DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed 02/13/2026 (“Amendment”). Claims 1-16 and 20-23 are currently under consideration. The Office acknowledges the amendments to claims 1, 7, 16, and 20, as well as the addition of new claim 23.
The objection(s) to the drawings, specification, and/or claims, the interpretation(s) under 35 USC 112(f), and/or the rejection(s) under 35 USC 101 and/or 35 USC 112 not reproduced below has/have been withdrawn in view of the corresponding amendments.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “computing device” in claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, there is no support for obtaining audio data in real time, or establishing and displaying respiratory rate in real time. The specification only ever mentions “near real time,” which is defined as every few seconds.
Regarding claim 7, there is no support for causing display of respiratory rate to be updated between every 2 and 10 seconds. This is not the specification’s definition of “near real time.”
Claims 2-6, 8-15, 22, and 23 are rejected because they depend on rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-16 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 of the subject matter eligibility test (see MPEP 2106.03).
Claims 1-15, 22, and 23 are directed to a “method,” which describes one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter, i.e., a process. Claims 16, 20, and 21 are directed to a “non-transitory medium,” which describes one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter, i.e., a machine.
Step 2A of the subject matter eligibility test (see MPEP 2106.04).
Prong One: Claim 1 recites (“sets forth” or “describes”) the abstract idea of a mathematical concept, substantially as follows:
processing, in response to said obtaining, the audio data by - applying a high-pass filter to the audio data; segmenting the audio data into multiple segments of equal duration; generating, based on the audio data, (i) a spectrogram, (ii) Mel-frequency cepstral coefficients (MFCCS) within a predetermined frequency range, and (iii) multiple sets of values that are representative of energy summed across multiple frequency bands of the spectrogram, wherein each set includes a separate value for each of the multiple frequency bands and is associated with a corresponding one of the multiple segments; concatenating the spectrogram, the MFCCs, and the multiple sets of values into a matrix; applying, to the matrix, a neural network that is trained to produce, as output, a vector that includes multiple entries arranged in temporal order, wherein each entry in the vector indicates whether a corresponding one of the multiple segments is representative of a breathing event, and wherein the neural network includes (i) at least one recurrent layer and (ii) at least one fully connected layer that employes a sigmoid function as an activation function to produce the vector; identifying a series of breathing events, including (i) a third most recent breathing event, (ii) a second most recent breathing event, and (iii) a most recent breathing event; determining (i) a first period between the third most recent and second most recent breathing events and (ii) a second period between the second most recent and most recent breathing events; and [computing] a respiratory rate that is established based on the first and second periods, wherein performing said processing, said applying, said identifying, said determining, and said causing in response to said obtaining allows the respiratory rate to be established and displayed in real time.
Each of the steps involve the mathematical concepts of filtering, segmenting, calculations to obtain different values, concatenation, processing via layers of a neural network, and identification of features and periods. These steps correspond to “[w]ords used in a claim operating on data to solve a problem [that] can serve the same purpose as a formula.” See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(I).
Claims 7 and 16 recite a subset of these features and are therefore also directed to a mathematical concept. The setting of values to one or zero based on thresholds, the identification based on a plurality of consecutive entries, and the adjust of respiratory rate also involve the mathematical concepts of binarization, trending, and recalculation. The application of a neural network to the data structure to produce a second data structure involves the mathematical concept of processing via a neural network.
Further, claim 7 recites the abstract idea of a mental process, substantially as follows:
generating (i) a spectrogram based on the audio data, and (ii) a series of values that are representative of energy summed across different frequency bands of the spectrogram; applying, to the spectrogram and the series of values, a neural network that produces, as output, a data structure that includes entries arranged in temporal order, wherein each entry in the data structure indicates whether a corresponding segment of the audio data is representative of a breathing event; for each entry in the data structure, setting that entry to a value of one in response to a determination that a corresponding value exceeds a threshold; and setting that entry to a value of zero in response to a determination that a corresponding value does not exceed the threshold; analyzing the data structure to identify (i) a first plurality of consecutive entries having values of one that are collectively representative of a first breathing event, (ii) a second plurality of consecutive entries having values of one that are collectively representative of a second breathing event that follows the first breathing event, and (iii) a third plurality of consecutive entries having values of one that are collectively representative of a third breathing event that follows the second breathing event; determining (i) a first period based on the first and second breathing events, and (i) a second period based on the second and third breathing events; computing a respiratory rate based on the first and second periods.
Each of the steps can be practically performed in the human mind, with the aid of a pen and paper, but for performance on a generic computer, in a computer environment, or merely using the computer as a tool to perform the steps. If a person were to see a printout of e.g. the audio data, they would be able to generate a spectrogram based thereon, calculate energy values, obtain a data structure, set values for the data structure, and analyze the data structure for features from which calculations could be made. There is nothing to suggest an undue level of complexity in these steps, as a spectrogram can be obtained via a mathematical manipulation. Therefore, a person would be able to perform the calculations mentally or with pen and paper.
