DETAILED ACTION
This office action follows a reply filed on August 12, 2026. Claims 1-8 and 10-16 have been amended. Claims 1-18 are currently pending and under examination.
All previous rejections are withdrawn, as applicants have amended to limit the covering material to include a crosslinking system, which was not previously required; however, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is proposed below.
The texts of those sections of Title 35 U.S. Code are not included in this section and can be found in a prior Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-9, 11-13 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morimoto (US 2009/0124756).
Morimoto discloses an elastomer composition which has excellent elasticity and cushioning properties (Abstract), useful in floor materials (p. 4, [0057]), exemplified as comprising the following:
RSS#1 (natural rubber), scallop shell powder, which includes aragonite, as evidenced by Yasui (col. 1, ll. 43-49), and Perhexa C-40 (peroxide crosslinking agent) (p. 5, Table 2, Example 4), where the elastomer is present in an amount of 46 wt% and the filler is present in an amount of 48 wt% based on the total weight of the composition, where the filler is present in an amount of 200 wt% based on the natural rubber.
Morimoto anticipates instant claims 1-4, 7-9 and 11-14.
As to claim 6, Morimoto exemplifies the scallop shell powder in an amount of 200 wt% relative to the amount of natural rubber.
As to claims 17-18, Morimoto exemplifies forming the composition into a plate shape having a thickness of 5 mm.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morimoto (US 2009/0124756), as applied above to claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-14 and 17-18, as evidenced by WO 2017/043364. For convenience, the machine translation of WO ‘364 will be cited below.
Morimoto anticipates instant claims 1-3, 6-9, 11-13 and 17-18, as described above and applied herein as such, as Morimoto teaches a floor material comprising an elastomer, peroxide crosslinking system and scallop shell powder which inherently contains aragonite.
As to claims 5 and 15, Morimoto does not teach the size of the scallop shell powder, nor does Morimoto teach a general filler size; however, Morimoto does teach another suitable filler to include SS#80 calcium carbonate, which has a particle size of about 4.6 micron, as evidenced by WO ‘364 (p. 12).
Therefore, choosing a scallop shell powder with a particle size of about 4.6 micron is obvious and is within the teachings of Morimoto.
As to claim 16, Morimoto teaches that the compositions can include the filler in an amount of 50-500 parts by weight based on 100 parts of the mixture of the natural rubber and PHBH (p. 4, [0053]).
Modifying Example 4 to include only up to 150 wt% based on the elastomer content is prima facie obvious. The amounts of filler suggested by Morimoto overlap with the claimed ranges, and it has been held that overlapping ranges are sufficient to establish prima facie obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morimoto (US 2009/0124756), as applied above to claims 1-4, 6-9, 11-14 and 17-18, and further in view of JP H01245037. For convenience, the machine translation of JP ‘037 will be cited below.
Morimoto anticipates instant claims 1-3, 6-9, 11-13 and 17-18, as described above and applied herein as such, as Morimoto teaches a floor material comprising an elastomer, peroxide crosslinking system and scallop shell powder which inherently contains aragonite.
Morimoto teaches the filler to include scallop shell powder, but does not teach or suggest the method of preparing such powder.
JP ‘037 teaches scallop shell powder can be used as a bulking agent in rubbers having a particle size of 0.5-40 microns, teaching preparing such filler by grinding the scallop shells by way of pulverization and further refining by way of a grinder to form a fine powder. JP ‘037 teaches that within this particle size, the filler has a reinforcing effect, good roll operability, and dispersibility, and is useful for preventing shrinkage, reduces the amount of vulcanization accelerator used, and prevents the vulcanized product from deforming, while the rubber is able to fully maintain its rubber-like properties.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have prepared the scallop shell powder of Morimoto by pulverizing the scallop shells and then grinding to obtain a micron sized powder, as JP ‘037 teaches that this material can be used as a suitable reinforcing filler in rubbers.
Morimoto in view of JP ‘037 is prima facie obvious over instant claim 10.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Brieann R Johnston/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766