DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 01/23/2026.
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 14-16 have been amended.
Claims 3, 13, and 17 have been canceled.
Rejection to claims under 35 USC § 101 is withdrawn since it has been amended accordingly.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 01/23/2026, pages 8-10, regarding the rejection to the claims 1-2, 5-12, 14-16, and 18-20 have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments were drawn to features amended from dependent claim 3 to independent claims, which have been addressed in the instant office action with previously identified prior arts by mapping the relevant teachings for more clarification thereof that read on said added features, thus rendering Applicant’s arguments moot.
In particular, Applicant asserted that, in page 8 of the Applicant’s argument,:
The Examiner respectfully disagree.
Hui discloses the claimed feature of “wherein each radio node device is further configured to generate its internet address comprising a sink identifier of a sink device belonging to the at least one sink device and a wireless communication network address of said radio node device by including the sink identifier and the wireless communication network address to an interface identifier field of the internet address so that said radio node device is accessible through said sink device.” Hui discloses:
[0008]: … In embodiments, an end device of the mesh network can generate an address identifier that includes an address and time-based information associated with the end device, which is attached to a router device for communication in the mesh network.
[0055] The mesh network devices use link-local addresses to reach the mesh network devices within range of the single radio transmission. The mesh network devices use the link-local addresses (interpreted as “its internet address”) to discover neighbors, configure links, and/or exchange routing information. In certain embodiments, the mesh network device is assigned the link-local address with an interface identifier (“IID”) derived from an IEEE 802.15.4 Extended Address of the Media Access Control (MAC) layer of the IEEE 802.15.4 network stack. For example, the mesh network device assigns a link-local IPv6 address with an Interface Identifier (IID) that is obtained by computing a SHA-256 hash of the IEEE 802.15.4 Extended Address (interpreted as “generate its internet address comprising … a wireless communication network address of said radio node device by including the sink identifier and the wireless communication network address to an interface identifier field of the internet address”), and taking the first eight bytes of that SHA-256 hash as the IID. When attached to the mesh network 100, the mesh network device assigns the link-local IPv6 address the same IID as an RLOC assigned to the mesh network device.
[0057]: The mesh network devices use the Mesh-Local addresses to reach other mesh network devices within the same mesh network 100. When the mesh network device is attached to the mesh network 100, there are two Mesh-Local addresses assigned to the mesh network device. The first is a Routing Locator (RLOC), which includes a prefix that is the Mesh-Local Unique Local Address (ULA) Prefix, and an Endpoint Identifier (EID), which also includes a prefix that is the Mesh-Local ULA Prefix. The RLOC is an encoding of a Router Identifier (Router ID) of a parent router 102 and Child Identifiers (Child IDs) of the end devices 106 that are children of the parent router 102 (interpreted as “its internet address comprising a sink identifier of a sink device belonging to the at least one sink device and a wireless communication network address of said radio node device by including the sink identifier and the wireless communication network address to an interface identifier field of the internet address”).
[0063]: The RLOC is a network address (e.g., IPv6 address) that identifies the location of a particular mesh network device within the mesh network 100. In some embodiments, the RLOC is only used by the mesh network devices for communicating control traffic and delivering datagrams (e.g., IPv6 datagrams, UDP transmissions, and so forth) to their intended destinations. ...
[0080]: Routing of packet data in the mesh network 100 is based on RLOCs that are mapped to EIDs. For the child end device 106 that is attached to the parent router 102, the router ID, of the parent router 102 and the Child ID, of the child end device 106, are encoded into an Interface Identifier (IID). ….
[0081]: The RLOC for each end device 106 is encoded with Mesh-Local scope from the encoded Router ID and Child ID in the IID. The RLOC for the end device 106 is used by the mesh network devices to address and route data packets to the end device 106. ...
