Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alshamrani et al. US publication no.: US 2020/0019167 A1 in view of Chin et al. US publication no.: US 2015/0148949 A1 and further in view of Jagannathan et al. US publication no.: US 2021/0108504 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Alshamrani et al. teach, A robot for servicing metal equipment in a hydrocarbon refinery (see paragraph 34, where the robot is utilized in an oil rig), the robot comprising: a body (see robot body part of robot 103, figure 7b); a plurality of magnetic wheels operatively attached to the body (wheels 103c, figure 7b), and a plurality of propellers coupled to the body (see 102d, figure 5).
Alshamrani et al. is silent on specifically teaching: where the plurality of magnetic wheels are operable to attach the robot to a metal surface of the metal equipment
However, Chin et al. is in the same field of art and teach: where the plurality of magnetic wheels are operable to attach the robot to a metal surface of the metal equipment (see paragraphs 61 and 65, where the robotic device is utilized into cleaning plurality of metal surfaces in an oil refinery).
In view of Chin et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Alshamrani et al. to include; where the plurality of magnetic wheels are operable to attach the robot to a metal surface of the metal equipment, for the purpose of improving and enhancing user’s experience.
Alshamrani et al. as modified teach a sensor including acoustic sensors and etc as seen in paragraphs 36-39 of Chin et al. but is silent on specifically teaching: teach a sensor and one or more inspection sensors coupled to the body, where the one or more inspection sensors are operable to determine a location, a thickness, or both of solid deposits formed on one or more surfaces of the metal equipment.
However, Jagannathan et al. is in the same field of art and teach: teach a sensor and one or more inspection sensors coupled to the body, where the one or more inspection sensors are operable to determine a location, a thickness, or both of solid deposits formed on one or more surfaces of the metal equipment (see paragraphs 37-38, where a solid deposit thickness is measured utilizing a sensor).
In view of Jagannathan et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Alshamrani et al. as modified to include; teach a sensor and one or more inspection sensors coupled to the body, where the one or more inspection sensors are operable to determine a location, a thickness, or both of solid deposits formed on one or more surfaces of the metal equipment, for the purpose of improving and enhancing user’s experience.
Regarding claim 2, Alshamrani et al. teach, the robot of claim 1, where the plurality of magnetic wheels each comprise permanent magnets (see wheels 103c, figure 7).
Regarding claim 3, Alshamrani et al. teach, The robot of claim 1, where the plurality of magnetic wheels each comprise electromagnets and the robot further comprises an electrical power source electrically coupled to each of the plurality of magnetic wheels (see paragraph 100).
Regarding claim 4, The robot of claim 3, where the electrical power source is a rechargeable battery (see paragraph 100).
Regarding claim 5, Alshamrani et al. teach, The robot of claim 1, where the plurality of magnetic wheels are rotatable relative to the body of the robot (see paragraphs 73 and 83-84).
Regarding claim 6, Alshamrani et al. teach, The robot of claim 1, further comprising a wheel drive operatively (see wheel drive 103f, paragraph 73) coupled to each of the plurality of magnetic wheels, where the wheel drive is operable to rotate each of the plurality of magnetic wheels relative to the body to move the robot relative to the metal surface of the metal equipment.
Regarding claim 7, Alshamrani et al. teach, The robot of claim 6, where the plurality of magnetic wheels are operable to pivot relative to the body to move the robot vertically (see paragraph 83), horizontally, or both with respect to the metal surface.
Regarding claim 8, Alshamrani et al. teach, The robot of claim 1, where the plurality of propellers are operable to reposition the robot on the metal surface of the metal equipment (see figure 11, where the positioning of the robot is disclosed).
Regarding claim 9, Alshamrani et al. teach, The robot of claim 1, where the plurality of propellers are operable to generate a lifting force to counteract a weight of the robot (see figure 5 and paragrapsh 61 and 83 – where it can be seen that the propellers are disclosed in which it is an inherent feature of the propeller to provide counteract force against the weight of the robot) .
