Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The phrase “harvesting energy” is too vague and undetailed as energy can be harvested by everything such as for example a cable has energy that can be harvested by a device or entropy can move energy to the device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Brusilovsky et al. US 20220264522 A1 (Domestic Priority June 17, 2019).
Regarding claim 1, Brusilovsky discloses a method, performed by a wireless transmit receive unit (WTRU) (see, RAN may be in communication with the CN, which may be any type of network configured to provide voice, data, applications, and/or voice over internet protocol (VoIP) services to one or more of the WTRUs, section 0036), of receiving a mobile terminated (MT) transmission using an ambient Internet of Things (IOT) service (AIS) (see, CN may provide call control, billing services, mobile location-based services, pre-paid calling, Internet connectivity, video distribution, etc., and/or perform high-level security functions, such as user authentication, section 0036; noted, data may have varying quality of service (QoS) requirements, such as differing throughput requirements, latency requirements, error tolerance requirements, reliability requirements, data throughput requirements, mobility requirements, and the like, section 0036), the method comprising: receiving an activation signal from a radio access network (RAN) node (see, RAN may be in communication with the CN, which may be any type of network configured to provide voice, data, applications, and/or voice over internet protocol (VoIP) services to one or more of the WTRUs where the data could include varying quality of service (QoS) requirements, such as differing throughput requirements, latency requirements, error tolerance requirements, reliability requirements, data throughput requirements, mobility requirements, and the like, section 0036) and harvesting energy (see, WTRU consuming energy which said energy can be commonly understood to be from many sources such as solar, section 0131); determining a type of the received activation signal (see, different activation indication determining what kinds of activations the WTRU initiate, sections 0168-0172); based on the type of the activation signal, determining to begin a MT data procedure with the network (see, CN may provide the WTRUs with access to the other networks, section 0075; noted, WTRU may send a Service Request message to the network as a response to a paging message from the AMF through the RAN and establish a connection with the network by a Service Request procedure where the paging message can consist of pending DL data or signaling information, such as N1 signaling to WTRU, Mobile-terminated SMS, Mobile terminated user data, etc. , section 0085; noted, RAN may determine and obtain paging occasion using the parameter(s) and then perform paging at the obtained paging occasion. Then, after the WTRU receives the parameter(s) from the RAN, the WTRU may also determine and obtain a paging occasion, and wake up at the obtained paging occasion, section 0088); receiving system information broadcasted by the RAN node (see, communications system may be a multiple access system such as RAN that provides content through broadcasting, sections 0025-0026) and determining to continue the MT data procedure with the network (see, indication in a WTRU Configuration Complete message determines whether the WTRU may stop monitoring, section 0195); transmitting a MT data request message to the RAN node (see, sending paging message to the RAN, the AMF may indicate additional paging occasion is activated for the WTRU, section 0172); and receiving a MT data container message from the RAN node (see, RAN may include eNode-Bs that may use multiple antennas to transmit wireless signals to, and/or receive wireless signals from the WTRU; noted, RAN sending message to the WTRU, section 0085).
Regarding claim 10, Brusilovsky discloses a wireless transmit receive unit (WTRU) (see, RAN may be in communication with the CN, which may be any type of network configured to provide voice, data, applications, and/or voice over internet protocol (VoIP) services to one or more of the WTRUs, section 0036)configure to receive a mobile terminated (MT) transmission using an ambient Internet of Things (IOT) service (AIS) (see, CN may provide call control, billing services, mobile location-based services, pre-paid calling, Internet connectivity, video distribution, etc., and/or perform high-level security functions, such as user authentication, section 0036; noted, data may have varying quality of service (QoS) requirements, such as differing throughput requirements, latency requirements, error tolerance requirements, reliability requirements, data throughput requirements, mobility requirements, and the like, section 0036), the WTRU comprising: a receiver; a transmitter (see, WTRU is equipped with receivers and transmitters, section 0089); and a processor (see, WTRU comprise of at least a processor, section 0005), wherein the receiver, the transmitter, and the processor are configured to: receive an activation signal from a radio access network (RAN) node (see, RAN may be in communication with the CN, which may be any type of network configured to provide voice, data, applications, and/or voice over internet protocol (VoIP) services to one or more of the WTRUs where the data could include varying quality of service (QoS) requirements, such as differing throughput requirements, latency requirements, error tolerance requirements, reliability requirements, data throughput requirements, mobility requirements, and the like, section 0036) and harvesting energy (see, WTRU consuming energy which said energy can be commonly understood to be from many sources such as solar, section 0131); determine a type of the received activation signal (see, different activation indication determining what kinds of activations the WTRU initiate, sections 0168-0172); based on the type of the activation signal, determine to begin an MT Data procedure with the network (see, CN may provide the WTRUs with access to the other networks, section 0075); receive system information broadcasted by the RAN node (see, communications system may be a multiple access system such as RAN that provides content through broadcasting, sections 0025-0026) and determine to continue the MT data procedure with the network (see, indication in a WTRU Configuration Complete message determines whether the WTRU may stop monitoring, section 0195); transmit a MT data request message to the RAN node (see, sending paging message to the RAN, the AMF may indicate additional paging occasion is activated for the WTRU, section 0172); and receive a MT data container message from the RAN node (see, RAN may include eNode-Bs that may use multiple antennas to transmit wireless signals to, and/or receive wireless signals from the WTRU; noted, RAN sending message to the WTRU, section 0085).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brusilovsky et al. US 20220264522 A1 (Domestic Priority June 17, 2019) in view of Park et al. US 20230379880 A1 (Domestic Priority October 21, 2020).
