DETAILED ACTION
The instant first office action is in response to communication filed on 11/03/2023.
Claims 1-20 are pending of which claims 1, 6, 11 and 16 are the base independent claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/05/2024, 02/19/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
The acknowledgment of the certified copies is for the foreign application No. 202211729630.3.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in China on 05/10/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the [202310524817.8] application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8, 11-13 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (WO 2023/273287) and in view of Guo et al (US 2014/0369293).
Regarding claim 1, 11, Wang’287 discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system(see fig.1 & see para.0006, which discusses terminal as UE), the method comprising:
transmitting, to a base station (BS)(see fig.1 & see para.0006, send…to a base station), a physical signal(see fig.1 & see para.0006, which discusses a terminal in a cellular communication system to send a sensing resource request as physical signal to a base station);
receiving, from the BS, configuration information indicating a first resource(see para.0054, which discusses the base station receives the first request information sent by the terminal and allocates sensing resources as first resource to the terminal for its sensing signal transmission, see para.0081-0082, the downlink information includes an indication to confirm or reject the sensing signal feature value. The indication that confirms the characteristic value of the sensing signal indicates that resources are allocated to the terminal for transmitting the sensing signal, see para.0006) for sensing detection(see para.0036, which discusses to obtain resources for sending sensing signals for sensing detection); and
determining the first resource for sensing detection (see para.0036, which discusses to obtain resources for sending sensing signals for sensing detection, thus determine) based on the physical signal(see fig.1 & see para.0006, which discusses a terminal in a cellular communication system to send a sensing resource request as physical signal to a base station) and the configuration information(see para.0054, which discusses the base station receives the first request information sent by the terminal and allocates sensing resources to the terminal for its sensing signal transmission, see para.0006).
As discussed above, although Wang’287 discloses determining the first resource for sensing detection (see para.0036, which discusses to obtain resources for sending sensing signals for sensing detection, thus determine), Wang’287 does not explicitly show the use of “wherein on the first resource, one or(due to or alternative language, only of them is being considered) more downlink signals are not received” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “wherein on the first resource, one or more downlink signals are not received” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Guo’293.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Guo’293 teaches the use of wherein on the first resource(see para.0015, which discuses resources), one or more downlink signals are not received(see para.0015, which discusses when the resource indication information is used for indicating the resource location having interference present…the UE acquiring that the base station does not map data on resources corresponding to the resource location, wherein not mapping data includes: not mapping physical downlink shared channel data; or, after acquiring that the base station does not map data on the resource corresponding to the resource location…wherein not mapping data includes: not mapping physical downlink shared channel data, see para.0023, see para.0093, thus, one downlink data signals are not received since base station does not map downlink data signal on the resource corresponding to the resource location).
In view of the above, having the system of Wang’287 and then given the well-established teaching of Guo’293, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang’287 to include “wherein on the first resource, one or more downlink signals are not received” as taught by Guo’293, since Guo’293 stated in para.0042+ that such a modification would provide an efficient system for achieving the effects of reduction in resource wastage, and prevention of interference to data demodulation from a control domain or a pilot frequency.
Regarding claim 2, 7, 12, 17, Wang’287 discloses wherein the configuration information indicates at least one(due to one language, only one of them is being considered) of:
positions of time domain resource units for sensing detection, a number of time domain resource units for sensing detection, a period for sensing detection, positions of time domain resource units for sensing detection in a single period, a number of time domain resource units for sensing detection within a period, positions of frequency domain resource units for sensing detection, or a frequency hopping configuration of frequency domain resource units for sensing detection, wherein the time domain resource unit includes at least one of a time domain symbol, a slot, or a radio frame, and wherein the frequency domain resource unit includes at least one of a subcarrier, a physical resource block, or a physical resource block group(see para.0103 & see para.0120,which discusses the network device sends downlink information, which includes an indication to confirm or reject the sensing signal feature value, see also para.0081-0082, 0135, see para.0056, which discusses the sensing signal features include at least one of the following: the frequency band of the sensing signal, antenna configuration, beam, transmission period, duration, and sensing distance, see para.0057, which discusses the sensing signal transmission period is the period during which the terminal transmits the sensing signal; the sensing signal duration indicates the continuous duration of a single transmission of the sensing signal by the terminal, see para.0036, sending sensing signals for sensing detection, thus, a period for sensing detection).
