DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
New claims 15-34 are presently under consideration as set forth in amendment filed 03 November 2023. Claims 1-14 are cancelled by applicant’s preliminary amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-17, 19, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites “further comprising placing, after applying a heat welding compound, an additional layer of fabric between the piece of fabric and the solar panel” where it’s unclear if the recitation to “after applying a heat welding compound” is a new heat welding compound being applied or referencing the step of applying a heat welding compound in claim 15. As such the scope of claim 16 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 17 is also rendered indefinite by depending from indefinite claim 16.
Claim 19 recites “connecting the solar panel to the voltage converter” where claim 19 lacks antecedent basis for “the voltage converter” as a voltage converter was not previously defined and it’s not clear what voltage converter is being referenced in the claim. As such the scope of claim 19 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 24 recites “further comprising placing, after applying a heat welding compound, an additional layer of fabric between the piece of fabric and the solar panel” where it’s unclear if the recitation to “after applying a heat welding compound” is a new heat welding compound being applied or referencing the step of applying a heat welding compound in claim 21. As such the scope of claim 24 cannot be determined and is rendered indefinite.
Claim 25 is also rendered indefinite by depending from indefinite claim 24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peelman et al (US 2012/0137601) and in further view of Remy et al (WO 2011/023741A1, reference made to attached English machine translation).
Regarding claim 15 Peelman discloses a method of attaching a solar panel to a piece of fabric, the method comprising:
placing an attachment section of a solar panel against a piece of fabric ([0038], [0041]-[0042] Figs. 4-7 see: photovoltaic module 2 with a main body 8 and a peripheral edge strip 10 placed against underlying portion 104 and flap portion 106 of fabric base layer 102 for attachment);
sewing through an edge of the piece of fabric to attach the solar panel to the piece of fabric ([0018], Figs. 4-7 see: the edge-strip onto the perimeter of the flexible, thin-film photovoltaic module can include additional mechanical reinforcement of the welded bond through sewing); and
applying heat to weld the attachment section of the solar panel and the edge of the piece of fabric ([0019], [0041]-[0042] Figs. 4-7 see: heat welding is applied to weld underlying portion 104 and flap portion 106 to secure attachment of the base layer 102 to the photovoltaic module 2 and welding can be used to secure remaining portions of the folded, hemmed fabric flap to areas of the non-functional perimeter of the photovoltaic modules).
Peelman does not explicitly disclose applying a heat welding compound to at least one of the edge of the piece of fabric and the attachment section of the solar panel with the heat welding compound sandwiched between the attachment section and the edge of the piece of fabric although Peelman does teach the fabric can be coated (para [0023]).
Remy teaches welding flexible photovoltaic devices at a free edge to a support membrane, the membrane comprises a polyester fabric coated with PVC (heat welding compound) (page 2 of translation see: at least one flexible photovoltaic element deposited on a support of PVC coated polyester fabric and welded).
Remy and Peelman are combinable as they are all concerned with the field of attaching solar panels to flexible substrates.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Peelman in view of Remy such that a heat welding compound is applied to the edge of the piece of fabric and sandwiched between the attachment section of the solar panel and the edge of the piece of fabric for this welding as in Remy (page 2 of translation see: at least one flexible photovoltaic element deposited on a support of PVC coated polyester fabric and welded at a free edge) as Peelman teaches the fabric can be coated (para [0023]) and such a modification would have amounted to the use of known photovoltaic module and support materials for their intended use in a known environment to accomplish the entirely expected result of welding the solar panel to a support.
Regarding claim 18 modified Peelman discloses the method according to claim 15, wherein the heat is applied for welding using a hot air welding machine or a hot press machine (Peelman, [0019], see: welding is performed with hot air welding apparatus).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peelman et al (US 2012/0137601) in view of Remy et al (WO 2011/023741A1, reference made to attached English machine translation) as applied to claims 15 and 18 above and in further view of Jetter et al (US 4,537,838) and as further evidenced by Hamaguchi et al (US 2013/0312810).
Regarding claim 16 modified Peelman discloses the method according to claim 15 but does not explicitly disclose further comprising placing, after applying a heat welding compound, an additional layer of fabric between the piece of fabric and the solar panel.
