DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the tubes, claims 1-21, and specifically tubes on the side surface, at least claim 6, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “and an plate welded”, is a grammatical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite for the limitation “a plurality of tubes welded to the bottom surface of the aluminum pot, the plurality of tubes each form a closed passage..”
Claims 2-10 are indefinite via dependency, directly or indirectly, to claim 1.
Claim 11 is indefinite for the limitation “a plurality of tubes welded to the bottom surface of the pot, the plurality of tubes each form closed passages…”
Claims 12-21 are indefinite via dependency, directly or indirectly, to claim 11.
These limitations of claims 1-21, specifically any reference to tubes, are considered indefinite because the drawings do not show any structure similar to a tube. The specification in paragraph 0012 explains the use of aluminum channels 116 and explains side tubes 130a-130g. A tube in the broadest sense is considered a hollow, usually cylindrical body. A channel in the broadest sense is a route through which anything passes {both definitions are confirmed from dictionary.com}. There is also no indication of how the tubes are closed regarding the specification or drawings. It is therefore understood, that a tube and channel are structurally different, and the application has support for a channel and will therefore be interpreted as such.
EXAMINER’S NOTE: in the instance of amending the claims to comply with the specification, double patenting is conceivable, e.g. when considering the scope of claim 1 and 6 together; the scope of claim 1 of issued patent 11844459 would require a double patenting rejection. Currently it is deemed that the scope is similar, however the use of tubes and channels have different interpretations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 10-11, 13-15, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang [20080223359].
With respect to claim 1, Huang discloses: A tunnel tube cooking pot comprising: an aluminum pot (300) having a bottom surface and a side surface [see FIG 3, paragraph 0027 with reference to “A design of an aluminum cookware with guide fins of a width of 0.08 inch, a gap of 0.15 inch and a height of 0.5 inch results in about 50% cooking time compared with a same size conventional cookware without the exchange channels.”], a plurality of tubes (at 321, also see 112b rejection above for interpretation of tubes) welded (see abstract, and MPEP 2113 Product-by-Process Claims, section I) to the bottom surface of the aluminum pot, the plurality of tubes each form a closed passage (at least on the sides and the fact that channels are located on the bottom surface, and the interpretation regarding the 112b rejection above) so that a hot gas is able to flow through each of the plurality of tubes thereby increasing a surface area on the bottom surface of the aluminum pot and providing greater energy absorption [see FIGs 1-2, paragraph 0030, with reference to “To have efficient heat exchange in the channels, hot flame must be allowed to flow into channels freely without too much impedance. It is found in that this requirement need to be balanced with the need of enhancement of surface area. To have large surface area enhancement, it is desirable to have dense fins which leads to thinner fins and therefore narrower channel widths.”].
Huang further discloses:
{cl. 3} The tunnel tube cooking pot of claim 1 wherein the aluminum pot has a round bottom surface [see FIGs 1-2, paragraph 0026].
{cl. 4} The tunnel tube cooking pot of claim 3 wherein the plurality of tubes are arranged to extend outward and away from a center of the round bottom surface [see FIGs 1-3, paragraph 0026].
{cl. 5} The tunnel tube cooking pot of claim 1 wherein the plurality of tubes are arranged to extend outward and away from a center of the bottom surface [paragraph 0026].
{cl. 7} The tunnel tube cooking pot of claim 1 wherein the aluminum pot is a square pot with a square bottom surface [see FIG 3, paragraph 0034].
{cl. 10} The tunnel tube cooking pot of claim 1 further comprising: wherein the plurality of tubes increase the surface area on the bottom surface by at least two times the surface area of the bottom surface of the pot [paragraph 0030].
With respect to claim 11, Huang discloses: A tunnel tube cooking pot comprising: a pot (300) having a bottom surface [see FIG 3]; a plurality of tubes (at 321, also see 112b rejection above for interpretation of tubes) welded (see abstract, and MPEP 2113 Product-by-Process Claims, section I) to the bottom surface of the pot, the plurality of tubes each form closed passages (at least on the sides and the fact that channels are located on the bottom surface, and the interpretation regarding the 112b rejection above) increasing a surface area on the bottom surface of the pot [see FIGs 1-2, paragraph 0030, with reference to “To have efficient heat exchange in the channels, hot flame must be allowed to flow into channels freely without too much impedance. It is found in that this requirement need to be balanced with the need of enhancement of surface area. To have large surface area enhancement, it is desirable to have dense fins which leads to thinner fins and therefore narrower channel widths.”].
