, the AP 502 can be an example implementation of the AP 102 described with reference to FIG. 1.
0066: The AP 502 also includes multiple antennas 520 coupled with the wireless communication device 510 to transmit and receive wireless communications.); and
one or more processors (Ajami, 0066: In some implementations, the AP 502 additionally includes an application processor 530 coupled with the wireless communication device 510, and a memory 540 coupled with the application processor 530.) configured to:
generate a frame including information on a target wake time (TWT) schedule associated with a second BSSID (Ajami, 0100: The AP 1001 schedules r-TWT SP1 based on its received coordinated r-TWT signaling information and transmits or broadcasts r-TWT schedule information indicating the schedule for r-TWT SP1. For example, the r-TWT schedule information may be carried in a broadcast r-TWT information element (IE) included in beacon frames or other management frames transmitted by the AP 1001 to the STA 1003 (such as in accordance with existing versions of the IEEE 802.11 standard).
0101: In some aspects, the AP 1001 also may transmit coordinated r-TWT signaling information indicating the schedule for r-TWT SP2. In some implementations, the coordinated r-TWT signaling information may be carried in the broadcast r-TWT IE included in the beacon frames or other management frames transmitted by the AP 1001 to the STA 1003.
0105: In the example of FIG. 10B, the AP 1011 may schedule a first r-TWT SP (r-TWT SP1) for BSS1 and a second r-TWT SP (r-TWT SP2) for BSS2.),
the frame comprising a first subfield and a second subfield (Ajami, 0127: The frame body 1220 includes one or more IEs carrying information related to r-TWT operation. In some implementations, the frame body 1220 may include a broadcast TWT element 1221 and a quiet element 1222. The broadcast TWT element 1221 includes a number (N) of restricted TWT parameter sets 1231(1)-1231(N) each carrying information associated with a respective r-TWT SP.); and
wirelessly transmit, via the transmitter over a wireless local area network (WLAN), the generated frame (Ajami, 0101: In some implementations, the coordinated r-TWT signaling information may be carried in the broadcast r-TWT IE included in the beacon frames or other management frames transmitted by the AP 1001 to the STA 1003.);
Yet, Ajami does not explicitly teach set the first subfield of the frame to indicate whether the first BSSID is the same as the second BSSID; responsive to the first subfield of the frame indicating that the first BSSID is the same as the second BSSID, set the second subfield of the frame to indicate a TWT identifier of the TWT schedule; and responsive to the first subfield of the frame indicating that the first BSSID is not the same as the second BSSID, set the second subfield of the frame to indicate at least a portion of the second BSSID, wherein the second subfield provides a single field indicator to selectively indicate one of the TWT identifier of the TWT schedule or the at least the portion of the second BSSID.
However, in the related art, Oteri teaches set the first subfield of the frame to indicate whether the first BSSID is the same as the second BSSID (Oteri, Fig. 10, 0130: One or more parts and/or fields of the Neighbor Report frame 1000 may contain or include one or more of the following information: (1) a BSS Identifier (BSSID) field 1005 that may be used to indicate the BSSID, compressed BSSID, BSS Color, and/or partial BSSID of the transmitting STA, or any kind identifier similar to a BSSID and/or a Service Set Identifier (SSID); (2) a location field 1006 that may be used to indicate a location of the reporting STA; (3) a same BSSID Indicator 1007 that may be used to indicate that the STAs contained or included in the Neighbor Report frame are from (e.g., all from) the same BSS as the transmitting STA or as the first neighbor indicated in the Neighbor Report frame;);
responsive to the first subfield of the frame indicating that the first BSSID is not the same as the second BSSID (Oteri, 0131: (2) a BSSID field 1011 that may be used to indicate the BSSID of the STA or STAs indicated in the Neighbor Field 909 (e.g., respective Neighboring Field, wherein the BSSID field may be skipped or may not be included if the Neighbor Report frame or the Neighbor Field contains or includes a Same BSSID Indictor that is turned on (e.g., at a first logic level) (the BSSID may be implemented as a BSSID, a compressed BSSID, BSS Color, a partial BSSID, any kind identifier of a BSSID, and/or an SSID, among others);),
set the second subfield of the frame to indicate at least a portion of the second BSSID (Oteri, 0131: (2) a BSSID field 1011 that may be used to indicate the BSSID of the STA or STAs indicated in the Neighbor Field 909 (e.g., respective Neighboring Field, wherein the BSSID field may be skipped or may not be included if the Neighbor Report frame or the Neighbor Field contains or includes a Same BSSID Indictor that is turned on (e.g., at a first logic level) (the BSSID may be implemented as a BSSID, a compressed BSSID, BSS Color, a partial BSSID, any kind identifier of a BSSID, and/or an SSID, among others);),
wherein the second subfield provides a single field indicator to selectively indicate one of the at least the portion of the second BSSID (Oteri, 0131: (2) a BSSID field 1011 that may be used to indicate the BSSID of the STA or STAs indicated in the Neighbor Field 909 (e.g., respective Neighboring Field, wherein the BSSID field may be skipped or may not be included if the Neighbor Report frame or the Neighbor Field contains or includes a Same BSSID Indictor that is turned on (e.g., at a first logic level) (the BSSID may be implemented as a BSSID, a compressed BSSID, BSS Color, a partial BSSID, any kind identifier of a BSSID, and/or an SSID, among others);).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Ajami with the Same BSSID Indicator of Oteri. The resulting invention would allow the APs in neighboring BSSs coordinate different resources and provide for reduced inter-BSS interference (Oteri, 0128).