Jetter discloses a method of manufacturing portable solar panel assemblies connected to a flexible backing material comprising after applying a heat welding compound, an additional layer of fabric between the piece of fabric and the solar panel (Jetter, Abstract, Figs. 2 and 4-5 see: between compartmented folding pocket 1 and carrier plate 5a of one of solar panels 5, solder strips (3, 4) and connection strips 7 of flexible metal fabric are arranged) for allowing series and parallel interconnection of multiple of said solar panels on the flexible backing material (Jetter, Abstract).
Jetter and modified Peelman are combinable as they are all concerned with the field of attaching solar panels to flexible substrates.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Peelman in view of Jetter such that it further comprises placing, after applying a heat welding compound, an additional layer of fabric between the piece of fabric and the solar panel as in Jetter (Jetter, Abstract, Figs. 2 and 4-5 see: between compartmented folding pocket 1 and carrier plate 5a of one of solar panels 5, solder strips (3, 4) and connection strips 7 of flexible metal fabric are arranged) for allowing series and parallel interconnection of multiple of said solar panels on the piece of fabric of Peelman as taught by Jetter (Jetter, Abstract).
Furthermore, regarding the interpretation of “solder strips” as “a heat welding compound”, in the context of attaching solar panel manufacture and electrical interconnection Hamaguchi teaches soldering as a welding method (see Abstract para [0037], wiring members and electrodes ‘welded by solder’) and thus the solder strips (3, 4) of Jetter are interpreted as meeting the limitation of “a heat welding compound” within this context.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peelman et al (US 2012/0137601) in view of Remy et al (WO 2011/023741A1, reference made to attached English machine translation) as applied to claims 15 and 18 above, and further in view of Closset (US 2006/0028166).
Regarding claim 19 modified Peelman discloses the method according to claim 15, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising: connecting the solar panel to the voltage converter; and connecting the voltage converter to an output.
Closset teaches attaching solar panels to flexible fabric substrates including through welding the solar panel to the fabric substrate and reinforming the union with stitches (para [0028], Fig. 1 solar panel 23 fixed on a flexible fabric sheet 18) and further connecting the solar panel to a voltage converter and connecting the voltage converter to an output (Closset, [0044] Figs. 1-2 see: solar panel 23 connected to control electronics 83 for controlling voltage output to batteries or a device to be powered).
Closset and modified Peelman are combinable as they are all concerned with the field of attaching solar panels to flexible substrates.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Peelman in view of Closset such that method further comprises connecting the solar panel to a voltage converter and connecting the voltage converter to an output as in Closset (Closset, [0044] Figs. 1-2 see: solar panel 23 connected to control electronics 83 for controlling voltage output to batteries or a device to be powered) for the purpose of providing a variable voltage output to different batteries or devices as in Closset.
Regarding claim 20 modified Peelman discloses method according to claim 19, and Closset teaches connecting the voltage converter to an inner side of the piece of fabric (Closset, [0044] Figs. 1-4 see: cylindrical core with control electronics 83 of the voltage converter is attached to an opposite inner surface of flexible fabric sheet 18).
Claims 21 and 31-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peelman et al (US 2012/0137601) and in further view of Remy et al (WO 2011/023741A1, reference made to attached English machine translation) and further in view of BAO (CN 206150722 U, reference made to attached English machine translation)
Regarding claim 21 Peelman discloses a method of manufacturing an article, the method comprising:
providing a solar panel having an attachment section ([0038], [0041]-[0042] Figs. 4-7 see: photovoltaic module 2 with a main body 8 and a peripheral edge strip 10 for attachment);
providing a piece of fabric to form an external layer, the external layer having an opening formed therein and an inner surface, the opening being defined by at least one edge ([0038], [0041]-[0042] Figs. 4-7 see: fabric base layer 102 with an underlying portion 104 and flap portion 106 forming an opening/pocket/channel for peripheral edge strip 10 of module 2 at an edge);
placing the attachment section of the solar panel in the inner surface of the external layer ([0038], [0041]-[0042] Figs. 4-7 see: peripheral edge strip 10 of module 2 placed in opening/pocket/channel formed by underlying portion 104 and flap portion 106);
sewing through the external layer to attach the solar panel to the external layer ([0018], Figs. 4-7 see: the edge-strip onto the perimeter of the flexible, thin-film photovoltaic module can include additional mechanical reinforcement of the welded bond through sewing);
applying heat to weld the solar panel to the external layer ([0019], [0041]-[0042] Figs. 4-7 see: heat welding is applied to weld underlying portion 104 and flap portion 106 to secure attachment of the base layer 102 to the photovoltaic module 2 and welding can be used to secure remaining portions of the folded, hemmed fabric flap to areas of the non-functional perimeter of the photovoltaic modules); and
attaching at least one other piece of fabric as an internal layer to an inner-surface side of the external layer ([0043] Figs. 4-7 see: cable 110 such as a rope (fabric) attached in a pocket formed at an inner surface side of base layer 102).