Regarding claim 3, 8, 13, 18, Wang’287 discloses wherein the determining of the first resource for sensing detection includes:
determining the first resource(see para.0054, which discusses the base station receives the first request information sent by the terminal and allocates sensing resources to the terminal for its sensing signal transmission) based on an association between the first resource and resources of the physical signal(see para.0054, which discusses the base station receives the second request information sent by the terminal and allocates uplink transmission resources to the terminal for sending its first request information as physical signal…The base station receives the first request information sent by the terminal and allocates sensing resources to the terminal for its sensing signal transmission, thus association since based on allocated uplink transmission resources used to send the request, the base station allocate sensing resources).
Regarding claim 6, Wang’287 discloses A user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the UE(see fig.1, which shows UE) comprising: a transceiver(see fig.10, which shows network interface 704, see para.0140, which discusses the wireless interface may consist of multiple components, including a transmitter and a receiver, thus transceiver ); a controller(see fig.10, which shows processor 701 as controller) connected to the transceiver(see fig.10, 701 is connected to 703) and configured to:
transmit, to a base station (BS)(see fig.1 & see para.0006, send…to a base station), a physical signal(see fig.1 & see para.0006, which discusses a terminal in a cellular communication system to send a sensing resource request as physical signal to a base station);
receive, from the BS, configuration information indicating a first resource(see para.0054, which discusses the base station receives the first request information sent by the terminal and allocates sensing resources as first resource to the terminal for its sensing signal transmission, see para.0081-0082, the downlink information includes an indication to confirm or reject the sensing signal feature value. The indication that confirms the characteristic value of the sensing signal indicates that resources are allocated to the terminal for transmitting the sensing signal, see para.0006) for sensing detection(see para.0036, which discusses to obtain resources for sending sensing signals for sensing detection); and
determine the first resource for sensing detection (see para.0036, which discusses to obtain resources for sending sensing signals for sensing detection, thus determine) based on the physical signal(see fig.1 & see para.0006, which discusses a terminal in a cellular communication system to send a sensing resource request as physical signal to a base station) and the configuration information(see para.0054, which discusses the base station receives the first request information sent by the terminal and allocates sensing resources to the terminal for its sensing signal transmission, see para.0006).
As discussed above, although Wang’287 discloses determining the first resource for sensing detection (see para.0036, which discusses to obtain resources for sending sensing signals for sensing detection, thus determine), Wang’287 does not explicitly show the use of “wherein on the first resource, one or(due to or alternative language, only of them is being considered) more downlink signals are not received” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “wherein on the first resource, one or more downlink signals are not received” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Guo’293.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Guo’293 teaches the use of wherein on the first resource(see para.0015, which discuses resources), one or more downlink signals are not received(see para.0015, which discusses when the resource indication information is used for indicating the resource location having interference present…the UE acquiring that the base station does not map data on resources corresponding to the resource location, wherein not mapping data includes: not mapping physical downlink shared channel data; or, after acquiring that the base station does not map data on the resource corresponding to the resource location…wherein not mapping data includes: not mapping physical downlink shared channel data, see para.0023, see para.0093, thus, one downlink data signals are not received since base station does not map downlink data signal on the resource corresponding to the resource location).
In view of the above, having the system of Wang’287 and then given the well-established teaching of Guo’293, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang’287 to include “wherein on the first resource, one or more downlink signals are not received” as taught by Guo’293, since Guo’293 stated in para.0042+ that such a modification would provide an efficient system for achieving the effects of reduction in resource wastage, and prevention of interference to data demodulation from a control domain or a pilot frequency.