While Oteri teaches a partial BSSID may be included depending on a Same BSSID Indicator, neither Ajami nor Oteri explicitly teaches responsive to the first subfield of the frame indicating that the first BSSID is the same as the second BSSID, set the second subfield of the frame to indicate a TWT identifier of the TWT schedule; and wherein the second subfield provides a single field indicator to selectively indicate one of the TWT identifier of the TWT schedule or
However, in the related art, Zhu teaches responsive to the first subfield of the frame indicating that the first BSSID is the same as the second BSSID (Zhu, 0409: For example, the AP obtains the Beacon frame transmitted by the neighboring AP through a Beacon Request and Response. If the BSSID field of the TWT element in the Beacon frame includes the BSSID of the BSS to which the AP belongs (or the BSS Color field includes Color information of the BSS to which the AP belongs), the AP maintains silence during the R-TWT SP indicated by the TWT element.),
set the second subfield of the frame to indicate a TWT identifier of the TWT schedule (Zhu, 0409: For example, the AP obtains the Beacon frame transmitted by the neighboring AP through a Beacon Request and Response. If the BSSID field of the TWT element in the Beacon frame includes the BSSID of the BSS to which the AP belongs (or the BSS Color field includes Color information of the BSS to which the AP belongs), the AP maintains silence during the R-TWT SP indicated by the TWT element.); and
wherein the second subfield provides a single field indicator to selectively indicate one of the TWT identifier of the TWT schedule or If the BSSID field of the TWT element in the Beacon frame includes the BSSID of the BSS to which the AP belongs (or the BSS Color field includes Color information of the BSS to which the AP belongs), the AP maintains silence during the R-TWT SP indicated by the TWT element.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Ajami as modified by the teaching of Oteri with the beacon frame and its included second TWT element of Zhu. The resulting invention would provide for reducing interference between R-TWTs in an overlapping basic service set (Zhu, 0401).
Re. Claim 2. Ajami in view of Oteri and Zhu teaches claim 1.
wherein the TWT schedule is a restricted TWT (R-TWT) schedule (Ajami, 0087: As shown in FIG. 8, the access point AP1 transmits a beacon frame 801, at time to, carrying r-TWT schedule information indicating the schedule associated with r-TWT SP1.).
Re. Claim 3. Ajami in view of Oteri and Zhu teaches claim 1.
wherein the frame is a beacon frame or a probe response frame (Ajami, 0087: As shown in FIG. 8, the access point AP1 transmits a beacon frame 801, at time to, carrying r-TWT schedule information indicating the schedule associated with r-TWT SP1.).
Re. Claim 11, Claim 11 is directed toward a method corresponding to the apparatus of claim 1. Claim 11 does not further define or limit over the subject matter of claim 1. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected for similar reasons. (See Claim 1 above)
Re. Claim 12, Claim 12 is directed toward a method corresponding to the apparatus of claim 2. Claim 12 does not further define or limit over the subject matter of claim 2. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected for similar reasons. (See Claim 2 above)
Re. Claim 13, Claim 13 is directed toward a method corresponding to the apparatus of claim 3. Claim 13 does not further define or limit over the subject matter of claim 3. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected for similar reasons. (See Claim 3 above)
Claims 4-6 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ajami in view of Oteri and Zhu as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Patil et al. (US 2019/0174577), Patil ‘577 hereinafter.