Peelman does not explicitly disclose applying a heat welding compound to at least one of an attachment section of a solar panel or the inner surface of the external layer around the at least one edge of the opening and where the heat welding compound is between the attachment section of the solar panel and the inner surface of the external layer.
Remy teaches welding flexible photovoltaic devices at a free edge to a support membrane, the membrane comprises a polyester fabric coated with PVC (heat welding compound) (page 2 of translation see: at least one flexible photovoltaic element deposited on a support of PVC coated polyester fabric and welded).
Remy and Peelman are combinable as they are all concerned with the field of attaching solar panels to flexible substrates.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Peelman in view of Remy such that a heat welding compound is applied to the edge of the piece of fabric and sandwiched between the attachment section of the solar panel and the edge of the piece of fabric for this welding as in Remy (page 2 of translation see: at least one flexible photovoltaic element deposited on a support of PVC coated polyester fabric and welded at a free edge) as Peelman teaches the fabric can be coated (para [0023]) and such a modification would have amounted to the use of known photovoltaic module and support materials for their intended use in a known environment to accomplish the entirely expected result of welding the solar panel to a support.
Peelman teaches the photovoltaic assembly can be formed as part of an article of clothing or a backpack or similar articles (para [0022]) but does not explicitly recite the article as a backpack cover.
However, BAO teaches such thin-film solar panels can be formed as part of a backpack cover (Abstract, Figs. 1,6-7).
BAO and modified Peelman are combinable as they are all concerned with the field of solar panels attached to flexible substrates.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Peelman in view of BAO such that the article of Peelman is a backpack cover as in BAO (Abstract, Figs. 1,6-7) as Peelman teaches the photovoltaic assembly can be formed as part of an article of clothing or a backpack or similar articles (para [0022]) and BAO teaches the arrangement allows the utility of thin film solar panels without influencing the normal movement of the user and not shielding the irradiated film solar battery (BAO, Abstract).
Regarding claim 31 modified Peelman discloses the method according to claim 21, and BAO teaches further comprising attaching at least one fastener to the external layer, the at least one fastener being capable of connecting to a carrying strap (BAO, Fig. 7 see: waterproof cover 1 further comprises a buckle assembly 6 attaching the cover to a backpack having carrying straps and thus considered full capable of the claimed function).
Regarding claim 32 modified Peelman discloses the method according to claim 21, wherein the piece of fabric forming the external layer is a waterproof fabric (Peelman, [0041] see: base layer 102 may be coated with a substantially water impermeable and weather-resistant coating).
Regarding claim 33 modified Peelman discloses the method according to claim 21, wherein the heat welding compound is welded using a hot air welding machine or a hot press machine (Peelman, [0019], see: welding is performed with hot air welding apparatus).
Claims 24 and 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peelman et al (US 2012/0137601) in view of Remy et al (WO 2011/023741A1, reference made to attached English machine translation) in view of BAO (CN 206150722 U, reference made to attached English machine translation) as applied to claims 21 and 31-33 above and in further view of Jetter et al (US 4,537,838) and as further evidenced by Hamaguchi et al (US 2013/0312810).
Regarding claim 24 modified Peelman discloses the method according to claim 15 but does not explicitly disclose further comprising placing, after applying a heat welding compound, an additional layer of fabric between the piece of fabric and the solar panel.