That is, Hui discloses that an End Device (“radio node device”) generates its address identifier including address (see para [0008]) and assigns a link-local Ipv6 with an interface identifier (IID) (see paras [0008], [0056]). Hui further disclose that this address (a Routing Locator, ‘RLOC’) is a network address such as an IPv6 address (see para [0063]). Hui explicitly teaches that the RLOC (IPv6 address) is an encoding of a Router ID (“a sink identifier”) and a Child ID (“a wireless communication network address of said radio node device”) which are encoded into an interface identifier (IID) (see paras [0057], [0080], [0081]). Hui further discloses that when a data packet is addressed and using such an RLOC, the packet is routed in the mesh network to the parent router of the child end device (see para [0081]). This confirms that the radio node device is accessible through the identified parent router (“sink device”).
Therefore, the Applicant’s arguments overall are deemed unpersuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 11-12, and 14-16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hui et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No 20170222923, hereinafter “Hui”).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to Hui unless otherwise mentioned.
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim 1, Hui teaches An address generation system (Fig. 1 and para [0038]: mesh network system 100) for a wireless communication network (Fig. 1 and para [0027]: Wireless mesh networks use multiple radio links, or hops, to forward traffic between devices within the mesh network) comprising:
at least one sink device (Fig. 1 and para [0038]: routers 102) and
at least one radio node device (Fig. 1 and para [0038]: End device 106),
wherein each radio node device is configured to communicate with the at least one sink device or other radio node device belonging to the at least one radio node device (Figures 1-9: Routers 102 and End Devices), and
wherein each radio node device is further configured to generate its internet address comprising a sink identifier of a sink device belonging to the at least one sink device and a wireless communication network address of said radio node device by including the sink identifier and the wireless communication network address to an interface identifier field of the internet address so that said radio node device is accessible through said sink device (para [0008]: In embodiments, an end device of the mesh network can generate an address identifier that includes an address and time-based information associated with the end device, which is attached to a router device for communication in the mesh network.) (para [0055]: The mesh network devices use link-local addresses to reach the mesh network devices within range of the single radio transmission. The mesh network devices use the link-local addresses (interpreted as “its internet address”) to discover neighbors, configure links, and/or exchange routing information. In certain embodiments, the mesh network device is assigned the link-local address with an interface identifier (“IID”) derived from an IEEE 802.15.4 Extended Address of the Media Access Control (MAC) layer of the IEEE 802.15.4 network stack. For example, the mesh network device assigns a link-local IPv6 address with an Interface Identifier (IID) that is obtained by computing a SHA-256 hash of the IEEE 802.15.4 Extended Address (interpreted as “generate its internet address comprising … a wireless communication network address of said radio node device by including the sink identifier and the wireless communication network address to an interface identifier field of the internet address”), and taking the first eight bytes of that SHA-256 hash as the IID. When attached to the mesh network 100, the mesh network device assigns the link-local IPv6 address the same IID as an RLOC assigned to the mesh network device.) (para [0057]: The mesh network devices use the Mesh-Local addresses to reach other mesh network devices within the same mesh network 100. When the mesh network device is attached to the mesh network 100, there are two Mesh-Local addresses assigned to the mesh network device. The first is a Routing Locator (RLOC), which includes a prefix that is the Mesh-Local Unique Local Address (ULA) Prefix, and an Endpoint Identifier (EID), which also includes a prefix that is the Mesh-Local ULA Prefix. The RLOC is an encoding of a Router Identifier (Router ID) of a parent router 102 and Child Identifiers (Child IDs) of the end devices 106 that are children of the parent router 102 (interpreted as “its internet address comprising a sink identifier of a sink device belonging to the at least one sink device and a wireless communication network address of said radio node device by including the sink identifier and the wireless communication network address to an interface identifier field of the internet address”).) (para [0063]: The RLOC is a network address (e.g., IPv6 address) that identifies the location of a particular mesh network device within the mesh network 100. In some embodiments, the RLOC is only used by the mesh network devices for communicating control traffic and delivering datagrams (e.g., IPv6 datagrams, UDP transmissions, and so forth) to their intended destinations. …) (para [0080]: Routing of packet data in the mesh network 100 is based on RLOCs that are mapped to EIDs. For the child end device 106 that is attached to the parent router 102, the router ID, of the parent router 102 and the Child ID, of the child end device 106, are encoded into an Interface Identifier (IID). …) (para [0081]: The RLOC for each end device 106 is encoded with Mesh-Local scope from the encoded Router ID and Child ID in the IID. The RLOC for the end device 106 is used by the mesh network devices to address and route data packets to the end device 106 (interpreted as “so that said radio node device is accessible through said sink device”)….)