Claim 16 recites a subset of these features and is therefore also directed to a mental process. Adjusting respiratory rate is a mental step that merely involves recalculation.
Prong Two: Claims 1, 7, and 16 do not include additional elements that integrate the mental process or mathematical concept into a practical application. Therefore, the claims are “directed to” the mental process or mathematical concept. The additional elements merely:
recite the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or include instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer, or merely use the computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea (e.g. a non-transitory medium; applying a neural network and obtaining an output is merely using a computer as a tool to perform a “black box” processing function), and
add insignificant extra-solution activity (the pre-solution activity of: obtaining audio data or a data structure; and the post-solution activity of: posting to a graphical user interface or causing display, using generic data-outputting components (e.g. an interface)).
As a whole, the additional elements merely serve to gather and feed information to the abstract idea, while generically implementing it on a computer. There is no practical application because the abstract idea is not applied, relied on, or used in a meaningful way. Nothing is done with the computed respiratory rate, and mere display is insufficient because the data need not be seen or acted on. No improvement to the technology is evident. Therefore, the additional elements, alone or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B of the subject matter eligibility test (see MPEP 2106.05).
Claims 1, 7, and 16 do not include additional elements, alone or in combination, that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception (i.e., an inventive concept) for the same reasons as described above.
Dependent Claims
The dependent claims merely further define the abstract idea and are, therefore, directed to an abstract idea for similar reasons: they merely
further describe the abstract idea (e.g. extracting particular coefficients (claim 2), using a particular frequency range (claim 3), performing min-max normalization (claim 4), filtering (claim 5), applying a transform (claim 6), generating MFCCs (claims 8 and 23), segmenting (claims 9 and 10), generating multiple sets (claim 11), details of the periods (claim 13), details of the neural network (claim 15), analyzing entries (claims 20 and 21), etc.), and
further describe the pre-solution activity (or the structure used for such activity) (e.g. obtaining data from an electronic stethoscope connected to a hub (claim 12), training the neural network (claim 14), etc.).
Taken alone and in combination, the additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application at least because the abstract idea is not applied, relied on, or used in a meaningful way. They also do not add anything significantly more than the abstract idea. Their collective functions merely provide computer/electronic implementation and processing, and no additional elements beyond those of the abstract idea. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer, output device, improves another technology or technical field, etc. Therefore, the claims are rejected as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2019/0088367 (“Stamatopoulos”) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2018/0085068 (“Telfort”), US Patent Application Publication 2019/0272845 (“Hasan”), US Patent Application Publication 2011/0075851 (“LeBoeuf”), and US Patent Application Publication 2020/0152330 (“Anushiravani”).
Regarding claim 1, Stamatopoulos teaches [a] method for computing a respiratory rate ("Metrics can come directly from breath cycle characteristics and statistics transformation and new metrics can be constructed by the combination of more than one characteristic (e.g., where breath phase duration, respiratory rate and breath intensity are used to obtain respiratory depth). Metrics can be provided for one
breath cycle or for a number of breath cycles.", para [0112]), the method comprising: obtaining, in real time, audio data that is representative of sounds generated by lungs of a patient ("The recording device can, for example, be a smart phone, a spirometer with a microphone (as will be discussed further below), a stethoscope, or a CPAP machine with a microphone.", para [0273]; ¶ 0256 describes optimizing ventilatory response via real time feedback, and ¶ 0194 describes analysis of each breath cycle as the session progresses over time); and processing, in response to said obtaining, the audio data by - … segmenting the audio data into multiple segments of equal duration (¶ 0305, frames of equal duration – also see ¶¶s 0010, 0145, 0147, suggesting that blocks are also segments of equal duration); generating, based on the audio data, (i) a spectrogram (Abstract, ¶ 0014, etc.), …; applying, to the [data], a neural network that is trained to produce, as output, a vector that includes multiple entries arranged in temporal order (Abstract, artificial neural network; "The main process module (MPM) at step 1515 performs breath cycle separation which is done by event grouping. The MPM module processes a sequence vector with the event types, and outputs a breath cycle vector containing the map of all the events.", para [0179]), wherein each entry in the vector indicates whether a corresponding one of the multiple segments is representative of a breathing event ("Based on this separation, the MPM module performs a calculation of the full set of metrics by integrating auxiliary vectors related to the breath intensity, the wheeze, etc. into the breath cycle mapping.", para [0179]), …; identifying a series of breathing events, including (i) a third most recent breathing event, (ii) a second most recent breathing event, and (iii) a most recent breathing event ([detecting all breathing events in a vector sequentially] "The main process module (MPM) at step 1515 performs breath cycle separation which is done by event grouping. The MPM module processes a sequence vector with the event types, and outputs a breath cycle vector containing the map of all the events.", para [0179]); determining (i) a first period between the third most recent and second most recent breathing events and (ii) a second period between the second most recent and most recent breathing events ("Inhalation/Exhalation Ratio (IER): This is the ratio of the duration of the inhalation versus exhalation. These durations and their connection can help to extract conclusions about the breath patterns, specially concerning the physical state of the user. Other ratios can also be extracted such as the time of any one phase over the time of the total breath cycle. For example, the time of inhalation in relation to the time of the total breath cycle (Ti/Ttotal).", para [0186]); and posting, to a graphical user interface, a respiratory rate that is established based on the first and second periods ("As discussed above, one embodiment of the present invention can be used to determine VT (T1) and RCT (T2). In a different embodiment, VT and RCT calculations can be made within the classifier core module 730 itself. Processes such as respiratory rate tracking and breath phase tracking and detection are important in the analysis as the final result is not only based on the overall breath sound statistics, but also on statistics that come from the analysis of each breath cycle as the breathing session progresses over time (e.g. inhalation intensity tracking).", para [0194] - also see Figs. 17 and 19 and ¶ 0260, posting respiratory rate), wherein performing said processing, said applying, said identifying, said determining, and said causing in response to said obtaining allows the respiratory rate to be established and displayed in real time (as above, ¶¶s 0256 and 0194. It would have been obvious to update respiratory rate in near real time, for the purpose of maximizing the per-breath-cycle analysis (¶ 0194)).
