DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the reply filed 7/14/2026.
Response to Arguments
All of Applicant’s arguments filed 7/14/2026 have been fully considered.
Objections
Applicant’s amendments to the claims were sufficient to overcome the objection presented in the office action mailed 4/14/2026.
103 Rejections
Applicant argues that the prior art does not teach the specifically recited components.
This is not persuasive. Applicant is directed to the new rejection presented below which address the claims as newly amended.
In summary on pages 6-7, Applicant argues that the Specification demonstrates that the claimed invention exhibits unexpected properties such as dramatically improved electrical performance relative to the control.
This is not persuasive. In order to establish unexpected results, Applicant must provide data comparing the instant invention to the closest prior art (i.e. WO’353), Applicant has not satisfied this burden. Applicants have not shown, nor explained, how the control tested is the closest prior art nor explained how it’s closer prior art than the WO’353 cited by the examiner below.
An applicant bears the burden of proving unexpectedly good results. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). When unexpected results are used as evidence of non-obviousness, the results must be shown to be unexpected compared with the closest prior art. In re Baxter Travenol Labs, 952 F.2d 388, 392, 21 USPQ2d 1281, 1285 (Fed. Cir. 1991); In re De Blauwe, 736 F.2d 699, 705, 222 USPQ 191, 196, (Fed. Cir. 1984).
Applicant argues that the office action asserts that increased conductivity would have rendered microcurrent formation expected. Applicants respectfully submit that the cited references do not provide any teaching or suggestion that the claimed combination of the specifically recited conductive thickeners together with citric acid and sodium citrate, as recited in the claimed preparation method, would produce a lamellar liquid crystal nanoemulsion exhibiting the substantial increases in current, voltage, and electrical conductivity demonstrated in the Specification.
This is not persuasive, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). The claims require the nanoemulsion to be capable of forming microcurrents. The prior art makes obvious the use of both the claimed thickening agents and the claimed organic acids dissolved in water which are taught to impart conductivity and the originally filed disclosure teaches that the microcurrent can be formed by increasing electrical conductivity (pg. 1), as such the liquid crystal emulsion made obvious above is expected to be capable of forming microcurrents. Applicants have not provided evidence to the contrary.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2023/038353, JP2001048721, KR100530107 and CN108743453. JP’271 is newly cited.
Regarding claim 1: WO’353 discloses an O/W liquid crystal emulsion cosmetic composition comprising a water-dispersible emulsifier and a higher alcohol (pg. 3). The water dispersible emulsifier includes at least one of hydrogenated lecithin (i.e. phospholipid), sorbitan olivate (i.e. emulsifier) and teaches various polyglyceryl-based emulsifiers (pg. 5). Skin conditioning agents such as caprylic/capric triglyceride (i.e. oil), apricot kernel oils, coconut palm oil, etc. can be added (pg. 5-6). The emulsion can further comprise moisturizers such as polyols including glycerol, pH regulators in amounts of 0.01-5% and thickening agents including acrylate/C10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer, carbomer, ammonium acryloyldimethyl taurate/VP copolymer (all acryl-based thickeners), etc., these can be used in amounts of 0.001-10% (pg. 6-7).
The emulsion is made by a) preparing a 1st mixture of water with the water-dispersible emulsifier (i.e. water phase), WO’353 teaches using purified water; b) preparing a 2nd mixture comprising a higher alcohol and a skin conditioning agent (i.e. oil phase); c) combining the 1st and 2nd mixture to form a 3rd mixture; d) adding a thickening agent into the 3rd mixture and e) a cooling step that cools the cream to form the liquid crystal emulsion (pg. 7).
WO’353 does not teach the polyol and water-dispersible emulsifier (phospholipid and sorbitan olivate) to be dispersed in the oil phase (i.e. claimed phase A).
WO’353 does not teach the oil phase to further include phytosphingosine.
WO’353 does not teach dissolving the thickening agent in water prior to adding to the oil phase.
WO’353 does not teach using an organic acid salt as a pH adjusting agent and does not teach dissolving this acid in water and adding this into a mixture of phase A and phase B.
Regarding the placement of the polyol and water-dispersible emulsifier (phospholipid and sorbitan olivate) in the oil phase (i.e. claimed phase A): WO’353 further teaches that the 1st mixture may include one or more of the water-dispersible emulsifier, moisturizer (i.e. glycerin), pH regulator and a solvent [0033], which suggests that these ingredients need not necessarily be present in the 1st mixture but could be added during a different step.
WO’427 teaches liquid crystal emulsions and teaches that when making the emulsion the hydrogenated lecithin and surfactants such as sorbitan fatty acid esters are added to the oil phase and teaches that the polyol can be added to either the oil phase or the water phase (pg. 2 and 6 and working examples).
In view of these teachings one of skill in the art would recognize that the polyol, phospholipid and sorbitan sorbate could be added to either the water or the oil phase with a reasonable expectation of success as such it would have been obvious to add them to the oil phase as the selection of any order of performing method steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results (MPEP 2144.01 IV(C)).