That is, Hui discloses that an End Device (“radio node device”) generates its address identifier including address (see para [0008]) and assigns a link-local Ipv6 with an interface identifier (IID) (see paras [0008], [0056]). Hui further disclose that this address (a Routing Locator, ‘RLOC’) is a network address such as an IPv6 address (see para [0063]). Hui explicitly teaches that the RLOC (IPv6 address) is an encoding of a Router ID (“a sink identifier”) and a Child ID (“a wireless communication network address of said radio node device”) which are encoded into an interface identifier (IID) (see paras [0057], [0080], [0081]). Hui further discloses that when a data packet is addressed and using such an RLOC, the packet is routed in the mesh network to the parent router of the child end device (see para [0081]). This confirms that the radio node device is accessible through the identified parent router (“sink device”). Thus, Hui teaches the above claimed feature of claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, it is a radio node device claim corresponding to the radio node device included in the address generation system claim 1, except limitations “a controller” (Fig. 17 and para [0192]: The device 1702 includes a processing system 1710 that may be implemented at least partially in hardware, such as with any type of microprocessors, controllers, and the like that process executable instructions.) and a radio communicator” (Fig. 17 and para [0189]: The example device 1702 may be any type of computing device, client device, mobile phone, tablet, communication, entertainment, gaming, media playback, and/or other type of device.)(Fig. 17 and para [0190]: The device 1702 includes communication devices 1704 that enable wired and/or wireless communication of device data 1706,) and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, it is an address generation method claim corresponding to the address generation system claim 1, and is therefore rejected for the similar reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim 2, Hui teaches The generation system according to claim 1, wherein the sink identifier comprises a wireless communication network address of said sink device or a random value configured to identify said sink device (para [0038]: The mesh network 100 is a wireless mesh network that includes routers 102, a router-eligible end device 104, and end devices 106.) (para [0057]: The mesh network devices use the Mesh-Local addresses to reach other mesh network devices within the same mesh network 100. When the mesh network device is attached to the mesh network 100, there are two Mesh-Local addresses assigned to the mesh network device. The first is a Routing Locator (RLOC), which includes a prefix that is the Mesh-Local Unique Local Address (ULA) Prefix, and an Endpoint Identifier (EID), which also includes a prefix that is the Mesh-Local ULA Prefix. The RLOC is an encoding of a Router Identifier (Router ID) of a parent router 102 (interpreted as “the sink identifier comprises a wireless communication network address of said sink device”) and Child Identifiers (Child IDs) of the end devices 106 that are children of the parent router 102.).
Regarding claim 4, Hui teaches The generation system according to claim 1, Hui further teaches wherein the internet address comprises an internet subnet prefix in an internet subnet prefix field (para [0052]: By way of example, and not limitation, the tuple for the provisioning domain includes a network address prefix (e.g., an IPv6 address prefix), a unique provisioning domain identifier with which the tuple is associated, a Routing Locator (RLOC) for the border router 202 that makes the network address prefix available to the mesh network 100, a number of configuration flags for the provisioning domain, and/or a router preference value.) (para [09053]: The configuration flags in the tuple may include one or more flags to indicate that: the route in the provisioning domain will be stable for a minimum period of time, mesh network devices are allowed to auto-configure addresses using the network address prefix (interpreted as “internet subnet prefix in an internet subnet prefix field”), mesh network devices are allowed to use previously configured addresses using the network address prefix, the border router 202 associated with the provisioning domain manages address configuration for the network address prefix, the border router 202 associated with the provisioning domain supplies other network configuration data (e.g., Domain Name Service (DNS) servers), and/or the border router 202 associated with the provisioning domain provides a default route for data packets with a source using the network address prefix.)