Brusilovsky discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 2, the method of claim 1,wherein the MT data request message includes a radio resource control (RRC) part and a non-access stratum (NAS) part.
However Park from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the method of claim 1,wherein the MT data request message includes a radio resource control (RRC) part and a non-access stratum (NAS) part (see, core network device (e.g., the AMF and/or the SMF) may determine to transmit a non-access stratum (NAS) message to the wireless device that may be in an RRC idle state (e.g., or an RRC inactive state), section 0268 Park; noted, wireless device encompasses other terminology including user equipment (UE) and wireless transmit and receive unit (WTRU), section 0050 Park; noted, UE in an RRC_IDLE state and/or an RRC_INACTIVE state may initiate the random access procedure to request a connection setup to a network, section 0172 Park).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Brusilovsky and with the non-access stratum (NAS) message of Park. The motivation would have been to improve data transmission.
Brusilovsky discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 11, the WTRU of claim 10, wherein the MT data request message includes a radio resource control (RRC) part and a non-access stratum (NAS) part.
However Park from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the WTRU of claim 10, wherein the MT data request message includes a radio resource control (RRC) part and a non-access stratum (NAS) part (see, core network device (e.g., the AMF and/or the SMF) may determine to transmit a non-access stratum (NAS) message to the wireless device that may be in an RRC idle state (e.g., or an RRC inactive state), section 0268 Park; noted, wireless device encompasses other terminology including user equipment (UE) and wireless transmit and receive unit (WTRU), section 0050 Park; noted, UE in an RRC_IDLE state and/or an RRC_INACTIVE state may initiate the random access procedure to request a connection setup to a network, section 0172 Park).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Brusilovsky and with the non-access stratum (NAS) message of Park. The motivation would have been to improve data transmission.
Claims 3, 5, 7,-9, 12, 14, 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brusilovsky et al. US 20220264522 A1 (Domestic Priority June 17, 2019) in view of Fard et al. US 20240129794 A1 (Domestic Priority June 30, 2021).
Brusilovsky discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 3, the method of claim 1, wherein the MT data request message includes a device identifier and an AIS ID that may be used by the network to determine if and what mobile originated (MO) data should be sent to the WTRU.
However Fard from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the method of claim 1, wherein the MT data request message includes a device identifier (see, UE context may comprise a UE identifier and a record of various information relating to the UE, for example, UE capability information, policy information for access and mobility management of the UE, lists of allowed or established slices or PDU sessions, and/or a registration area of the UE, section 0144 Fard) and an AIS ID (see, AMF may send a registration accept message to the UE that may comprise a support indication for IPSec with the first network, an underlying network capability support indication, one or more network IDs, section 0226 Fard) that may be used by the network to determine if and what mobile originated (MO) data should be sent to the WTRU (see, AMF may determine/decide to request the registration type by sending a NAS identity request message to the UE, section 0231 Fard).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Brusilovsky and with the identifiers of Fard. The motivation would have been to decrease congestion between networks.
Brusilovsky discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 5, the method of claim 1,wherein the MT data container message includes an RRC part and a NAS part.
However Fard from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the method of claim 1,wherein the MT data container message includes an RRC part and a NAS part (see, network layer may comprise may comprise a radio resource control layer (RRC) and a non-access stratum layer (NAS), section 0115 Fard; noted, UE may initiate messages for NAS and RRC, sections 0362-0363 Fard).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Brusilovsky and with the RRC and NAS of Fard. The motivation would have been to decrease congestion between networks.