Re. Claim 4. Ajami in view of Oteri and Zhu teaches claim 1.
None of Ajami, Oteri, or Zhu explicitly teaches wherein the first BSSID and the second BSSID are different from each other and are included in a co-hosted BSSID set.
However, in the related art, Patil ‘577 teaches wherein the first BSSID and the second BSSID are different from each other and are included in a co-hosted BSSID set (Patil ‘577, 0052: When BSSs are part of a multiple BSS set, each BSS may be assigned the same color. In a crowded area with multiple APs 104 that support multiple BSSID mode or capability, each AP 104 transmitting may have a different BSS color. Based on the BSS color, a STA 106 can determine whether a received communication is from the BSSID with which the STA 106 is associated (or a BSSID of the multiple BSS set) or another BSSID.
0079: In some implementations, the BSS 402a may have a first BSS attribute (e.g., color) and the BSS 402b may have a second BSS attribute. In some implementations, the first BSS attribute may comprise a first BSS color and the second BSS attribute comprises a second BSS color. In some implementations, the first BSS color and the second BSS color are different (e.g., when the first and second VAPs are co-located VAPs), while in some implementations, the first BSS color and the second BSS color are the same (e.g., when the first and second VAPs are co-hosted VAPs).).
Re. Claim 5. Ajami in view of Oteri and Zhu teaches claim 1.
None of Ajami, Oteri, or Zhu explicitly teaches wherein the first BSSID and the second BSSID are different from each other and are included in a multiple BSSID set.
However, in the related art, Patil ‘577 teaches wherein the first BSSID and the second BSSID are different from each other and are included in a multiple BSSID set (Patil ‘577, 0052: When BSSs are part of a multiple BSS set, each BSS may be assigned the same color. In a crowded area with multiple APs 104 that support multiple BSSID mode or capability, each AP 104 transmitting may have a different BSS color. Based on the BSS color, a STA 106 can determine whether a received communication is from the BSSID with which the STA 106 is associated (or a BSSID of the multiple BSS set) or another BSSID.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Ajami as modified by the teaching of Oteri and Zhu with the multiple BSSID and TWT frame elements of Patil ‘577. The resulting invention would provide for reducing overhead and/or network traffic and congestion (Patil’577, 0051).
Re. Claim 6. Ajami in view of Oteri, Zhu, and Patil ‘577 teaches claim 5.
Ajami further teaches wherein the information on the TWT schedule associated with the second BSSID includes information on a start time of a TWT service period of the TWT schedule (Ajami, 0043: Various aspects relate generally to protecting latency-sensitive communications during r-TWT SPs, and more particularly, to coordinated scheduling of r-TWT SPs between OBSSs.
0088: As used herein, the term “schedule” may include timing information, resource allocation information, or various other communication parameters associated with an r-TWT SP. For example, the schedule for r-TWT SP1 may indicate that r-TWT SP1 is to occur from times
t
1
to
t
2
, the schedule for r-TWT SP2 may indicate that r-TWT SP2 is to occur from times
t
2
to
t
3
, and the schedule for r-TWT SP3 may indicate that r-TWT SP3 is to occur from times
t
3
to
t
4
.).
Re. Claim 14, Claim 14 is directed toward a method corresponding to the apparatus of claim 4. Claim 14 does not further define or limit over the subject matter of claim 4. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected for similar reasons. (See Claim 4 above)
Re. Claim 15, Claim 15 is directed toward a method corresponding to the apparatus of claim 5. Claim 15 does not further define or limit over the subject matter of claim 5. Therefore, claim 15 is rejected for similar reasons. (See Claim 5 above)
Re. Claim 16, Claim 16 is directed toward a method corresponding to the apparatus of claim 6. Claim 16 does not further define or limit over the subject matter of claim 6. Therefore, claim 16 is rejected for similar reasons. (See Claim 6 above)
Claims 7-8 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ajami in view of Oteri, Zhu, Patil ‘577, and further in view of Patil et al. (US 2019/0208462), Patil ‘462 hereinafter.
Re. Claim 7. Ajami in view of Oteri, Zhu, and Patil ‘577 teaches claim 5.
None of Ajami, Oteri, or Zhu explicitly teaches wherein the frame includes a multiple BSSID element, and the information on the TWT schedule associated with the second BSSID is included in a TWT element outside the multiple BSSID element.