Regarding claim 11, Hui teaches The generation system according to claim 1, Hui further teaches wherein the generation system further comprises at least one internet router device (Figs. 2-4: Border Routers ), which comprises the at least one sink device (Figs. 2-4: Routers 102), and wherein the at least one internet router device is configured to operate as a wireless communication network entry between the at least one external communication network and the wireless communication network (para [0027]: Wireless mesh networks use multiple radio links, or hops, to forward traffic between devices within the mesh network) (para [0047]: The external network 302 (interpreted as “at least one external communication network”) provides configuration data 402 to a border router 406. The configuration data 402 is associated with an address prefix assigned by the external network 302 to the mesh network 100 (interpreted as “the wireless communication network”) and the address prefix is available on the mesh network 100 for addressing and routing data packets.)
Regarding claim 12, Hui teaches The generation system according to claim 1, wherein the wireless communication network is Digital European Cordless Telecommunication 2020-based network, a wireless multi-hop network, a wireless mesh network, a wireless local area network, a cellular based local area network, a low power wide area network, a cellular network, a wireless Bluetooth Low Energy-based radio network, Zigbee network, Thread network, or Public Land Mobile Network (para [0027]: Wireless mesh networks use multiple radio links, or hops, to forward traffic between devices within the mesh network).
Regarding claim 16, Hui teaches A computer program comprising instructions, which, when the computer program is executed by a processor, cause the radio node device to carry out at least the steps of the method according to claim 15 (para [0192]: The device 1702 includes a processing system 1710 that may be implemented at least partially in hardware, such as with any type of microprocessors, controllers, and the like that process executable instructions.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-10, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui in view of Akyurek et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No 20160087936, hereinafter “Akyurek”).
Regarding claim 5, Hui teaches The generation system according to claim 1, Hui does not explicitly teach wherein said radio node device is further configured to regenerate the internet address when said radio node device has changed a routing from a previous sink device belonging to the at least one sink device to said sink device in the wireless communication network.
In analogous art, Akyurek teaches the wherein said radio node device is further configured to regenerate the internet address when said radio node device has changed a routing from a previous sink device belonging to the at least one sink device to said sink device in the wireless communication network (para [0003] of Akyurek: Ad hoc wireless communications networks are formed dynamically as nodes come within range of existing network resources.)(para [0007] of Akyurek: a method includes receiving a network address of a parent node at a child node from a network. The method includes appending an address value of a number of bits to the received network address of the parent node to create a unique network address for the child node.) (para [0037] of Akyurek: FIG. 5 illustrates an example of a network address 500 that can be modified at a child node based on a network address of a parent node (the ‘a network address 500 that can be modified…’ is interpreted as “regenerate the internet address when said radio node device has changed a routing from a previous sink device … ”)).
Examiner’s comments: Akyurek is directed to address generation for ad hoc communications networks known as a dynamic communication connection. Ad hoc wireless communications networks are formed dynamically as nodes come within range of existing network resources (see para [0003] of Akyurek). Therefore, the ‘nodes come within range of existing network resources’, ‘receiving a network address of a parent node at a child node from a network’ and ‘network address 500 that can be modified at a child node based on a network address of a parent node’ disclosed in paragraphs [0007 and 0037] of Akyurek are interpreted as the claimed feature “regenerate the internet address when said radio node device has changed a routing from a previous sink device … ” in claim 5.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Hui's method by using the features of Akyurek in order to have more effective method such that network address can be modified at a child node (End Device) based on a network address of a parent node in ad hoc communications network.