Stamatopoulos does not appear to explicitly teach processing the audio data by applying a high-pass filter to the audio data.
Telfort teaches high pass filtering an acoustic sensor signal (audio data) and then using the filtered signal to calculated respiratory rate (Fig. 3A, ¶ 0057).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a high pass filtering function into Stamatopoulos, as in Telfort, for the purpose of separating desired and undesired sounds (Telfort: ¶¶s 0056, 0057, etc.).
Stamatopoulos-Telfort does not appear to explicitly teach processing the audio data by generating, based on the audio data, … (ii) Mel-frequency cepstral coefficients (MFCCs) within a predetermined frequency range, and (iii) multiple sets of values that are representative of energy summed across multiple frequency bands of the spectrogram, wherein each set includes a separate value for each of the multiple frequency bands and is associated with a corresponding one of the multiple segments; and concatenating the spectrogram, the MFCCs, and the multiple sets of values into a matrix (although ¶ 0214 of Stamatopoulos does describe frame concatenation, and ¶ 0325 describes calculating the energy of each frame).
Hasan teaches using audio data (Abstract, audio input unit) to generate a spectrogram (Fig. 9, ¶ 0102) and a series of MFCCs (¶ 0104) which are concatenated into a feature vector (¶ 0104). Hasan also describes using energy-based features in the vector (¶ 0104 - also see Table 1: energy entropy, short-term energy, etc.).
LeBoeuf teaches extracting features from an audio signal (¶ 0026), the features including e.g. energy (which is the sum of squared amplitudes within certain frequency bins) in various spectral bands, (¶ 0041). The features form a feature vector (¶ 0007). LeBoeuf also teaches real-time audio analysis, including in a machine learning process (¶¶s 0004, 0018, 0071, 0091, etc.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate into the feature extraction of Stamatopoulos (Abstract, a spectrogram and a plurality of descriptors) the MFCC extraction (Hasan) and series of values representative of energy summed across different frequency bands extraction (LeBoeuf), concatenating all of these into a feature matrix (e.g. Hasan: ¶ 0104) that is provided to the model of Stamatopoulos, for the purpose of improving classification of the audio data with additional features (Hasan: ¶ 0104, Table 1, Fig. 6, step 320, etc. - also see ¶ 0068, describing MFCCs as commonly used to enable interpretation of frequency differences; LeBoeuf: ¶¶s 0026-0042 and Title, describing the large variety of features that may be used for audio recognition - also see Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to establish and display respiratory rate in real time, as in LeBoeuf, for the purpose of being able to react in real time (LeBoeuf: ¶ 0091).
Stamatopoulos-Telfort-Hasan-LeBoeuf does not appear to explicitly teach wherein the neural network includes (i) at least one recurrent layer and (ii) at least one fully connected layer that employs a sigmoid function as an activation function to produce the vector.
Anushiravani teaches using a neural network that includes at least one recurrent layer (¶¶s 0102, 0125, etc.) and at least one fully connected layer (¶ 0097) that employs a sigmoid function to produce an output (¶ 0108).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate recurrent and fully connected layers that use a sigmoid function into the neural network of the combination, as in Anushiravani, for the purpose of being able to use a time series of data for context (Anushiravani: ¶ 0102), as a known type of final layer (Anushiravani: ¶ 0097), as a known type of activation function to produce an output based on a simple substitution of parts with predictable results (Anushiravani: ¶ 0108), based on the suitability of these layers and functions for the purpose, and to implement a suitable AI diagnostic system (Anushiravani: ¶ 0004).