Regarding claim 10, Alshamrani et al. teach, The robot of claim 9, where the lifting force equals the weight of the robot (see figure 5 and paragraphs 61 and 83 – where it can be seen that the propellers are disclosed in which it is an inherent feature of the propeller to provide counteract force against the weight of the robot).
Regarding claim 11, Alshamrani et al. teach, A system for traversing a metal surface of metal equipment, the system comprising: a plurality of robots according to claim 1 (see the rejection of the claim 1 above and figure 4 where plurality of robots are to be used) ; at least one location sensor (sensor unit 103e, figure 7b) coupled to each of the plurality of robots; and a control system (controller 810, figure 1) communicatively coupled to the robot, where the control system comprises a processor (see paragraph 77-84, where the processor is disclosed) , at least one memory module communicatively coupled to the processor, and machine readable and executable instructions stored on the at least one memory module, wherein the machine readable and executable instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the system to automatically: activate the plurality of propellers for at least one of the plurality of robots (see paragraphs 79-84); and position the plurality of robots on the metal surface (see figure 8 and figure 11).
Regarding claim 12, Alshamrani et al. teach, The system of claim 11,where the plurality of robots travel in an axial direction, an angular direction, or both, where the axial direction and the angular direction (see paragraph 83).
Alshamrani et al. is silent on specifically teaching: where the system comprises a hollow structure comprising an internal volume and an interior surface and a metallic object disposed within the hollow structure.
However, Chin et al. is in the same field of art and teach: where the system comprises a hollow structure comprising an internal volume and an interior surface and a metallic object disposed within the hollow structure (see paragraphs 61 and 65, where the robotic device is utilized into cleaning plurality of metal surfaces in an oil refinery within hollow structures).
In view of Alshamrani et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Alshamrani et al. to include; where the system comprises a hollow structure comprising an internal volume and an interior surface and a metallic object disposed within the hollow structure, for the purpose of variant material to be maintained.
Regarding claim 13, Alshamrani et al. teach, the system of claim 12, where: the plurality of robots comprise a first robot and a second robot (see plurality of robots, figure 4) ; the first robot comprises a first magnet; the second robot comprises a second magnet; and the machine readable and executable instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the system to automatically: reposition the first robot to a first position (see figure 11, where the instructions given to the processor is disclosed) ;
Alshamrani et al. is silent on specifically teaching: activate the first magnet, where activating the first magnet produces a magnetic field that causes the metallic object to impact the interior surface of the metal surface at a first point on the interior surface; reposition the second robot to a second position spaced away from the first position; deactivate the first magnet; after or simultaneous with deactivating the first magnet, activate the second magnet, where activating the second magnet produces the magnetic field that causes the metallic object to travel through the internal volume of the hollow structure and impact the interior surface of the metal surface at a second point spaced apart from the first point, where: impacting the metallic object with the interior surface of the metal surface at the first point and the second point loosens solid deposits from the interior surface of the metal surface at the first point and the second.
However, Chin et al. is in the same field of art and teach: activate the first magnet, where activating the first magnet produces a magnetic field that causes the metallic object to impact the interior surface of the metal surface at a first point on the interior surface; reposition the second robot to a second position spaced away from the first position; deactivate the first magnet; after or simultaneous with deactivating the first magnet, activate the second magnet, where activating the second magnet produces the magnetic field that causes the metallic object to travel through the internal volume of the hollow structure and impact the interior surface of the metal surface at a second point spaced apart from the first point, where: impacting the metallic object with the interior surface of the metal surface at the first point and the second point loosens solid deposits from the interior surface of the metal surface at the first point and the second (see figure 1 & 7 and paragraphs 51 and 65, where the inspection/cleanings, wherein the remaining of the limitations are inherently performed and are easily configured).