Regarding claim 6, Hui teaches The generation system according to claim 1, Hui fails to teach wherein said radio node device is further configured to include the generated internet address in an uplink packet communication.
In analogous art, Akyurek teaches the wherein said radio node device is further configured to include the generated internet address in an uplink packet communication (para [0021] of Akyurek: When the child node 120 desires to join a DODAG and announces its IPV6 address with a DAO message (interpreted as “include the generated internet address in an uplink packet communication”), it sets its IPV6 address by taking its preferred parent's address prefix and adding a value of predetermined size to the end (or beginning) of this prefix to create its own prefix and IPV6 address.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Hui's method by using the features (its IPV6 address with a uplink packet communication) of Akyurek to include the internet address of child node (End Device) in the uplink packet communication.
Regarding claim 7, Hui and Akyurek teach The generation system according to claim 6, Akyurek teaches wherein said radio node device is further configured to include at least a unique identifier of said radio node device (para [0021] of Akyurek: When the child node 120 desires to join a DODAG and announces its IPV6 address with a DAO message (interpreted as “in the uplink packet communication”), it sets its IPV6 address by taking its preferred parent's address prefix and adding a value of predetermined size to the end (or beginning) of this prefix to create its own prefix and IPV6 address.) (para [0037] of Akyurek: The child node 01 (interpreted as “a unique identifier of said radio node device”) in that example could post-pend (or pre-pend) its node number (or other arbitrary number) to the portion 04050607 to create its own unique network address which was (AA0102030405060701)).
Regarding claim 8, Hui and Akyurek teach The generation system according to claim 7, Akyurek further teaches wherein said radio node device is further configured to include at least its previous internet address, which comprises a sink identifier of a previous sink device belonging to the at least one sink device in the uplink packet communication (para [0021] of Akyurek: When the child node 120 desires to join a DODAG and announces its IPV6 address with a DAO message (interpreted as “at least its previous internet address …in an uplink packet communication”), it sets its IPV6 address by taking its preferred parent's address prefix and adding a value of predetermined size to the end (or beginning) of this prefix to create its own prefix and IPV6 address.) (para [0037] of Akyurek: FIG. 5 illustrates an example of a network address 500 (interpreted as “previous internet address”) that can be modified at a child node based on a network address of a parent node. In this example, the address is an IPV6 Internet address. … As shown, the unique address portion includes the parent's address and a node identifier representing the assigned value of the number of bits to the parent address in this example. Using the example described above with respect to FIG. 4, the unique address of the parent node was (AA01020304050607) (interpreted as “a sink identifier of a previous sink device belonging to the at least one sink device”)…).
Regarding claim 9, Hui teaches The generation system according to claim 1, Hui fails to teach wherein said radio node device is further configured to send an uplink packet communication comprising the generated internet address to at least said sink device.
Akyurek, in analogous art, teaches the wherein said radio node device is further configured to send an uplink packet communication comprising the generated internet address to at least said sink device (para [0021] of Akyurek: When the child node 120 desires to join a DODAG and announces its IPV6 address with a DAO message, it sets its IPV6 address by taking its preferred parent's address prefix and adding a value of predetermined size to the end (or beginning) of this prefix to create its own prefix and IPV6 address.) (para [0022] of Akyurek: When a node joins a DODAG, for example, it sends a DAO to its parent with its own IP address (interpreted as “send an uplink packet communication comprising the generated internet address to at least said sink device”)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant application to modify Hui's method by using the features (send an uplink message comprising its IPV6 address to the parent node) of Akyurek to send an uplink packet communication comprising the generated internet address to a parent node (router).