Regarding claim 2, Stamatopoulos-Telfort-Hasan-LeBoeuf-Anushiravani teaches the method of claim 1. Stamatopoulos-Telfort-Hasan-LeBoeuf-Anushiravani further teaches wherein for the MFCCs, a predetermined number of static coefficients, delta coefficients, and acceleration coefficients are extracted from the audio data (Hasan: ¶¶s 0068, 0104, Table 1, etc.).
Regarding claim 4, Stamatopoulos-Telfort-Hasan-LeBoeuf-Anushiravani teaches the method of claim 1. Stamatopoulos-Telfort-Hasan-LeBoeuf-Anushiravani further teaches performing min-max normalization on the matrix so that each entry has a value between zero and one (Stamatopoulos: ¶¶s 0312, 0345, 0346, etc. describe normalization, including matrix normalization, which would have been obvious to apply to the feature matrix of the combination for the purpose of making classification easier (Stamatopoulos: ¶ 0345, giving the same scale to all features and making certain features more visible)).
Regarding claim 5, Stamatopoulos-Telfort-Hasan-LeBoeuf-Anushiravani teaches the method of claim 1. Stamatopoulos-Telfort-Hasan-LeBoeuf-Anushiravani further teaches wherein the high-pass filter has a cut-off frequency that is sufficient to filter sounds made by an organ other than the lungs (Telfort: ¶ 0057, a cut-off frequency of 100 Hz filters sounds of e.g. the heart as described in Applicant’s specification as filed at ¶ 0100).
Regarding claim 6, Stamatopoulos-Telfort-Hasan-LeBoeuf-Anushiravani teaches the method of claim 1. Stamatopoulos-Telfort-Hasan-LeBoeuf-Anushiravani further teaches applying a Short-Time Fourier Transform to the audio data to generate the spectrogram (LeBoeuf: ¶ 0042).
Regarding claim 22, Stamatopoulos-Telfort-Hasan-LeBoeuf-Anushiravani teaches the method of claim 1. Stamatopoulos-Telfort-Hasan-LeBoeuf-Anushiravani further teaches for each entry in the vector for which a corresponding value exceeds a threshold, setting that entry to a value of one; and for each entry in the vector for which a corresponding value does not exceed the threshold, setting that entry to a value of zero (Anushiravani: ¶ 0108, using the sigmoid function to output values of 0 or 1. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the sigmoid function to the entries in the vector to enable binary classification as described); and wherein the first breathing event is represented by a first plurality of consecutive entries having values of one, the second breathing event is represented by a second plurality of consecutive entries having values of one, and the third breathing event is represented by a third plurality of consecutive entries having values of one (inherent based on the segmenting of data. I.e., multiple segments (or frames or blocks) correspond to one breathing event, and those multiple segments would have been classified by the sigmoid function to produce consecutive entries of e.g. 1. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to classify consecutive segments for the purpose of accounting for artifacts (e.g. when the results are not consecutive, they may be artifacts) – see e.g. ¶ 0179 of Stamatopoulos, describing event grouping, or ¶¶s 0315, 0333, etc.).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stamatopoulos-Telfort-Hasan-LeBoeuf-Anushiravani in view of US Patent Application Publication 2011/0125044 (“Rhee”).
Regarding claim 3, Stamatopoulos-Telfort-Hasan-LeBoeuf-Anushiravani teaches the method of claim 1. Stamatopoulos-Telfort-Hasan-LeBoeuf-Anushiravani does not appear to explicitly teach wherein the multiple frequency bands collectively span a range of 0-1,000 hertz.
Rhee teaches evaluating a frequency range of about 0-800 hertz for respiratory disease monitoring (Title, ¶¶s 0065, 0068, Fig. 6).
The frequency range for respiratory evaluation is a known results-effective variable because it can be changed as desired to monitor different aspects of breathing. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to evaluate the frequency range of Rhee (which is used for wheezing detection), expanded to e.g. 0-1000 hertz, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges through routine experimentation is not inventive. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Further, it would have been obvious to detect tension or other features in a higher frequency range (Stamatopoulos: ¶¶s 0155, 0156 - 3,000+ Hz), since they are also relevant to wheezing detection (Stamatopoulos: ¶¶s 0131, 0155, 0156). Thus, a frequency range 0-3,000+ Hz would have been obvious to evaluate.
Claims 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2019/0088367 (“Stamatopoulos”) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2011/0075851 (“LeBoeuf”) and US Patent Application Publication 2020/0152330 (“Anushiravani”).