Regarding claim 16, Wang’287 discloses a base station (BS) in a wireless communication system(see fig.1, fig.9), the BS comprising: a transceiver(see fig.9, which shows wireless interface 602, see para.0140, which discusses The wireless interface may consist of multiple components, including a transmitter and a receiver); a controller(see fig.9, which shows processor 601 as controller)connected to the transceiver(see fig.9, which shows 601 is connected to 602) and configured to: receive, from a user equipment (UE), a physical signal(see fig.1 & see para.0006, which discusses a terminal in a cellular communication system to send a sensing resource request as physical signal to a base station), determine a first resource for sensing detection(see para.0036, which discusses to obtain resources for sending sensing signals for sensing detection, thus determine) based on the physical signal(see fig.1 & see para.0006, which discusses a terminal in a cellular communication system to send a sensing resource request as physical signal to a base station), and transmit, to the UE, configuration information indicating the first resource(see para.0054, which discusses the base station receives the first request information sent by the terminal and allocates sensing resources as first resource to the terminal for its sensing signal transmission, see para.0081-0082, the downlink information includes an indication to confirm or reject the sensing signal feature value. The indication that confirms the characteristic value of the sensing signal indicates that resources are allocated to the terminal for transmitting the sensing signal, see para.0006) for sensing detection(see para.0036, which discusses to obtain resources for sending sensing signals for sensing detection).
As discussed above, although Wang’287 discloses determining the first resource for sensing detection (see para.0036, which discusses to obtain resources for sending sensing signals for sensing detection, thus determine), Wang’287 does not explicitly show the use of “wherein on the first resource, one or(due to or alternative language, only of them is being considered) more downlink signals are not received” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “wherein on the first resource, one or more downlink signals are not received” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Guo’293.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Guo’293 teaches the use of wherein on the first resource(see para.0015, which discuses resources), one or more downlink signals are not received(see para.0015, which discusses when the resource indication information is used for indicating the resource location having interference present…the UE acquiring that the base station does not map data on resources corresponding to the resource location, wherein not mapping data includes: not mapping physical downlink shared channel data; or, after acquiring that the base station does not map data on the resource corresponding to the resource location…wherein not mapping data includes: not mapping physical downlink shared channel data, see para.0023, see para.0093, thus, one downlink data signals are not received since base station does not map downlink data signal on the resource corresponding to the resource location).
In view of the above, having the system of Wang’287 and then given the well-established teaching of Guo’293, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang’287 to include “wherein on the first resource, one or more downlink signals are not received” as taught by Guo’293, since Guo’293 stated in para.0042+ that such a modification would provide an efficient system for achieving the effects of reduction in resource wastage, and prevention of interference to data demodulation from a control domain or a pilot frequency.
Claim(s) 4, 9, 14 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (WO 2023/273287), in view of Guo et al (US 2014/0369293) and further in view of Li et al (US 2020/0092911).
Regarding claim 4, 9, 14, 19, as discussed above, although the combined system of Wang’287 and Guo’293 discloses an association between the first resource and resources of the physical signal(Wang’287, see para.0054, which discusses the base station receives the second request information sent by the terminal and allocates uplink transmission resources to the terminal for sending its first request information as physical signal…The base station receives the first request information sent by the terminal and allocates sensing resources to the terminal for its sensing signal transmission, thus association since based on allocated uplink transmission resources used to send the request, the base station allocate sensing resources), the combined system of Wang’287 and Guo’293 discloses does not explicitly show the use of “wherein the determining of the first resource based on an association between the first resource and resources of the physical signal includes determining the first resource based on at least one of: position of at least one time domain resource unit of the first resource being same as position of at least one time domain resource unit of the physical signal; there being a time interval between the position of the at least one time domain resource unit of the first resource and the position of the at least one time domain resource unit of the physical signal; frequency domain resources of the first resource including at least frequency domain resources of the physical signal; the frequency domain resources of the first resource being same as the frequency domain resources of the physical signal; position of at least one frequency domain resource unit of the first resource being same as position of at least one frequency domain resource unit of the physical signal; or the frequency domain resources of the first resource including the frequency domain resources of the physical signal and a frequency range of the first resource including at least a frequency range of the frequency domain resources of the physical signal” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “wherein the determining of the first resource based on an association between the first resource and resources of the physical signal includes determining the first resource based on at least one of: position of at least one time domain resource unit of the first resource being same as position of at least one time domain resource unit of the physical signal; there being a time interval between the position of the at least one time domain resource unit of the first resource and the position of the at least one time domain resource unit of the physical signal; frequency domain resources of the first resource including at least frequency domain resources of the physical signal; the frequency domain resources of the first resource being same as the frequency domain resources of the physical signal; position of at least one frequency domain resource unit of the first resource being same as position of at least one frequency domain resource unit of the physical signal; or the frequency domain resources of the first resource including the frequency domain resources of the physical signal and a frequency range of the first resource including at least a frequency range of the frequency domain resources of the physical signal” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Li’911.