Regarding claim 10, Hui and Akyurek teach The generation system according to claim 6, Akyurek further teaches wherein the said radio node device is further configured to send the uplink packet communication after the generation of the internet address or when a need to send next data communication occurs (para [0021] of Akyurek: When the child node 120 desires to join a DODAG and announces its IPV6 address with a DAO message, it sets its IPV6 address by taking its preferred parent's address prefix and adding a value of predetermined size to the end (or beginning) of this prefix to create its own prefix and IPV6 address.) (para [0022] of Akyurek: When a node joins a DODAG, for example, it sends a DAO to its parent with its own IP address)(para [0039] of Akyurek: At 620, the method 600 includes appending an address value of a number of bits to the network address of the parent node to create the unique network address for the child node (e.g., via address generator of FIG. 1). At 630, the method 600 includes communicating the unique network address assigned to the child node across the network to the parent node (e.g., via network 160 of FIG. 1) (interpreted as “send the uplink packet communication after the generation of the internet address or when a need to send next data communication occurs”)).
Regarding claim 18, Hui and Akyurek teach The generation system according to claim 7, Akyurek further teaches wherein the said radio node device is further configured to send the uplink packet communication after the generation of the internet address or when a need to send next data communication occurs (para [0021] of Akyurek: When the child node 120 desires to join a DODAG and announces its IPV6 address with a DAO message, it sets its IPV6 address by taking its preferred parent's address prefix and adding a value of predetermined size to the end (or beginning) of this prefix to create its own prefix and IPV6 address.) (para [0022] of Akyurek: When a node joins a DODAG (interpreted as “when a need to send next data communication occurs”), for example, it sends a DAO to its parent with its own IP address)(para [0039] of Akyurek: At 620, the method 600 includes appending an address value of a number of bits to the network address of the parent node to create the unique network address for the child node (e.g., via address generator of FIG. 1). At 630, the method 600 includes communicating the unique network address assigned to the child node across the network to the parent node (e.g., via network 160 of FIG. 1) (interpreted as “send the uplink packet communication after the generation of the internet address or when a need to send next data communication occurs”)).
Regarding claim 19, Hui and Akyurek teach The generation system according to claim 8, Akyurek further teaches wherein the said radio node device is further configured to send the uplink packet communication after the generation of the internet address or when a need to send next data communication occurs (para [0021] of Akyurek: When the child node 120 desires to join a DODAG and announces its IPV6 address with a DAO message, it sets its IPV6 address by taking its preferred parent's address prefix and adding a value of predetermined size to the end (or beginning) of this prefix to create its own prefix and IPV6 address.) (para [0022] of Akyurek: When a node joins a DODAG (interpreted as “when a need to send next data communication occurs”), for example, it sends a DAO to its parent with its own IP address)(para [0039] of Akyurek: At 620, the method 600 includes appending an address value of a number of bits to the network address of the parent node to create the unique network address for the child node (e.g., via address generator of FIG. 1). At 630, the method 600 includes communicating the unique network address assigned to the child node across the network to the parent node (e.g., via network 160 of FIG. 1) (interpreted as “send the uplink packet communication after the generation of the internet address or when a need to send next data communication occurs”)).
Regarding claim 20, Hui and Akyurek teach The generation system according to claim 9, Akyurek further teaches wherein the said radio node device is further configured to send the uplink packet communication after the generation of the internet address or when a need to send next data communication occurs (para [0021] of Akyurek: When the child node 120 desires to join a DODAG and announces its IPV6 address with a DAO message, it sets its IPV6 address by taking its preferred parent's address prefix and adding a value of predetermined size to the end (or beginning) of this prefix to create its own prefix and IPV6 address.) (para [0022] of Akyurek: When a node joins a DODAG (interpreted as “when a need to send next data communication occurs”), for example, it sends a DAO to its parent with its own IP address)(para [0039] of Akyurek: At 620, the method 600 includes appending an address value of a number of bits to the network address of the parent node to create the unique network address for the child node (e.g., via address generator of FIG. 1). At 630, the method 600 includes communicating the unique network address assigned to the child node across the network to the parent node (e.g., via network 160 of FIG. 1) (interpreted as “send the uplink packet communication after the generation of the internet address or when a need to send next data communication occur”)).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WON JUN CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411