DETAILED ACTION
Designations of the Particular Relevance of the Art
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of the Action for Applicant’s convenience. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages, paragraph and figures may apply. Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the reference in totality as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or explained by the Examiner. See MPEP § 707.05.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments—set forth at pp. 11-13 in the Remarks with respect to independent claims 1, 13, 25, and 30—have been fully considered and are persuasive but are moot because the new grounds of rejection relies on one or more reference not applied in the prior rejection of record for some teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 25-29 appear to invoke 35 U.S.C. § 112(f).
A review of the specification shows the following appears to be corresponding structure described in the specification for purposes of § 112(f):
Claim 25 recites multiple limitations requiring “means for . . . ,” including:
means for partitioning a range of gain state values into a plurality of regions of operation, each of the plurality of regions of operation being associated with a respective blocker of a plurality of blockers;
[Applicant discloses this element in ¶¶ 0083, 0089, 0091, 0109, and Figs. 5-8, Communications Manager 520, Partitioning Component 625, Partitioning Component 725, and Communications Manager 820, indicating at least one processor (¶ 0076) performing this step.]
means for calculating, for a received signal, a prescale backoff value for one or more gain state values within the range of gain state values based at least in part on a particular gain state value being within a corresponding region of operation of the plurality of regions of operation;
[Applicant discloses this element in ¶¶ 0083, 0089, 0091-0093, 0098, 0101, 0109, and Figs. 5-8, Communications Manager 520, Backoff Component 630, Backoff Component 730, and Communications Manager 820, indicating at least one processor (¶ 0076) performing this step.]
means for applying the calculated prescale backoff value to the received signal, the application of the calculated prescale backoff value resulting in a prescaled signal; and
[Applicant discloses this element in ¶¶ 0083, 0089, 0091-0093, 0098, 0101, 0109, and Figs. 5-8, Communications Manager 520, Backoff Component 630, Backoff Component 730, and Communications Manager 820, indicating at least one processor (¶ 0076) performing this step.]
means for processing the prescaled signal.
[Applicant discloses this element in ¶¶ 0083, 0089, 0098, 0109, and Figs. 5-8, Communications Manager 520, Signal Processing Component 635, Signal Processing Component 735, and Communications Manager 820, indicating at least one processor (¶ 0076) performing this step.]
Similarly, the “means for” recited in claims 26-29 appear to be disclosed in the original specification, ¶¶ 0083, 0089, 0098, 0109, and Figs. 5-8, Communications Manager 520 and Communications Manager 820.
If Applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the Examiner's interpretation of the corresponding structure, Applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this office action.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. §112(f);
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. § 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. § 132(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, 13, 21, 25, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over US 2011/0206152 (hereinafter, “ROFOUGARAN”) in view of US 2017/0251439 (hereinafter, “LIU”) and US 2010/0172450 (hereinafter, “KOMAILI”).
Regarding claim 1, ROFOUGARAN discloses:
[¶ 0082: Interconnected computer systems], comprising:
one or more memories (System memory 118) storing processor-executable code; and
one or more processors (Processor 116) coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:
. . .
calculate, for a received signal, a prescale backoff value for one or more gain state values within the range of gain state values based at least in part on a particular gain state value being within a corresponding region of operation of the plurality of regions of operation; (¶ 0050: [P]rocessor 116 may select a specific frequency for a local oscillator, or a specific gain for a variable gain amplifier. Moreover, the specific frequency selected and/or parameters needed to calculate the specific frequency, and/or the specific gain value and/or the parameters needed to calculate the specific gain, may be stored; ¶ 0051: [C]alculate frequencies and/or gain, and/or the frequency value and/or gain value)
apply the calculated prescale backoff value to the received signal, the application of the calculated prescale backoff value resulting in a prescaled signal; and (Fig. 5, step 506; ¶ 0078: In step 506, the processor 116, for example, may adjust a gain of the LNA 214 and/or the phase adjustment for the phase adjust block 216. Accordingly, the RF signal received by the antenna 205a may be adjusted in signal strength and/or phase and combined with the amplified RF signal received by the antenna 205b)
process the prescaled signal. (Fig. 5, step 508; ¶ In step 508, the RSSI circuit 111 may determine the wide bandwidth signal strength level. The RSSI circuit 111 may also determine the signal strength level for the narrow bandwidth spectrum determined in step 502 to have the largest signal strength level ¶ 0066: The output signal may be further processed by the RF front end 110. The output signal from the signal combiner 222 may also be processed by the RSSI circuit 111 to generate a wide bandwidth signal strength indication and a narrow bandwidth signal strength indication)
Although ROFOUGARAN discloses “different elements are spread across several interconnected computer systems,” see, Id. at ¶ 0082, ROFOUGARAN does not explicitly disclose A network entity.