Huang further discloses:
{cl. 13} The tunnel tube cooking pot of claim 11 wherein the pot has a round bottom surface [see FIGs 1-3, paragraph 0026].
{cl. 14} The tunnel tube cooking pot of claim 13 wherein the plurality of tubes are arranged to extend outward and away from a center of the round bottom surface [see FIGs 1-3, paragraph 0026].
{cl. 15} The tunnel tube cooking pot of claim 11 wherein the plurality of tubes are arranged to extend outward and away from a center of the bottom surface [see FIGs 1-3, paragraph 0026].
{cl. 17} The tunnel tube cooking pot of claim 11 wherein the pot is a square pot with a square bottom surface [see FIG 3, paragraph 0034].
{cl. 20} The tunnel tube cooking pot of claim 11 wherein the plurality of tubes increase the surface area on the bottom surface by at least two times the surface area of the bottom surface of the pot [paragraph 0030].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 8, 12, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang [20080223359], further in view of Jan [20070193575] (Reference 112b rejection above).
With respect to claims 2, 8, 12, 18, Huang discloses the invention as substantially claimed, however does not show the alternating tubes with different lengths.
Jan makes up for these deficiencies by teaching:
{cl. 2} The tunnel tube cooking pot of claim 1 wherein the plurality of tubes (24) include both long tubes and short tubes arranged in an alternating pattern on the bottom surface [see FIG 1, paragraph 0018].
{cl. 8} The tunnel tube cooking pot of claim 7 wherein the plurality of tubes that are all the same length and extend away from a center of the square bottom surface [see FIG 3, paragraph 0018].
{cl. 12} The tunnel tube cooking pot of claim 11 wherein the plurality of tubes include both long tubes and short tubes arranged in an alternating pattern on the bottom surface [see FIG 1, paragraph 0018].
{cl. 18} The tunnel tube cooking pot of claim 17 wherein the plurality of tubes that are all the same length and extend away from a center of the square bottom surface [see FIG 3, paragraph 0018].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the channels of Huang in the arrangement of Jan because Jan arranges heat conducting elements in a different configuration offering the same benefit of heat exchange.
Claim(s) 6, 9, 16, 19 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang [20080223359], further in view of Miller et al [2569112] (Reference 112b rejection above).
With respect to claims 6, 9, 16, 19 and 21, Huang discloses the invention as substantially claimed, however does not show the side tubes.
MIller makes up for these deficiencies by teaching:
{cl. 6} The tunnel tube cooking pot of claim 1 further comprising: a plurality of side tubes (40a) welded to a side of the aluminum pot; and an aluminum plate welded over the plurality of side tubes [see FIGs 1 and 2, col 3, line 15-46].
{cl. 9} The tunnel tube cooking pot of claim 7 further comprising: a plurality of side tubes (40a) welded to a side of the aluminum pot; and an aluminum plate welded over the plurality of side tubes [see FIGs 1 and 2, col 3, line 15-46].
{cl. 16} The tunnel tube cooking pot of claim 11 further comprising: a plurality of side tubes (40a) welded to a side of the pot; and a plate welded over the plurality of side tubes [see FIGs 1 and 2, col 3, line 15-46].
{cl. 19} The tunnel tube cooking pot of claim 17 further comprising: a plurality of side tubes welded (40a) to a side of the pot; and an plate welded over the plurality of side tubes [see FIGs 1 and 2, col 3, line 15-46].
{cl. 21} The tunnel tube cooking pot of claim 11 further comprising: a plurality of side tubes (40a) welded to a side of the pot; and a plate welded over the plurality of side tubes [see FIGs 1 and 2, col 3, line 15-46].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Huang to include the side channels as taught by Miller because Miller provides side channels to increase heating capabilities.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mandil [D774350] is considered pertinent art with regard to figure 1 that has similar arrangement as claimed.
/AVINASH A SAVANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762
3/26/2026