However, in the related art, Patil ‘577 teaches wherein the frame includes a multiple BSSID element (Patil ‘577, 0051: The remaining VAPs served by the AP 104a may not transmit their BSSIDs. Instead, the VAP that transmits its BSSID may transmit an element (e.g., a multiple BSSID element) in management frames (such as beacon frames and probe response frames) that includes information for the non-transmitted BSSIDs.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Ajami as modified by the teaching of Oteri and Zhu with the multiple BSSID and TWT frame elements of Patil ‘577. The resulting invention would provide for reducing overhead and/or network traffic and congestion (Patil’577, 0051).
Yet, none of Ajami, Oteri, Zhu, or Patil ‘577 explicitly teaches the information on the TWT schedule associated with the second BSSID is included in a TWT element outside the multiple BSSID element.
However, in the related art, Patil ‘462 teaches
the information on the TWT schedule associated with the second BSSID is included in a TWT element outside the multiple BSSID element (Patil ‘462, Fig. 5, 0062: In certain aspects, the TWT element 507 has a field including an indication that all of the schedules indicated by the parameters in the TWT element 507 are associated with (1) the TxBSSID and all of the non-TxBSSIDs of the multiple BSSs or (2) the TxBSSID and any of the non-TxBSSIDs for which a respective TWT element 532 is not present as further explained below. In other aspects, the frame 500 or the TWT element 507 has an indication associating
each subset of the parameters to a particular non-TxBSSID.).
[AltContent: textbox (1: Patil '462, FIG. 5)]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Ajami as modified by the teaching of Oteri, Zhu, and Patil ‘577 with the non-TxBSSID profile and optional subelements field of Patil ‘462. The resulting invention would provide for reduced power consumption in multiple BSSID environments (Patil ‘462, 0060).
Re. Claim 8. Ajami in view of Oteri, Zhu, and Patil ‘577 teaches claim 5.
None of Ajami, Oteri, or Zhu explicitly teaches wherein the frame includes a multiple BSSID element, and the information on the TWT schedule associated with the second BSSID is included in a TWT element in the multiple BSSID element.
However, in the related art, Patil ‘577 teaches wherein the frame includes a multiple BSSID element (Patil ‘577, 0051: The remaining VAPs served by the AP 104a may not transmit their BSSIDs. Instead, the VAP that transmits its BSSID may transmit an element (e.g., a multiple BSSID element) in management frames (such as beacon frames and probe response frames) that includes information for the non-transmitted BSSIDs.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Ajami as modified by the teaching of Oteri and Zhu with the multiple BSSID and TWT frame elements of Patil ‘577. The resulting invention would provide for reducing overhead and/or network traffic and congestion (Patil’577, 0051).
Yet, none of Ajami, Oteri, Zhu, or Patil ‘577 explicitly teaches the information on the TWT schedule associated with the second BSSID is included in a TWT element in the multiple BSSID element.
However, in the related art, Patil ‘462 teaches the information on the TWT schedule associated with the second BSSID is included in a TWT element in the multiple BSSID element (Patil ‘462, 0058: The Multiple BSSID element 506, which may be used by the VAP1 to indicate that the VAP1 belongs to a Multiple BSSID set (such as the set including the basic service sets BSS1-BSSk of FIG. 4) hosted by the AP 110, is shown to include an Element ID field 501, a Length field 502, a MaxBSSID Indicator field 503, and an Optional Subelements field 504.
0059: The Optional Subelements field 504 may store zero or more additional subelements. For the example of FIG. 5A, the Optional Subelements field 504 is shown to include at least one non-TxBSSID profile 505 and each non-TxBSSID profile is respectively associated with one of the non-TxBSSIDs such as BSSIDs 2-k of VAP2-VAPk as illustrated in FIG 4.).
0060: In other aspects, the non-Tx BSSID profile 505 can further include a TWT element 532 having parameters therein to indicate at least one communication schedule associated with a particular one of the non-TxBSSIDs.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Ajami as modified by the teaching of Oteri, Zhu, and Patil ‘577 with the non-TxBSSID profile and optional subelements field of Patil ‘462. The resulting invention would provide for reduced power consumption in multiple BSSID environments (Patil ‘462, 0060).
