DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the amendment filed 03/31/2026. As directed by the amendment: claims 1-3, 5, 7, 8, 11-15, 17, and 18 are amended. Applicant’s amendments to the drawings and claims have overcome each and every objection and rejection previously set forth in the non-final office action mailed 12/31/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 03/31/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of the claim(s) have been fully considered and are persuasive, due to the amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of AAPA in view of Watson.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 03/31/2026. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9, 11, and 19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant Admitted Prior Art (Figure 1; hereinafter AAPA) in view of Watson et al. (U.S. 2021/0293123).
Regarding claim 1, AAPA discloses: a system for a gas lift system in a well having a wellhead (114), the system comprising: a tubing (119) disposed in a casing (117) in the well (115) defining a tubing-casing annulus (113) in the well 115 (see paragraph 0022); a TCA valve (109) installed on the wellhead (114) coupled to the tubing (119) and the casing (117) defining a flow path for a fluid flowing from the TCA (113) to the tubing 119 (see paragraph 0022); a first injection line (108) coupled to the TCA valve (109) configured to inject the fluid into the TCA 113 (see paragraph 0022); a fixed restriction disposed in a cavity of the TCA valve (109) hydraulically connected to the first injection line 108 (see paragraph 0022).
AAPA fails to disclose wherein the fixed restriction comprises an orifice plate defining an aperture comprising a diameter smaller than an inner diameter of the cavity.
Watson teaches a well system with a check valve wherein a fixed restriction (92) comprises an orifice plate (92) defining an aperture comprising a diameter smaller than an inner diameter of a cavity (see paragraph 0022; see Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified AAPA to provide wherein the fixed restriction comprises an orifice plate defining an aperture comprising a diameter smaller than an inner diameter of the cavity, as taught by Watson. Having a check valve with a seat that has an aperture with a smaller diameter than a cavity of the check valve is a well known feature in the art (see also Haines et al. (U.S. 2021/0062926). Furthermore, having a seat would provide better sealing through the valve.
Regarding claim 9, AAPA as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and further teaches wherein the fluid is a gas (see paragraph 0022)
Regarding claim 11, AAPA discloses: a method for a gas lift system in a well having a wellhead (114), the method comprising: running a tubing (119) inside a casing (117) in the well (115) defining a tubing-casing annulus 113 (see paragraph 0022); installing a TCA valve (109) to the wellhead (114) coupled to the tubing (119) and the casing (117) and to a first injection line (108) configured to inject a fluid into the TCA 113 (see paragraph 0022); opening the TCA valve (109) to flow the fluid from the first injection line (108) to the TCA (113) and into the tubing 119 (see paragraph 0022); restricting the fluid flow from the first injection line into the TCA valve (109), via a fixed restriction disposed in a cavity of the TCA valve (109) (see paragraph 0022).
AAPA fails to disclose wherein restricting the fluid flow comprises using an orifice plate to define an aperture comprising a diameter smaller than an inner diameter of the cavity.
Watson teaches a well system with a check valve wherein restricting a fluid flow comprises using an orifice plate (92) to define an aperture comprising a diameter smaller than an inner diameter of a cavity (see paragraph 0022; see Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified AAPA to provide wherein restricting the fluid flow comprises using an orifice plate to define an aperture comprising a diameter smaller than an inner diameter of the cavity, as taught by Watson. Having a check valve with a seat that has an aperture with a smaller diameter than a cavity of the check valve is a well-known feature in the art (see also Haines et al. (U.S. 2021/0062926). Furthermore, having a seat would provide better sealing through the valve.
Regarding claim 19, AAPA as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed and further teaches wherein the fluid is a gas (see paragraph 0022).
Claim(s) 7 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AAPA in view of Watson in further view of Smith (U.S. 2008/0179063).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, AAPA as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed, but fails to teach a second injection line disposed in the gas lift system configured to inject gas into the well coupled to the wellhead.
Smith teaches a gas lift system comprising a second injection line (14) disposed in the gas lift system configured to inject gas into a well (5) coupled to a wellhead (see paragraph 0019).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified AAPA to provide a second injection line disposed in the gas lift system configured to inject gas into the well coupled to the wellhead. Doing so would reduce fluid friction pressure of the well system (see paragraph 0019), as recognized by Smith.
Claim(s) 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AAPA in view of Watson in further view of Al-Mulhem et al. (U.S. 2015/0027722).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, AAPA as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed, but fails to teach wherein the first injection line is made of nickel alloy material configured to withstand high pressure and high temperature.
Al-Mulhem teaches a gas lift system wherein nickel alloy is used (see paragraph 0040).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified AAPA to provide wherein the first injection line is made of nickel alloy material configured to withstand high pressure and high temperature. Doing so would provide a material operable at temperatures found downhole that are resistant to chemicals (see paragraph 0040), as recognized by Al-Mulhem.
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over AAPA in view of Watson, in further view of Elmer (U.S. Patent No. 10,077642).
Annotated Figure 1A from Elmer.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, AAPA as modified teaches the invention as essentially claimed, but fails to teach a tubing hanger configured to couple the TCA valve is coupled to the tubing, and a flange configured to couple the TCA valve to the casing.
Elmer teaches a well system comprising a tubing hanger (see annotated figure above) configured to couple a TCA valve (185) is coupled to a tubing (120), and a flange (see annotated figure above) configured to couple the TCA valve (185) to a casing 110 (see Figure 1A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified AAPA to provide a tubing hanger configured to couple the TCA valve is coupled to the tubing, and a flange configured to couple the TCA valve to the casing, as taught by Elmer. Doing so would provide easy attachment of the TCA valve to the tubing and casing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 are allowed.
Claims 12-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KELSEY E CARY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753