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Li’911 teaches the use of wherein the determining of the first resource based on an association between the first resource and resources of the physical signal includes determining the first resource based on at least one(due to one language, only one of them is being considered) of:
position of at least one time domain resource unit of the first resource being same as position of at least one time domain resource unit of the physical signal;
there being a time interval between the position of the at least one time domain resource unit of the first resource and the position of the at least one time domain resource unit of the physical signal;
frequency domain resources of the first resource including at least frequency domain resources of the physical signal;
the frequency domain resources of the first resource being same as the frequency domain resources of the physical signal;
position of at least one frequency domain resource unit of the first resource being same as position of at least one frequency domain resource unit of the physical signal; or
the frequency domain resources of the first resource including the frequency domain resources of the physical signal and a frequency range of the first resource including at least a frequency range of the frequency domain resources of the physical signal(see para.0010, which discusses a first transmission resource used by the terminal to perform data transmission as physical signal, a time domain interval of the first transmission resource is after a time domain interval of the first sense resource, and a frequency domain resource occupied by the first transmission resource is all or a part of a frequency domain resource occupied by the first sense resource, see para.0085, thus, frequency domain resources of the first resource including at least frequency domain resources of the physical signal or the frequency domain resources of the first resource being same as the frequency domain resources of the physical signal due to all or a part of…).
In view of the above, having the combined system of Wang’287 and Guo’293 and then given the well-established teaching of Li’911, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combined system of Wang’287 and Guo’293 to include “wherein the determining of the first resource based on an association between the first resource and resources of the physical signal includes determining the first resource based on at least one of: position of at least one time domain resource unit of the first resource being same as position of at least one time domain resource unit of the physical signal; there being a time interval between the position of the at least one time domain resource unit of the first resource and the position of the at least one time domain resource unit of the physical signal; frequency domain resources of the first resource including at least frequency domain resources of the physical signal; the frequency domain resources of the first resource being same as the frequency domain resources of the physical signal; position of at least one frequency domain resource unit of the first resource being same as position of at least one frequency domain resource unit of the physical signal; or the frequency domain resources of the first resource including the frequency domain resources of the physical signal and a frequency range of the first resource including at least a frequency range of the frequency domain resources of the physical signal” as taught by Li’911, since Li’911 stated in para.0008+ that such a modification would improve accuracy of a sense result.
Claim(s) 5, 10, 15, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (WO 2023/273287), in view of Guo et al (US 2014/0369293) and further in view of Peng et al (US 2024/0023078).
Regarding claim 5, 10, 15, 20 as discussed above, although the combined system of Wang’287 and Guo’293 discloses an association between the first resource and resources of the physical signal(Wang’287,see para.0003, which discusses the terminal sends a sensing signal and receives the echo of the sensing signal to identify objects around the terminal, see para.0004, which discusses when the terminal sends a sensing signal for echo detection, the sensing signal does not need to reach the base station), the combined system of Wang’287 and Guo’293 discloses does not explicitly show the use of “receiving, from the BS, an echo signal for the physical signal on the first resource” as required by present claimed invention. However, including “receiving, from the BS, an echo signal for the physical signal on the first resource” would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Peng’078.
In particular, in the same field of endeavor, Peng’078 teaches the use of receiving, from the BS, an echo signal(see fig.2A, which shows receive the reflected sensing signal/echo signal on the first resource frequency domain resource 203) for the physical signal on the first resource(see fig.2A, which shows for a sensing signal on the first frequency domain resource 202).
In view of the above, having the combined system of Wang’287 and Guo’293 and then given the well-established teaching of Peng’078, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combined system of Wang’287 and Guo’293 to include “receiving, from the BS, an echo signal for the physical signal on the first resource” as taught by Peng’078, since Peng’078 stated in para.0006+ that such a modification would improve sensing performance.
Conclusion
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/VINNCELAS LOUIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474