DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US 20210031053) in view of Lam et al. (US 5945684).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Zhao teaches a modifier rotary-switching device, comprising:
a plurality of modifiers (K1-K4) for changing dose distribution of rays output from an accelerating tube of an accelerator (101), the plurality of modifiers comprising modifiers which have different change amounts to the dose distribution (figure 3); and a rotary switch installed with the plurality of modifiers and switching positions where the modifiers are installed by rotation so as to locate the modifier at an installation position corresponding to a target dose distribution at an outlet of the accelerating tube (para 52),
wherein each of the plurality of modifiers (K1-K4) is configured to allow the rays to pass through its solid material to obtain respective target dose distribution (figures 2 and 3).
However Zhao fails to teach the modifier rotary-switching device further comprises a control module, the control module pre-stores corresponding relationship between the target dose distribution and the installation position of the modifier on the rotary switch, and based on the corresponding relationship, the control module outputs control instructions to the rotary switch, the rotary switch rotates based on the control instructions, so that the modifier at the installation position corresponding to the target dose distribution is located at the outlet of the accelerating tube.
Lam teaches a modifier rotary-switching device further comprises a control module, the control module pre-stores corresponding relationship between the target dose distribution and the installation position of the modifier on the rotary switch, and based on the corresponding relationship, the control module outputs control instructions to the rotary switch, the rotary switch rotates based on the control instructions, so that the modifier at the installation position corresponding to the target dose distribution is located at the outlet of the accelerating tube (col 3 line 54-col 4 line 3 and col 4 lines 36-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the modifier rotary switching device of Zhao with the control module as taught by Lam, since it would provide automatic beam selection.
Claim(s) 1 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perkins (US 20130221243) in view of Lam et al. (US 5945684).
Regarding claim 1, Perkins teaches a modifier rotary-switching device, comprising:
a plurality of modifiers (50 52 54 62a 62b 124) for changing dose distribution of rays output from an accelerating tube of an accelerator (12), the plurality of modifiers comprising modifiers which have different change amounts to the dose distribution (figure 2); and a rotary switch installed with the plurality of modifiers and switching positions where the modifiers are installed by rotation 68 88 112 128 so as to locate the modifier at an installation position corresponding to a target dose distribution at an outlet of the accelerating tube (figures 3-6),
wherein each of the plurality of modifiers (50 52 54 62a 62b 124) is configured to allow the rays to pass through its solid material to obtain respective target dose distribution (figures 2 and 3).
However Perkins fails to teach the modifier rotary-switching device further comprises a control module, the control module pre-stores corresponding relationship between the target dose distribution and the installation position of the modifier on the rotary switch, and based on the corresponding relationship, the control module outputs control instructions to the rotary switch, the rotary switch rotates based on the control instructions, so that the modifier at the installation position corresponding to the target dose distribution is located at the outlet of the accelerating tube.
Lam teaches a modifier rotary-switching device further comprises a control module, the control module pre-stores corresponding relationship between the target dose distribution and the installation position of the modifier on the rotary switch, and based on the corresponding relationship, the control module outputs control instructions to the rotary switch, the rotary switch rotates based on the control instructions, so that the modifier at the installation position corresponding to the target dose distribution is located at the outlet of the accelerating tube (col 3 line 54-col 4 line 3 and col 4 lines 36-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the modifier rotary switching device of Perkins with the control module as taught by Lam, since it would provide automatic beam selection.
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helm et al. (US 20220125393) in view of Brown et al. (US 20110075815) and Lam et al. (US 5945684).
Regarding claim 1, Helm teaches a modifier rotary-switching device, comprising:
a plurality of modifiers 510 514 518 for changing dose distribution of rays output from an accelerating tube of an accelerator 36, the plurality of modifiers comprising modifiers which have different change amounts to the dose distribution (figure 7); and a rotary switch installed with the plurality of modifiers and switching positions where the modifiers are installed by rotation so as to locate the modifier at an installation position corresponding to a target dose distribution at an outlet of the accelerating tube (figure 2).