In the same field of endeavor, however, LIU teaches:
A network entity (¶ 0004: [A] receiver in a wireless local area network (WLAN for short) receives a signal, a power gain is first adjusted for the received signal; ¶ 0065: FIG. 4 is a schematic flowchart of an automatic gain control method in a wireless local area network according to another embodiment of the present invention. The method in FIG. 4 may be executed by a receiver device, such as the AP 102)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ROFOUGARAN’s blocker attenuation procedure to substitute a network entity for a wireless terminal as taught by LIU to provide an automatic gain control (AGC) method and a communications device in a wireless local area network, so that system overhead can be reduced. See LIU, at ¶ 0006.
ROFOUGARAN also does not explicitly disclose:
partition a range of gain state values into a plurality of regions of operation, each of the plurality of regions of operation being associated with a respective blocker of a plurality of blockers;
In the same field of endeavor, however, KOMAILI teaches:
partition a range of gain state values into a plurality of regions of operation, each of the plurality of regions of operation being associated with a respective blocker of a plurality of blockers; (¶ 0083: Method 600 begins with block 602 where a desired dynamic range is identified based on the maximum expected power in a receive signal, a reference sensitivity and blocker requirements. In block 604, a number of ranges of gain control are identified. Thereafter, as indicated in block 606, a number of gain states are identified within the identified number of ranges of gain control)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ROFOUGARAN’s blocker attenuation procedure to ranges of gain control, as taught by KOMAILI to provide an analog control signal for adjusting the gain in an analog receiver path could include a suitable code for representing any one of low, mid, or high-range gain states to LNAs, TIAs, or PGAs, such that controllable elements in an analog receiver path could be similarly controlled over any number of desired control ranges using any number of control signals encoded to communicate desired combinations of elements and gain states. See KOMAILI, at ¶ 0063.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of ROFOUGARAN, LIU, and KOMAILI, as applied, renders obvious the network entity of claim 1. ROFOUGARAN does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the network entity is a local network entity.
In the same field of endeavor, however, LIU teaches:
wherein the network entity is a local network entity. (¶ 0065: The method in FIG. 4 may be executed by a receiver device, such as the AP 102)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ROFOUGARAN’s blocker attenuation procedure to substitute a network entity for a wireless terminal as taught by LIU to provide an automatic gain control (AGC) method and a communications device in a wireless local area network, so that system overhead can be reduced. See LIU, at ¶ 0006.
Regarding claim 13, ROFOUGARAN discloses:
A method for wireless communications at [Interconnected computer systems ¶ 0082], comprising:
. . .
calculating, for a received signal, a prescale backoff value for one or more gain state values within the range of gain state values based at least in part on a particular gain state value being within a corresponding region of operation of the plurality of regions of operation; (¶ 0050: [P]rocessor 116 may select a specific frequency for a local oscillator, or a specific gain for a variable gain amplifier. Moreover, the specific frequency selected and/or parameters needed to calculate the specific frequency, and/or the specific gain value and/or the parameters needed to calculate the specific gain, may be stored; ¶ 0051: [C]alculate frequencies and/or gain, and/or the frequency value and/or gain value)
applying the calculated prescale backoff value to the received signal, the application of the calculated prescale backoff value resulting in a prescaled signal; and (Fig. 5, step 506; ¶ 0078: In step 506, the processor 116, for example, may adjust a gain of the LNA 214 and/or the phase adjustment for the phase adjust block 216. Accordingly, the RF signal received by the antenna 205a may be adjusted in signal strength and/or phase and combined with the amplified RF signal received by the antenna 205b)
processing the prescaled signal. (Fig. 5, step 508; ¶ In step 508, the RSSI circuit 111 may determine the wide bandwidth signal strength level. The RSSI circuit 111 may also determine the signal strength level for the narrow bandwidth spectrum determined in step 502 to have the largest signal strength level ¶ 0066: The output signal may be further processed by the RF front end 110. The output signal from the signal combiner 222 may also be processed by the RSSI circuit 111 to generate a wide bandwidth signal strength indication and a narrow bandwidth signal strength indication)
Although ROFOUGARAN discloses “different elements are spread across several interconnected computer systems,” see, Id. at ¶ 0082, ROFOUGARAN does not explicitly disclose a network entity.