Regarding claim 7, Stamatopoulos teaches [a] method comprising: obtaining, from a source in near real time, audio data that is representative of a recording of sounds generated by lungs of a living body ("The recording device can, for example, be a smart phone, a spirometer with a microphone (as will be discussed further below), a stethoscope, or a CPAP machine with a microphone.", paras [0273-0275] – the microphone data is received and recorded in real time); and in response to said obtaining, generating (i) a spectrogram based on the audio data (Abstract, ¶ 0014, etc.), and (ii) a series of values that are representative of energy … (¶ 0325); applying, to the spectrogram and the series of values, a neural network that produces, as output, a data structure that includes entries arranged in temporal order (Abstract, artificial neural network; "The main process module (MPM) at step 1515 performs breath cycle separation which is done by event grouping. The MPM module processes a sequence vector with the event types, and outputs a breath cycle vector containing the map of all the events.", para [0179]), wherein each entry in the data structure indicates whether a corresponding segment of the audio data is representative of a breathing event ("Based on this separation, the MPM module performs a calculation of the full set of metrics by integrating auxiliary vectors related to the breath intensity, the wheeze, etc. into the breath cycle mapping.", para [0179]); …; analyzing the data structure to identify (i) … a first breathing event, (ii) … a second breathing event that follows the first breathing event, and (iii) … a third breathing event that follows the second breathing event ([detecting all breathing events in a vector sequentially] "The main process module (MPM) at step 1515 performs breath cycle separation which is done by event grouping. The MPM module processes a sequence vector with the event types, and outputs a breath cycle vector containing the map of all the events.", para [0179]); determining (i) a first period based on the first and second breathing events, and (ii) a second period based on the second and third breathing events ("Inhalation/Exhalation Ratio (IER): This is the ratio of the duration of the inhalation versus exhalation. These durations and their connection can help to extract conclusions about the breath patterns, specially concerning the physical state of the user. Other ratios can also be extracted such as the time of any one phase over the time of the total breath cycle. For example, the time of inhalation in relation to the time of the total breath cycle (Ti/Ttotal).", para [0186]); computing a respiratory rate based on the first and second periods ("As discussed above, one embodiment of the present invention can be used to determine VT (T1) and RCT (T2). In a different embodiment, VT and RCT calculations can be made within the classifier core module 730 itself. Processes such as respiratory rate tracking and breath phase tracking and detection are important in the analysis as the final result is not only based on the overall breath sound statistics, but also on statistics that come from the analysis of each breath cycle as the breathing session progresses over time (e.g. inhalation intensity tracking).", para [0194]); and causing display of the respiratory rate on an interface (Fig. 19, ¶ 0260) in near real time, wherein the respiratory rate updates between every 2 and 10 seconds (¶ 0256 describes optimizing ventilatory response via real time feedback, and ¶ 0194 describes analysis of each breath cycle as the session progresses over time - also see ¶¶s 0185, etc., which contemplates a sensitivity/resolution of at least 2.5 seconds, Fig. 17, which shows a scale in minutes, with high detail in respiratory rate, Fig. 20, which shows detecting at least 6 beats per minute, etc. It would have been obvious to update respiratory rate in near real time, for the purpose of maximizing the per-breath-cycle analysis (¶ 0194)).
Stamatopoulos does not appear to explicitly teach generating a series of values that are representative of energy summed across different frequency bands of the spectrogram (although ¶ 0325 describes calculating the energy of each frame).
LeBoeuf teaches extracting features from an audio signal (¶ 0026), the features including e.g. energy (which is the sum of squared amplitudes within certain frequency bins) in various spectral bands, (¶ 0041). The features form a feature vector (¶ 0007). LeBoeuf also teaches real-time audio analysis, including in a machine learning process (¶¶s 0004, 0018, 0071, 0091, etc.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate into the feature extraction of Stamatopoulos (Abstract, a spectrogram and a plurality of descriptors) the generation of a series of values representative of energy summed across different frequency bands extraction (LeBoeuf), for the purpose of improving classification of the audio data with additional features (LeBoeuf: ¶¶s 0026-0042 and Title, describing the large variety of features that may be used for audio recognition - also see Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to establish and display respiratory rate in real time, as in LeBoeuf, for the purpose of being able to react in real time (LeBoeuf: ¶ 0091).
Stamatopoulos-LeBoeuf does not appear to explicitly teach for each entry in the data structure, setting that entry to a value of one in response to a determination that a corresponding value exceeds a threshold; and setting that entry to a value of zero in response to a determination that a corresponding value does not exceed the threshold, and identifying first, second, and third pluralities of consecutive entries having values of one to collectively represent the first, second, and third breathing events.