Jetter discloses a method of manufacturing portable solar panel assemblies connected to a flexible backing material comprising after applying a heat welding compound, an additional layer of fabric between the piece of fabric and the solar panel (Jetter, Abstract, Figs. 2 and 4-5 see: between compartmented folding pocket 1 and carrier plate 5a of one of solar panels 5, solder strips (3, 4) and connection strips 7 of flexible metal fabric are arranged) for allowing series and parallel interconnection of multiple of said solar panels on the flexible backing material (Jetter, Abstract).
Jetter and modified Peelman are combinable as they are all concerned with the field of attaching solar panels to flexible substrates.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Peelman in view of Jetter such that it further comprises placing, after applying a heat welding compound, an additional layer of fabric between the piece of fabric and the solar panel as in Jetter (Jetter, Abstract, Figs. 2 and 4-5 see: between compartmented folding pocket 1 and carrier plate 5a of one of solar panels 5, solder strips (3, 4) and connection strips 7 of flexible metal fabric are arranged) for allowing series and parallel interconnection of multiple of said solar panels on the piece of fabric of Peelman as taught by Jetter (Jetter, Abstract).
Furthermore, regarding the interpretation of “solder strips” as “a heat welding compound”, in the context of attaching solar panel manufacture and electrical interconnection Hamaguchi teaches soldering as a welding method (see Abstract para [0037], wiring members and electrodes ‘welded by solder’) and thus the solder strips (3, 4) of Jetter are interpreted as meeting the limitation of “a heat welding compound” within this context.
Regarding claim 26 modified Peelman discloses the method according to claim 21, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising attaching at least one additional solar panel to the external layer as in claim 26.
However, Jetter teaches manufacturing portable solar panel assemblies comprising attaching at least one additional solar panel to an external layer (Jetter, Figs. 2 and 4-5 see: solar panels 5 connected to compartmented folding pocket 1) wherein attaching the at least one additional solar panel includes: providing at least one additional opening formed in an external layer, the at least one additional opening being defined by a corresponding at least one edge (Jetter, Abstract, Figs. 2-5 see: solar panels 5 connected to pockets 1 formed at the edges of flexible insulating material) and connecting the solar panel and the at least one additional solar panel to each other by wiring (Jetter, Abstract, Figs. 2-5 see: solar panels 5 connected by connection strips (7, 12)).
Jetter and modified Peelman are combinable as they are all concerned with the field of attaching solar panels to flexible substrates.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Peelman in view of Jetter such that it further comprises attaching at least one additional solar panel to the external layer of Peelman as in Jetter (Jetter, Figs. 2 and 4-5 see: solar panels 5 connected to compartmented folding pocket 1) wherein attaching the at least one additional solar panel includes: providing at least one additional opening formed in the external layer, the at least one additional opening being defined by a corresponding at least one edge as in Jetter (Jetter, Abstract, Figs. 2-5 see: solar panels 5 connected to pockets 1 formed at the edges of flexible insulating material) and connecting the solar panel and the at least one additional solar panel to each other by wiring (Jetter, Abstract, Figs. 2-5 see: solar panels 5 connected by connection strips (7, 12)) for the express purpose of providing additional serially or parallel connected solar panels for a larger power output.
Furthermore, regarding the claim 26 limitations “applying a heat welding compound to an attachment section of the at least one additional solar panel or the inner surface of the external layer around the at least one edge of the at least one additional opening; placing the attachment section of the at least one additional solar panel with the heat welding compound between the attachment section of the at least one additional solar panel and the inner surface of the external layer; sewing through the external layer to attach the at least one additional solar panel to the external layer; applying heat to weld the at least one additional solar panel to the external layer” in the additional panel attachment method, Peelman as modified by Remy teaches these limitations for attaching a solar panel to an external layer as recited in claim 21, and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to connect the additional solar panel in this manner to provide the same welded connected reinforced by sewing.
Regarding claims 27 and 28 modified Peelman discloses the method according to claim 26, and Jetter further teaches wherein the solar panel and the at least one additional solar panel are connected in parallel or wherein the solar panel and the at least one additional solar panel are connected in series (Jetter, Abstract see: connection strips (7, 12) consist of a flexible metal fabric and form a series and/or parallel connection of the panels (5)).