Regarding the addition of phytosphingosine to the oil phase
JP’271 discloses skin protective creams [0001] in the form of O/W emulsions [0016; 0026] and teaches the inclusion of phytospingosine which is used as a softener to soften rough skin and as a skin penetration enhancer [0032]. Phytospingosine has excellent effects in suppressing abnormal proliferation of microorganisms that are present on the skin, alleviating and treating skin erythema [0051]. Phytospingosine are hydrophobic substances [0009] and can be used as is [0030].
It would have been prima facie obvious to modify the teachings of WO’353 with those of JP’271 and add a Phytospingosine to the emulsion of WO’353 in the oil phase as this agent includes many benefits to the skin such as softening the skin (i.e. conditioning the skin) and WO’353 teaches that skin conditioning agents can be added to the oil phase (see working examples).
Regarding the step of dissolving the thickening agent in water prior to adding to the oil phase:
KR’107 discloses a method of forming a liquid crystal emulsion comprising the step of producing a water phase by sequentially adding “a liquid crystal forming enhancer” and a thickener to water in a dissolution tank, which is then heated and dispersed until dissolved. Suitable thickeners include acrylate thickeners (pg. 6).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of WO’353 to comprise a step of mixing the thickening agent with water before combining the water and oil phases in place of adding the thickeners taught above in the last step of WO’353 because KR’107 teaches that dispersing thickening agents (i.e. acryl-based thickeners) in the aqueous phase is a suitable method for preparing a liquid crystal cosmetic emulsion and the substitution of one known element in place of another in order to achieve predictable results is prima facia obvious (MPEP 2143). Furthermore, the selection of any order of performing method steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results (MPEP 2144.01 IV(C)).
As evidenced by the originally filed specification, acrylate/C10-30 alkyl acrylate crosspolymer, carbomer, ammonium acryloyldimethyl taurate/VP copolymer are suitable thickening agents that impart conductivity.
Regarding the step of using citric acid and dissolving citric acid in water and adding this into the mixture of phase A and phase B: WO’353 teaches that the choice of pH regulators is not limited [0021] and teaches WO’353 further teaches that the 1st mixture may include one or more of the water-dispersible emulsifier, moisturizer (i.e. glycerin), pH regulator and a solvent (pg. 7) and teaches the dissolution of the components in the aqueous phase (working examples, pg. 11). CN’453 teaches cosmetic liquid crystal emulsions (Abs and pg. 12). CN’453 teaches that suitable pH adjusting agents include citric acid and sodium citrate (pg. 6). As evidenced by the originally filed specification, citric acid and sodium citrate are suitable organic salts that impart conductivity when dissolved in water.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of WO’353 with CN’453 and select citric acid and/or sodium citrate as a pH regulator in the method of WO’353 as these are taught to be suitable pH adjusters for liquid crystal cosmetic emulsions and its prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition based on its recognized suitability for its intended purpose (MPEP 2144.017). While WO’353 fails to teach the step of preparing a separate water phase (c) comprising just water and the dissolved organic acid prior to adding this to phase B (i.e. water phase), it is well established that the selection of any order of performing method steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results (MPEP 2144.01 IV(C)).
Regarding the claimed “microcurrent forming liquid crystal emulsion” as discussed above the prior art makes obvious a liquid crystal emulsion, but does not teach it to be microcurrent-forming, however, the prior art makes obvious the use of both the claimed thickening agents and the claimed organic acids dissolved in water which are taught to impart conductivity and the originally filed disclosure teaches that the microcurrent can be formed by increasing electrical conductivity (pg. 1), as such the liquid crystal emulsion made obvious above is expected to be capable of forming microcurrents.
Regarding claim 2: WO’353 teaches that the choice of pH regulators is not limited and includes at least one of tromethamine (i.e. a neutralizer) and mixtures can be used (pg. 6) and WO’353 further teaches that the 1st mixture may include one or more of the water-dispersible emulsifier, moisturizer (i.e. glycerin), pH regulator and a solvent (pg. 7) and teaches the dissolution of the components in the aqueous phase (working examples, pg. 11), thus the inclusion of tromethamine in the aqueous phase is prima facie obvious. While WO’353 fails to teach the step of preparing a separate water phase (D) comprising just water and the neutralizer prior to adding this to phase B (i.e. water phase), it is well established that the selection of any order of performing method steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results (MPEP 2144.01 IV(C)).
Regarding claim 3: WO’353 teaches that the choice of pH regulators is not limited and includes at least one of arginine (i.e. an amino acid) and mixtures can be used (pg. 6) and WO’353 further teaches that the 1st mixture may include one or more of the water-dispersible emulsifier, moisturizer (i.e. glycerin), pH regulator and a solvent (pg. 7) and teaches the dissolution of the components in the aqueous phase (working examples, pg. 11), thus the inclusion of arginine in the aqueous phase is prima facie obvious. While WO’353 fails to adding this to phase (c) comprising water and the organic acid, it is well established that the selection of any order of performing method steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results (MPEP 2144.01 IV(C)).
Regarding claim 4: As discussed above suitable moisturizers for use include glycerin (i.e. a polyol).
Regarding claim 6: As discussed above, suitable emulsifiers for use include sorbitan olivate.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER A BERRIOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613