Anushiravani teaches employing a sigmoid function to produce an output that includes values of 0 or 1 (¶ 0108).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a sigmoid function in the neural network of the combination, as in Anushiravani, as a known type of activation function to produce an output based on a simple substitution of parts with predictable results (Anushiravani: ¶ 0108), and for the purpose of implementing a suitable AI diagnostic system (Anushiravani: ¶ 0004). It would have been obvious to apply the sigmoid function to the entries in the vector of the combination to enable binary classification as described. Further, based on the segmenting of data in the combination (i.e., multiple segments (or frames or blocks) corresponding to one breathing event), multiple segments would have been classified by the sigmoid function to produce consecutive entries of e.g. 1. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to classify consecutive segments for the purpose of accounting for artifacts (e.g. when the results are not consecutive, they may be artifacts) – see e.g. ¶ 0179 of Stamatopoulos, describing event grouping, or ¶¶s 0315, 0333, etc.).
Regarding claim 8, Stamatopoulos-LeBoeuf-Anushiravani teaches the method of claim 7. Stamatopoulos-LeBoeuf-Anushiravani further teaches generating, based on the audio data, Mel-frequency cepstral coefficients (MFCCs) within a predetermined frequency range (LeBoeuf teaches extracting features from an audio signal (¶ 0026), the features including e.g. energy (which is the sum of squared amplitudes within certain frequency bins) in various spectral bands (¶ 0041) as well as MFCCs and other features (¶¶s 0042, 0048-0055, etc.). The features form a feature vector (¶ 0007). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate into the feature extraction of Stamatopoulos (Abstract, a spectrogram and a plurality of descriptors) the MFCC extraction of LeBoeuf, for the purpose of improving classification of the audio data with additional features (LeBoeuf: ¶¶s 0026-0042 and Title, describing the large variety of features that may be used for audio recognition - also see Fig. 2)).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Stamatopoulos-LeBoeuf-Anushiravani teaches the method of claim 7. Stamatopoulos-LeBoeuf-Anushiravani further teaches segmenting the audio data into multiple segments, wherein the multiple segments are equal duration (Stamatopoulos: ¶ 0305, frames of equal duration – also see ¶¶s 0010, 0145, 0147, suggesting that blocks are also segments of equal duration).
Regarding claim 11, Stamatopoulos-LeBoeuf-Anushiravani teaches the method of claim 9. Stamatopoulos-LeBoeuf-Anushiravani further teaches wherein the series of values include multiple sets, each of which includes a separate value for each of the different frequency bands associated with a corresponding one of the multiple sets (Stamatopoulos: ¶ 0325 describes calculating the energy of each frame; LeBoeuf: ¶ 0041 describes calculating energy in various spectral bands. It would have been obvious to calculate energy of each frame, including across frequency bands, for the purpose of obtaining additional statistical features that may be used for audio recognition (LeBoeuf: ¶¶s 0026-0042 and Title, describing the large variety of features that may be used for audio recognition - also see Fig. 2)).
Regarding claim 12, Stamatopoulos-LeBoeuf-Anushiravani teaches the method of claim 7. Stamatopoulos-LeBoeuf-Anushiravani further teaches wherein the source is an electronic stethoscope system that includes one or more input units that are secured to the living body and communicatively connected to a hub unit (Stamatopoulos: ¶ 0273, a stethoscope that acts as a recording device; ¶¶s 0268 and 0269, a biometric patch having a microphone, Fig. 4, etc.; ¶ 0270, sending the data to a computing device for classification and tracking).
Regarding claim 13, Stamatopoulos-LeBoeuf-Anushiravani teaches the method of claim 7. Stamatopoulos-LeBoeuf-Anushiravani further teaches wherein the first period extends from a beginning of the first breathing event to a beginning of the second breathing event, and wherein the second period extends from the beginning of the second breathing event to a beginning of the third breathing event (Stamatopoulos: ¶ 0186 - "Inhalation/Exhalation Ratio (IER): This is the ratio of the duration of the inhalation versus exhalation. These durations and their connection can help to extract conclusions about the breath patterns, specially concerning the physical state of the user.” – an exhalation begins when an inhalation ends. Thus, the periods are as claimed).
Regarding claim 14, Stamatopoulos-LeBoeuf-Anushiravani teaches the method of claim 7. Stamatopoulos-LeBoeuf-Anushiravani further teaches wherein as part of a training operation, the neural network is trained to identify inhalation phases and exhalation phases of breathing events (Stamatopoulos: ¶¶s 0282, 0295, etc. describe machine learning; ¶¶s 0116, 0179, 0186, 0189, 0194, 0220, etc., describe identification of breathing phases; the Abstract, ¶ 0017, etc. describe training the model).
Regarding claim 15, Stamatopoulos-LeBoeuf-Anushiravani teaches the method of claim 7. Stamatopoulos-LeBoeuf-Anushiravani further teaches wherein the neural network (Stamatopoulos: Abstract, ¶¶s 0017-0019, 0282, etc.) outputs, for each segment of the audio data, a prediction that is made independent of preceding predictions (Stamatopoulos: ¶¶s 0109, 0149, 0158, 0159, classifying each block based on its own features).
Claims 16, 20, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2019/0088367 (“Stamatopoulos”) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2011/0075851 (“LeBoeuf”).