However Helm fails to teach each of the plurality of modifiers is configured to allow the rays to pass through its solid material to obtain respective target dose distribution.
Brown teaches each of the plurality of modifiers (302) is configured to allow the rays to pass through its solid material to obtain respective target dose distribution (para 41, 60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the modifiers of A with the modifiers as taught by Brown, since it would provide uniform dose distribution.
Further Helm fails to teach a control module, the control module pre-stores corresponding relationship between the target dose distribution and the installation position of the modifier on the rotary switch, and based on the corresponding relationship, the control module outputs control instructions to the rotary switch, the rotary switch rotates based on the control instructions, so that the modifier at the installation position corresponding to the target dose distribution is located at the outlet of the accelerating tube.
Lam teaches a modifier rotary-switching device further comprises a control module, the control module pre-stores corresponding relationship between the target dose distribution and the installation position of the modifier on the rotary switch, and based on the corresponding relationship, the control module outputs control instructions to the rotary switch, the rotary switch rotates based on the control instructions, so that the modifier at the installation position corresponding to the target dose distribution is located at the outlet of the accelerating tube (col 3 line 54-col 4 line 3 and col 4 lines 36-65).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the modifier rotary switching device of Perkins with the control module as taught by Lam, since it would provide automatic beam selection.
Regarding claim 2, Helm teaches the plurality of modifiers comprises modifiers in different shapes (figure 7).
Regarding claim 3, Helm teaches the rotary switch comprises a modifier installation plate 210, which comprises a plurality of installation locations, and the plurality of modifiers is installed at the plurality of installation locations of the modifier installation plate (figure 3).
Regarding claim 4, Helm teaches dose distributions of the rays output by the accelerating tube and penetrating through the respective installation locations are different from each other (figure 7).
Regarding claim 5, Helm teaches the rotary switch further comprises: a power mechanism that provides power for the rotary switch to rotate the rotary switch around an axis; a transmission mechanism that transmits the power from the power mechanism to the modifier installation plate; and a fixing-installation mechanism that fixes and installs the rotary switch onto the accelerator (figure 2, para 55).
Regarding claim 6, Helm teaches the power mechanism comprises a DC servo motor, the fixing-installation mechanism comprises a motor seat and a base, the servo motor is fixedly installed on the base through the motor seat, and the base is fixedly installed on the accelerator (para 55).
Regarding claim 7, Helm teaches the transmission mechanism comprises a pinion gear and a large gear, the pinion gear is connected to an output shaft of the DC servo motor, the large gear engages with the pinion gear, and the modifier installation plate is fixedly connected with the large gear (para 55).
Regarding claim 8, Helm teaches the fixing-installation mechanism further comprises: a rotating shaft, and a ball bearing, the modifier installation plate is installed on the base through the rotating shaft and the ball bearing (figure 2)..
Regarding claim 9, Helm teaches on each installation location, one modifier is provided, and each modifier has a shape different from that of other modifiers (figure 7).
Regarding claim 10, Helm teaches the installation location is formed as a through hole, and in at least some of the through holes, at least two modifiers are installed along an axial direction of a same through hole (figure 7).
Regarding claim 12, Helm teaches an accelerator, comprising: an accelerating tube; and the modifier rotary-switching device according to claim 1 (para 36).
Regarding claim 13, Helm as modified teaches a control method for a modifier rotary-switching device, wherein: the modifier rotary-switching device is the modifier rotary-switching device according to the modifier rotary-switching device is the modifier rotary-switching device according to the control method comprises: outputting control instructions to the rotary switch based on pre-stored corresponding relationship between the target dose distribution and the installation position of the modifier on the rotary switch; and rotating the rotary switch based on the control instructions, so that the modifier at the installation position corresponding to the target dose distribution is located at the outlet of the accelerating tube (para 55-56).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10 and 12-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/HOON K SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884