DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the inflatable region" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims, 1, 3 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goetz et al., US 12077270. Goetz discloses a structure for carrying payloads of a UUV (unmanned underwater vehicle), comprising: an outer membrane (cover #510 can be interpreted to be an outer membrane) constructed and arranged to (i) extend around an outer surface of the UUV along a length of the UUV, (ii) contain a payload (See Fig. 1, #160A, #160B), and (iii) form a streamlined shape around the UUV.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Goetz in view of Mundon et al., US 20210354799. Goetz discloses the invention set forth above which details the structure of a UUV including an outer membrane #510. Goetz does not disclose the membrane is inflatable with a fluid. Mundon discloses a UUV with an outer membrane 212 (Fig. 5b) forming an enclosed region and inflatable with air. Mundon appears to show the membrane is comprised of multiple panels connected together which taper at longitudinal side edges of the membrane forming a streamlined predetermined shape when inflated with fluid. The examiner considers the air bag of Mundon to include an inner membrane attached to the UUV and an enclosed region between the inner membrane and outer membrane which forms a water impermeable seal forming a watertight container.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the UUV structure of Goetz by replacing the outer cover #510 with the outer membrane structure #212 of Mundon. Goetz only provides a UUV structure but does not explicitly disclose a way to alter the buoyancy of the UUV. By using the outer membrane structure of Mundon a means for altering the buoyancy of the UUV is achieved.
Claims 1, 3, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Cardenas et al., US 11346690 (disclosed by applicant).
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Cardenas discloses a structure for carrying payloads of a UUV (unmanned underwater vehicle), comprising: an outer membrane (#120) constructed and arranged to (i) extend around an outer surface of the UUV along a length of the UUV, (ii) contain a payload (See Fig. 2, compressed gas constitutes a payload), and (iii) form a streamlined shape around the UUV. Cardenas further discloses that the outer membrane (#120) is a variable buoyancy module that includes control circuitry to release the payload (compressed gas) to allow alternately ascending and descending in the water column by tuning the buoyancy.
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 11-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY D WIEST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615