Regarding claim 16, Stamatopoulos teaches [a] non-transitory medium with instructions stored thereon that, when executed by a processor of a computing device, cause the computing device to perform operations (¶ 0456) comprising: obtaining ("The recording device can, for example, be a smart phone, a spirometer with a microphone (as will be discussed further below), a stethoscope, or a CPAP machine with a microphone.", paras [0273-0275] – the microphone data is received and recorded in real time) a first data structure representative of sounds generated by lungs of a patient in near real time (¶ 0256 describes optimizing ventilatory response via real time feedback, and ¶ 0194 describes analysis of each breath cycle as the session progresses over time) that includes (i) a spectrogram associated with a recording of sounds generated by the lungs of a living body (Abstract, ¶ 0014, etc.) and (ii) values that are representative of energy … (¶ 0325); applying, to the data structure, a neural network that is trained to produce, as output, a second data structure that includes multiple entries arranged in temporal order (Abstract, artificial neural network; "The main process module (MPM) at step 1515 performs breath cycle separation which is done by event grouping. The MPM module processes a sequence vector with the event types, and outputs a breath cycle vector containing the map of all the events.", para [0179]), wherein each of the multiple entries in the second data structure indicates whether a corresponding segment of the recording is representative of a breathing event ("Based on this separation, the MPM module performs a calculation of the full set of metrics by integrating auxiliary vectors related to the breath intensity, the wheeze, etc. into the breath cycle mapping.", para [0179] – also see ¶¶s 0282, 0294, 0295, etc. describing machine learning classification based on descriptors that include spectrograms, and energy values based on the combination as described below), identifying, based on an analysis of the second data structure, (i) a first subset of the multiple entries that are collectively representative of a first breathing event, (ii) a second subset of the multiple entries that are collectively representative of a second breathing event that follows the first breathing event, and (iii) a third subset of the multiple entries that are collectively representative of a third breathing event that follows the second breathing event (based on the segmenting of data as described (i.e., multiple segments (or frames or blocks) corresponding to one breathing event), a group of segments corresponding to the multiple entries would have been classified together. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to classify consecutive segments for the purpose of accounting for artifacts (e.g. when the results are not consecutive, they may be artifacts) – see e.g. ¶ 0179, describing event grouping, or ¶¶s 0315, 0333, etc.); [detecting all breathing events in a vector sequentially] "The main process module (MPM) at step 1515 performs breath cycle separation which is done by event grouping. The MPM module processes a sequence vector with the event types, and outputs a breath cycle vector containing the map of all the events.", para [0179] – also see ¶¶s 0116, 0179, 0186, 0189, 0194, 0220, etc., describing identification of breathing phases); determining (i) a first period based on the first and second breathing events, and (ii) a second period based on the second and third breathing events ("Inhalation/Exhalation Ratio (IER): This is the ratio of the duration of the inhalation versus exhalation. These durations and their connection can help to extract conclusions about the breath patterns, specially concerning the physical state of the user. Other ratios can also be extracted such as the time of any one phase over the time of the total breath cycle. For example, the time of inhalation in relation to the time of the total breath cycle (Ti/Ttotal).", para [0186]); computing a respiratory rate based on the first and second periods ("As discussed above, one embodiment of the present invention can be used to determine VT (T1) and RCT (T2). In a different embodiment, VT and RCT calculations can be made within the classifier core module 730 itself. Processes such as respiratory rate tracking and breath phase tracking and detection are important in the analysis as the final result is not only based on the overall breath sound statistics, but also on statistics that come from the analysis of each breath cycle as the breathing session progresses over time (e.g. inhalation intensity tracking).", para [0194] – also see Fig. 19, ¶ 0260); and adjusting the respiratory rate in near real time as additional periods are determined through analysis of the first data structure or an additional data structure (as above, ¶¶s 0256 and 0194. It would have been obvious to update respiratory rate in near real time, for the purpose of maximizing the per-breath-cycle analysis (¶ 0194)).
Stamatopoulos does not appear to explicitly teach obtaining a data structure that includes values that are representative of energy summed across different frequency bands of the spectrogram (although ¶ 0325 describes calculating the energy of each frame).
LeBoeuf teaches extracting features from an audio signal (¶ 0026), the features including e.g. energy (which is the sum of squared amplitudes within certain frequency bins) in various spectral bands, (¶ 0041). The features form a feature vector (¶ 0007). LeBoeuf also teaches real-time audio analysis, including in a machine learning process (¶¶s 0004, 0018, 0071, 0091, etc.).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate into the feature extraction of Stamatopoulos (Abstract, a spectrogram and a plurality of descriptors) the generation of a series of values representative of energy summed across different frequency bands extraction (LeBoeuf), for the purpose of improving classification of the audio data with additional features (LeBoeuf: ¶¶s 0026-0042 and Title, describing the large variety of features that may be used for audio recognition - also see Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to establish and display respiratory rate in real time, as in LeBoeuf, for the purpose of being able to react in real time (LeBoeuf: ¶ 0091).
