DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the filing of 1/24/24. Claims 51-70 are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 51-70 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Siddique (2013/0215116.)
Claim 51, 61: Siddique discloses a method comprising:
generating for display a virtual structure (par. 139, The 3-D model database 86 stores predetermined 3-D models and parts of various 3-D models that are representative of various body types. The 3-D models are used to specify the user model that is associated with the user) representing a particular character (par. 130, Fig. 45, model) appearing in a media asset (par. 131, If a user wishes to access fit or other information or the user model of a friend, the friend would receive a notification that the specific information has been requested by the user. The friend would have the option to grant or deny access to any or all of their information or their user model), wherein the virtual structure comprises a plurality of portions (Fig. 45: 761, 756, 759, 760, head, torso, legs, feet);
detecting a user interaction with a particular portion of the plurality of portions of the virtual structure (par. 130, using arrows corresponding to the portions Fig. 45: 757);
in response to detecting the user interaction with the particular portion of the virtual structure:
identifying at least two media assets, in which the particular character represented by the virtual structure appears, based on the particular portion of the virtual structure associated with the detected user interaction (par. 130, the user can browse tops in a catalogue in the window section 756 by using the left 757 and right 758 arrow icons. As the user browses the catalogue, the tops are modeled and displayed directly on the user model 650); and
generating for simultaneous display media asset listings for the identified at least two media assets (par. 130, the user can browse tops in a catalogue in the window section 756 by using the left 757 and right 758 arrow icons. As the user browses the catalogue, the tops are modeled and displayed directly on the user model 650.)
However, Siddique does not explicitly disclose:
identifying at least two media assets; and
generating for simultaneous display media asset listings for the identified at least two media assets.
Siddique discloses in a separate embodiment:
identifying at least two media assets; and
generating for simultaneous display media asset listings for the identified at least two media assets (Fig. 48A: 1139; par. 243, the fitting room contents are displayed 1139 (in the form of images here) enabling the user easy access to the apparel they would like to fit on their user model 1136.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Siddique so as to present at least two media assets for display simultaneously. One would have been motivated to modify the teaching so as to allow for easier navigation of pertinent media assets when the number of assets is exceedingly large, without having to navigate through them one by one.
Claim 52, 62: Siddique discloses the method of claim 51, wherein the particular portion of the virtual structure corresponds to a specific body part of the representation of the character (Fig. 45: 761, 756, 759, 760, head, torso, legs, feet.)
Claim 53, 63: Siddique discloses the method of claim 51, wherein the particular portion is a first portion of the virtual structure, and the user interaction is a first user interaction, the method further comprising: detecting a second user interaction with a second portion of the plurality of portions of the virtual structure; and identifying at least one media asset, not included in the at least two media assets, based on the second portion of the virtual structure associated with the detected second user interaction; and generating for simultaneous display at least one media asset listing for the identified at least one media asset (Fig. 45: 761, 756, 759, 760, viewing other portion’s media, e.g. for head, torso, legs, feet.)
Claim 54, 64: Siddique discloses the method of claim 51, further comprising: based on detecting the interaction with the particular portion of the virtual structure, generating for display information related to a performer associated with the character (par. 123, User models would have the ability to interact with virtual embodiments of movie characters and celebrities; allow users to purchase apparel and other items shown in the particular movie; par. 131, sections on the site featuring special items available for purchase. In exemplary embodiment, these may include autographed apparel and other goods by celebrities; par. 132, modeling apparel that is similar to what celebrities or other notable personalities may be wearing; par. 150, a generic model which could be based on an average model or a celebrity mode.)
Claim 55, 65: Siddique discloses the method of claim 51, wherein identifying the at least two media assets based on the particular portion of the virtual structure associated with the detected user interaction comprises:
identifying, as the at least two media assets, at least two media assets having the highest popularities, or having the lowest popularities, amongst the a plurality of media assets associated with the virtual structure (par. 144, fashion consultant ratings and/or apparel popularity (assessed according to the number of the particular apparel item purchased for example.))
Claim 56, 66: Siddique discloses the method of claim 51, wherein the at least two media asset listings are not displayed prior to detecting the user interaction with the particular portion of the virtual structure (Fig. 45; par. 130, the user can browse tops in a catalogue in the window section 756 by using the left 757 and right 758 arrow icons. As the user browses the catalogue, the tops are modeled and displayed directly on the user model 650.)
Claim 57, 67: Siddique discloses the method of claim 51, wherein generating for simultaneous display the media asset listings associated with the identified at least two media assets comprises causing the media asset listings associated with the identified at least two media assets to be displayed proximate to the particular portion of the virtual structure (Fig. 45: 761, 756, 759, 760, e.g. shoes on the 760 portions.)
Claim 58, 68: Siddique discloses the method of claim 51, further comprising: receiving a selection of a particular media asset listing of the media asset listings; and in response to receiving the selection of the particular media asset listing, causing a particular media asset, of the at least two media assets and corresponding to the particular media asset listing, to be generated for display (Fig. 48A; par. 243, enabling the user easy access to the apparel they would like to fit on their user model 1136. Displaying one of the 1139 on 1136.)
Claim 59, 69: Siddique discloses the method of claim 58, wherein the particular media asset is a first media asset, and the at least two media assets comprise the first media asset and a second media asset, the first media asset being a first episode (Merriam-Webster: one of a series of loosely connected stories or scenes; an event that is distinctive and separate although part of a larger series) of episodic content and the second media asset being a second episode of the episodic content (Fig. 45: 761, 756, 759, 760, e.g. shoes on the 760 portions; Fig. 48A; par. 243, enabling the user easy access to the apparel they would like to fit on their user model 1136. Displaying one of the 1139 on 1136, one after another in a series of scenes.)
Claim 60, 70: Siddique discloses the method of claim 51, further comprising: modifying a portion of the virtual structure based on the detected user interaction (par. 130, using arrows corresponding to the portions to change the apparel, Fig. 45: 757); and generating for simultaneous display the media asset listings associated with the identified at least two media assets comprises causing the media asset listings associated with the identified at least two media assets to be displayed at the modified portion of the virtual structure (Fig. 45: 761, 756, 759, 760, e.g. shoes on the 760 portions; Fig. 48A; par. 243, enabling the user easy access to the apparel they would like to fit on their user model 1136. Displaying one of the 1139 on 1136.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Coulter (20060020482) Methods And Systems For Selling Apparel.
/Andrey Belousov/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2145
11/25/25