Re. Claim 17, Claim 17 is directed toward a method corresponding to the apparatus of claim 7. Claim 17 does not further define or limit over the subject matter of claim 7. Therefore, claim 17 is rejected for similar reasons. (See Claim 7 above)
Re. Claim 18, Claim 18 is directed toward a method corresponding to the apparatus of claim 8. Claim 18 does not further define or limit over the subject matter of claim 8. Therefore, claim 18 is rejected for similar reasons. (See Claim 8 above)
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ajami in view of Oteri, Zhu, Patil ‘577, Patil ‘462, and further in view of Shafin et al. (US 2023/0059237), Shafin hereinafter.
Re. Claim 10. Ajami in view of Oteri, Zhu, Patil ‘577, and Patil ‘462 teach claim 8.
Yet, Ajami does not explicitly teach wherein responsive to the first subfield of the frame indicating that the first BSSID is the same as the second BSSID, the one or more processors are configured to: set the first subfield of the frame to one of a first value, a second value or a third value, wherein the first value indicates that the TWT schedule does not have any member device, the second value indicates that the TWT schedule has at least one member device, and the third value indicates that the TWT schedule does not accept a request from a device to establish a new membership.
However, in the related art, Oteri teaches wherein responsive to the first subfield of the frame indicating that the first BSSID is the same as the second BSSID (Oteri, 0131: Each Neighbor Field may contain or include one or more of the following information: (1) a Same BSSID Indicator 1010 that may be used to indicate that the STAs indicated in each Neighbor Field belongs to the same BSS as the transmitting STA or that STAs indicated in each Neighbor Field belongs to the same BSS as the STAs indicated in the previous Neighbor Field, and if the Same BSSID Indicator is turned on, then the BSSID field may be skipped and/or may not be included;),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Ajami with the Same BSSID Indicator of Oteri. The resulting invention would allow the APs in neighboring BSSs coordinate different resources and provide for reduced inter-BSS interference (Oteri, 0128).
Yet, none of Ajami in view of Oteri, Zhu, Patil ‘577, or Patil ‘462 explicitly teaches the one or more processors are configured to: set the first subfield of the frame to one of a first value, a second value or a third value, wherein the first value indicates that the TWT schedule does not have any member device, the second value indicates that the TWT schedule has at least one member device, and the third value indicates that the TWT schedule does not accept a request from a device to establish a new membership.
However, in the related art, Shafin teaches the one or more processors are configured to:
set the first subfield of the frame to one of a first value, a second value or a third value (Shafin, 0132: Another alternative encoding of the Restricted TWT Schedule Info subfield is shown in Table 4.),
wherein the first value indicates that the TWT schedule does not have any member device (Shafin, Table 4: Value 2; 0136: According to one embodiment, in reference to Table 4, if the encoded value in the Restricted TWT Schedule Info subfield is set to 2, it indicates that the corresponding schedule is an inactive schedule. An inactive schedule is a schedule that is available for new membership but no STA has yet obtained membership in this schedule.),
the second value indicates that the TWT schedule has at least one member device (Shafin, Table 4: Value 1; 0135: According to one embodiment, in reference to Table 4, if the encoded value in the Restricted TWT Schedule Info subfield is set to 1, it indicates that the corresponding schedule is an active schedule. An active schedule is a schedule for which at least one STA has obtained membership but that is not a full schedule.), and
the third value indicates that the TWT schedule does not accept a request from a device to establish a new membership (Shafin, Table 4: Value 0; 0134: According to one embodiment, in reference to Table 4, if the encoded value in the Restricted TWT Schedule Info subfield is set to 0, it indicates that the corresponding schedule is a full schedule and the restricted TWT scheduling AP is unlikely to accept a request from a STA in the BSS to establish a new membership in the corresponding schedule - i.e., that the corresponding restricted TWT schedule is not available for accommodating any new membership.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filind date of the claimed invention to combine the invention of Ajami as modified by the teaching of Oteri, Zhu, Patil ‘577, and Patil ‘462 with the Restricted TWT Additional Info field and Restricted TWT Parameter Set field of Shafin. The resulting invention would provide improved restricted TWT schedule selection by scheduled STA (Shafin, 0007).
Re. Claim 20, Claim 20 is directed toward a method corresponding to the apparatus of claim 10. Claim 20 does not further define or limit over the subject matter of claim 10. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected for similar reasons. (See Claim 10 above)
Conclusion
/C.H.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2417
/REBECCA E SONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2417