Regarding claims 20 and 21, Stamatopoulos-LeBoeuf teaches the method of claim 16. Stamatopoulos-LeBoeuf further teaches wherein the operations further comprise: establishing a health state of the living body based on an analysis of the multiple entries, each of which is representative of an independent prediction as to whether the corresponding segment of the recording includes evidence of disease, wherein the evidence of disease is presence of wheezing or crackling (Stamatopoulos: ¶¶s 0131, 0143, etc., wheeze detection and classification; ¶¶s 0295, 0427, 0429, etc., healthy or unhealthy; ¶¶s 0109, 0149, 0158, 0159, classifying each block based on its own features).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stamatopoulos-Telfort-Hasan-LeBoeuf-Anushiravani in view of US Patent Application Publication 2015/0265205 (“Rosenbek”).
Regarding claim 23, Stamatopoulos-Telfort-Hasan-LeBoeuf-Anushiravani teaches all the features with respect to claim 1, as outlined above. Stamatopoulos-Telfort-Hasan-LeBoeuf-Anushiravani further teaches wherein generating the MFCCs includes extracting 20 static coefficients, 20 delta coefficients, and 20 acceleration coefficients by using 40 Mel-bands (Hasan: ¶ 0104 and Table 1, sixty-three dimensions including 21 static, delta, and acceleration coefficients, using 30 filter banks. The number of coefficients and Mel-bands are known results-effective variables because they can be changed as desired to achieve a particular level of detail in the spectrum. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use 20 of each coefficient and 40 Mel-bands, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges through routine experimentation is not inventive. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)), but does not appear to explicitly teach the Mel-bands being within a frequency range of 0 to 4000 Hz (although this can be implied since the underlying signal is within that range).
Rosenbek teaches using a Mel-band frequency range of 70 Hz to 7000 Hz (¶ 0115).
The frequency range of the Mel-bands is a known results-effective variable because it can be changed as desired to cover the signal of interest. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a range of 0 to 4000 Hz, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges through routine experimentation is not inventive. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-16 and 20-23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over at least claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,813,109 (the “reference patent”) in view of Stamatopoulos, Telfort, Hasan, LeBoeuf, Anushiravani, Rhee, and/or Rosenbek. Claim 1 of the reference patent teaches all features of the present claims except for those made up by Stamatopoulos, Telfort, Hasan, LeBoeuf, Anushiravani, Rhee, and/or Rosenbek as outlined above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 02/13/2026 have been fully considered.
In response to the arguments regarding the rejections under 35 USC 101, they are not persuasive. Regarding prong one, the Office has not claimed that “posting, to a graphical user interface,” is part of the abstract idea, and there is no requirement to analogize the claims to those of existing case law. Further, the claims are not like those in Thales because there is no unique sensor arrangement to gather the data. The data is simply obtained.
Regarding prong two, Applicant argues an improvement to the technology. However, the Office notes that “real time” respiratory rate is not supported, and the claims that recite “near real time” do not contain other features of the alleged improvement. I.e., the alleged improvement is not reflected in the claims. The audio signal is not an “item” that is transformed to a different state or thing. The “transformation” of data is simply more data.
Regarding step 2B, the Office did not rely on characterizing any elements as well understood, routine, conventional etc., and therefore the analysis is unchanged. Further, the claims are unlike those in Amdocs at least because the claims are not tied to any particularized structure. The Office notes that Applicant’s assertions about an unconventional arrangement of actions are merely that - assertions. Applicant argues once more based on Thales, but using three consecutive breathing events is not the same as a unique arrangement of sensors. Therefore, the rejections are maintained.
In response to the amendments and arguments regarding the rejections under 35 USC 103, it should be noted that Stamatopoulos itself is not limited to e.g. updating the output every minute or two. It teaches analysis of each breath cycle as the session progresses over time (¶ 0194), as well as providing real time feedback (¶ 0256). In light of this, updating respiratory rate in (near) real time would have been obvious. The Office also notes that LeBoeuf teaches real time respiratory rate monitoring/updating, including in a process that uses machine learning. Thus, the real time aspect would have been obvious.
Regarding a teaching away, Applicant has not explained how Stamatopoulos discourages or criticizes the combination. There is no requirement for the high layer processes of Stamatopoulos, or any “pre-parsing” phase, to be the claimed filtering. All that is required by the claims is high pass filtering. If the high pass filtering of Telfort were applied to Stamatopoulos, it would simply result in filtered data entering the processing of Stamatopoulos. In any case, there is also nothing preventing a high layer process or a “pre-parsing” phase from being replaced or supplemented with a high pass filter. Thus, all claims remain rejected in light of the prior art.
Conclusion
/ANDREY SHOSTAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791