In the same field of endeavor, however, LIU teaches:
a network entity (¶ 0004: [A] receiver in a wireless local area network (WLAN for short) receives a signal, a power gain is first adjusted for the received signal; ¶ 0065: FIG. 4 is a schematic flowchart of an automatic gain control method in a wireless local area network according to another embodiment of the present invention. The method in FIG. 4 may be executed by a receiver device, such as the AP 102)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ROFOUGARAN’s blocker attenuation procedure to substitute a network entity for a wireless terminal as taught by LIU to provide an automatic gain control (AGC) method and a communications device in a wireless local area network, so that system overhead can be reduced. See LIU, at ¶ 0006.
ROFOUGARAN also does not explicitly disclose:
partitioning a range of gain state values into a plurality of regions of operation, each of the plurality of regions of operation being associated with a respective blocker of a plurality of blockers;
In the same field of endeavor, however, KOMAILI teaches:
partitioning a range of gain state values into a plurality of regions of operation, each of the plurality of regions of operation being associated with a respective blocker of a plurality of blockers; (¶ 0083: Method 600 begins with block 602 where a desired dynamic range is identified based on the maximum expected power in a receive signal, a reference sensitivity and blocker requirements. In block 604, a number of ranges of gain control are identified. Thereafter, as indicated in block 606, a number of gain states are identified within the identified number of ranges of gain control)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ROFOUGARAN’s blocker attenuation procedure to ranges of gain control, as taught by KOMAILI to provide an analog control signal for adjusting the gain in an analog receiver path could include a suitable code for representing any one of low, mid, or high-range gain states to LNAs, TIAs, or PGAs, such that controllable elements in an analog receiver path could be similarly controlled over any number of desired control ranges using any number of control signals encoded to communicate desired combinations of elements and gain states. See KOMAILI, at ¶ 0063.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of ROFOUGARAN, LIU, and KOMAILI, as applied, renders obvious the method of claim 13. ROFOUGARAN does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the network entity is a local network entity.
In the same field of endeavor, however, LIU teaches:
wherein the network entity is a local network entity. (¶ 0065: The method in FIG. 4 may be executed by a receiver device, such as the AP 102)
Regarding claim 25, ROFOUGARAN discloses:
[Interconnected computer systems, ¶ 0082] for wireless communications, comprising:
. . .
means for calculating, for a received signal, a prescale backoff value for one or more gain state values within the range of gain state values based at least in part on a particular gain state value being within a corresponding region of operation of the plurality of regions of operation; (¶ 0050: [P]rocessor 116 may select a specific frequency for a local oscillator, or a specific gain for a variable gain amplifier. Moreover, the specific frequency selected and/or parameters needed to calculate the specific frequency, and/or the specific gain value and/or the parameters needed to calculate the specific gain, may be stored; ¶ 0051: [C]alculate frequencies and/or gain, and/or the frequency value and/or gain value)
means for applying the calculated prescale backoff value to the received signal, the application of the calculated prescale backoff value resulting in a prescaled signal; and (Fig. 5, step 506; ¶ 0078: In step 506, the processor 116, for example, may adjust a gain of the LNA 214 and/or the phase adjustment for the phase adjust block 216. Accordingly, the RF signal received by the antenna 205a may be adjusted in signal strength and/or phase and combined with the amplified RF signal received by the antenna 205b)
means for processing the prescaled signal. (Fig. 5, step 508; ¶ In step 508, the RSSI circuit 111 may determine the wide bandwidth signal strength level. The RSSI circuit 111 may also determine the signal strength level for the narrow bandwidth spectrum determined in step 502 to have the largest signal strength level ¶ 0066: The output signal may be further processed by the RF front end 110. The output signal from the signal combiner 222 may also be processed by the RSSI circuit 111 to generate a wide bandwidth signal strength indication and a narrow bandwidth signal strength indication)
Although ROFOUGARAN discloses “different elements are spread across several interconnected computer systems,” see, Id. at ¶ 0082, ROFOUGARAN does not explicitly disclose A network entity.
In the same field of endeavor, however, LIU teaches:
A network entity (¶ 0004: [A] receiver in a wireless local area network (WLAN for short) receives a signal, a power gain is first adjusted for the received signal; ¶ 0065: FIG. 4 is a schematic flowchart of an automatic gain control method in a wireless local area network according to another embodiment of the present invention. The method in FIG. 4 may be executed by a receiver device, such as the AP 102)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ROFOUGARAN’s blocker attenuation procedure to substitute a network entity for a wireless terminal as taught by LIU to provide an automatic gain control (AGC) method and a communications device in a wireless local area network, so that system overhead can be reduced. See LIU, at ¶ 0006.
