CTNF 18/501,398 CTNF 101862 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yagawa et al. (JP 2022045809 A), hereinafter Yagawa, in view of Suzuki et al. (JP 2018041587 A), hereinafter Suzuki, and in further view of Ishida (JP 2021125426 A) . Regarding claim 1 , Yagawa teaches a fuel cell unit ([001], [0010], fuel cell system 10), comprising: An air compressor ([0010], compressor 50, 52); A first fuel cell stack ([0010], [0015], pair of fuel cell stacks 14); A second fuel cell stack ([0010], [0015], pair of fuel cell stacks 14); A first supply pipe that supplies air from the air compressor to the first fuel cell stack ([0020], first oxidant gas supply pipe 48a); A first discharge pipe that recovers post-reaction air discharged from the first fuel cell stack ([0020], first oxidant gas discharge pipe 48b); A second supply pipe that supplies air from the air compressor to the second fuel cell stack ([0020], second oxidant gas supply pipe 49a); A second discharge pipe that recovers post-reaction air discharged from the second fuel cell stack ([0020], second oxidant gas discharge pipe 49b); a flow regulating valve is provided in each of the first bypass pipe and the second ([0033]). Yagawa fails to teach: the first supply pipe includes a first main pipe connected to a first position of the first fuel cell stack and a first bypass pipe connected to a second position of the first fuel cell stack; the second supply pipe includes a second main pipe connected to a third position of the second fuel cell stack and a second bypass pipe connected to a fourth position of the second fuel cell stack. Suzuki teaches a fuel cell unit (fuel cell system 10) that includes a fuel cell stack (fuel cell stack 11) and a compressor (compressor 12). Additionally, Suzuki teaches: the first supply pipe includes a first main pipe connected to a first position of the first fuel cell stack and a first bypass pipe connected to a second position of the first fuel cell stack ([0147-0149], bypass pipe 26); the second supply pipe includes a second main pipe connected to a third position of the second fuel cell stack and a second bypass pipe connected to a fourth position of the second fuel cell stack ([0147-0149], bypass pipe 26). Yagawa and Suzuki are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of fuel cell stacks with compressors. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the air supply system of Yagawa to include the main pipe and bypass pipe configuration as taught by Suzuki for each supply pipe. The motivation to combine arises from Suzuki’s teaching that distributing air to multiple positions of the fuel cell stack via both a main pipe and a bypass pipe improves uniformity of airflow distribution, enhances reaction efficiency, and prevents localized air starvation within the stack. Incorporating this pipe configuration would have yielded predictable results of improved performance of the fuel cell stack. The combination merely involves applying a known technique (multi-point air distribution using main and bypass pipes to a known device to yield predictable results. Regarding claim 2 , Yagawa and Suzuki teach the limitations of claim 1, as stated above. Yagawa and Suzuki fail to teach: each of the first fuel cell stack and the second fuel cell stack includes an air supply manifold through which pre-reaction air flows along a stacking direction of fuel-cell cells; the first position is located at, in the stacking direction, one end of the air supply manifold of the first fuel cell stack; the second position is located at, in the stacking direction, another end of the air supply manifold of the first fuel cell stack; the third position is located at, in the stacking direction, one end of the air supply manifold of the second fuel cell stack; the fourth position is located at, in the stacking direction, another end of the air supply manifold of the second fuel cell stack. Ishida teaches a fuel cell stack (fuel cell stack 3) and a compressor (compressor 35). Additionally, Ishida teaches: each of the first fuel cell stack and the second fuel cell stack includes an air supply manifold through which pre-reaction air flows along a stacking direction of fuel-cell cells ([0126], inlet manifold 81a and b, outlet manifold 82); the first position is located at, in the stacking direction, one end of the air supply manifold of the first fuel cell stack ([0126], inlet manifold 81a and b, outlet manifold 82); the second position is located at, in the stacking direction, another end of the air supply manifold of the first fuel cell stack ([0126], inlet manifold 81a and b, outlet manifold 82); the third position is located at, in the stacking direction, one end of the air supply manifold of the second fuel cell stack ([0126], inlet manifold 81a and b, outlet manifold 82); the fourth position is located at, in the stacking direction, another end of the air supply manifold of the second fuel cell stack ([0126], inlet manifold 81a and b, outlet manifold 82). Yagawa, Suzuki, and Ishida are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of fuel cell stacks with compressors. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify Yagawa to include the manifold structure and positional arrangement taught by Ishida in order to improve air distribution along the stacking direction, enhance uniformity of airflow across the fuel cell stacks, and increase overall reaction efficiency, as taught by Ishida. The combination merely applies a known manifold configuration to a known fuel cell system to achieve predictable results. Regarding claim 3 , Yagawa, Suzuki, and Ishida teach the limitations of claim 2, as stated above. Yagawa further teaches a control device (control device 56) that controls the flow regulating valve (pressure regulating valve 60 and 62), wherein the control device controls the pressure between the first fuel cell stack and the second fuel cell stack ([0033], [0035], control device 56). Yagawa does not explicitly state that the control device equalizes the air supply amount per cell between the first and second fuel cell stacks. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention that controlling pressure via flow regulating valves inherently affects and corresponds to controlling airflow rate (air supply amount). Since airflow rate and pressure are interrelated fluid parameters, a control system configured to equalize pressure between two stacks would have been understood to also enable control of airflow amounts supplies to each stack, including on a per-cell basis. Thus, modifying Yagawa’s control scheme to explicitly equalize air supply amount per cell would have been a predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions. Regarding claim 4 , Yagawa, teaches the limitations of claim 4, as stated above. Yagawa further teaches control device (control device 56) that controls the flow regulating valve, wherein the control device controls the flow regulating valve (pressure regulating valve 60 and 62), such that an "air supply pressure" is equal between the first fuel cell stack and the second fuel cell stack ([0033], [0035], control device 56). Regarding claim 5 , Yagawa teaches the limitations of claim 4, as stated above. Yagawa teaches a fuel cell unit ([001], [0010], fuel cell system 10), comprising: An air compressor ([0010], compressor 50, 52); A first fuel cell stack ([0010], [0015], pair of fuel cell stacks 14); A second fuel cell stack ([0010], [0015], pair of fuel cell stacks 14); A first supply pipe that supplies air from the air compressor to the first fuel cell stack ([0020], first oxidant gas supply pipe 48a); A first discharge pipe that recovers post-reaction air discharged from the first fuel cell stack ([0020], first oxidant gas discharge pipe 48b); A second supply pipe that supplies air from the air compressor to the second fuel cell stack ([0020], second oxidant gas supply pipe 49a); A second discharge pipe that recovers post-reaction air discharged from the second fuel cell stack ([0020], second oxidant gas discharge pipe 49b); a flow regulating valve is provided in each of the first bypass pipe and the second ([0033]). Yagawa fails to teach: the first discharge pipe includes a first main pipe connected to a fifth position of the first fuel cell stack and a first bypass pipe connected to a sixth position of the first fuel cell stack; the second discharge pipe includes a second main pipe connected to a seventh position of the second fuel cell stack and a second bypass pipe connected to an eighth position of the second fuel cell stack. Suzuki teaches a fuel cell unit (fuel cell system 10) that includes a fuel cell stack (fuel cell stack 11) and a compressor (compressor 12). Additionally, Suzuki teaches: the first discharge pipe includes a first main pipe connected to a fifth position of the first fuel cell stack and a first bypass pipe connected to a sixth position of the first fuel cell stack ([0147-0149], bypass pipe 26); the second discharge pipe includes a second main pipe connected to a seventh position of the second fuel cell stack and a second bypass pipe connected to an eighth position of the second fuel cell stack ([0147-0149], bypass pipe 26). Yagawa and Suzuki are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of fuel cell stacks with compressors. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify the air supply system of Yagawa to include the main pipe and bypass pipe configuration as taught by Suzuki for each supply pipe. The motivation to combine arises from Suzuki’s teaching that distributing air to multiple positions of the fuel cell stack via both a main pipe and a bypass pipe improves uniformity of airflow distribution, enhances reaction efficiency, and prevents localized air starvation within the stack. Incorporating this pipe configuration would have yielded predictable results of improved performance of the fuel cell stack. The combination merely involves applying a known technique (multi-point air distribution using main and bypass pipes to a known device to yield predictable results. Regarding claim 6 , Yagawa and Suzuki teach the limitations of claim 5, as stated above. Yagawa further teaches a control device (control device 56) that controls the flow regulating valve (pressure regulating valve 60 and 62), wherein the control device controls the pressure between the first fuel cell stack and the second fuel cell stack ([0033], [0035], control device 56). Yagawa does not explicitly state that the control device equalizes the air supply amount per cell between the first and second fuel cell stacks. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention that controlling pressure via flow regulating valves inherently affects and corresponds to controlling airflow rate (air supply amount). Since airflow rate and pressure are interrelated fluid parameters, a control system configured to equalize pressure between two stacks would have been understood to also enable control of airflow amounts supplies to each stack, including on a per-cell basis. Thus, modifying Yagawa’s control scheme to explicitly equalize air supply amount per cell would have been a predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions. Regarding claim 7 , Yagawa, teaches the limitations of claim 6, as stated above. Yagawa further teaches control device (control device 56) that controls the flow regulating valve, wherein the control device controls the flow regulating valve (pressure regulating valve 60 and 62), such that an "air supply pressure" is equal between the first fuel cell stack and the second fuel cell stack ([0033], [0035], control device 56). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Tamara Orduna whose telephone number is (571)431-1457. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:00-5:00 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jennifer Dieterle can be reached at (571) 270-7872. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /TAMARA ORDUNA/Examiner, Art Unit 1776 /Jennifer Dieterle/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1776 Application/Control Number: 18/501,398 Page 2 Art Unit: 1776 Application/Control Number: 18/501,398 Page 3 Art Unit: 1776 Application/Control Number: 18/501,398 Page 4 Art Unit: 1776 Application/Control Number: 18/501,398 Page 5 Art Unit: 1776 Application/Control Number: 18/501,398 Page 6 Art Unit: 1776 Application/Control Number: 18/501,398 Page 7 Art Unit: 1776 Application/Control Number: 18/501,398 Page 8 Art Unit: 1776 Application/Control Number: 18/501,398 Page 9 Art Unit: 1776 Application/Control Number: 18/501,398 Page 10 Art Unit: 1776