Brusilovsky discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 7, the method of claim 5, wherein the RRC part includes an indication that the network has no MT data for the WTRU.
However Fard from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the method of claim 5, wherein the RRC part includes an indication that the network has no MT data for the WTRU (see, the network may page the UE with a NAS message to resume the RRC-Connection with an UE indication in the NAS message therefore if the NAS message has no indication to modify the UE then there is no data for the UE, section 0225 Fard).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Brusilovsky and with the RRC and NAS of Fard. The motivation would have been to decrease congestion between networks.
Brusilovsky discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 8, the method of claim 5, wherein the NAS part includes an application specific payload from an AIS.
However Fard from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the method of claim 5, wherein the NAS part includes an application specific payload from an AIS (see, NAS_IP6_ADDRESS notify payload with an N3IWF IPv6 address assigned to transport of NAS messages, section 0334 Fard).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Brusilovsky and with the RRC and NAS of Fard. The motivation would have been to decrease congestion between networks.
Brusilovsky discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 9, the method of claim 5, wherein the NAS part includes a payload that carries WTRU configuration information.
However Fard from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the method of claim 5, wherein the NAS part includes a payload that carries WTRU configuration information (see, UE is provisioned with the N3IWF root certificate, it may include the CERTREQ payload within the IKE_AUTH request message to request the N3IWF's certificate, section 0228 Fard; noted, N3IWF may respond with an IKE_AUTH response message, which may include an EAP-Request/5G-Start packet. The EAP-Request/5G-Start packet may inform the UE to initiate an EAP-5G session, e.g., to start sending NAS messages encapsulated within EAP-5G packets. If the N3IWF has received a CERTREQ payload from the UE, the N3IWF may include the CERT payload in the IKE_AUTH response message comprising the N3IWF's certificate, section 0229 Fard; noted, wireless device encompasses other terminology including user equipment (UE), user terminal (UT), access terminal (AT), mobile station, handset, wireless transmit and receive unit (WTRU), and/or wireless communication device, section 0052 Fard).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Brusilovsky and with the RRC and NAS of Fard. The motivation would have been to decrease congestion between networks.
Brusilovsky discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 12, the WTRU of claim 10,, wherein the MT data request message includes a device identifier and an AIS ID that may be used by the network to determine if and what mobile originated (MO) data should be sent to the WTRU.
However Fard from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the WTRU of claim 10, wherein the MT data request message includes a device identifier (see, UE context may comprise a UE identifier and a record of various information relating to the UE, for example, UE capability information, policy information for access and mobility management of the UE, lists of allowed or established slices or PDU sessions, and/or a registration area of the UE, section 0144 Fard) and an AIS ID (see, AMF may send a registration accept message to the UE that may comprise a support indication for IPSec with the first network, an underlying network capability support indication, one or more network IDs, section 0226 Fard) that may be used by the network to determine if and what mobile originated (MO) data should be sent to the WTRU (see, AMF may determine/decide to request the registration type by sending a NAS identity request message to the UE, section 0231 Fard).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Brusilovsky and with the identifiers of Fard. The motivation would have been to decrease congestion between networks.
Brusilovsky discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 14, the WTRU of claim 10, wherein the MT data container message includes an RRC part and a NAS part.
However Fard from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the WTRU of claim 10, wherein the MT data container message includes an RRC part and a NAS part (see, network layer may comprise may comprise a radio resource control layer (RRC) and a non-access stratum layer (NAS), section 0115 Fard; noted, UE may initiate messages for NAS and RRC, sections 0362-0363 Fard).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Brusilovsky and with the RRC and NAS of Fard. The motivation would have been to decrease congestion between networks.
Brusilovsky discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 16, the WTRU of claim 15, wherein the RRC part includes an indication that the network has no MT data for the WTRU.
However Fard from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the WTRU of claim 15, wherein the RRC part includes an indication that the network has no MT data for the WTRU (see, the network may page the UE with a NAS message to resume the RRC-Connection with an UE indication in the NAS message therefore if the NAS message has no indication to modify the UE then there is no data for the UE, section 0225 Fard).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Brusilovsky and with the RRC and NAS of Fard. The motivation would have been to decrease congestion between networks.
Brusilovsky discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 17, the WTRU of claim 15, wherein the NAS part includes an application specific payload from an AIS.