In view of Alshamrani et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Alshamrani et al. to include; activate the first magnet, where activating the first magnet produces a magnetic field that causes the metallic object to impact the interior surface of the metal surface at a first point on the interior surface; reposition the second robot to a second position spaced away from the first position; deactivate the first magnet; after or simultaneous with deactivating the first magnet, activate the second magnet, where activating the second magnet produces the magnetic field that causes the metallic object to travel through the internal volume of the hollow structure and impact the interior surface of the metal surface at a second point spaced apart from the first point, where: impacting the metallic object with the interior surface of the metal surface at the first point and the second point loosens solid deposits from the interior surface of the metal surface at the first point and the second, for the purpose of variant material to be maintained.
Claim 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chin et al. US publication no.: US 2015/0148949 A1 in view of Alshamrani et al. US publication no.: US 2020/0019167 A1 and further In view of Jagannathan et al. US publication no.: US 2021/0108504 A1.
Regarding claim 14, Chin et al. teach, A system for traversing a metal surface of metal equipment, the system comprising: a hollow structure comprising an internal volume and an interior surface (see paragraph 65 where the inspection and cleaning for a hollow structure is disclosed) ; a plurality of robots configured to traverse the metal surface of the metal equipment (see figure 1, where plurality of robots can be viewed) ; a metallic object disposed within the hollow structure (see paragraph 65 where the inspection and cleaning for a hollow structure is disclosed); one or more inspection sensors operable to produce a signal indicative of one or more conditions of the metal equipment (see sensors, figures 2-5 and paragraph 38 and 50-51) ; at least one location sensor coupled to each of the plurality of robots (see sensors, figures 2-5 and paragraph 38 and 50-51); and a control system (controller 600, figure 6) communicatively coupled to the plurality of robots, where the control system comprises a processor, at least one memory module communicatively coupled to the processor, and machine readable and executable instructions stored on the at least one memory module, wherein the machine readable and executable instructions, when executed by the processor (see paragraph 40), cause the system to automatically: activate a plurality of propeller (propeller 504, figure 5) for at least one of the plurality of robots; position the plurality of robots on the metal surface; and activate the one or more inspection sensors (see paragraph 35).
Chin et al. is silent on specifically teaching
plurality of propellers.
Sensors operable to determine a location, a thickness, or both of solid deposits formed on the interior surface of the hollow structure.
However, Alshamrani et al. is in the same field of art and teach: plurality of propellers (see figure 5).
In view of Alshamrani et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Chin et al. to include; plurality of propellers., for the purpose of achieving higher power.
2) However, Jagannathan et al. is in the same field of art and teach: Sensors operable to determine a location, a thickness, or both of solid deposits formed on the interior surface of the hollow structure (see paragraphs 37-38, where a solid deposit thickness is measured utilizing a sensor).
In view of Jagannathan et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Alshamrani et al. as modified to include; Sensors operable to determine a location, a thickness, or both of solid deposits formed on the interior surface of the hollow structure, for the purpose of improving and enhancing user’s experience.
Regarding claim 15, Chin et al. is silent on specifically teaching, The system of claim 14, where the one or more inspection sensors are ultrasonic sensors, where the machine readable and executable instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the system to automatically determine a location, thickness or both of solid deposits on the interior surface of the hollow structure.
However, configuring the thickness of solid deposits could’ve easily been configured by one with the ordinary skills in the art with the teachings provided in paragraphs 36-39 and 64-65 in Chin et al. where it is explained that various types of sensors are utilized to determine various important elements and further can be seen in Jagannathan et al. paragraph 37-38 that a thickness of solid deposit is measured.
Therefore, in view of Jagannathan et al.’s, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Chin et al. as modified to include; where the one or more inspection sensors are ultrasonic sensors, where the machine readable and executable instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the system to automatically determine a thickness of solid deposits on the interior surface of the hollow structure, for the purpose of improving the cleaning structure.