ROFOUGARAN also does not explicitly disclose:
means for partitioning a range of gain state values into a plurality of regions of operation, each of the plurality of regions of operation being associated with a respective blocker of a plurality of blockers;
In the same field of endeavor, however, KOMAILI teaches:
means for partitioning a range of gain state values into a plurality of regions of operation, each of the plurality of regions of operation being associated with a respective blocker of a plurality of blockers; (¶ 0083: Method 600 begins with block 602 where a desired dynamic range is identified based on the maximum expected power in a receive signal, a reference sensitivity and blocker requirements. In block 604, a number of ranges of gain control are identified. Thereafter, as indicated in block 606, a number of gain states are identified within the identified number of ranges of gain control)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ROFOUGARAN’s blocker attenuation procedure to ranges of gain control, as taught by KOMAILI to provide an analog control signal for adjusting the gain in an analog receiver path could include a suitable code for representing any one of low, mid, or high-range gain states to LNAs, TIAs, or PGAs, such that controllable elements in an analog receiver path could be similarly controlled over any number of desired control ranges using any number of control signals encoded to communicate desired combinations of elements and gain states. See KOMAILI, at ¶ 0063.
Regarding claim 30, ROFOUGARAN discloses:
[A computer program product, ¶ 0083] storing code for wireless communications, the code comprising instructions executable by one or more processors (Processor 116) to:
. . .
calculate, for a received signal, a prescale backoff value for one or more gain state values within the range of gain state values based at least in part on a particular gain state value being within a corresponding region of operation of the plurality of regions of operation; (¶ 0050: [P]rocessor 116 may select a specific frequency for a local oscillator, or a specific gain for a variable gain amplifier. Moreover, the specific frequency selected and/or parameters needed to calculate the specific frequency, and/or the specific gain value and/or the parameters needed to calculate the specific gain, may be stored; ¶ 0051: [C]alculate frequencies and/or gain, and/or the frequency value and/or gain value)
apply the calculated prescale backoff value to the received signal, the application of the calculated prescale backoff value resulting in a prescaled signal; and (Fig. 5, step 506; ¶ 0078: In step 506, the processor 116, for example, may adjust a gain of the LNA 214 and/or the phase adjustment for the phase adjust block 216. Accordingly, the RF signal received by the antenna 205a may be adjusted in signal strength and/or phase and combined with the amplified RF signal received by the antenna 205b)
process the prescaled signal. (Fig. 5, step 508; ¶ In step 508, the RSSI circuit 111 may determine the wide bandwidth signal strength level. The RSSI circuit 111 may also determine the signal strength level for the narrow bandwidth spectrum determined in step 502 to have the largest signal strength level ¶ 0066: The output signal may be further processed by the RF front end 110. The output signal from the signal combiner 222 may also be processed by the RSSI circuit 111 to generate a wide bandwidth signal strength indication and a narrow bandwidth signal strength indication)
ROFOUGARAN does not explicitly disclose:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium
In the same field of endeavor, however, LIU teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium (¶ 0169: [A] computer-readable storage medium . . . includes: any medium that can store program code, such as a universal serial bus (USB) flash drive, a removable hard disk, a read-only memory (ROM for short), a random access memory (RAM for short), a magnetic disk, or an optical disc)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ROFOUGARAN’s blocker attenuation procedure to provide a network entity for a wireless terminal as taught by LIU to provide non-transitory computer-readable medium, so that system overhead can be reduced. See LIU, at ¶ 0006.
ROFOUGARAN also does not explicitly disclose:
partition a range of gain state values into a plurality of regions of operation, each of the plurality of regions of operation being associated with a respective blocker of a plurality of blockers;
In the same field of endeavor, however, KOMAILI teaches:
partition a range of gain state values into a plurality of regions of operation, each of the plurality of regions of operation being associated with a respective blocker of a plurality of blockers; (¶ 0083: Method 600 begins with block 602 where a desired dynamic range is identified based on the maximum expected power in a receive signal, a reference sensitivity and blocker requirements. In block 604, a number of ranges of gain control are identified. Thereafter, as indicated in block 606, a number of gain states are identified within the identified number of ranges of gain control)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ROFOUGARAN’s blocker attenuation procedure to ranges of gain control, as taught by KOMAILI to provide an analog control signal for adjusting the gain in an analog receiver path could include a suitable code for representing any one of low, mid, or high-range gain states to LNAs, TIAs, or PGAs, such that controllable elements in an analog receiver path could be similarly controlled over any number of desired control ranges using any number of control signals encoded to communicate desired combinations of elements and gain states. See KOMAILI, at ¶ 0063.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8, 10-12, 14-20, 22-24, and 26-29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Kathy Wang-Hurst can be reached at 571-270-5371. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/GARTH D RICHMOND/Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644