However Fard from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the WTRU of claim 15, wherein the NAS part includes an application specific payload from an AIS (see, NAS_IP6_ADDRESS notify payload with an N3IWF IPv6 address assigned to transport of NAS messages, section 0334 Fard).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Brusilovsky and with the RRC and NAS of Fard. The motivation would have been to decrease congestion between networks.
Brusilovsky discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 18, the WTRU of claim 15, wherein the NAS part includes a payload that carriers a WTRU configuration information.
However Fard from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the WTRU of claim 15, wherein the NAS part includes a payload that carriers a WTRU configuration information (see, UE is provisioned with the N3IWF root certificate, it may include the CERTREQ payload within the IKE_AUTH request message to request the N3IWF's certificate, section 0228 Fard; noted, N3IWF may respond with an IKE_AUTH response message, which may include an EAP-Request/5G-Start packet. The EAP-Request/5G-Start packet may inform the UE to initiate an EAP-5G session, e.g., to start sending NAS messages encapsulated within EAP-5G packets. If the N3IWF has received a CERTREQ payload from the UE, the N3IWF may include the CERT payload in the IKE_AUTH response message comprising the N3IWF's certificate, section 0229 Fard; noted, wireless device encompasses other terminology including user equipment (UE), user terminal (UT), access terminal (AT), mobile station, handset, wireless transmit and receive unit (WTRU), and/or wireless communication device, section 0052 Fard).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Brusilovsky and with the RRC and NAS of Fard. The motivation would have been to decrease congestion between networks.
Claims 4 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brusilovsky et al. US 20220264522 A1 (Domestic Priority June 17, 2019) in view of Jeon et al. US 20230371112 A1 (Domestic Priority January 19, 2020).
Brusilovsky discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 4, the method of claim 1,wherein the activation signal is an analog signal.
However Jeon from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the method of claim 1,wherein the activation signal is an analog signal (see, it is possible to implement modules using physical hardware that incorporates discrete or programmable analog, digital and/or quantum hardware, section 0044 Jeon, noted, UE can measure signal level decide connection to base station, section 0103 Jeon).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Brusilovsky and with the physical hardware of Jeon. The motivation would have been to improve the data transmission time window in RRC inactive state.
Brusilovsky discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 13, the WTRU of claim 10, wherein the activation signal is an analog signal.
However Jeon from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the WTRU of claim 10, wherein the activation signal is an analog signal (see, it is possible to implement modules using physical hardware that incorporates discrete or programmable analog, digital and/or quantum hardware, section 0044 Jeon, noted, UE can measure signal level decide connection to base station, section 0103 Jeon).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Brusilovsky and with the physical hardware of Jeon. The motivation would have been to improve the data transmission time window in RRC inactive state.
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brusilovsky et al. US 20220264522 A1 (Domestic Priority June 17, 2019) in view of Ryu et al. US 20240031929 A1 (Domestic Priority April 5, 2021).
Brusilovsky discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 6, the method of claim 1,wherein the MT data container message includes an indication that the WTRU should not send exception data.
However Ryu from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the method of claim 1,wherein the MT data container message includes an indication that the WTRU should not send exception data (see, wireless device being comprised or configured as an access identity based on NAS message; noted, mobile originated exception data as an access identity/category that may be included in a UE configuration update message therefore if it is not included then it would not be sent to the UE, sections 0219-0221 Ryu; noted, wireless device encompasses other terminology, including user equipment (UE), user terminal (UT), access terminal (AT), mobile station, handset, wireless transmit and receive unit (WTRU), and/or wireless communication device, section 0046 Ryu).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Brusilovsky and with the mobile originated exception data of Ryu. The motivation would have been to improve the request message sending.
Brusilovsky discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 15, the WTRU of claim 10, wherein the MT data container message includes an indication that the WTRU should no longer send exception data.
However Ryu from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the WTRU of claim 10, wherein the MT data container message includes an indication that the WTRU should no longer send exception data (see, wireless device being comprised or configured as an access identity based on NAS message; noted, mobile originated exception data as an access identity/category that may be included in a UE configuration update message therefore if it is not included then it would not be sent to the UE, sections 0219-0221 Ryu; noted, wireless device encompasses other terminology, including user equipment (UE), user terminal (UT), access terminal (AT), mobile station, handset, wireless transmit and receive unit (WTRU), and/or wireless communication device, section 0046 Ryu).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Brusilovsky and with the mobile originated exception data of Ryu. The motivation would have been to improve the request message sending.
Conclusion
/PATRICK YIPAO PEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473