Regarding claim 16, Chin et al. teach that the object to be cleaned/inspected is within the oil rig as seen in paragraph 65 but is silent on specifically teaching, The system of claim 15, where the metallic object includes a high acoustic impedance outer layer and a high ferromagnetic inner layer.
However, metallic object including a high acoustic impedance outer layer and a high ferromagnetic inner layer is one of the obvious choice in an oil rig and could’ve easily been configured as an obvious choice with the teachings of Chin et al. in sight.
Therefore, in view of Chin et al. as modified, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Chin et al. as modified to include; where the metallic object includes a high acoustic impedance outer layer and a high ferromagnetic inner layer, for the purpose of improving the cleaning structure
Regarding claim 17, Chin et al. as modified is silent on specifically teaching: The system of claim 16, where the high acoustic impedance outer layer is tungsten.
However, where the high acoustic impedance outer layer is tungsten is one of the obvious choice in an oil rig and could’ve easily been configured as an obvious choice with the teachings of Chin et al. in sight.
Therefore, in view of Chin et al. as modified, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Chin et al. as modified to include; where the high acoustic impedance outer layer is tungsten, for the purpose of improving the cleaning structure
Regarding claim 18, Chin et al. teach, The system of claim 14, where the one or more inspection sensors comprises a radar sensor (see paragraphs 51 & 54-55).
Regarding claim 19, Chin et al. teach, A process for traversing a metal surface, the process comprising: activating a plurality of propellers for at least one of a plurality of robots, where at least one location sensor is coupled to each of the plurality of robots; and positioning the plurality of robots on the metal surface (see figures 1 and 6-7 and paragraphs 64-65).
Chin et al. is silent on specifically
teaching plurality of propellers.
activating one or more inspection sensors for at least one of the plurality of robots, where the one or more inspection sensors are operable to determine a location, a thickness, or both of solid deposits formed on the metal surface
However, Alshamrani et al. is in the same field of art and teach: plurality of propellers (see figure 5).
In view of Alshamrani et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Chin et al. to include; plurality of propellers., for the purpose of achieving higher power.
However, Jagannathan et al. is in the same field of art and teach: activating one or more inspection sensors for at least one of the plurality of robots, where the one or more inspection sensors are operable to determine a location, a thickness, or both of solid deposits formed on the metal surface (see paragraphs 37-38, where a solid deposit thickness is measured utilizing a sensor).
In view of Jagannathan et al.’s teachings, it would’ve been obvious to one with the ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, with the apparatus as taught by Chin et al. as modified to include; activating one or more inspection sensors for at least one of the plurality of robots, where the one or more inspection sensors are operable to determine a location, a thickness, or both of solid deposits formed on the metal surface, for the purpose of improving and enhancing user’s experience.
Regarding claim 20, Chin et al. teach, The process of claim 19, further comprising: repositioning the plurality of robots on a hollow structure, the hollow structure comprising an internal volume and an interior surface and a metallic object disposed within the hollow structure where: the plurality of robots comprise a first robot and a second robot; the first robot comprises a first magnet; and the second robot comprises a second magnet; positioning the first robot to a first position; attracting the metallic object to a first point on the interior surface with the first magnet, where: attracting the metallic object to the first point on the interior surface causes the metallic object to impact the interior surface at the first point; and impact of the metallic object with the interior surface at the first point loosens solid deposits from the interior surface at the first point; positioning the second robot to a second position; attracting the metallic object to a second point on the interior surface with the second magnet, where: attracting the metallic object to the second point on the interior surface causes the metallic object to impact the interior surface at the second point; and impact of the metallic object with the interior surface at the second point loosens solid deposits from the interior surface at the second point (see figure 1 & 7 and paragraphs 51 and 65, where the inspection/cleanings, wherein the remaining of the limitations are inherently performed and are easily configured).’Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ZOHEB S IMTIAZ/Primary Examiner , Art Unit 2846