Regarding claim 29 modified Peelman discloses the method according to claim 26, and Jetter further teaches, further comprising connecting the solar panel and the at least one additional solar panel to a switch controller configured to change wiring configuration of the solar panel and the at least one additional solar panel (Jetter, Column 6, claim 12 see: control switches electrically connected to the panels further installed to regulate voltage and electric current and thus change wiring configuration of solar panels).
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peelman et al (US 2012/0137601) in view of Remy et al (WO 2011/023741A1, reference made to attached English machine translation) in view of BAO (CN 206150722 U, reference made to attached English machine translation) as applied to claims 21, 24, 26-29 and 31-33 above and in further view of Jetter et al (US 4,537,838) as evidenced by Hamaguchi et al (US 2013/0312810) and in further view of Closset (US 2006/0028166).
Regarding claim 30 modified Pearlman discloses the method according to claim 26, but does not explicitly disclose further comprising attaching a solar charging assembly to the external layer, wherein attaching the solar charging assembly includes a voltage converter and an electrical output capable of charging external devices, the voltage converter being connected to the electrical output and to the solar panel and the at least one additional solar panel by the wiring.
Closset teaches connecting solar panels to a voltage converter and connecting the voltage converter to an output (Closset, [0044] Figs. 1-2 see: solar panel 23 connected to control electronics 83 for controlling voltage output to batteries or a device to be powered).
Closset and modified Peelman are combinable as they are all concerned with the field of attaching solar panels to flexible substrates.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the method of Peelman in view of Closset such that method further comprises attaching a solar charging assembly to the external layer, wherein attaching the solar charging assembly includes a voltage converter and an electrical output capable of charging external devices, the voltage converter being connected to the electrical output and to the solar panel and the at least one additional solar panel by the wiring as in Closset (Closset, [0044] Figs. 1-2 see: solar panel 23 connected to control electronics 83 for controlling voltage output to batteries or a device to be powered) for the purpose of providing a variable voltage output to different batteries or devices as in Closset.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17 and 25 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 17 recites “the length of the additional layer of fabric being the same or greater than length of the solar panel, the width of the additional layer of fabric being the same or greater than width of the solar panel” where in Jetter the connection strips (7, 12) of a flexible metal fabric (additional layer of fabric) have what can either be described as a length or a width that is greater than the respective length or width of a solar panel (5) (Figs. 2-4) but not both as these flexible metal fabric connection strips must fit within the pocket (1) formed at the edges of the solar panels by the external layer (Fig. 5) and thus this limitations is not taught disclose or made obvious by the prior art of record.
Claim 25 recites the same allowable limitation as claim 17 and would be allowable for the same reasons set forth above.
Claims 22-23 and 34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 22 recites “wherein attaching the internal layer comprises: aligning a perimeter of the external layer and a perimeter of the internal layer; folding an edge of the external layer, and placing the perimeter of the internal layer between the fold, thus creating an opening; and attaching a string to the perimeter of the internal layer through the opening such that the string is able to move to throughout the fold” which is not taught, disclosed or made obvious by the prior art of record as the rope 110 of Peelman disclosed as the internal layer has a different form and function than that claimed in claim 22 and thus the limitations of claim 22 are not taught, disclosed or made obvious by the prior art of record.
Claim 23 depends from claim 22 and would be allowable for the same reasons set forth above,
Claim 34 recites “forming an opening in the internal layer, wherein the opening is defined by a first edge and a second edge; aligning the first edge of the opening next to the second edge of the opening; and attaching a zipper tape to both the first edge of the opening and the second edge of the opening” which is not taught, disclosed or made obvious by the prior art of record as the rope 110 of Peelman disclosed as the internal layer has a different form and function than that claimed in claim 34 and thus the limitations of claim 34 are not taught, disclosed or made obvious by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
McKenna (US 2010/0180922) discloses a fabric shade with pockets for solar panels attached by welding the panels formed of polyvinylchloride--(PVC) coated polyester fabric or a polytetrafluoroethylene--(PTFE) coated fiberglass fabric to each other (para [0021], Figs. 3-4).
ANDREW J. GOLDEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/ANDREW J GOLDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726