DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 16 July 2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 4, line 1, “wherein expansion chamber” should be changed to --wherein the expansion chamber--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “high-melting-point” in claim 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high-melting-point” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The specification points towards molten salt as an example of a high-melting-point solution, but fails to specify any specific range of melting points as a “high-melting-point”. As such, the limitation “high-melting-point” solution is rendered indefinite by the usage of the term “high-melting-point”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Riggs et al. (US 5,227,175) (hereinafter Riggs).
Regarding Claim 1, Riggs teaches a dilution apparatus (Col 2, lines 28-43, see Abstract) comprising:
a structural body (see Fig. 3) defining
an introductory chamber having a first chamber cross-sectional area [gas source 44 into chamber having baffles 264, 266] (Col 8, lines 4-15, see Fig. 3),
an expansion chamber extending continuous from the introductory chamber and having a second chamber cross-sectional area that is larger than the first chamber cross-sectional area [conically shaped part 76 having larger cross-sectional areas than chamber having baffles 264, 266] (Col 8, lines 25-44, see Fig. 3),
an inert gas port extending into the introductory chamber [inflow connecting tube 44’ from gas source 44] (Col 7, line 55 - Col 8, line 15, see Fig. 3), and
a solution port extending into the introductory chamber [inserted feedthrough 74 for fluid comprising a drug] (Col 2, lines 44-56, see Fig. 3),
an exhaust passage having a first passage cross-sectional area fluidly coupled to the expansion chamber [inhalation respiratory pathway 26] (Col 6, lines 24-41, see Figs. 3 and 7-9), and
a dilution passage having a second passage cross-sectional arca fluidly coupled to the expansion chamber [aspirator tube 66] (Col 7, lines 31-68, see Fig. 3),
wherein the first passage cross-sectional area is greater than the second passage cross-sectional area (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Riggs as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the introductory chamber [chamber having baffles 264, 266] and the expansion chamber [conically shaped part 76] define a continuous multi-chamber volume (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Riggs as applied to claim 2 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the expansion chamber extends from an end of the introductory chamber (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Riggs as applied to claim 3 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the expansion chamber and the introductory chamber are each disposed, concentrically, along a common longitudinal axis of the structural body (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Riggs as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the structural body defines the inert gas port [44’] circumferentially offset from the solution port [74] (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6, Riggs as applied to claim 5 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the structural body defines the inert gas port [44’] as longitudinally offset from the solution port [74] (see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Riggs as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the structural body defines an exit chamber continuous from the expansion chamber and having a third chamber cross-sectional area that is smaller than the second chamber cross-sectional area, and the exhaust passage and the dilution passage extend from the exit chamber [port 22 or baffle 278] (see Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Riggs as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 7, Riggs as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the structural body is configured to withstand a temperature of a solution therein (Col 19, lines 22-62). Riggs fails to teach wherein the temperature is up to 700 degrees C; however, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Riggs to choose a temperature tolerance, such as up to 700 degrees C, in order to provide a robust apparatus. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
As best understood regarding claim 9, Riggs as applied to claim 1 above teaches the claimed invention, in addition to wherein the expansion chamber is configured to produce a diluted aerosol from an aerosolized form of a solution using an inert gas received from the inert gas port, and the dilution passage is configured to cause an exit of a port of the diluted form of the aerosolized solution (Col 8, lines 4-44, see Fig. 3). Riggs fails to teach wherein the solution is a high-melting-point solution. Riggs additionally teaches wherein the solution is aerosolized to treat a desired condition (Col 1, lines 14-23). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Riggs to choose an appropriate solution, such as a high-melting-point solution, in order to treat a condition with the solution. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). It has also been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960).
Conclusion
/DAVID Z HUANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855