DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: LUBRICANT USING FINE PARTICLES FOR IMAGE FORMING SYSTEM.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 12 in this application has been given the broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakamura US 2013/0294791 A1 (Nakamura).
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura teaches an image forming system comprising:
an image holding unit (31) that is rotatably provided and that holds an image formed by means of a charged image forming material;
a transfer unit (36) that transfers the image hold by the image holding unit to a medium by using a transfer electric field;
a fine particle applying unit (37/51/52) that periodically or irregularly applies lubricant fine particles (the pulverized solid lubricant when deposited on the image holding unit is fine particles) to the image holding unit; and
a transfer control unit (120) that controls the transfer electric field of the transfer unit depending on a state of application of the fine particles on the image holding unit (¶0059, ¶0079).
Regarding claim 2, Nakamura teaches the image forming system according to claim 1, wherein the transfer control unit performs control such that the transfer electric field of the transfer unit differs between a condition in which the fine particles have been applied and a condition in which the fine particles have not been applied (i.e. optionally controlled, ¶0059).
Regarding claim 7, Nakamura teaches the image forming system according to claim 2, wherein the transfer control unit uses a coverage rate of the fine particles as an amount of application of the fine particles on a condition in which the fine particles have been applied and controls the transfer electric field of the transfer unit based on a relationship between the coverage rate of the fine particles and an adhesion force of the image with respect to the image holding unit (¶0076-¶0082).
Regarding claim 8, Nakamura teaches the image forming system according to claim 1, wherein the transfer control unit includes a detection unit (38A 38B, electrical potential sensors, ¶0066 or Line sensor 123, ¶0067) that detects the state of application of the fine particles and controls the transfer electric field of the transfer unit based on a result of detection performed by the detection unit (¶0066-¶0073).
Regarding claim 9, Nakamura teaches the image forming system according to claim 8, wherein the detection unit is composed of a reflection type optical sensor (line sensor 123_ that is disposed to face a layer of applied fine particles (¶0067).
Regarding claim 10, Nakamura teaches the image forming system according to claim 1, wherein the fine particle applying unit applies the fine particles to the image holding unit in a case where an embossed medium having unevenness on a surface of the medium is used (i.e. the detect surface roughness is falls within one of the 5 buckets listed for (max difference in roughness, Dmax of Table 0003).
Regarding claim 12, Nakamura teaches an image forming system comprising:
image holding means (31) for holding an image formed by means of a charged image forming material (1C, 1Y, 1M, 1K)l, the image holding means being rotatably provided;
transferring means (33, 36) for transferring the image hold by the image holding means to a medium by using a transfer electric field;
fine particle applying means (37) for periodically or irregularly applying lubricant fine particles to the image holding means; and
transfer controlling means (120) for controlling the transfer electric field of the transferring means depending on a state of application of the fine particles on the image holding means (¶0059, ¶0079).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura US 2013/0294791 A1 (Nakamura).
Regarding claim 3-6, Nakamura teaches the image forming system according to claim 2. Nakamura suggests that when the transfer control unit performs control such that the transfer electric field (transfer bias, ¶0057) of the transfer unit is made small on a condition in which the fine particles have been applied changing the transfer bias in comparison with a condition in which the fine particles have not been applied. While Nakamura does not explicitly teach the step-by-step method of changing the transfer electric field (transfer bias) when fine particles have not been applied, this is suggested. Nakamura teaches calculating the transfer rate under the condition that the transfer bias is constant at -42 µA, the toner weight, surface roughness and amount of lubricant are then bucketized as sown in Table 0003. Further Nakamura teaches that the transfer bias along with the lubricant determine the amount of toner adhesion (¶0077-¶0079), thus suggesting the transfer bias is a variable that can be adjusted along with the amount of lubricant applied. Given this teaching it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that when no amount of lubricant is applied the transfer bias would need to be increased.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Nakamura teaches the image forming system according to claim 4. Furthermore Nakamura teaches a first and second and third and fourth threshold (see Table 0003). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to adjust the transfer electric field (transfer bias) in a case where the amount of application of the fine particles is smaller than a first threshold value determined in advance, the transfer control unit performs control such that the transfer electric field of the transfer unit is made equal to the transfer electric field formed on a condition in which the fine particles have not been applied, AND in a case where the amount of application of the fine particles exceeds a second threshold value determined in advance, the transfer control unit performs control such that the transfer electric field of the transfer unit is made large in comparison with a case where the amount of application of the fine particles is equal to or smaller than the second threshold value, SINCE Nakamura teaches that the transfer bias along with the lubricant determine the amount of toner adhesion (¶0077-¶0079), thus suggesting the transfer bias is a variable that can be adjusted along with the amount of lubricant applied.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura US 2013/0294791 A1 (Nakamura) and Tsuruoka et al. US 6,141,522 (Tsuruoka).
Regarding claim 11, Nakamura teaches the image forming system according to claim 1, the image holding unit having a surface roughness Rz of 1.5 or less (recording sheet A or B, Table 0001). Nakamura differs from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: the size of the fine particles. Tsuruoka teaches the fine particles of which a particle size falls within a range of 0.01µm - 10 µm (10 nm – 10,000 nm) thus anticipating the range of 30 to 150 nm (C12 L49-63). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to look toward the prior art for size of pulverized lubricant particles being applied to the transfer belt, of which Tsuruoka teaches that the range of 30 to 150 nm was part of the ordinary capabilities of a person skilled in the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ichikawa et al. US 2014/0241744 teaches a transfer device for controlling transfer pressure and bias and suggests using a lubricating material as well (¶0095).
/JESSICA L ELEY/
Examiner, Art Unit 2852